RDFL Thread 2007

Helmers had the flu. That's not a two game illness.

Mark McInerney had a hammy twinge at training last week, they decided not to risk him tearing it against Riddell.

Just know that Ploogy is heading to the US for a few weeks.

Got told about Welsh and Miskin today.

Haven't heard about Bonnici or Walsh.

whats wrong with minskin would be a big loss.

hes having scans tomorrow matty.
and yes hawker28 he is a loss.but at the moment we have heaps of them.
matty tell me what player match ups youd like to see come finals

Would love to see a Helmers v Belleville battle!

Watching Ploog v Jason Allen.

Steve James v Ryan Connellan or Matt Stacey.

James Moore v Rick Dowling (rarely gets beaten by same opponent twice).

Matt Robertson v anyone who is keen to have a crack.

hes having scans tomorrow matty.
and yes hawker28 he is a loss.but at the moment we have heaps of them.
matty tell me what player match ups youd like to see come finals

else v petran
johstone v belleville
sipthorpe v helmers
robertson v sims

Would love to see a Helmers v Belleville battle!

Watching Ploog v Jason Allen.

Steve James v Ryan Connellan or Matt Stacey.

James Moore v Rick Dowling (rarely gets beaten by same opponent twice).

Matt Robertson v anyone who is keen to have a crack.

some great match ups there matty.two contrasting styles there with myself and beleville.but i hate hanging out on the wings.he will play footy til his 60.would rather go with hawkers suggestion and play on sippy.
a guy who has been at the best level and has a crack.will be unstoppable come finals.i wouldnt wanna play on robbo tho,he would pull my pants down and spank me.

mark mcinerney vs robbo
simms vs leigh mcinerey
forrest vs allen
bonnicci vs beleville
mclellan vs ruane
payne vs its my show:D

some great match ups there matty.two contrasting styles there with myself and beleville.but i hate hanging out on the wings.he will play footy til his 60.would rather go with hawkers suggestion and play on sippy.
a guy who has been at the best level and has a crack.will be unstoppable come finals.i wouldnt wanna play on robbo tho,he would pull my pants down and spank me.

mark mcinerney vs robbo
simms vs leigh mcinerey
forrest vs allen
bonnicci vs beleville
mclellan vs ruane
payne vs its my show:D

Payney isn't far off tipping IMS off in the weight department either.

You aren't calling Belleville a sheepdog are you Mongrel??? :p

come on KA. you know as well as i do that helmers is worth more than 100 points alone with his good looks:D

But you lose 200 points for the way Leigh and Mark Mc look.

Where is Leigh? He told me at the Gissy V Kyneton game he was getting a password and was going to run amok!

i have been connected with football for 30years i have never seen over the last 2 years appauling display unpireing where players are being suspended for using the word CHEAT it seems funny that in one of the finals last year 2 umpires where affilated with diggers rest so you tell me who are the cheats umpires or footballers

Some of the stories on www.centralsport.org this week

Finals hopes end for Tigers ... a full report on Lancefield v Diggers Rest, read about the game and a scathing review of Diggers Rest.

Hawks swoop Redbacks ... is it all over for Romsey?

Blues rock Rams
... Senyschyn and Cornish snag five each in Kilmore's demolition derby.

The life of a journo ... read about what it's like to be in my shoes.

Some of the stories on www.centralsport.org this week

Finals hopes end for Tigers ... a full report on Lancefield v Diggers Rest, read about the game and a scathing review of Diggers Rest.

Hawks swoop Redbacks ... is it all over for Romsey?

Blues rock Rams ... Senyschyn and Cornish snag five each in Kilmore's demolition derby.

The life of a journo ... read about what it's like to be in my shoes.

hey matty havent seen much of your weekly wrap - player of the round,coach ect ect where has all the hard work gone? that was the only good thing to read!!!

I was putting together mid-season reports on all clubs and plenty of other things. Will get something up this arvo hopefully.

Luke Barker going back to woodend massina gave him the arse. Couldn't cut the mustard when he stepped up to the next level. Back to the district comp where you belong Barker.

Couldn't cut the mustard-He's not the lone ranger mate. If Woodend snatched all the players that couldn't cut the mustard in your team, Kyneton would be left with 6 players. Happy get him back will be a good leading option for us-Leading goalkicker for us last year! Great pick up for this time of the year!

pretty handy pick up this late..
hows his body holdin up at the moment? last year against romsey he did his hammy pretty bad just from a quick lead.

is he fitter than last year?

The coaches were warned at the start of the year by Giles about calling the umpires cheats or that other four letter word. Last year a player got 4 weeks for the same report as Grub. Do you agree with it- it doesnt matter its in the rules and all were warned. I hope we all learn a lesson from these past reports were we use the word cheat think of another word like Martians (Sheedy done it best). I know it is done out of sheer frustration when things arent going your way. The penalty of a red card is very harsh on game day, maybe yellow and let the player back on. I know Grub was dissappointed, his day was over way to early. Chin up Grub get back on the park and play Footy the best you can !! See you in a few weeks

The incident last year involved a player saying your a f...king cheat to his face. Grub was 50m away, nobody else but the second ump heard it. a red card is ridiculous, grub had a week before he even had a shower not even half way throught he first quarter. but yes rules are rules.

pretty handy pick up this late..
hows his body holdin up at the moment? last year against romsey he did his hammy pretty bad just from a quick lead.

is he fitter than last year?

Hasn't had any problems with the hammy Catters. Looks to be fit and hopefully firing. It is great pick up considering he is not coming back from a long time injury but rather a stint in the BFL. I know that Luke and Rick Dowling work particularly well in the forwardline. Add to that, Jimmy Forrest who is playing good footy, Darko when fit, the likes of Paul Podbury at ground level and Johnno and Sippy floating in and out as changing onballers and the forwardline is looking a little more potent! Of course the other great reason for his return is that a quality forwardline player takes another good backman away from a less important role.

im not an umpire basher,and i know they have a tough job 2 do.
but knowing the much talked about r.d.f.l clown court,i just hope the umpires can prevent our guns of the league from fronting too often in the future.these tossers need 2 get a root i reckon.they have no common sense and u are guilty b4 u walk in.its just a question of how many games they want to make our local stars suffer out of footy.so much for the tribunal overhall.not condoning or questioning any of the reports over the last few years,BUT the penalties being handed out are a farce.this league is improving every week,but please mr mcdonald,have a close look at these morons mate.they are tarnishing all of us

Mongrel is Dixon the type of coach that will tell Grub to pull his head in or does accept that Grub being the hot-head he is at times will have the odd indiscretion?

Hasn't had any problems with the hammy Catters. Looks to be fit and hopefully firing. It is great pick up considering he is not coming back from a long time injury but rather a stint in the BFL. I know that Luke and Rick Dowling work particularly well in the forwardline. Add to that, Jimmy Forrest who is playing good footy, Darko when fit, the likes of Paul Podbury at ground level and Johnno and Sippy floating in and out as changing onballers and the forwardline is looking a little more potent! Of course the other great reason for his return is that a quality forwardline player takes another good backman away from a less important role.

it makes the return match against riddell in a couple of weeks pretty exciting and even though its still early, may have a massive bearing on the finals, the hawks are sounding pretty potent up forward especially because of how quickly and often their onballers are supplying it to them,

hopefully both teams will have all players available for the clash..

it makes the return match against riddell in a couple of weeks pretty exciting and even though its still early, may have a massive bearing on the finals, the hawks are sounding pretty potent up forward especially because of how quickly and often their onballers are supplying it to them,

hopefully both teams will have all players available for the clash..
I know it's been spoken about before, but this really is a prime opportunity for the RDFL to schedule a Sunday feature. I know I'd go, reckon you'd get a finals like crowd if you could strike the good weather.

hey woody is that rumour bout barker returning to wh have any truth in it?
dose that mean you will see troy williams come back as well???
would be handy.
i would have thought the reason a player leaves for a stronger leauge is to have a real crack at it, weather it works out or not in some ppls eyes he will be seen a failure if he gose back and that he wants back on the WH juggernaunt, seens how WH are doing a hell of a lot better than the sinking kyneton ship atm.

thoughts...............................

The incident last year involved a player saying your a f...king cheat to his face. Grub was 50m away, nobody else but the second ump heard it. a red card is ridiculous, grub had a week before he even had a shower not even half way throught he first quarter. but yes rules are rules.

I know its a harsh rule but to be heard by any umpire i think is too loud. All RDFL players must be more careful from now on. The precident has been set by the League.

After being involved first hand of having club umpires in the WRFL Div 2 this season and the cheating that goes on from club umpires we need to think ourselves lucky that the RDFL have enough umpires to cover all RDFL games. The more we bi#ch and moan about the quality of umpires we have, the less we might have in coming years. At least we have kids coming thru and wanting to develop and be taught the game from experienced umpires instead of having washed up no good 45 y.o blokes or committee members of clubs running around trying to control a game that they have no idea what the rules are. I tell ya there is nothing more frustrating than a club umpire who has no idea

After being involved first hand of having club umpires in the WRFL Div 2 this season and the cheating that goes on from club umpires we need to think ourselves lucky that the RDFL have enough umpires to cover all RDFL games. The more we bi#ch and moan about the quality of umpires we have, at least we have kids coming thru and wanting to develop and be taught the game from experienced umpires instead of having washed up no good 45 y.o blokes or committee members of clubs running around trying to control a game that they have no idea what the rules are. I tell ya there is nothing more frustrating than a club umpire who has no idea

wonder if you will be playing against your old mates this weekend? now your clearence has come thru, hope diggers blokes don't read this site or there could be trouble.

And why would that be?