RDFL Thread 2007

Did'nt help Grub any !

OUR TRIBUNAL IS AS UNPREDICTABLE AS MY MISSUS !

But I'm stuck with her, we dont have to be stuck with them !

Time for clubs to act, before its your turn to feel their wrath.

Get rid of em & get rid of em NOW !

This is what I meant when I asked matt for odds on his sentence. I don't believe anybody could have thought he would have only got one week. Surely there defence could not have been that different. Something along the lines of I'm very sorry, in the heat of the moment, out of character etc. This sentence however different to grubs is probably closer to what I expect someone to receive on such a laughable charge.

Reckon you went alright too if your the fella that helped out with the two's - deserved more than the 6 stubbies you got as payment ;)

Yes that's me:thumbsu: And I was happy with a thanks from the Broadford President, the 6 stubs definately an added bonus and very much appreciated. I had to do the running for the seniors also that day, and I was meant to be resting from a bad hamstring!!

I can say that the beers went down very well at the end of what was a great day of footy.:thumbsu:

On the subject of bowen medals and possesions per game etc. .... Yes its great to see someone get up and grab a handy 35 for the game, but in my opinion, its what the player does with the ball for those 35 that counts.A player like buckley is a terrible user of the ball ( save the debates for the magpies forum ) yet is so overated by the media that he is a superstar that its not funny.You will see him pick up 35 in a game and turn the ball over/ineffective 15 times which turns him into "just another midfielder" for 20 effective possesions. Where as id be leaning towards a bloke to give 3 whos had 20-25 and effectivley used the ball each time,it shows he was the most switched on and damaging for the game. Its easy for a player to find the ball when you're a midfielder, but making good use of it is another thing. Im not stating that this has anything to do with bonnici, i think he uses the ball well, but thats what you have to consider before shooting off possesion stats to say who are the stars/bowen faves of the league.How many effective possesions do u think robbo would have? how would you compare his effectiveness to bonnici? This is why I rate Mark Mcinerny as a fair contender for the bowen as he has a penetrating kick into the fwd line and uses his posessions very well

I'm sure someone on this forum has contact details of the RDFLUA. Can they please pass it onto doitright and harvey01. I'd love to pay addmission to see these two "get it right" on a constant basis

doitright and harvey01 our senior coach is steven giles. I am more than happy to pass on his contact details to you if you two want to get involved, from what you have told us you would be worth your weight's in gold to us down at the RDFLUA.

Just to weigh in to the debate, I played in the rdfl/rdjfl for 10years before i started umpiring and umpiring footy is more challanging than playing, we would never hear people bagging bryden morgan or dean helmers for making 3 or 4 mistakes in a day of footy but in our situation 3 or 4 mistakes might be the difference between you blokes thinking we have had a good day or a terrible day. It really dissapoints me when people continuosly bag umpires when they wouldn't have the ticker to put themselves in our often very heated situations week after week, i'm never (or any other umpire for that matter) going to say that we are always 100% right, people need to realise that and move on, otherwise we will fast be approachng the situation where the RDFLUA will not be able to provide umpires because our members will walk away or we will not be able to recruit umpires.

This is what I meant when I asked matt for odds on his sentence. I don't believe anybody could have thought he would have only got one week. Surely there defence could not have been that different. Something along the lines of I'm very sorry, in the heat of the moment, out of character etc. This sentence however different to grubs is probably closer to what I expect someone to receive on such a laughable charge.

On the money FM2. This is more what the penalty should be worth rather than what grub received. Surely hitting someone is worth more than saying 'cheat'!! Understand they need to be protected to a degree, to attract new umpires to the game, but its getting a little bit precious!! :cool:

Come on guys give the umps a break, have a look at the afl even their umps get some important decisions wrong, they are human.
To the umpires on this thread, A Question..

I have noticed that in the past if a player has the ball and ducks a tackle and hit high most umpires will not pay it, as he ducked his head.
Coaches used to tell players first to the ball will get looked after by the umps if you have your head over it.
This year there have been alot of times where an umpire will not pay a high hit because his head was down, (like a ducking motion) this is going for the ball. This is disregarding the ealier statement of first to it. not many can pick the ball up without bending down.
Should a free be given to the player with his head over it?
I am not having a go at any umps here, just asking to clarify something
If people on here understand how certain rules are interpreted, some may then know why or why not a free is given.

Come on guys give the umps a break, have a look at the afl even their umps get some important decisions wrong, they are human.
To the umpires on this thread, A Question..

I have noticed that in the past if a player has the ball and ducks a tackle and hit high most umpires will not pay it, as he ducked his head.
Coaches used to tell players first to the ball will get looked after by the umps if you have your head over it.
This year there have been alot of times where an umpire will not pay a high hit because his head was down, (like a ducking motion) this is going for the ball. This is disregarding the ealier statement of first to it. not many can pick the ball up without bending down.
Should a free be given to the player with his head over it?
I am not having a go at any umps here, just asking to clarify something
If people on here understand how certain rules are interpreted, some may then know why or why not a free is given.

I wasnt in any way having a go at umpires B12, more the tribunal system, and the inconsistency of the outcomes at the tribunal. Im all for some bantar between umps and players and just think that part of the game is getting a little precious. Will be good for umps to get around to the clubs like they are doing in coming weeks.

In all seriousness gentlemen, where are we at!

If you are Leigh Grub, how would be feeling right about now, after recieving 3 weeks + 1 Suspended sentence to find another bloke with previous record got 1 week for the same 'thing'!

Now i have not an association with either Riddell or Sunbury but if this was a Hawks player, I WOULD BE PISSED!

Where are we at in all fareness?

Is it a case of rules for some and not others! I would like to hear from our two umpires who have jumped on board as to there thoughts on our judicial system? And by the way welcome, it will perhaps help people's idealistic views of how the game is acctually seen through the eyes of an umpire!!!

Good to see my boy up and about last week, Mr Sipthorpe just starting to get himself into the form he is renound for!

So all up out of last weeks games who got done and who didn't and what did they recieve?

I have a feeling Scott McCartney may recieve a pretty angry phone call this morning. Is it time to get a new tribunal. Time for a change and start using something similar to the GDCA where each club nominates a respectable member of their club to be a tribunal advocate and president or general manager of RDFL picks on a rotational basis 3 members of the tribunal commitee with no ties to either club involved in tribunal and let them make rulings.

Can we send the Tribunal members out to clubs to explain their position.. They are a disgrace, they shame our competition and make it laughable.. Its a shame they are attempting to ruin our comp, no wonder players dont want to come to this league, with the monkey's that run our tribunal, the only safe club to play at is Riddell.. :mad:

I have a feeling Scott McCartney may recieve a pretty angry phone call this morning. Is it time to get a new tribunal. Time for a change and start using something similar to the GDCA where each club nominates a respectable member of their club to be a tribunal advocate and president or general manager of RDFL picks on a rotational basis 3 members of the tribunal commitee with no ties to either club involved in tribunal and let them make rulings.

I call that common sense prevailing!!!:thumbsu:

Scotty, these blokes are destroying all the hard work Sharpy and you have done! Make a call and move them on, our league is getting stronger week in, week out! If this practise continues where only going to fall back into the trenches that we have spent the last 10 years in!!!!:mad:

If you were there you would probably have a better idea, but my sources are normally pretty reliable. As long as his form holds and he doesn't get injured, I think Bonnici will be a shoe-in for the Bowen.

watch for ryan connellan to be making a late run from romsey, been our best by a fair way over the last 6 weeks. been dominating the ruck and solid around ground.

a couple of best on's in the last 2 weeks and he might have even got a vote in the woodend game, he stood up when the rest of us were terrible.

hes poled well in past years so umpires notice him..

Well, well, well. Our all powerful all seeing tribunal has once again stepped up to the plate to cause a controversy.

Finally the tribunal was correct in a decision that they have made, 1 week with 2 suspended, its a just and deserving suspension for an incident such as calling an umpire a "cheat".
It is just a crying shame that the tribunal had no justification whatsoever to make this decision after setting a precedent with the now infamous "Leigh McInerney Case". A precedent is set, therefore 3 weeks with 1 suspended should have become the MINIMUM suspension possible for a like case.
Unfortunately the tribunal has got it oh so wrong again after finally getting it right. How disillusioning for the RDFL clubs.

When will the tribunal learn that the adverse effect that they are having on the clubs when making decisions is actually having a negative impact on the league and the message that clubs are attempting to send to possible or even probable recruits.

What effect on the umpires, they should be doing their job, yet the umpires personally interract with these players on a daily basis, knowing that anything could happen if the case heads to comic court, would they be less likely to throw out a yellow, even if deserved, due to what might happen to a person they know well off the field?

It is time to move this comedy act on, if we are to continue to build a strong and successful competition that we are able to attract quality players to, we need to dispose of the weak links that currently occupy our game, the weakest one being the RDFL tribunal.

Well, well, well. Our all powerful all seeing tribunal has once again stepped up to the plate to cause a controversy.

Finally the tribunal was correct in a decision that they have made, 1 week with 2 suspended, its a just and deserving suspension for an incident such as calling an umpire a "cheat".
It is just a crying shame that the tribunal had no justification whatsoever to make this decision after setting a precedent with the now infamous "Leigh McInerney Case". A precedent is set, therefore 3 weeks with 1 suspended should have become the MINIMUM suspension possible for a like case.
Unfortunately the tribunal has got it oh so wrong again after finally getting it right. How disillusioning for the RDFL clubs.

When will the tribunal learn that the adverse effect that they are having on the clubs when making decisions is actually having a negative impact on the league and the message that clubs are attempting to send to possible or even probable recruits.

What effect on the umpires, they should be doing their job, yet the umpires personally interract with these players on a daily basis, knowing that anything could happen if the case heads to comic court, would they be less likely to throw out a yellow, even if deserved, due to what might happen to a person they know well off the field?

It is time to move this comedy act on, if we are to continue to build a strong and successful competition that we are able to attract quality players to, we need to dispose of the weak links that currently occupy our game, the weakest one being the RDFL tribunal.

Very well constructed argument, couldn't have said it better myself... :thumbsu:

Calmed down a touch and back on topic.

Rumour tells me that one of our more esteemed posters here on the RDFL thread is a little upset that he was unable to make the IMS top 50.. So much so that he will "tear every game apart" to prove ol' IMS wrong.

Well young man, you wouldn't be too far away if you could 1. Keep yourself on the field. 2. Get back on the ball. 3. Be better than the 50 blokes I mentioned...

The top 50 was tough to put together, when it comes to impact on the 1st half of the year, would you be willing to put yourself in that category youngster??? Im not so sure that you would :cool:

Just got off the phone to an umpiring contact of mine.

I believe that Heath gave a written apology and signed up for umpiring training so that he can understand the difficult task of being an umpire and what it involves.

A creative defense indeed. I wonder just how many of these umpiring sessions that Heath will actually attend.

Just got off the phone to an umpiring contact of mine.

I believe that Heath gave a written apology and signed up for umpiring training so that he can understand the difficult task of being an umpire and what it involves.

A creative defense indeed. I wonder just how many of these umpiring sessions that Heath will actually attend.

What a croc of SH1T. Not that Heath tried it but that the Tribunal fell for it. SHAME SHAME SHAME