RDFL Thread 2007

Just got off the phone to an umpiring contact of mine.

I believe that Heath gave a written apology and signed up for umpiring training so that he can understand the difficult task of being an umpire and what it involves.

A creative defense indeed. I wonder just how many of these umpiring sessions that Heath will actually attend.

Strong contact Mike, heard the same thing, an apology, signing up for umpire training and a very apologetic plea.. How good must he be at apologising, pretty sure he apologised profusely last time he called the umpire a cheat.. So well done to Heath for being able to get away with it.. :D

Not sure what you mean there TBR???

Well this young individual who has been reported this year was lead to believe the person he emailed was the president of his club! He talked himself up saying how much better he was than all your top 50 players
! What a tool!

When in fact it was a mate from an opposition club! Which however just so happens to be a fella from woodend who did make it!!!

Sleep in and a lot happens in the morning. TBR stop living in the past, i did actually get mistaken identity at the time i thought i was better then a number of players in the top 50, not all of them. I however have not been able to prove this due to suspension and lack of input to games. having a frustrating year with form and condfidence. i now think im well outside the top 100

Is it a case of rules for some and not others! I would like to hear from our two umpires who have jumped on board as to there thoughts on our judicial system? And by the way welcome, it will perhaps help people's idealistic views of how the game is acctually seen through the eyes of an umpire!!!

Don't think it is our place to be commenting on the tribunal Hawker28, in most tribunal hearings we rock up, give our evidence and leave before the verdict is even handed out.

Come on guys give the umps a break, have a look at the afl even their umps get some important decisions wrong, they are human.
To the umpires on this thread, A Question..

I have noticed that in the past if a player has the ball and ducks a tackle and hit high most umpires will not pay it, as he ducked his head.
Coaches used to tell players first to the ball will get looked after by the umps if you have your head over it.
This year there have been alot of times where an umpire will not pay a high hit because his head was down, (like a ducking motion) this is going for the ball. This is disregarding the ealier statement of first to it. not many can pick the ball up without bending down.
Should a free be given to the player with his head over it?
I am not having a go at any umps here, just asking to clarify something
If people on here understand how certain rules are interpreted, some may then know why or why not a free is given.

In most cases if you are hit in the head in the act of gathering the ball (i.e. you are ducked down to pick the ball up off the ground) it will be a free kick, but if you have possession have had time to look up then duck into a tackle and get taken high then it will be play on, depending of course on the sverity of the contact.

Sleep in and a lot happens in the morning. TBR stop living in the past, i did actually get mistaken identity at the time i thought i was better then a number of players in the top 50, not all of them. I however have not been able to prove this due to suspension and lack of input to games. having a frustrating year with form and condfidence. i now think im well outside the top 100

Comeon Van, give yourself some credit you are better than that. Turn it around with a big one this weekend against centrals.
any news as to what condition their ground is like??

Comeon Van, give yourself some credit you are better than that. Turn it around with a big one this weekend against centrals.
any news as to what condition their ground is like??
both forward 50's are very patchy but ok. the middles pretty sloppy, the wings are pretty good

Strong contact Mike, heard the same thing, an apology, signing up for umpire training and a very apologetic plea.. How good must he be at apologising, pretty sure he apologised profusely last time he called the umpire a cheat.. So well done to Heath for being able to get away with it.. :D

Good call IMS. Well done to Riddell for coming up with a great case to get him down to 1 week. Needs applauding. :thumbsu::)

Now watch what happens to the next player that gets done for calling the umpire a cheat and tries the same defence!! 4-5 weeks i reckon!!:D

Does anybody know who the advocate was? with what wadden did to help his case, letter, umpire training etc. To me this sound very much the way Iian Findlay works.

Sounds very much like a load of Horse Sh1t, how he got one is a joke!!!!!

Thats about how many players should get for that though, the inconsistency of the tribunal and grub getting 4 is the joke.

Thats what i am refering to!!! Obviously the longest rule in Australia's law system of 'binding precident', just doesn't take effect in the RDFL tribunial system!

Can we send the Tribunal members out to clubs to explain their position.. They are a disgrace, they shame our competition and make it laughable.. Its a shame they are attempting to ruin our comp, no wonder players dont want to come to this league, with the monkey's that run our tribunal, the only safe club to play at is Riddell.. :mad:

Watch who you're pottin. Maybe Riddells just more professional in their approach. Roona and the boys do a marvellous job...

Read on BDR... Dont stop at one post....

Maybe if you blokes stop licking ass, 'YOUR' star forward would have had a holiday!!! So wake up and smell the roses!:thumbsdown:

In most cases if you are hit in the head in the act of gathering the ball (i.e. you are ducked down to pick the ball up off the ground) it will be a free kick, but if you have possession have had time to look up then duck into a tackle and get taken high then it will be play on, depending of course on the sverity of the contact.

New to the forum, any questions or anyone interested in actually having a go at umpiring can email, questions@rdflua.com.au . As for umpire 22 and previosly no time to cheat, everything is a split second decision, sometimes we get it wrong, we aren't perfect, but if a player is taken high in a sloppy tackle while his head is already down it is definitely a free. If he ducks and the player tackling makes an effort to tackle legally, then it is play on.

As for the Wadden case, he did plead guily, don't know if leigh did, he apoligized, has taken it upon himself to look after the umpires when they visit, train with the umpires at their sessions for the next few weeks but the main reason he didn't get as many was weeks was that audible swearing was not involved as it supposedly was in the previous case.

We don't want to report anyone so remind all your mates that anyone who calls an umpire a cheat will be red carded and sent to the tribunal, this way the best players will be on the park and we don't have to give up our tuesday nights.:)

New to the forum, any questions or anyone interested in actually having a go at umpiring can email, questions@rdflua.com.au . As for umpire 22 and previosly no time to cheat, everything is a split second decision, sometimes we get it wrong, we aren't perfect, but if a player is taken high in a sloppy tackle while his head is already down it is definitely a free. If he ducks and the player tackling makes an effort to tackle legally, then it is play on.

As for the Wadden case, he did plead guily, don't know if leigh did, he apoligized, has taken it upon himself to look after the umpires when they visit, train with the umpires at their sessions for the next few weeks but the main reason he didn't get as many was weeks was that audible swearing was not involved as it supposedly was in the previous case.

We don't want to report anyone so remind all your mates that anyone who calls an umpire a cheat will be red carded and sent to the tribunal, this way the best players will be on the park and we don't have to give up our tuesday nights.:)

Orange Ump if we were to start a new thread for any serious questions, do you think the umps would be able to answer them on the big footy forum, that way all readers of BF will know the answers to questions that may be here or there. not just the person emailing the rdflua.

Thanks to the umps that answered my questions here.:thumbsu:

Sorry, make that email questions@rdflua.net:)