RDFL Thread 2007

Spot on they were awsome, if there is a positive to be gained out of the game for the Kangas its that surely Riddell could'nt play that well again this season......................................... could they ?

Easily OMNI... Told you before the game yesterday and the past couple of weeks... You just wouldn't listen though.. CLEARLY still the best side in the competition...

But we got jibbed in the dew kickers....

The sense that riddell had around the ground was ' do not stop drilling them, every goal is a dagger in their heart', the attitude was still there right up until the final siren.... it was an absolute spanking, the roos were beaten Mentally,Physically and at their own game early and spent 3 1/2 quarters looking for answers which is how u dont beat a top-side contender.Its fine to go with them,but taking the game by the horns and controlling it is a different mindframe,the roos did not look like they wanted to control the game at any stage but to just chase and be happy with being competetive....when a team peaks as high as riddell did today, will/can they only get better from here? personally i would Expect the Bomber Powerhouse to give the next 3-4 sides an absolute smashing...Then slowly ease the pedal off as the season closes.Its just what happens in %90 of top rated football sides,local/afl/whatever ... its not just riddell,its any side... They hit a peak, get slapped around with a wet towel, re-group, and start again.The roos definatley will re-group,they are a great side and great sides regroup quickly,adress problems,learn their lessons and improve.They are surely not 100+ points worse than riddell, the bombers just played with extreme intensity with purpose and think it was actually a good time for the roos to cop a slogging as they will be ready to peak once again come finals time when they regroup after 1-2 weeks.A great display by the bombers today though showing just what it takes to win a premiership.....[/QUO

Great win by the bombers-Obviously very ordinary performance by the Roos. They had a similar game against Woodend last year and were smashed at Woodend’s ground-Got to get that out of their system. Well done Matt for telling it how it is.That's what i want to read when i get on this site. Despite losing to the Roos a couple of weeks ago Woodend a lot closer to The Bombers than people think. Bombers, dont expect a game like that against the hawks-it wont happen. The bombers beat Romsey by 7 last week and talk was directed towards their third flag in a row-fair enough. However Woodend smashed Romsey by 10 and hardly a murmur. The Woodend boys are gearing up for Riddell game in a couple of weeks and will go into the game with no fear and plenty of confidence. Woodend have the game plan and match-ups to beat Riddell AGAIN!

The sense that riddell had around the ground was ' do not stop drilling them, every goal is a dagger in their heart', the attitude was still there right up until the final siren.... it was an absolute spanking, the roos were beaten Mentally,Physically and at their own game early and spent 3 1/2 quarters looking for answers which is how u dont beat a top-side contender.Its fine to go with them,but taking the game by the horns and controlling it is a different mindframe,the roos did not look like they wanted to control the game at any stage but to just chase and be happy with being competetive....when a team peaks as high as riddell did today, will/can they only get better from here? personally i would Expect the Bomber Powerhouse to give the next 3-4 sides an absolute smashing...Then slowly ease the pedal off as the season closes.Its just what happens in %90 of top rated football sides,local/afl/whatever ... its not just riddell,its any side... They hit a peak, get slapped around with a wet towel, re-group, and start again.The roos definatley will re-group,they are a great side and great sides regroup quickly,adress problems,learn their lessons and improve.They are surely not 100+ points worse than riddell, the bombers just played with extreme intensity with purpose and think it was actually a good time for the roos to cop a slogging as they will be ready to peak once again come finals time when they regroup after 1-2 weeks.A great display by the bombers today though showing just what it takes to win a premiership.....[/QUO

Great win by the bombers-Obviously very ordinary performance by the Roos. They had a similar game against Woodend last year and were smashed at Woodend’s ground-Got to get that out of their system. Well done Matt for telling it how it is.That's what i want to read when i get on this site. Despite losing to the Roos a couple of weeks ago Woodend a lot closer to The Bombers than people think. Bombers, dont expect a game like that against the hawks-it wont happen. The bombers beat Romsey by 7 last week and talk was directed towards their third flag in a row-fair enough. However Woodend smashed Romsey by 10 and hardly a murmur. The Woodend boys are gearing up for Riddell game in a couple of weeks and will go into the game with no fear and plenty of confidence. Woodend have the game plan and match-ups to beat Riddell AGAIN!

A game as big as this one should be played on the Sunday so as many people in the comp' can get along & enjoy.

Just worried about the local footy, very noble indeed howzat. Sounds to me like you have a little gripe with the kangas and have just rolled out that old chestnut to hide behind. You would be reasonably happy with todays result. Massive win by the bombers. Interesting call from Harry Wilson in regards to the coin that the tigers have thrown around, wouldn't mind getting Joeblows take on that. Riddell sitting out has been well documented over the years but I have known a few of the Lancefield boys and was under the impression that they sat out 1999 due to lack of numbers and lack of numbers only. You sound reasonably confident that wasn't the case Harry. Who are these Lancefield parasites you talk about?
What your take on this Pickles, your a Lancefield fella?
I wasn't around the club back when it folded, so I'm in no position to comments on the reasons for it. Current day I would say Pickles would be somewhere near the mark. We're certainly not under any "salary cap pressure".

Great win by the bombers-Obviously very ordinary performance by the Roos. They had a similar game against Woodend last year and were smashed at Woodend’s ground-Got to get that out of their system. Well done Matt for telling it how it is.That's what i want to read when i get on this site. Despite losing to the Roos a couple of weeks ago Woodend a lot closer to The Bombers than people think. Bombers, dont expect a game like that against the hawks-it wont happen. The bombers beat Romsey by 7 last week and talk was directed towards their third flag in a row-fair enough. However Woodend smashed Romsey by 10 and hardly a murmur. The Woodend boys are gearing up for Riddell game in a couple of weeks and will go into the game with no fear and plenty of confidence. Woodend have the game plan and match-ups to beat Riddell AGAIN![/quote]

Woody, the reason there was so much talk about the Riddell win was because of the players missing last week when they smashed Romsey.. Not the fact that they smashed them... :thumbsu:

Easily OMNI... Told you before the game yesterday and the past couple of weeks... You just wouldn't listen though.. CLEARLY still the best side in the competition...

But we got jibbed in the dew kickers....

I was listening, I was listening ! You know I respect your unerring accuracy on all things footy in our Domain, but it is only the half way mark of the season & all, & a lot can happen between now & finalls time.

Scoreline of course would have been closer, had the kangas not lost all theirs after the count in the third quater for having 19 men on the field.

And it aint over till the Fat Porky Sings ! So you get another 2 go's at him anyway.

I was listening, I was listening ! You know I respect your unerring accuracy on all things footy in our Domain, but it is only the half way mark of the season & all, & a lot can happen between now & finalls time.

Scoreline of course would have been closer, had the kangas not lost all theirs after the count in the third quater for having 19 men on the field.

And it aint over till the Fat Porky Sings ! So you get another 2 go's at him anyway.

Its gonna be an interesting 2nd half year in the 18's actually.. Diggers twice and Riddell twice, as well as the HFF cats, the Hawks and Rockbank, tough run home for my boys.. But ill back em in....

Once again opening myself up to never ending critisism..

My mid season top 50, based on impact on sides season's thus far..

Top 50 mid year list, based on input in games so far in 07.
  1. D. Bonnici (Kangaroos) – Will IMO be leading the Bowen Medal at this stage and deservedly so. (NR)
  2. M.Robertson (Kilmore) – Some agree, some don’t, He is still one of the premier players in the comp. (1)
  3. M.McInerney (Kangaroos) – Class, still winning plenty of the ball, has improved disposal this year. (5)
  4. J.Bellville (Riddell) – Class player, would be leading the Riddell B&F. (22)
  5. M.Allen (Riddell) – The best forward in the competition. (NR)
  6. R.Dowling (Woodend) – Hawk barometer, just behind Allen as the best small fwd in the comp. (28)
  7. L.McInerney (Kangaroos) – One of the main factors behind the Roos ladder position. (15)
  8. Dave Cornish (Kilmore) – One of the top forwards in the competition (NR)
  9. Brian Wheelahan (Centrals) – Ball winning ability is all quality. (31)
  10. Damien Niki (Kangaroos) – Impact on games is second to none. (39)
  11. Chris Collins (L)
  12. Steve James (SK)
  13. Shaun Sims (DR)
  14. Adam Johnstone (WH)
  15. Dean Besanko (Rid)
  16. Luke Walker (RB)
  17. Jason Allen (Rid)
  18. Matt McClellan (Rom)
  19. Nick Hannett (WH)
  20. Jeff Heritage (DR)
  21. Leigh Coles (Rid)
  22. Garth Ploog (SK)
  23. Brydon Morgan (Rom)
  24. Simon Choate (L)
  25. Linton Kemp (K)
  26. Paul Podbury (WH)
  27. Cole Laurie (DR)
  28. Matt Stacey (WH)
  29. Kane Bullen (MC)
  30. Aaron Blade (Rid)
  31. Daniel Salpietro (WH)
  32. Ryan Toholka (Mac)
  33. Danny Miskin (SK)
  34. Dan Reilly (DR)
  35. Nathan Allen (Rid)
  36. Adam Goudge (K)
  37. Jarrad Arnold (WH)
  38. Nathan Hole (SK)
  39. James Petran (Rid)
  40. Jay Shewan (L)
  41. James Hardwick (WH)
  42. Aaron Christianson (Mac)
  43. Michael Taylor (RB)
  44. Darko Dabrovsak (WH)
  45. Warren Kairns (Rom)
  46. Bobby Johnson (SK)
  47. Craig Thompson (DR)
  48. Dave Keenan (Rom)
  49. Andrew Klooster (DR)
  50. James Climas (Rid)
Notable Outs
Daniel Sipthorpe (WH) – 2 games
Kar Weng Ng (WH) – 2 games
Jeremy Jose (DR) – Working his way back
Luke Edwards (Rom) – Yet to have a huge impact
Bevan Green (DR) – Has dropped back to reserves
Chris Payne (DR) – Was dropped back to reserves
Dean Helmers (SK) – Working his way back.

Pretty much spot on with the two Rockbank players, mate. They are the only two I'd have in the top fifty overall as well. Just for interests sake, where would you rate Shirley and Krul?

I reckon both would be start up players in any of the sides goin around at the moment and would get better by not havin to be the stand outs each week!

If Krul had played the whole season he would be close to top 30... Shirls is a great player and a great bloke too.. Probably just outside the top 50 though, possibly in a stronger team would rate right up there, when Rockbank made finals 6 years ago he was one of the top ruckman in the league.

When Rockbank made the final in 2002, Shirls broke his hip, I think round 4 against kilmore. Trezise rucked for the Rams that year...

1. D. Bonnici (Kangaroos) – Will IMO be leading the Bowen Medal at this stage and deservedly so. (NR)
  2. M.Robertson (Kilmore) – Some agree, some don’t, He is still one of the premier players in the comp. (1)
  3. M.McInerney (Kangaroos) – Class, still winning plenty of the ball, has improved disposal this year. (5)
  6. R.Dowling (Woodend) – Hawk barometer, just behind Allen as the best small fwd in the comp. (28)
  7. L.McInerney (Kangaroos) – One of the main factors behind the Roos ladder position. (15)
  11. Chris Collins (L)
  12. Steve James (SK)
  13. Shaun Sims (DR)
  14. Adam Johnstone (WH)
  15. Dean Besanko (Rid)
  16. Luke Walker (RB)
  17. Jason Allen (Rid)
  18. Matt McClellan (Rom)
  19. Nick Hannett (WH)
  20. Jeff Heritage (DR)
  21. Leigh Coles (Rid)
  22. Garth Ploog (SK)
  23. Brydon Morgan (Rom)
  24. Simon Choate (L)
  25. Linton Kemp (K)
  26. Paul Podbury (WH)
  27. Cole Laurie (DR)
  28. Matt Stacey (WH)
  29. Kane Bullen (MC)
  30. Aaron Blade (Rid)
  32. Ryan Toholka (Mac)
  33. Danny Miskin (SK)
  34. Dan Reilly (DR)
  35. Nathan Allen (Rid)
  36. Adam Goudge (K)
  37. Jarrad Arnold (WH)
  38. Nathan Hole (SK)
  39. James Petran (Rid)
  40. Jay Shewan (L)
  41. James Hardwick (WH)
  43. Michael Taylor (RB)
  44. Darko Dabrovsak (WH)
  45. Warren Kairns (Rom)
  46. Bobby Johnson (SK)
  47. Craig Thompson (DR)
  48. Dave Keenan (Rom)
  49. Andrew Klooster (DR)
  50. James Climas (Rid)
Could be a blue at the Allen house hold with tricky at 5 and younger brother nathan at 35. Compeditive units those two!

11. Chris Collins (L)
  12. Steve James (SK)
  13. Shaun Sims (DR)
  14. Adam Johnstone (WH)
  15. Dean Besanko (Rid)
  16. Luke Walker (RB)
  17. Jason Allen (Rid)
  18. Matt McClellan (Rom)
  19. Nick Hannett (WH)
  20. Jeff Heritage (DR)
  21. Leigh Coles (Rid)
  22. Garth Ploog (SK)
  23. Brydon Morgan (Rom)
  24. Simon Choate (L)
  25. Linton Kemp (K)
  26. Paul Podbury (WH)
  27. Cole Laurie (DR)
  28. Matt Stacey (WH)
  29. Kane Bullen (MC)
  30. Aaron Blade (Rid)
  32. Ryan Toholka (Mac)
  33. Danny Miskin (SK)
  34. Dan Reilly (DR)
  35. Nathan Allen (Rid)
  36. Adam Goudge (K)
  37. Jarrad Arnold (WH)
  38. Nathan Hole (SK)
  39. James Petran (Rid)
  40. Jay Shewan (L)
  41. James Hardwick (WH)
  43. Michael Taylor (RB)
  44. Darko Dabrovsak (WH)
  45. Warren Kairns (Rom)
  46. Bobby Johnson (SK)
  47. Craig Thompson (DR)
  48. Dave Keenan (Rom)
  49. Andrew Klooster (DR)
  50. James Climas (Rid)
Notable Outs

Applaud you for having a go but as usual your list appears very SK biased. 4 of the top 10 and 9 of top 50 yet still get smashed by 100 + points. Bonnici & M Mcinerney definite top 10's. Other 2 fit in somewhere between 20-50.

Fair enough..

Remember that before this week the Roos were undefeated.. Sure, they were smashed this week, but the McInerney's couldn't have thier position affected by Saturday. Dum Dum has been superb so far this year.

Roos - 9
Riddell - 9
W/H - 9
Romsey - 4
Kilmore - 4
Diggers - 6
Macedon - 2
Lancefield - 3
Centrals - 2
Rockbank - 2

I wouldn't say it was that biased....

i understand the work that has been put in recently but i will find it hard to ever respect this club after the way they have conducted themselves in the past (commitee-players -supporters)as for the money a figure wasnt quoted but this person said he was shocked at some of the money being "handed out" i couldnt give a rats clacker about Sunbury kangaroos im just worried about local footy as a whole like harry wilson said we have seen whats happened to riddell and lancefield in the past .

thanks for your concern howzat.but firstly you wouldnt have a clue what money is being dished out at sunbury.secondly have a look at the direction this club is heading.perhaps the club should hire you to take care of their finances and supporter behaviour.you obviously have personal issues with the club,perhaps you should get your facts straight before opening ya big gob in the future:thumbsdown:

congratulations to riddell on a fantastic win on the weekend.it has most certainly brought us back to earth.we wanted to find out where we were at,well now we know.theres a lot of improvement required to match the likes of riddell.no excuses needed,look forward to the diggers clash this week boys

i see Matt Nicholls said Grubby was Red Carded for umpire abuse. How many weeks are the Kangaroos bracing for that Grubby will miss?

I believe that the actual report was for insulting language towards an umpire, not abusive.

Straight to the tribunal though a Red, no set penalty's, will be interesting to see what the result is to be honest. Its almost a test case of sorts.

Personally, Mike thinks it is a little precious to be honest. But hey, if that was insulting then we should see plenty of reports over the coming weeks as well as plenty of Red Cards, its a common comment that is made week in week out towards umpires, strange to see it come out as a report now. I hear it towards umpires towards players every week.

I think we need to stop being so precious with matters like this. But im sure that the Clown Court will sort it out straight away, 16 weeks or so.

:thumbsdown:

Mike out.

11. Chris Collins (L)
  12. Steve James (SK)
  13. Shaun Sims (DR)
  14. Adam Johnstone (WH)
  15. Dean Besanko (Rid)
  16. Luke Walker (RB)
  17. Jason Allen (Rid)
  18. Matt McClellan (Rom)
  19. Nick Hannett (WH)
  20. Jeff Heritage (DR)
  21. Leigh Coles (Rid)
  22. Garth Ploog (SK)
  23. Brydon Morgan (Rom)
  24. Simon Choate (L)
  25. Linton Kemp (K)
  26. Paul Podbury (WH)
  27. Cole Laurie (DR)
  28. Matt Stacey (WH)
  29. Kane Bullen (MC)
  30. Aaron Blade (Rid)
  32. Ryan Toholka (Mac)
  33. Danny Miskin (SK)
  34. Dan Reilly (DR)
  35. Nathan Allen (Rid)
  36. Adam Goudge (K)
  37. Jarrad Arnold (WH)
  38. Nathan Hole (SK)
  39. James Petran (Rid)
  40. Jay Shewan (L)
  41. James Hardwick (WH)
  43. Michael Taylor (RB)
  44. Darko Dabrovsak (WH)
  45. Warren Kairns (Rom)
  46. Bobby Johnson (SK)
  47. Craig Thompson (DR)
  48. Dave Keenan (Rom)
  49. Andrew Klooster (DR)
  50. James Climas (Rid)
Notable Outs

good list, my tip for the big mover in the second half of the year is james petran from riddell number 39 on the list to be close to top 10, he ran a muck against romsey a couple of weeks ago, and bagged 9 against sunbury whos usually got a pretty solid defense.

only a young kid but hes pretty solid up forward