RDFL Thread 2007

Both you & carn the pup are followers of other leagues, & from time to time for what ever reason you both feel compelled to come on our forum & have a crack at our League or its players or its clubs or its supporters or all of the above.
Why ?
Are your Leagues & Forums really that dull & boreing ?
Gee your struggling , i've never had a crack at this league or anyone involved in it (i like how you keep suggesting i have to take the heat away from your constant cheap shots at blokes and clubs). I have a fair few mates that play/coach in the RDFL, my business sponsors 3 clubs in the RDFL (thanks to you this will be 2 next year) this being the reason i'm interested in this thread (apart from Gisborne being involved in the RDFL for over 100 years). And yes the Bendigo thread is boring.

Omni, please feel free to browse through all my posts and bring up where or when ive bagged this comp or anyone in it (apart from when ive stirred up Scooter Rowsell :thumbsu:)

Harry Not to sure why you would not want the rdfl to go to two div. also do you think the standard of the league can keep improving with one division. my thoughts would be the gap will always be to big and could not get much closer than it is now, causing the better clubs to look elsewhere. The rdfl is in a pretty good positon as far as geometrically speaking to atract a broad coverage of area therfore if you provide the opportunity you will see clubs wanting to join, and IMO strenthening the league. The way I see it with only one division you are only a couple of clubs leaving away from not having a competition at all.
anybody elses thoughts appreciated...

Harry Not to sure why you would not want the rdfl to go to two div. also do you think the standard of the league can keep improving with one division. my thoughts would be the gap will always be to big and could not get much closer than it is now, causing the better clubs to look elsewhere. The rdfl is in a pretty good positon as far as geometrically speaking to atract a broad coverage of area therfore if you provide the opportunity you will see clubs wanting to join, and IMO strenthening the league. The way I see it with only one division you are only a couple of clubs leaving away from not having a competition at all.
anybody elses thoughts appreciated...

This would be a great competition

Div 1:
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Darley
Kyneton
Cragieburn
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Kilmore

Div 2:
Bacchus Marsh
Diggers Rest
Lancefield
Melton Central
Rockbank
Macedon
Trentham
Wallan

thoughts would be the gap will always be to big and could not get much closer than it is now, causing the better clubs to look elsewhere. .

The eveness between RDFL this year has been as great as ever ... I dont think top sides would be concerned to move elswhere as just about every side at some stage gives the fixture a shake up at one time or antoher which is a rarity ... I think with concistency of this years results over 2-3 years you will see 1 or (with luck) 2 teams make their way through and make a 10 team league which would make a very exciting competition. Spot on with the geographical advantage.RDFL is definatley a league sitting on massive potential. Just about every playing ground is a few minutes off the major freeways.

Div 1:
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Darley
Kyneton
Cragieburn
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Kilmore

Div 2:
Bacchus Marsh
Diggers Rest
Lancefield
Melton Central
Rockbank
Macedon
Trentham
Wallan

some MASSIVE potential rivalries in there matty! S/lions & gissy would still absolutley annihlate this DIV.1 unfortunatley =( ... the depth the mentioned sides have in their 2's would be a ridiculous one sided affair also

some MASSIVE potential rivalries in there matty! S/lions & gissy would still absolutley annihlate this DIV.1 unfortunatley =(

I know, but you would also see some players change clubs if they are all in the same competition.

It would also make some sides improve. The biggest trouble with a 2 division comp in close proximity of one another is that sides in division two would have their gun players poached by div 1 clubs. Eg. Gisborne offer Macedon players good money. Oh wait, that already happens :D

Div 1:
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Darley
Kyneton
Cragieburn
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Kilmore

Div 2:
Bacchus Marsh
Diggers Rest
Lancefield
Melton Central
Rockbank
Macedon
Trentham
Wallan
If no one minds me saying, this is a great idea which has been tossed around for a while now. I believe the Sunbury Lions were very keen for something like this to happen, i guess someone is needed to steer this Ship.

Maybe something you could push for Matt ?

Div 1:
Gisborne
Sunbury Lions
Darley
Kyneton
Cragieburn
Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Riddell
Woodend-Hesket
Kilmore

Div 2:
Bacchus Marsh
Diggers Rest
Lancefield
Melton Central
Rockbank
Macedon
Trentham
Wallan

a good enough league and you could fit in alot of sides from the edfl. surely some of the wrfl sides could be considered. Rupo might even grace us with there presence.

some MASSIVE potential rivalries in there matty! S/lions & gissy would still absolutley annihlate this DIV.1 unfortunatley =( ... the depth the mentioned sides have in their 2's would be a ridiculous one sided affair also

Matt I like the idea but Like anomisity think it would be hard to put together. Would Melton and Melton South come back? Teams like Kangaroos and Woodend would not have the coin to go up against the bigger teams. I think the WRFL and Eastern Football League have the issue where the gap between Div 1 and Div 2 is so big sides hate going up because they waste a year getting smashed.

Kyneton back to the now RDFL would be good they would be OK with coin for a year or two but pretty confident we would catch them up in a hurry. Add Wallan and make it a strong 12 team comp..

If no one minds me saying, this is a great idea which has been tossed around for a while now. I believe the Sunbury Lions were very keen for something like this to happen, i guess someone is needed to steer this Ship.

Maybe something you could push for Matt ?

Look I would love to see something like this get up, but it'll never happen. When I sat down with Scott McCartney at the start of the season and discussed what he planned to do in his tenure and he did mention this two division super league. Don't get me wrong, it has plenty of merit and worked well in the 70s and 80s, but I'm not sure if it'll work in the 21st century.

In a radius of 60 mins travel time, you have the following senior football teams: Gisborne, Sunbury Lions, Sunbury Roos, Diggers Rest, Melton Central, Melton South, Melton, Darley, Bacchus Marsh, Rockbank, Riddell, Romsey, Lancefield, Kilmore, Macedon, Rupertswood, Wallan, Trentham, Kyneton, Woodend-Hesket and Craigieburn. That's 21 sides. We could have a competition of two 10-team divisions.

However, if I had to rank these sides as a percentage, I find some massive discrepancies.

Gisborne and Sunbury - 100%
Melton South and Melton - 85%
Darley and Craigieburn - 80%
Riddell and Kyneton - 75%
Woodend-Hesket and Sunbury Kangaroos - 65%
Bacchus Marsh, Rupertswood and Romsey - 60%
Diggers Rest and Kilmore 55%
Lancefield - 50%
Wallan and Melton Central - 45%
Macedon - 40%
Rockbank and Trentham - 25%

Now I had to make some calculated guesses on Rupo, Craigieburn and the Ballarat FL sides. Apologies for glaring errors.

I think we would be much better off with a good 12-team comp as Rodriquez said, with Kyneton and Wallan joining up. It could also go to 14 with Bacchus Marsh and Trentham. I would like to see those sides join too.

Look I would love to see something like this get up, but it'll never happen. When I sat down with Scott McCartney at the start of the season and discussed what he planned to do in his tenure and he did mention this two division super league. Don't get me wrong, it has plenty of merit and worked well in the 70s and 80s, but I'm not sure if it'll work in the 21st century.

In a radius of 60 mins travel time, you have the following senior football teams: Gisborne, Sunbury Lions, Sunbury Roos, Diggers Rest, Melton Central, Melton South, Melton, Darley, Bacchus Marsh, Rockbank, Riddell, Romsey, Lancefield, Kilmore, Macedon, Rupertswood, Wallan, Trentham, Kyneton, Woodend-Hesket and Craigieburn. That's 21 sides. We could have a competition of two 10-team divisions.

However, if I had to rank these sides as a percentage, I find some massive discrepancies.

Lancefield - 50%
Macedon - 40%

Now I had to make some calculated guesses on Rupo, Craigieburn and the Ballarat FL sides. Apologies for glaring errors.

I think we would be much better off with a good 12-team comp as Rodriquez said, with Kyneton and Wallan joining up. It could also go to 14 with Bacchus Marsh and Trentham. I would like to see those sides join too.
Matt when you say 60 min travel is that from the farest team to to farest opponent. And when I say recruit clubs although i would like them we could not compete with the likes of Sunbury Gisborne Melton. Not unless we all had 100 pokie machines and a note printer. Clubs don't have to be of the strongest quality to build a strong league in the future.

The longest trip would be from Kilmore to Bacchus Marsh and Melton. That's an hour.

Coin is the biggest factor when it comes to putting two divisions together,thats wat it comes down to.If a league as big as that were to come into action somehow,imports should only be limited per year ( e.g only 2 registered senior players transferring from another league that are actually stated as a imported senior player by the pending club on the clearance form, any other import player would be automatic reserves and inelligable to play seniors so if say, a bloke moved from dandenong to play at sunbury so he can still play footy, but only 2's if not picked by the club as an 'import senior' .. he'd just have to wait till the year after to be an elligble senior ) ... That way, premierships cant be bought. I would say salary cap, but salary caps in local leagues have far too many loopholes and would be impossible to monitor. So, with limited transfers from outer-leagues... I think it would bring a certain eveness to the comp. Pay them as much as u like! very confusing and hope it does make sense lol :thumbsu:

The VCFL have a salary cap system that works on recruiting, not money. That could be implemented. I think the other major problem with the two divisions in this area would be the thirds competition. Some division two sides would be very good in division one, and some div 1 sides would struggle in div 2.

Credibility champ !

& now you've just shown to all of us that you have none !

Bears Boy's two Bendigo Football League premiership medals gives him all the credability he needs. Now list yours hero - what are all these medals you have? A grade or B grade? Can I have a guess - most improved is the one your most proud of?

I also did not play seniors but have been involved at the highest level. Does that mean I do not have any cred?

By the private messages we get about you - raising the credability of others is a big mistake.

Lancefield - 50%
Macedon - 40%

I thought the VCFL was looking at this due to dwindling crowds. The need to get some old school rivalries going should be a priority.

Sunbury with the pokies would make it hard for the Kangaroos to be competitive unless they recieved some financial assistance. But that could be huge is the two Sunbury sides were evenly matched. Gissy's 2 biggest rivals are still Sunbury and Riddell. People who were at the Riddell V Gis grand final years ago still talk about the size of the crowd.

Matt I like the idea but Like anomisity think it would be hard to put together. Would Melton and Melton South come back? Teams like Kangaroos and Woodend would not have the coin to go up against the bigger teams. I think the WRFL and Eastern Football League have the issue where the gap between Div 1 and Div 2 is so big sides hate going up because they waste a year getting smashed.

Kyneton back to the now RDFL would be good they would be OK with coin for a year or two but pretty confident we would catch them up in a hurry. Add Wallan and make it a strong 12 team comp..
I agree with Rodriguez. We need to concentrate on getting one division right first. We're on the right track, but there's still a way to go. Once we can do that, and show a consistently higher level of competition, then we can look at a 2 division league. Still 10 years away IMO.

Add broadford 10 mins up road from kilmore and would be great as well another strong rivalry

Blow it out ya A$$ van Kilmore shoulda joined the HDFL when they spoke to the BFL then you'd have ya rivalry :p Big day for the club tomorrow mate, do the right thing mate so I can get to watch ya's in a final its been a little while

Dunno if its old age but can someone refresh the old scone as to why all the above mentioned sides decided to move on when it was a two tiered comp and what will make it work better this time around?

he did make it personal, but i reckon you sank to his level. perhaps i did too, calling you a tosser. sorry bout that. :thumbsu:
What are you talking about ? "sank to his level" he's the tough guy that potted an 18-19 year old kid cos he's working his arse off in the 2's to try and get a senior game. All i did was let him know thats pretty ordinary.

Gee your struggling , i've never had a crack at this league or anyone involved in it (i like how you keep suggesting i have to take the heat away from your constant cheap shots at blokes and clubs). I have a fair few mates that play/coach in the RDFL, my business sponsors 3 clubs in the RDFL (thanks to you this will be 2 next year) this being the reason i'm interested in this thread (apart from Gisborne being involved in the RDFL for over 100 years). And yes the Bendigo thread is boring.

Omni, please feel free to browse through all my posts and bring up where or when ive bagged this comp or anyone in it (apart from when ive stirred up Scooter Rowsell :thumbsu:)

How about you tell us all the name of your business pal & we R.D.F.L. people can make up our own minds based on your posts weather we choose to support it or not ?

Don't post drunk after midnight. It may make perfect sense to you at the time but "we RDFL people" will not get it.

You presume way to much, but its great to know that you have come over to our League now, I think you will find it much more relevent & exciting to this district.................... will we get your mentor as well or have I offended him to greatly ?

At the end of the year lets get together and have a bit of fun. We could have a sumo wrestling comp, boxing fights with those really big gloves and a jumping castle were you can jump around and pound each other.
3 poeople in each fight.
first up, OMNIPOTENT_1, Kings Army and bearsboy.
Now that could be funny and interesting.:D