RDFL Thread 2007

It must be big... He wont even answer his phone... :eek:

Now now fellas. Last time I checked there was a big story in Wallan last night. I was the only local journo to attend. The last thing on my mind was the umpires' association.

However, I will ring and apologise for my absence, and Gav, my phone is now turned on.

Mike, you are right about the positioning, at stages I found it tough to get in the right spots. But as each game went on it improved.

Now now fellas. Last time I checked there was a big story in Wallan last night. I was the only local journo to attend. The last thing on my mind was the umpires' association.

However, I will ring and apologise for my absence, and Gav, my phone is now turned on.

Mike, you are right about the positioning, at stages I found it tough to get in the right spots. But as each game went on it improved.

You mean you are going to play at Wallan too???? :eek:

Oh, you mean that Hells Angels bloke... Does he play football in this league???

unlucky matt - last night could have been your making. imagine, for instance, you'd got an exclusive interview with the 'alledged' gunman. the herald sun and the age would have been chasing you and, when they found out your absolute knack at reporting on the footy, it quite possibly would have been 'hutchy out - nicholls in' on the footy show.

matthew nicholls - the number one breaker of news in the shire of ? (whatever shire it is that i've just moved to)

How do you blokes think the Melbourne news found out?

Don't worry, not only is Pickles the no.1 sports reporter for the RDFL, he also breaks the big news.

It helps knowing a Wallan copper :D

And lets face it, its well known Hutchy pays people for his exclusives. I hear a whisper that he was talking to Freo president Rick Hart in an undisclosed bar yesterday. Will probably have a scoop on tonight's footy show.

Don't worry, not only is Pickles the no.1 sports reporter for the RDFL, he also breaks the big news.

And lets face it, its well known Hutchy pays people for his exclusives. I hear a whisper that he was talking to Freo president Rick Hart in an undisclosed bar yesterday. Will probably have a scoop on tonight's footy show.

Rubbish.... Hutchy gets his exclusive's off Big Footy :thumbsu:

Hey Pickles my old man was one of the blokes in the car with him when he got to St Kilda Rd. He knew 9am about the surender. i had just happened to call him on his way up to the Wallan and gave me the goss about 3pm.

Well according to the Wallan coppers he didn't fess up until about 4.30pm, I got there at 4.50pm after the phone call. if you knew earlier you shoulda given me the scoop earlier :D

So I take it you know the local residence he was lying low at also :D

So glad it was Pickles and not Westy down there, geez Id love to see this one reported in the local a la the recent footy reports next week . . . . continue to call it as you see it mate it's entertaining but Im not sure how the local HA's will take it, they might pay a visit if it aint to their liking. They wont cop bad press (or any press in that case) like the Lancefield and Romsey footy clubs seem to handle constructive criticisms ;)

So I take it you know the local residence he was lying low at also :D

So glad it was Pickles and not Westy down there, geez Id love to see this one reported in the local a la the recent footy reports next week . . . . continue to call it as you see it mate it's entertaining but Im not sure how the local HA's will take it, they might pay a visit if it aint to their liking. They wont cop bad press (or any press in that case) like the Lancefield and Romsey footy clubs seem to handle constructive criticisms ;)

Don't worry, it'll be old news by the time next Wednesday comes out, I doubt there will be much on it except for a couple of paragraphs. Speaking of constructive criticism, we're just about at the half way mark of the season now. Can people give me some suggestions, comments and criticism of my articles?

Stuff em mate, you write with ya heart at times which is fantastic, not scared to make the big calls. Sure beats the same boring old jazz, but just remember you're entertaining a very small readership, in small towns and people will stick fat when favourite sons (or their clubs) come under fire. You dont seem concerned about making waves or who you upset along the way as long as the right message gets portrayed so just solider on Pickles you're doing fine :thumbsu:

Cheers Doon, I try not to upset too many people, but thems the breaks sometimes in this gig. While i don't love complaints, I reckon its good to get some people fired up, means they're reading and will continue to do so. It's a shame The Free Press no longer has competition when it comes to sport and news.

The real shame of it all wont be known for another 12 months when the official homecoming of the Review team settles down and their management is pulling rank, but you're right they dont blow wind up ya's as far as content goes, the only thing is they are a freebie..

Pickles people have small memories, so keep writing your articles they are pretty good dont try 2 please people, write it as you see it! You do a good job on the footy reviews seeing as its nigh on impossible to attend all the games around the RDFL, yet still do very good articles on Broadford n Wallan games.
Keep it up.

Actually one thing that would be good Matt, would be interviews with players from different clubs whether it be lancefield kilmore broadford wallan or romsey even assumption. the paper can be a bit boring , would also give you something to do for the whole week. question the players bout there fave footy moments, teams they support all that jazz, what they do for work, could be an interesting concept for the local readers. thoughts?

Okay van, you can be the first player interviewed.

Maybe we'll do it at the Ball on Saturday night? haha.

No seriously, good idea.

Are you asking me to the ball Matt? haha no interviews here everyone knows i talk bout myself already they dont need to read it, how bout some of the players that slip under the guard! like a brad colliver type player. & definately no interviews when drunk!

new players. get em in the paper. set em up with ALL the hot chicks in the town. get em involved. :D

I only have one criticism Mr Nicholls.

I dont think there is enough coverage on the little guys when it comes to your articles on the Riddell Website.

Some further in depth news about how Rockbank intend to reinvent themselves as a club, stories on guys like Michael Taylor and Tom Mainey (Both talented players that get no recognition). Or what Mark Greenshields has done to begin the rebuilding process at Melton Central, the impact that Brian Wheelahan has on the club, how young guys like Kane Bullen are expected to lead the Centrals charge into the future.

Also a little more focus on the Under 18 competition. The boys defeated Ballarat and there was hardly a murmur, these youngsters are the future of this competition (Refer Cam Dawson, Ryan Toholka, Ben Shippard, Matt Welsh, Garth Ploog, Danny Harrison and James Wright for examples, all products of the competition's Under 18 competition). There is some talented youngsters coming through the ranks, the possibility of more focus on the competition and how it is tracking would be exciting.

Just some of Mike's thoughts on this matter.

Mike out. ;)

I only have one criticism Mr Nicholls.

I dont think there is enough coverage on the little guys when it comes to your articles on the Riddell Website.

Some further in depth news about how Rockbank intend to reinvent themselves as a club, stories on guys like Michael Taylor and Tom Mainey (Both talented players that get no recognition). Or what Mark Greenshields has done to begin the rebuilding process at Melton Central, the impact that Brian Wheelahan has on the club, how young guys like Kane Bullen are expected to lead the Centrals charge into the future.

Also a little more focus on the Under 18 competition. The boys defeated Ballarat and there was hardly a murmur, these youngsters are the future of this competition (Refer Cam Dawson, Ryan Toholka, Ben Shippard, Matt Welsh, Garth Ploog, Danny Harrison and James Wright for examples, all products of the competition's Under 18 competition). There is some talented youngsters coming through the ranks, the possibility of more focus on the competition and how it is tracking would be exciting.

Just some of Mike's thoughts on this matter.

Mike out. ;)

i get the feeling that you're a little too intellectual for this site, mike. too reasoned in your opinion - too much depth. no offence intended against the other posters, but mike seems to be in a league of his own at this stage. lucky he's not interested in becoming a journalist, or pickles would be out of a job and fast losing his 'no.1' title.

what about more coverage of the netball? action shots are good - legs going everywhere! (obviously, the depth to my thinking is nothing on mike lyon)