RDFL Thread 2007

Massive Game 4 Burras this week.With Kilmore playing Lancefield @ Kilmore.They would need to beat Romsey this week to stay inn touch.There effort on the weekend (Bar the last 5/10minutes ) was pretty good .Ims even you would agree with that.
Also Dixon not putting Yarwood back on the ground was a smart move .

yeah his name was jay mcgrath, pretty good player who could do freakish things on a footy field. By the sound of things theres a few players from macedons 97-99 sides that are now at sunbury, whys that? They had a very good side along with gisborne, wallan and craigieburn. also had some talented aboriginies playing for them

Went thru High School with Jay had some pretty good times with him and a few of the Wallan lads thru our teenage years - Reckon Jay mighta celebrated his 31st birthday about a fortnight ago :thumbsu: Last time I spoke with him he was happy up north but dont think he was playing footy anymore

Apparently D.Ellery from Kangaroos has been telling his workmates he is the most improved player in the league this year and one of the main reasons why the Roos are sitting so high on the ladder this year.
If so we should all get to boardman reserve this week and watch the D.Ellery show against Macedon

No responded to the first post so you have another crack! I dont think anyone really cares about the benchwarmers of the comp mate, only big superstars like yourself, or so you tell me.

Apparently D.Ellery from Kangaroos has been telling his workmates he is the most improved player in the league this year and one of the main reasons why the Roos are sitting so high on the ladder this year.
If so we should all get to boardman reserve this week and watch the D.Ellery show against Macedon

Sounds like somebody with some payback after last week, a statement was made about thomson carrying diggers.:D:D:D

yeah his name was jay mcgrath, pretty good player who could do freakish things on a footy field. By the sound of things theres a few players from macedons 97-99 sides that are now at sunbury, whys that? They had a very good side along with gisborne, wallan and craigieburn. also had some talented aboriginies playing for them

DumDum lives in sunbury, when macedon folded he come up lookin for a game, a couple of years later talked his grubby inlaws to join him, helmers is just a sheep and likes to follow:D

Riddell cruised all day. No offence to the Blues, but if yesterday was a GF the Bombers would have won by much more.

Riddell did not cruise at all on saturday mate, when you watch a game dont just watch cornish and kemp, riddell knew we were coming home hard and they admitted they were worried about us after the game to the president and the coach, dont sell us short matt, we worked our asses off on saturday! was a good game of footy, you said simmo also umpired us back, for once we got the free kicks that the other teams get agaisnt, im sure Riddell have recieved plenty of dubious free kicks over there yrs at the top.

Riddell - 17 wins, 1 loss
Woodend-Hesket - 15 wins, 3 losses
Sunbury Kangaroos - 15 wins, 3 losses
Kilmore - 11 wins, 7 losses
Romsey - 11 wins, 7 losses
Diggers Rest - 10 wins, 8 losses

woodend and sunbury currently with one loss which 2 teams will beat them.
Romsey now with 3 losses, which 4 teams will knock them off

come on matt be more specific have a crack nice and early:p

Riddell did not cruise at all on saturday mate, when you watch a game dont just watch cornish and kemp, riddell knew we were coming home hard and they admitted they were worried about us after the game to the president and the coach, dont sell us short matt, we worked our asses off on saturday! was a good game of footy, you said simmo also umpired us back, for once we got the free kicks that the other teams get agaisnt, im sure Riddell have recieved plenty of dubious free kicks over there yrs at the top.

Riddell cruised early, and yes, Kilmore caught them on the hop. Even your teammates admitted Simmo gave them a good run late in the game (first time EVER!). The Bombers were never going to lose, although I wish you had of kicked one more goal late to really put the fear of god into them. I'm not a barracker, but I was hoping that Kilmore got up. As for your Cornish and Kemp comments, I think the Blues blokes are taking that a little far now :D I think Dave is actually scared. I thought Benny Newham was best on ground, Bladey carved you blokes apart and Kempy was brilliant too. Thought you were a little quiet, but did some great one percenters and worked well with the forwards.

woodend and sunbury currently with one loss which 2 teams will beat them.
Romsey now with 3 losses, which 4 teams will knock them off

come on matt be more specific have a crack nice and early:p

If you go to an RDFL game this weekend and get their mid-season record you will see how I rate each side in the run home.

good run from simmo but about frigging time!!!! kempy was sensational, cornish was great, benny was very good, i was quiet couldnt get into in the foward line still gettin used 2 it out there again, playin rockbank n macedon after 5 weeks off eqauals another 2 weeks off footy, so that was my first competetive match in a long time, struggling atm but i wont tell you or the bigfooty community il get through it haha

Just a question, I'm a first year player in the RDFL. If a player gets suspended during the season are they still eligible for the bowen medal?

They are deemed to be inelligble. Damn you for mentioning it. Was hoping to get some suckers to take Leigh McInerney!

Also, Blues 12, I would be happy to take the bets and write you a receipt, once i see the cash!

Well thats why i asked the question. Was interested at L. Mcinernys oddsb

Don't be disheartened. There is one player to have been awarded a Bowen Medal after the night. Trevor Sankey from Gisborne was deemed inelligble one year because in those days if you had been reported, but found not guilty you still couldn't win it. He tied with Jack Hiscock* in 1960 I believe. Later they changed the rules and Sankey was awarded the Bowen.

* Former Melbourne footballer who died recently, had a raking left foot and won 54 and 60 Bowens for Trentham.

back ya up there Van, from what i saw the riddel lads ran outta legs and if the blues hadda played 4 full quarters instead of 2 and a bit the game woulda had a totally diffrent outcome. be weary of em i say, just startn ta hit there straps

Had Kilmore of played four quarters Riddell would have played four quarters. Did you ever stop to think that perhaps Riddell were too good in the second and third terms and didn't allow Kilmore to play good. Ask anyone on this thread, I am Kilmore's biggest admirers, but the Bombers did enough to win on Saturday. The focus goes to this weekend's game.

umm Matt pay attention man in my opinion from the game i watched, i believe that Riddell are'nt fit and if pushd solidly over 4 quarters i think they're vulnerable, i guess only time will tell

Pickles could be anyone mate, you have to worry when a team gets rolled by 11 goals and the umpire looks tosses up between two blokes on the losing side. Admittedly both guys were very good, but I would have thought we would have had at least two blokes better one kicked 6 and gave away 4 or 5 the other had about 40 in the middle. Where it is won and lost.

Admittedly the same thing happened last year when Nga was best on when we got rolled, i think we had him somewhere in our top 6. Could we get a bigfooty medal for next year, a rep from each team if we can find them, can give votes on each game, to stop possible bias.. I imagine it would be closer to what the blokes on here would expect..

Riddell cruised early, and yes, Kilmore caught them on the hop. Even your teammates admitted Simmo gave them a good run late in the game (first time EVER!). The Bombers were never going to lose, although I wish you had of kicked one more goal late to really put the fear of god into them. I'm not a barracker, but I was hoping that Kilmore got up. As for your Cornish and Kemp comments, I think the Blues blokes are taking that a little far now :D I think Dave is actually scared. I thought Benny Newham was best on ground, Bladey carved you blokes apart and Kempy was brilliant too. Thought you were a little quiet, but did some great one percenters and worked well with the forwards.

Bladey very good player but not in Riddells 10 best players on sat' Matt !

i think the blues deserve some credit as we did go as much as 6 goals down at one point and i dont think Riddell were in cruise control when they know full well the difference between a weeks rest come finals time may hinge on percentage. if the result was never in doubt then the bombers wouldn't have had 2 blokes behind the ball for the last 5 or so mins

Bladey very good player but not in Riddells 10 best players on sat' Matt !

i must beg to differ - i think all kilmore players will agree that it was prob bladey and the two allens (j and b) that were the catalysts in the win. j allen gave straney nothing all day and brayden peeled off well to rebound on numerous occasions