RDFL Thread 2007

No suspensions from the Romsey v Digger match that Harry knows of. Nor were there any injuries. There was a huge clash of heads that saw a player from both sides receive cuts to their eyebrows. Lots blood. Geez it was good, both players going straight at the pill. I don;t like to see people get hurt but that was courageous footy at it's best. Great Stuff:thumbsu:

Sorry Dpagan, can't comment on any other games, I wasn't there.

didnt AJ get reported for a late hit on a diggers backman .. not quite sure but was given a yellow which means automatic report doesnt it

I am an umpire in the RDFL and have been for about 10 years. Not once in that time have I paid a free kick against someone because I didn't like them. Umpiring is a reaction sport. You see something, you pay a free kick. How quick our game is you don't have time to think about your decision. You see a hand hit a head; you blow the whistle and pay the free kick. You don't see a hand hit a head look at the team/player and go ummmmmm nah don't like that player/team so its 'play on'. Our game is way too quick to be able to cheat.

Well said:thumbsu: I umpired a practice match early in th year, Romsey v Broadford. For the first quarter I was too hesitatnt to blow the whistle for fear of getting it wrong and the retalliation I may cop. As I warmed up in the second quater I found myself being able to blow the whistle more frequently. I'm a player and I can now fully understand how hard it is to umpire. You see something, if you think too long (i.e half a second) the play has moved on and you're looking for the next thing. The game moves so fast you just have to react. I actually found myself getting sucked into the play and watching the game and forgetting to blow the whistle. Tuff gig. Given the speed of the game, you can't spot a player in particular in a pack you just see hands and heads and feet and the ball and backs etc.... It is a massive call to claim that these guys cheat. What benefit do they gain? :confused:

I'd like to say that the guys in orange in our league do a bloody good job on a weekly basis. Yeah there are some discraceful decisions, but then there are the majority that are there. They call them as they see them. Keep up the good work guys and girls!! :thumbsu:

didnt AJ get reported for a late hit on a diggers backman .. not quite sure but was given a yellow which means automatic report doesnt it

Not sure to be honest, I did see the incident which I thought warranted being sent off but surely not reportable. I'll find out tonight and report back tomorrow Billylid.:thumbsu:

Yellow is auto report in seniors Harry...

In that case, yes AJ was reported. I don't know if he took the offer. I'll find out and report back tomorrow. I guess you learn something new everyday. I thought Red was automatic report and yellow was just a send off.

Thinking themselves lucky has nothing to do with it, they get paid to do a job so do it right!!

not taking any sides but the fact is no matter how bad u beleive the umpiring to be,you cant call them cheats.as grub found out.
waddsy is a gun player but unfortunately for him and his team mates he will be having a rest 4 a while.now lets get off the umpires backs and play some football:thumbsu:

No suspensions from the Romsey v Digger match that Harry knows of. Nor were there any injuries. There was a huge clash of heads that saw a player from both sides receive cuts to their eyebrows. Lots blood. Geez it was good, both players going straight at the pill. I don;t like to see people get hurt but that was courageous footy at it's best. Great Stuff:thumbsu:

Sorry Dpagan, can't comment on any other games, I wasn't there.

Romsey player (dont know who) got yellow card and got 2 weeks for a dirt act behind the play hitting A.Page from diggers in 2nd quarter he did not return. Hildebrand from diggers went to hospital at half time after that head clash, really courageous stuff.

Does any one else think that harvy 1 and do it right are the same person. both joined with in one week and seem very passionate about one issue nothing else... :confused::confused:

Matt riddle is the only game of late i have missed and ims can correct me if I'm wrong but he would not have polled in the last three matches. Nothing against the bloke he is a standout player but if he has got any votes in the last three I would be very suprised.

Matt, can you confirm this - Wadden 1 with 2 suspended is what my spies in the league have told me?

Can confirm. He did get one week and two suspended. I spoke to an official and he said the tribunal hearing lasted around 40 minutes, apparantely Heath was very apologetic. Good news for Riddell.

Matt riddle is the only game of late i have missed and ims can correct me if I'm wrong but he would not have polled in the last three matches. Nothing against the bloke he is a standout player but if he has got any votes in the last three I would be very suprised.

He dominated on Saturday with 35 possies. Steve Boyd was named best but probably won't get the three votes because he was playing a shut down role I believe. According to my information and calculations, I reckon Bonnici will have around 12-15 votes at this stage of the season.

35 possies, he must have had 25 of them whilst i was getting a beer, however also in the run for votes will be S James my personal best on grund. Great ruck work and a couple of sausages to top it of. Then Boydy with a couple to fight it out with Big Footies fav bloke one D helmers. Bonnici and Ellery and possibly even Bobby could also factor. OH yeah forgot to put in grub and hole could also scrape in for 1.

If you were there you would probably have a better idea, but my sources are normally pretty reliable. As long as his form holds and he doesn't get injured, I think Bonnici will be a shoe-in for the Bowen.

Without seeing to many other sides week in week out I can't see as many dominating like Bonnici, however when you have to share votes with James, Both grubs, Hole, it will make it hard to have to high of a vote tally. However I think you are right he will have a minimum of 10 votes as we speak.

Well said:thumbsu: I umpired a practice match early in th year, Romsey v Broadford. For the first quarter I was too hesitatnt to blow the whistle for fear of getting it wrong and the retalliation I may cop. As I warmed up in the second quater I found myself being able to blow the whistle more frequently. :thumbsu:

Reckon you went alright too if your the fella that helped out with the two's - deserved more than the 6 stubbies you got as payment ;)

I was told he pleaded guilty which may have helped his cause!

Did'nt help Grub any !

OUR TRIBUNAL IS AS UNPREDICTABLE AS MY MISSUS !

But I'm stuck with her, we dont have to be stuck with them !

Time for clubs to act, before its your turn to feel their wrath.

Get rid of em & get rid of em NOW !