RDFL Thread 2007

Sounds like the umpires will be out and about this week, with rumours that 2 umps will be attending all club sessions on thursday night, to mix with the boys and get a feeling of the clubs, also hanging around for a little bit afterwards.
Sounds like a great idea Gilesy:thumbsu:
I hope all clubs welcome them in for the night. good opportunity for players and umps to ask a question or 2 and see what everybody is like off the field.

Welcome mate, Sunbury are a quality side so no suprise that they are ready to unleash. Kilmore will be looking for 2 strong games to get some momentum for the sunbury game. First we have to get past Melton this week, will be a challenge out in middle of nowhere. Diggers at home will be a great clash and will be lots of drinks consumed afterwards. im a tad dissapointed Kilty left diggers had a good night last yr drinkin with him

Will the kilmore boys be sticking around that night, the roos will be having a few drinks to celebrate our 21st year.

looking forward to getting out into the clubs, hopefully it will help relations between the umps and the clubs (and i'm keen to have a kick of the leather its been a while:thumbsu:).

Sent off just after half time & never came back on !

Wadden off for the game but another player on after 15 minutes! Agreed Scooter is a good coach but after they gained control of the game and when Wadden was off he simply pushed numbers behind the ball-not really ground breaking coaching tactics there OM-but enough to strangle Woodends forwardline and make it hard for their forwards. Woodend forwardline also made a little easier for Riddell by not pushing to the right positions across the half forwardline.

well i think if there is contact between the clubs committees to let kilmore know im sure that there would be more than a handful of fellas to stick around n have bout 400 beers

Wadden off for the game but another player on after 15 minutes! Agreed Scooter is a good coach but after they gained control of the game and when Wadden was off he simply pushed numbers behind the ball-not really ground breaking coaching tactics there OM-but enough to strangle Woodends forwardline and make it hard for their forwards. Woodend forwardline also made a little easier for Riddell by not pushing to the right positions across the half forwardline.

Now your not pulling me up for being a little over confident there myself are you Woody ?

KILMORE Football Club has lost the services of young star Corey Mills for the rest of the season, after the key-position player went down with a serious leg injury on Saturday.
After going up for a mark, Mills was tackled by a Lancefield opponent as he hit the ground, forcing his leg and ankle to buckle.
He was carried off the ground and taken by ambulance to the Northern Hospital, where it was revealed that Mills has snapped his fibula, fractured his ankle and broken a bone in his foot.
A brother of senior coach Terry Ahearn, Mills is surely going to be missed by the club.
The absence of a highly skilled half-forward and pinch-hit ruckman will leave a hole in the Blues’ line-up.

Diggers Rest Vs Rockbank
A chance for the Burra to find some form against the Rams. The Burra really need to find a kick start to their season before they meet Kilmore in what looks like will be the season decider, this is the game to find the form. Dan Reilly has been solid all year and Andrew Klooster has been the standout, maybe its time for Diggers to try someone else out of the forward line to create a forward option.. Did anyone say Andrew Bujeya out of Full Forward.
The Rams will be disappointed with their loss to Centrals last week. I thought with the way the Rams had been playing that they would be a chance, unfortunately not, Centrals smashed them, the Rams need to get plenty out of Walker, Nicholson, Krul and Taylor every week to be a chance, Shirley should be looked at to ruck if he is fit to free up Krul. Play Krul out of CHF and Walker on the ball.
Diggers by 50pts

Lancefield Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Tigers pushed Kilmore all the way last week, while being disappointed in the loss, they have to look at the turn around from the first game, 20 odd goal turn around is a pretty good result. The Tigers are still getting their contributions from the what I like to call "Triple C's" Choate, Conway and Collins. If they can get more from Graham, Milner and the other Collins they will go a long way to continuing their improvement, after not getting the win against Kilmore, the Tigers have to look at building for next year now. Blood some more kids and give them more game time.
The Hawks will be disappointed with last weeks loss to the Bombers, but what can really be taken from that game. The return of Luke Barker is a boost, Sippy is starting to get touch, the rest of the game was a scrap bowl. Woodend are a massive contender, they need to settle their lineup now leading into finals and just ensure their game plan is strong enough to take them all the way. Rick Dowling is still the key forward for the Hawks, Collo, if you are reading this, TAG JOHNNO....
Woodend by 35pts

Macedon FC Vs Riddell
The Cats were brave last week after quarter time, the young guys are really coming of age and again, their ball use was impressive. Losing Nipper Wright has hurt, but Aaron Christianson played the best game I have seen him play on Saturday, it reminded me of what Wheelahan does at Centrals, he controlled the game for the Cats. They dont have the cattle just yet, but the Cats work as hard as any team in the competition, a credit to Gav Christianson.
Not much more can be said about the Bombers, they are on top looking down, their midfield is controlling games, if they start to battle they just throw someone else in their and the job gets done. Wadden was stupid, no doubt, but the Bombers have so many options will it hurt them that much? Its the young guns that are doing the damage for the Bombers, Leitch, Petran, Box, Climas all dominating games at the moment, add Bellville and Blade who are just smashing opponents and the Bombers are a formidable force. Cats - Pressure on midfield supply...
Riddell by 63pts

Melton Central Vs Kilmore
Centrals had a solid win last week and will be happy with moving away from the bottom rungs of the ladder, as mentioned, Wheelahan is one of the premier players in the competition and if he gets continued support from his team mates Centrals will only get better and better. If Greenshields plays he will cause Kilmore headaches, a very talented footballer who has the ability to kick a bag of goals. Bullen has been solid this year, but can be better, hopefully that comes soon, a bit of spite in this one due to the first game this year should see a Centrals fired up and looking for an upset.
Kilmore had been impressive up until last week, but they have now left the door open wide for a Diggers challenge, the Blues not only need a win here, but need to make it a big one to build the confidence. Cornish is dominating up forward and the return of Jason King has made a difference to the Blues lineup. Youngsters Ramsdale and Hede need to have more of an impact on the game as both players run and carry the ball to break the lines, Kilmore need this to happen to be effective. A huge game in the context of the Blues season. Centrals, play Bullen on Cornish and clog the middle of the ground..
Kilmore by 12pts

Match of the Round
Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Romsey - NAIDOC Celebration game.
The Roos found some form last week against the Cats and will be looking to continue that this week. Some players returning from injury have strengthened the lineup and the Roos will be looking forward to a more settled lineup this week. The Roos have tried different things over the past few weeks and while some have bombed, some things worked really well for them. The return of Boyd has been a bonus and the backline has been exceptional in recent times. The Roos will need everyone firing this week coming up against the Redbacks who had a great win last week.
The Redbacks are starting to hit their straps and will have players returning this week for this big game. Morgan has been good all year, as has Hollywood out on the wing, McClellan provides their drive and the Redbacks will be looking for more from their forwards to have an impact this week. Both sides will be looking for a win here to consolodate their positions on in the 5. Should be a ripper clash.
Roos to win.

Riddell home in "Slog" of the day 5.6 to Woodend 2.2.
Not much to be seen in both sides given the conditions.
Just maybe strength department, Riddell to powerful !
Some noteable outs for both teams prior to bounce.

TOOL OF THE WEEK................... Heath Wadden, some people just will not learn !
Reported for (allegedly of course) screaming at umpire " Your a F*****g Cheat" !

It's amazing that people don't get their facts correct. The report was for allegedly, calling the umpire "A Cheat" as per the report card. It's a well known fact the RDFL cannot get any decent umpires and hasn't for years. The umpires should be held accountable for their bad decisions, decisions that could cost teams games and ultimately premierships. If you get paid to do a job, like me, you either do it properly or don't do it at all. I would think that if you get hit, not one but twice in the head in a contest that you should be given a free kick and sometimes frustration kicks in and things get out of hand. "Do it right or don't do it at all"

Strongly disagree :thumbsdown:

The umpires in our competition do the best job that they can do, at least we have umpire coverage for every game every week.

And generally the umpires do a pretty good job with our level of football... Its not the AFL, maybe we just need to be a little more careful what spills out of our mouths when that frustration sneaks in...

The umpires in our competition do the best job that they can do, at least we have umpire coverage for every game every week.

And generally the umpires do a pretty good job with our level of football... Its not the AFL, maybe we just need to be a little more careful what spills out of our mouths when that frustration sneaks in...

Good call IMS. Even doing junior umpiring I reckon there are times you have blown the whistle, paid a free kick ... only to replay it back in your mind and think that perhaps it wasn't there. I don't think there are any cheats in the RDFL umpires association.

Don't try and tell me that certain umpires don't like certain players! I don't like certain people, its human nature. Don't tell me once an umpire is one the field he forgets he is human.

I strongly disgree with your post :thumbsdown:! All players in the comp should count themselves yourself lucky to have umpires in all games. Speak to a couple of other posters i.e. Blueboy16 about the frustration of having club umpires such as they have in the WRFL. It can have adverse affect on the standard of the game. All umpires need all the help they can get and don't need to be slammed in a public forum such as this.

Sloth out.

I strongly disgree with your post :thumbsdown:! All players in the comp should count themselves yourself lucky to have umpires in all games. Speak to a couple of other posters i.e. Blueboy16 about the frustration of having club umpires such as they have in the WRFL. It can have adverse affect on the standard of the game. All umpires need all the help they can get and don't need to be slammed in a public forum such as this.

Sloth out.
Thinking themselves lucky has nothing to do with it, they get paid to do a job so do it right!!

yeah, promising young player corey mills, has a clean break in his tibia, a fractured ankle and a broken bone in his foot.

I thought I seen someone in there with a Kilmore jumper on. I was in there meself on Saturday, broke me jaw in two places. Anyway good luck to the young fella and once again great to see cornish kicking another bagfull of goals.

How did collins go from Lancefield last week? Wadden to go for a few. Also heard there were many injuries from up to five teams last weekend. Any news from clubs/players. Are they long term?

Sloth out.

Your so right sloth. I left the WRFL this season after 6 games not only because of the standard was terrible but week in week out having to put up with 40-50 something old men trying to umpire the game. We should count ourselves so lucky that we get umpires that have accreditation, want to learn the rules and put up with the crap from simple minded people every week.
WRFL Div 2 reserves had a club umpire assaulted last week and that player was given a life ban. The wash up from this assault suggests the club umpire was cheating for his own side. This week a 15yo official umpire was king hit by a u/18 player who I'm sure will also get a life ban.

Lets support our umpires and I suggest to doitright to speak to gilesy about pulling on the orange shirt next season seeing as he thinks he could do better

who got this weeks rising star? and who would be the favourite for the end of yr award? Surely David Cornish will take it out

i actually started reading the first 10 pages today to see if any of the preseason banter turned out to be correct. i found that i said cornish would come to kilmore and dominate! Correct. Incorrect about other things though. Im sure if i read the whole 4000 posts i would find im good at eating my words lol

Thinking themselves lucky has nothing to do with it, they get paid to do a job so do it right!!

Your posts are becoming more irrelevant by the posting.

The umpires do their best to do the best job. Sure, everyone has issues with different people, but the umpires do their best every week not to let issues influence the way they umpire a game, I believe this is the case in generally all cases.. Umpires get paid a pittance to umpire, they dont deserve the abuse they sometimes cop. Their job will always be made harder by the abuse of players etc. Remember that next time you go to open that monsterous trap of yours to abuse one of them, maybe if you just keep the lips sealed the next decision will go your way...

I think overall the umpires in our comp do a mighty job, sometimes I get frustrated and annoyed with decisions, but that is beauty of our wonderful games, the human error that creates excitement and controversy...

who got this weeks rising star? and who would be the favourite for the end of yr award? Surely David Cornish will take it out

This weeks nomination is Steve Boyd from the Sunbury Kangaroos