RDFL Thread 2007

Something a little different~

What would big footy members love to see happen in the RDFL or your club before the end of the year, besides a premiership?

I have a couple;

One weekened without rain,

See Dean Helmers in full flight,

A tie for 3 way tie with Bonici, Robbo and Mark Grub for the Bowen!,

IMS play in the two's (Little rumour could be sooner than later);),

Lancefield make up the 5!

Just a few!!!

What would big footy members love to see happen in the RDFL or your club before the end of the year, besides a premiership?

I have a couple;

Just a few!!!

a romsey v lancefield elimination final..

some one to force riddell to get out of 2nd gear and actually get close to beating them..

rockbank to get another win..

Just wondering if you guys can give some feedback on the umpires visit to training last night? Was it worth while? did you get anything out of it? was it a waste of time? Were there any clubs that did not have umpires?

Personally i got a lot out of it. It breaks up the type of training we do, but it also gave me a good chance to talk to some players that probably wouldn't talk to me or vise versa on match day. Hopefully it helps with player/umpire relationships a little. Any feedback would be good!:thumbsu:

G'day lads was just wondering if anyone could fill me in on how an old mate of mine going this year.....
Craig thompson for Diggers Rest? He probably plays in the ruck

I have a couple;

Just a few!!!

I second that IMS playing this year.. Maybe a final against diggers if his form warrants

the introuction of a North Vs South game .. such as the best team that say a Romsey, Lancifield, woodend and Kilmore etc can come up with versus a side made of Diggers , Sunbury , Riddell etc can come up with

a grand final that goes down to the wire

S.sims to finally win a bowen after being runner up so often

Mongrel to regain the form of yesteryear (expect against diggers of course)

Just wondering if you guys can give some feedback on the umpires visit to training last night? Was it worth while? did you get anything out of it? was it a waste of time? Were there any clubs that did not have umpires?

Personally i got a lot out of it. It breaks up the type of training we do, but it also gave me a good chance to talk to some players that probably wouldn't talk to me or vise versa on match day. Hopefully it helps with player/umpire relationships a little. Any feedback would be good!:thumbsu:

I thought it was a great idea and worked well, the boys were really good in welcoming them up.
Great to see them stick around for a feed, right up to selection time. one looked dissappointed he didn't get selected :D
We wouldn't like the umps to enjoy it too much, we might lose a few back to playing the game :eek:

Was a really good night. Romsey was graced with Simmo's presence. He stood up and had a chat to the whole club after the sides were read out and he spoke pretty well. I had a chance to have a good chat with him at the bar about a few issues, mainly the inconsistancy with the tribunal. Some very interesting points were put forward from both parties.

He was able to run through the thought processes of umpires when in the middle of the action, he claimed, and I know this is a bold statement "We are human and yes, we do make mistakes" :D

He also touched on the push in the back rule, which has helped clear up a few dark areas. All in all a good night. I think it was a great opportunity to chat with the guys as normal blokes in a relaxed atmosphere. Well done RDFL, good initiative. Two thumbs up!! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I thought it was a great idea and worked well, the boys were really good in welcoming them up.
Great to see them stick around for a feed, right up to selection time. one looked dissappointed he didn't get selected :D
We wouldn't like the umps to enjoy it too much, we might lose a few back to playing the game :eek:

it was an exercise that was definately beneficial for both parties.unfortunately johny weston only lasted 2 minutes,but the other umpire dwayne trained fully and competed in our handball match also.can play a bit too.but most importantly it gave us a chance 2 see that the umpires are the same as us.im not sure whos idea it was{perhaps gilesy},
but it was fantastic that it happened.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

and billylid beleive me,if i eva get back to my form of yesteryear i hope it is against the burra:D

Now dont go jumping the gun and carrying on after you read this, i agree with the tribunal being inconsistent but read on. For one is overseas and didnt sit on the tribunal Tuesday night. If you have been around this league for a while you should all know who sits on the tribunal and if there is a conflict of interest they dont sit on that night( Common sense). The penalties are set by the guidlines (AFL)the difference in the suspensions is how you present your defence. Poor defence longer suspension, good defence lesser suspension. We dont know all the facts about when players get suspended but we all have a say whethers it right or wrong with out ALL the information from the tribunal. All clubs should now think about there defence before they front the tribunal, get it right on the night and you can see what happens as the case this week compared to a few weeks ago. All clubs can learn from it.

:eek:
Now dont go jumping the gun and carrying on after you read this, i agree with the tribunal being inconsistent but read on. For one Mr Jensen is overseas and didnt sit on the tribunal Tuesday night. If you have been around this league for a while you should all know who sits on the tribunal and if there is a conflict of interest they dont sit on that night( Common sense). The penalties are set by the guidlines (AFL)the difference in the suspensions is how you present your defence. Poor defence longer suspension, good defence lesser suspension. We dont know all the facts about when players get suspended but we all have a say whethers it right or wrong with out ALL the information from the tribunal. All clubs should now think about there defence before they front the tribunal, get it right on the night and you can see what happens as the case this week compared to a few weeks ago. All clubs can learn from it.

i wont jump the gun ballsy,because u make a valid point.
but may i ask which club u are from?:eek:

If you have been around this league for a while you should all know who sits on the tribunal and if there is a conflict of interest they dont sit on that night( Common sense).

If a tribunal member was to see a game that a player is reported in, and sees the incident, would that be a conflict of interest? In the past years this has happened. In my opinion the member would then be judging on what he saw. not the case in front of him. not sure if this happens often but i know it did last year in one case.

i have a little to say about Dean Helmers. The guy needs to retire and return to the paddock. He is done and has no influence on games anymore. should be playing 2nd's footy for the rest of the year and finish off his career.

Big Momma has had her say!

i have a little to say about Dean Helmers. The guy needs to retire and return to the paddock. He is done and has no influence on games anymore. should be playing 2nd's footy for the rest of the year and finish off his career.

Thats a bit harse, I think his impact is torrific in the big games to be able to stand up and take control when a game is there for the taking, and hopefully still has a few good years left, keep tearing it up Deano exept when playing my boys. Big Momma it sounds like you are a tad jelious, maybe you should have stuck at the game a bit longer hence the name BIG MOMMA.

Hiding behind an alias and having a crack at one of the RDFL greats. Simple minded and agree with SNEAKY ONE a little jealous of a super Career. No doubt will be water off a ducks back to Deano but also will use as inspiration for a big game against Romsey this week.

Harry's Tips

Diggers Rest V Rockbank

After seeing Diggers last week, I can tell you that what ever the scoreline this week it will be a convincing win. Depending on the conditions anywhere from 6 to 15 goals. The likes of Ruane, Simms and Heritage will be just too good for Rockbank's onball brigade. Shirley will try all day as will a number of other Rams players, I just don't think they'll have the depth across the ground to cover the Burra. Diggers by 10 goals.

Lancefield V Woodend Hesket

Lancefield will be up and about this week after a great performance against the Blues last week which ended ina drawn game. No one would have tipped that one, so Lancefield will see that as a win, even though they should have had all 4 points. Woodend are travelling nicely and I don't think the loss to Riddell last week in terrible conditions will hurt them at all. Lancefield's ground will hold up pretty well in the wet so there shouldn't be any slipping around in the mud, just a slippery pill. Woodend will be accustomed to playing in crappy conditions, however the large ground will suit Lancefield better. Given that it will probably be a wet affair the run from Sam Graham will be deminished slightly and all of the hard work will be up to Smithwick, Collins and Choate, not forgetting their ruckman Conway who has single handedly kep the Tigers in with a sniff.
Woodend by 5 goals.

Melton Centrals V Kilmore

Danger, Danger, Danger for the Blues this week. Travelling to the Centrals dung hole will prove to be a tuff ask this week. Melton always seem to gain a little against the sides above them and they play their own ground very well. They know how to lock a game down, especially inthe wet conditions. My advise to the onballers, bring your iceskates!! The middle of that ground is in terrible nick and you can't change direction without slowing down, indicating and using the turning circle of a Mac truck. Robbo will need to be at his best given that he will more than likely have to rove to the Centrals ruckman for some of the day after the loss of Terry Ahearn's younger brother, whose name escapes me at present. I think the Kilmore backline will be much better than Melton's forwardline. Kilmore have 1 bloke to stop and 1 bloke only, Wheelan. He's the key if Centrals are to be in with a chance. Kilmore 4 goals.

Macedon V Riddell

Riddell will be too strong, too smart and too experienced IMO here. Whilst the cats will have a red hot go on their home soil, it wil be the same old heads that will do the damage for Riddell. Blade, Belville and the Allen boys. The wide open spaces of Tony Clarke Reserve will benfit the young cats. Riddell will go about their business of getting the job done whilst Macedon will need to bring their A game and jump Riddell early if they are going to sneak away with the points. Riddell's only downfall, which is only slight, is perhaps their inability to run out the full game. If the cats can get a jump they will need to work hard to maintain a lead. My suggestion, RUN, RUN, RUN and RUN some more. Riddell by 8 goals.

Sunbury V Romsey

MATCH OF THE ROUND - NAIDOC WEEK

Romsey are coming off a great win against Diggers last week and will be looking for a big effort this week against a determined Roos outfit. With Helmers, said to be getting back toward career best form the Redbacks will have their work cut out if they are to contain him, Bonicci, McInerny and James. Ryan Connellan will definately step up again this week after another great performance last week. The game will then be won from the middle. McLellan and Morgan will rotate through the guts while a strange move by the Romsey coaches to put Dawson throught the middle also seem sto have paid dividends in the past few weeks. The Redbacks will need to lift their kicking accuracy in front of the big sticks if they are going to kick away from the Roos. Inaccuracy has cost the Redbacks a couple of times this year and they can't afford to let another "winnable" game go byt he wayside. This is set to be a big game, however last week's clash of Riddell v Woodend was also said to be a big one and was scrappy at best. Harry's tip: Romsey 3 points.

Good luck to those pulling them on this weekend:thumbsu:

Harry's cracking a stubby, it's beer O'clock.:D

If any of you guys start getting bored with some of the drivel that sometimes goes on here, try going to Non footy related>The limboclub. its on the big footy site. I think you'll find it quite interesting. Matty I'm sure you will find the articles up to speed.

My tips for round 11

Diggers - easy
Kangas - just
Woodend - easy
Kilmore - just
Riddell - easy

Heard a little whisper big Deano may not be lining up for the Kangas tomorrow after a visit to his Proctologist !

Most likely 12-15 with you out. more to share it around. I believe the big fellas due for big one tomorrow. Dunno how the cold will affect his arthritis though. or his thinnly mossed pathway.

ah, did hear a whisper the big fella was back and playing. Pretty wet tomorrow so would love to be a small forward!! Hopefully the big fella is playing again in the ones next week!!!:D

wheels is definatly playing and will be firing on all cylinders tomorrow.unluky to only play the first ten against the bankers due to soreness which has since passed.in our opinion at centrals wheels is a terrific leader on and off the field and has been magnified this year with greeny onboard.look out kilmore bullen is on a hot streak and can dominate a game in the wet or dry,add plummer and jarrot and the obrien bros and its only a matter of time before it all comes together!!!good luck to all teams for the round,and looking forward to a few beers with the kilmore boys before our ball .