RDFL Thread 2007

It's a done deal, the Lions are officially off to the EDFL next year and are taking one team from each age group with them! This will see the lions recruit massive players, $$$ spending on players and drop their netballers!

Also watch out for good players returning to the RDFL! Already heard on the grapevine some quality talent likely to return! Only a matter of time before Gisborne do it also! A case of Monkey see, Monkey do perhaps!

Nothing is offical. If they do go they will be starting in B grade so spending up will not be on the agenda.

Gisborne went to the Bendigo - Sunbury went to Ballarat. Not sure where the monkey see monkey do fits in??

hi, harry wilson.Buddy from the looks of it you are reporting from romsey? i am mates with the cracker brothers and use to play footy with them in town of brunswick and i currently no longer play but try and get around to different games in leagues and have only seen one romsey game this year. just wanted your thoughts on how each is going.i know the older brother hasnt been fit for a couple of years and from what i have seen of the league if he decided to get fit he would be easily one of the best in the league.one of the best skills and brains in football i have played with.and younger brother is young and given time will be also very good i believe. just your thoughts thanks harry.tell em that timmy said gday.cheers

TBR would like to know how good your source is. It has been rumoured for a long time sunbury leaving and talks are happening but to write a post that it is confirmed I hope this is correct. :confused::confused:

My source is very good, at both ends! I have heard this form the top at Sunbury and have heard this at the other end of the scale, in the biggest sponsor of the EDFL, a particular Real Estate agent!! They were notified early this week about the expansion of the league, and their plans beyond 2007!

Something would have to go terribly wrong between now and next Monday when the official media release will take place! I have also heard another club has put a bid into the EDFL, not from up our way though, stayed tuned whilst i dig deeper!

Kings, what i mean by 'Monkey see, Monkey do! Is that Sunbury left, and you follwed! They left to go play a better standard of football at the time, and so did you! They are seeking new challenges, and you guys, well it's only a matter of time!

hi, harry wilson.Buddy from the looks of it you are reporting from romsey? i am mates with the cracker brothers and use to play footy with them in town of brunswick and i currently no longer play but try and get around to different games in leagues and have only seen one romsey game this year. just wanted your thoughts on how each is going.i know the older brother hasnt been fit for a couple of years and from what i have seen of the league if he decided to get fit he would be easily one of the best in the league.one of the best skills and brains in football i have played with.and younger brother is young and given time will be also very good i believe. just your thoughts thanks harry.tell em that timmy said gday.cheers

G'day Big Man27,

I'll start off with the younger of the two in Rob Keenan. I think you are correct in saying that in time he will also be very good. He is young and you can really see it in his footy. Mainly in decsion making. He gets plenty of the ball and has real genuine pace. With his drive off a wing or forward flank he has a penetrating kick that can often go the distance to score. It's his decision making at that stage that sometimes lets him down. Occasionally he needs to lift his vision and perhaps centre the ball rather than trying to do it on his own. Once he learns a bit more about the game at a senior level he will be very hard to stop. A great player in the making.

As for Dave, the older brother, he is, as you stated earlier, one of the smartest players in the Romsey lineup and is very well positioned on a back flank. His ability to repell an attack and break the lines is uncanny. The best thing, also as you stated, is his skill level. When he does break the lines he doesn't just blaze away, he is smart enough to spot up a target. He has plenty of courage and endeavour and is a vital cog on the Romsey wheel. His only down fall has been his lack of consistant fitness. When he is up and firing he is much like Mark "Bulldog" Strack (RDFL people will all know who that is - Bowen Medal winner and all round nice guy!!).

Both fantastic guys and a pleasure to have around the club. I'll pass on your regards Bigman. Hope that answers your questions.:thumbsu:

My source is very good, at both ends! I have heard this form the top at Sunbury and have heard this at the other end of the scale, in the biggest sponsor of the EDFL, a particular Real Estate agent!! They were notified early this week about the expansion of the league, and their plans beyond 2007!

Something would have to go terribly wrong between now and next Monday when the official media release will take place! I have also heard another club has put a bid into the EDFL, not from up our way though, stayed tuned whilst i dig deeper!

Kings, what i mean by 'Monkey see, Monkey do! Is that Sunbury left, and you follwed! They left to go play a better standard of football at the time, and so did you! They are seeking new challenges, and you guys, well it's only a matter of time![/quote

ooooh all this talk of spanking the monkey is getting me aroused]

Kings, what i mean by 'Monkey see, Monkey do! Is that Sunbury left, and you follwed! They left to go play a better standard of football at the time, and so did you! They are seeking new challenges, and you guys, well it's only a matter of time![/quote

C'mon Uncle, stop with all of the sexual inuendo. Footy's the only thing on here that should be getting you aroused!!:D

Just rubbing my big nipples for you, ya sexy beast! All this arousal is making me sweet, somewhere naughty!!!

Due to Harry taking a long weekend, here's Harry's Run Down for the week ahead!!

Sunbury v Rockbank

"Look out Rockbank" is all that should be said this week. Sunbury will be fuming at the loss to Romsey last week on their home soil. In what was pretty dodgy conditions the Roos never really came to play last week and will be fired up to SMASH the Rams this week. The return of Grubby will bolster their midfield, which let's face it, doesn't need much bolstering. Whilst I thought Bonnicci wasn't that damaging last week he still managed to rack up 30 possies. If you get enough of the ball something's bound to happen. The Rams will need to pray for rain, rain and more rain of they're to save any percentage here. From what Boardman oval was like last week, if there is more rain during this week expect a slippery, ugly encounter. Roos by 10 goals.

Woodend Hesket v Melton Centrals

Well, there is no doubt this one WILL be a wet, boggy, slippery, tough battle. The Hawks are travelling along nicley with Sippy and Ninga both hitting their straps toward the pointy end of the season. The return of Barker in the lasts couple of weeks will only help the Hawks in what should be a 10 goal win. Melton Centrals will work hard all day and the ever present Wheelan will give the Centrals boys every chance. Who will stop Podbury? In my opinion, I would put Matty Martin on him. Matty is a pretty quick, wirey, small guy who will be accountable for his opponent all day. But that also brings up the question, "Do you rob Peter to pay Paul?" I mean, you can tag one player, but with the Hawks depth, the next one just stands up and takes over. The Hawks know how to play their ground really well and also know how to shut sides down. Hawks by 10 goals.

Kilmore v Diggers Rest

Match of the Round (IMO)

The big "DO OR DIE" clash. This one will be a cracking game, no matter what the conditions or where it's played. Given that it's at JJ Clancey, Kilmore will have not only their pride on the line, but their 2007 finals campaign. With Linton Kemp repelling from one end and Cornish booting the majors at the other, Kilmore look to have the players to put this one in the bag. Having said that, Robb will need to smah the Burra in the middle if there are to be a real chance. Sims, Ruane, Heritage, Jose, Klooster. All names that have a massive influence on every game, especially the first 4 mentioned. These guys are the key to the Burra's success. The Burra have the better mid-field and if they give the forwards the first use, they should win the game. In my opinion, I don't think the Burra have the fire power upforward to get the job done. Kilmore, because they have to, by 3 goals.

Riddell v Lancefield

Not too much more can be said about Riddell. Too smart, too strong, too good. The Tigers will take it up to Riddell until the Bombers decide enough is enough and do what they need to do to finish them off. I predict that the Tigers will be competitive until 3/4 time. I don't, however, think that Riddell will smash the Tiges. The Riddell on ballers will have their work cut out this week, with what I belive, is one of the best mid-fields in the comp. Conway, Collins and Choate. These guys will match up well against Belville and Blade. Riddell will be cruising at this stage leading up to finals, so if there are any niggling little injuries, you may find one or two may miss the next couple of weeks to ensure they're cherry ripe for finals. This could be a good chance for the Tigers to sneak up on the Bombers. Not likely though. Riddell by 8 goals.

Romsey v Macedon

The cats were smacked by Riddell last week to the tune of 93 points. Romsey had a big 33 point win over the Roos. The cats' confidence must be way down near their ladder position, especially with the unfortunate run of injuries they have had this year. Last time these two faced each other Macedon stuck with Romsey most of the day, however the 9 goal first quarter and the 6 goal last quater saw Romsey clear by 80 points. Not a true reflection, IMO, of how the game was played. The Cats will have a go and if the Redbacks don't take them seriously, you may see the Cats get a lot closer than most would expect. Romsey will be too good for the Cats, with Burlak in very impressive form and the cult hero that is Brydon Morgan just smashing opposition onballers, I would expect Romsey to win by 10 goals.

That's Harry done for this week. Good luck to everyone pulling them on this weekend, I hope you all get a kick!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Due to Harry taking a long weekend, here's Harry's Run Down for the week ahead!!

Sunbury v Rockbank

"Look out Rockbank" is all that should be said this week. Sunbury will be fuming at the loss to Romsey last week on their home soil. In what was pretty dodgy conditions the Roos never really came to play last week and will be fired up to SMASH the Rams this week. The return of Grubby will bolster their midfield, which let's face it, doesn't need much bolstering. Whilst I thought Bonnicci wasn't that damaging last week he still managed to rack up 30 possies. If you get enough of the ball something's bound to happen. The Rams will need to pray for rain, rain and more rain of they're to save any percentage here. From what Boardman oval was like last week, if there is more rain during this week expect a slippery, ugly encounter. Roos by 10 goals.

Well, there is no doubt this one WILL be a wet, boggy, slippery, tough battle. The Hawks are travelling along nicley with Sippy and Ninga both hitting their straps toward the pointy end of the season. The return of Barker in the lasts couple of weeks will only help the Hawks in what should be a 10 goal win. Melton Centrals will work hard all day and the ever present Wheelan will give the Centrals boys every chance. Who will stop Podbury? In my opinion, I would put Matty Martin on him. Matty is a pretty quick, wirey, small guy who will be accountable for his opponent all day. But that also brings up the question, "Do you rob Peter to pay Paul?" I mean, you can tag one player, but with the Hawks depth, the next one just stands up and takes over. The Hawks know how to play their ground really well and also know how to shut sides down. Hawks by 10 goals.

Kilmore v Diggers Rest

Match of the Round (IMO)

The big "DO OR DIE" clash. This one will be a cracking game, no matter what the conditions or where it's played. Given that it's at JJ Clancey, Kilmore will have not only their pride on the line, but their 2007 finals campaign. With Linton Kemp repelling from one end and Cornish booting the majors at the other, Kilmore look to have the players to put this one in the bag. Having said that, Robb will need to smah the Burra in the middle if there are to be a real chance. Sims, Ruane, Heritage, Jose, Klooster. All names that have a massive influence on every game, especially the first 4 mentioned. These guys are the key to the Burra's success. The Burra have the better mid-field and if they give the forwards the first use, they should win the game. In my opinion, I don't think the Burra have the fire power upforward to get the job done. Kilmore, because they have to, by 3 goals.

Riddell v Lancefield

Not too much more can be said about Riddell. Too smart, too strong, too good. The Tigers will take it up to Riddell until the Bombers decide enough is enough and do what they need to do to finish them off. I predict that the Tigers will be competitive until 3/4 time. I don't, however, think that Riddell will smash the Tiges. The Riddell on ballers will have their work cut out this week, with what I belive, is one of the best mid-fields in the comp. Conway, Collins and Choate. These guys will match up well against Belville and Blade. Riddell will be cruising at this stage leading up to finals, so if there are any niggling little injuries, you may find one or two may miss the next couple of weeks to ensure they're cherry ripe for finals. This could be a good chance for the Tigers to sneak up on the Bombers. Not likely though. Riddell by 8 goals.

Romsey v Macedon

The cats were smacked by Riddell last week to the tune of 93 points. Romsey had a big 33 point win over the Roos. The cats' confidence must be way down near their ladder position, especially with the unfortunate run of injuries they have had this year. Last time these two faced each other Macedon stuck with Romsey most of the day, however the 9 goal first quarter and the 6 goal last quater saw Romsey clear by 80 points. Not a true reflection, IMO, of how the game was played. The Cats will have a go and if the Redbacks don't take them seriously, you may see the Cats get a lot closer than most would expect. Romsey will be too good for the Cats, with Burlak in very impressive form and the cult hero that is Brydon Morgan just smashing opposition onballers, I would expect Romsey to win by 10 goals.

That's Harry done for this week. Good luck to everyone pulling them on this weekend, I hope you all get a kick!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

HW - When are you going to spell Brian Wheelahan correctly ?:thumbsu:

Cheers,
RFS

Sunbury v Rockbank

Kilmore v Diggers Rest

Match of the Round (IMO)

Riddell v Lancefield

Romsey v Macedon

sunbury 100 points
woodend 60 pts
riddell 100 points
romsey
diggers to beat kilmore by 3 goals in an upset at kilmore

diggers has handy finals experience from last year which could be pretty valuable, dont know how many kilmore blokes have played many seniors finals, but this game is virtually finals like, so i reckon players like sims, heritage and co may be able to carry there boys over the line when the heats on..

HW - When are you going to spell Brian Wheelahan correctly ?:thumbsu:

Cheers,
RFS

Sorry RFS,
I'm sure everyone knew who I was talking about:D Go back through my posts and see how many times I've spelled Bonnicci (???) incorrectly. That was probably another one!!:D

Apart from my grammer, what did you make of my comments on the round? Anywhere I may have got it wrong? Got it right? Give me some feedback. Harry loves feedback!!:D Opinions, discussions, talking points, conversations, c'mon guys, it makes the world go around:D

Harry's going, his brain has just seized!!:confused:

Here is a good question for you fellas.

I don't see a lot of TAC Cup football, but I try and get to at least one or two matches a year and always watch the grand final.

If you had to match a side such as Calder Cannons against a senior country football side, to what level would they be competitive?

Would they be able to compete in the RDFL, or would they find it too hard against men?

I know there was a "mock" list of Victoria's best football leagues, and it sort of comes back to this, but just wondering what people's thoughts are? Halfullonfence should be able to give some insight.

I don't see a lot of TAC Cup football, but I try and get to at least one or two matches a year and always watch the grand final.

If you had to match a side such as Calder Cannons against a senior country football side, to what level would they be competitive?

Would they be able to compete in the RDFL, or would they find it too hard against men?

I know there was a "mock" list of Victoria's best football leagues, and it sort of comes back to this, but just wondering what people's thoughts are? Halfullonfence should be able to give some insight.

Cannons would win Bendigo League easy !

Calder TAC would beat any senior side in our comp without doubt, too fit, too fast, too skilled, too smart, too disiplined, only area they would find it hard would be strength but then they have a 200 cm ruckman, Putt from woodend, Darcy Daniher at CHB is a very big boy, n try these kids Maric, Joyce, Polkinhorne, Downes, Arrowsmith. IMO would give a flogging to riddell at their best.
Actually Calder would be an RDFL interleague side.
Assumption College beats Kilmore every year and there is one young fella at Calder from Assumption, these are the best young footballers and they dont care about the size of an opponent. Calder would pull our pants down

Peter Robinson playing back pocket/wing at Cannons (enough said).