RDFL Thread 2007

Dont drag Doona into this one fellas he is doing good things at Broadford and i doubt hed ever poach from Kilmore as he has a lot of ties there as well as living in the town. rowey has been really good appears to be enjoying himself and the boys love him when he does go back Kilmore will benfit from his time away as he told me he has been very impressed at Doons professionalsm maybe if Doona does the job down the trac Rowey will return?

Thanks chook but I can stand up for myself. Was attending Clancy reserve long before the majority of the current people and have a lot of respect for the joint, so dunno where the term poach even is coming from.

Agree on the Rowey thing, has been sensational and if the cards go to the right people he'd by right in there in voting. Has said he is enjoying it, and is just super keen to play finals and I'm trying my best to make that happen. Haven't spoke about '08 but with the work going into recruiting already he'll b a big part of our plans to shake the comp up next year.

Dunno about the Kilmore job either, don't start rumours, it is certainly on my to do list but a long way into the future for my father in law who gave a lot and just loves the joint but Tez is doing a wonderful job Im told and is in the job for as long as he wants it I believe.

Some wonderful news for my little mate and Blue's ressies coach Clears who's wife had a baby girl this morning . . . . . . on ya Spearsy :thumbsu:

Pretty good read Pickles, long way off happening but at least the seed is planted!!!

I believe there will not be a relegation - promotion system, the 2 divisions will stay as they are .

Although the concept is great i struggle to see how Romsey,Riddell or Woodend will compete with the Gisbornes and Sunburys at any stage in the next 10 years

One of the biggest problems the league had, was that clubs were not pushed into promotion and relegation. It must be compulsory. perhaps the top 2 and bottom 2 make the change, that way a club has a chance to get a win on the board every other comp is compulsory, some clubs take the step and improve and grow into a stronger div1 outfit, some go up and get smashed and straight back to div2.
I'm still not sure about the whole idea yet, i think the league at the moment is in quite a good position.

well done matt,you obviously put a lot of thought into this.
i just have a minor concern.as a sunbury kangaroos man,what would we gain from these changes?the division 2 looks woefull.

imagine this on recent form

kangas vs trentham 100 point win
vs rockbank 100 point win
vs macedon 70 point win
vs lancefield 60 point win
vs centrals 50 point win
vs kilmore 50 point win

kangas in division 1

vs gisborne,sunbury,melton,melton sth,etc THRASHED

at least with the league as it stands we have big games such as riddell,
romsey,woodend,diggers etc.
a change to the comp would see the improved kangas destroying division 2 but not up to the standard of first division.just my honest thoughts.
perhaps u can give me your thoughts on my concern:thumbsu:

well done matt,you obviously put a lot of thought into this.
i just have a minor concern.as a sunbury kangaroos man,what would we gain from these changes?the division 2 looks woefull.

imagine this on recent form

kangas vs trentham 100 point win
vs rockbank 100 point win
vs macedon 70 point win
vs lancefield 60 point win
vs centrals 50 point win
vs kilmore 50 point win

kangas in division 1

vs gisborne,sunbury,melton,melton sth,etc THRASHED

at least with the league as it stands we have big games such as riddell,
romsey,woodend,diggers etc.
a change to the comp would see the improved kangas destroying division 2 but not up to the standard of first division.just my honest thoughts.
perhaps u can give me your thoughts on my concern:thumbsu:

You smashed a much less than full strength Kilmore on Saturday, so don't get too ahead of yourself Mongrel. On my ratings and predictions I think in two years time Lancefield, Melton Centrals and Macedon will be improved, along with Rockbank. Also, of the new clubs to come into it I think Kyneton and Bacchus Marsh would be around the same standard as a top RDFL side. Wallan is a long way off this year but will be strong within two years in the RDFL if they joined. The points system also gives all sides a chance to compete on a reasonably level playing field.

Halffullonfence, these are the guernseys each club wears currently.

Kyneton and Lancefield are the only two sides that have the same strip at the moment. Darley v Wallan and Melton Central v Melton South are the other two clubs that I foresee having a jumper clash. I have put forward possible strips for those sides.

Sunbury Kangaroos and Kilmore have a clash at the moment which needs to be sorted out as neither of Blues' jumpers are better against the Roos.

Romsey and Rockbank already have a clash strip system in place.

Shorts colour could be changed in some of the "darker" strip clashes. Eg Bacchus Marsh could wear yellow shorts against Darley or Melton South etc.

There would be a relegation and promotion system. Rupertswood would have to do a lot of work before they could join. It's hard to go from amateur to pro.
Matt,
I think you'll find that Rupertswood are stronger than most sides in the RDFL.
Kilmore played Monash Gryphons (who are in D3) two years ago in a praccie match, and it was relatively close (half Monash's side doubled up and Kilmore had a full strength side). Granted Kilmore are middle of the road in RDFL at present, however Rupo are a few divisions ahead of them and the jump between D3 to D1 is huge. I would grant you that Rupo would be top 3 in RDFL.

Thanks chook but I can stand up for myself. Was attending Clancy reserve long before the majority of the current people and have a lot of respect for the joint, so dunno where the term poach even is coming from.

Agree on the Rowey thing, has been sensational and if the cards go to the right people he'd by right in there in voting. Has said he is enjoying it, and is just super keen to play finals and I'm trying my best to make that happen. Haven't spoke about '08 but with the work going into recruiting already he'll b a big part of our plans to shake the comp up next year.

Dunno about the Kilmore job either, don't start rumours, it is certainly on my to do list but a long way into the future for my father in law who gave a lot and just loves the joint but Tez is doing a wonderful job Im told and is in the job for as long as he wants it I believe.

Some wonderful news for my little mate and Blue's ressies coach Clears who's wife had a baby girl this morning . . . . . . on ya Spearsy :thumbsu:

Pretty good read Pickles, long way off happening but at least the seed is planted!!!

Comeon Doona, you know who I am and I know who you are. Reason why Kilmore had lost players to Broadford over the years is due to $$$. :p

Matt,
I think you'll find that Rupertswood are stronger than most sides in the RDFL.
Kilmore played Monash Gryphons (who are in D3) two years ago in a praccie match, and it was relatively close (half Monash's side doubled up and Kilmore had a full strength side). Granted Kilmore are middle of the road in RDFL at present, however Rupo are a few divisions ahead of them and the jump between D3 to D1 is huge. I would grant you that Rupo would be top 3 in RDFL.

I didn't mean on field, I meant off field. Sorry, should have made that clear. Rupo would be very competitive in the current RDFL.

broman bomber what did u think of my kilmore side/squad for next few yrs if we could get them all on board? with of course a few players i forgot as well. and throw in a few recruits, maybe one or two suprise departures.
ya never know ey?

It would be great to play in a premiership side with hopefully some of these young blokes returning for a 2 or 3 seasons. They would still have plenty of time to go play in the Bigger Leagues around Vic, Intrinsic values are something i hold highly, My old man always talks about:
1. how strong the league was
2. The great rivalries with opposition sides, nothing better then beating sunbury and lancefield. Especially in 80s when he was president.
3. The great social events around the club.
4. The best players in the league
5. When he played in the very early 70s that they were paid only 10 bucks a week haha

When i look at the 87 premiership side i see the names dad talks so fondly about, Darren Kemp, The Dalgliesh brothers, Wayne George, Grant Kayll, Nick Monaghan, Hussey, Clancy etc. Or how he so easily remembers everything from the 71 flag and talks about Terry Mills, Ross Clark, Robert Reid, Geoff Briggs, John Green, Wayne Henderson, etc

I want to do the same thing in 30 yrs time and talk about how Blokes like Mcintrye webb huy robbo kemp cornish kingy burger and the rest play in a flag or two together. i know theres nothing better, just from winning a flag with some of those fellas at ACK in 05.
My dream Kilmore Team for next few yrs could read something like this(prob not likely and alot of ifs and buts)
Colliver Barnes Duff
Kempy Mcintyre Hardiman
Newham Robbo Barton
Hede Salter Still(Captain)
Cornish Mills King

Wittmar Colliss, Ramsdale Etc
Webb
Huy
Add unknown recruits at this moment and the squad would be very dangerous, i know this is all ifs and buts, it would be great to have a side like that.
Just would be awesome for the club and town n possibly the league
of course i forgot some people i just realised goudge n strayney but ya just have to wait n see what happens.
Would be awesome Van to come back and play. We'll see how things pan out in QLD first. 2001 was an even better year considering the team went through undefeated!!
I think Tezz not playing is a shame as he was a gun in Juniors and for him to play in a flag with his brother would be fantastic reward for him considering how hard he has worked over the last few years.

Halffullonfence, these are the guernseys each club wears currently.

Kyneton and Lancefield are the only two sides that have the same strip at the moment. Darley v Wallan and Melton Central v Melton South are the other two clubs that I foresee having a jumper clash. I have put forward possible strips for those sides.

Sunbury Kangaroos and Kilmore have a clash at the moment which needs to be sorted out as neither of Blues' jumpers are better against the Roos.

Romsey and Rockbank already have a clash strip system in place.

Shorts colour could be changed in some of the "darker" strip clashes. Eg Bacchus Marsh could wear yellow shorts against Darley or Melton South etc.

Check Melton Souths senior jumper, I thought similar to Macedons surely the league wouldn't allow two clubs same strip Kyneton/Lancefield, Macedon/Melton Sth, who would change. Macedon v Melton Centrals are a terrible clash when Macedon at home not to bad at Meltons home game.

On closer inspection you are right. Melton South's jumper is similar. Therefore, I suggest that a white jumper with the club logo in the middle be worn. I'm sure the RDFL would be happy to subsidise a set of jumpers for either club.

Also, Van I must apologise, the Sunbury Lions jumper doesn't have a Lion. It is how I first posted.

If Kyneton did join, perhaps they would have to wear an alternate home and away jumper, ie something like this http://www.countryfootyscores.com/exportimages/jumpers/combinations/yell_black.jpg

In the Lancefield v Kyneton games they would have to wear a clash strip. That's one option I guess.

On closer inspection you are right. Melton South's jumper is similar. Therefore, I suggest that a white jumper with the club logo in the middle be worn. I'm sure the RDFL would be happy to subsidise a set of jumpers for either club.

Also, Van I must apologise, the Sunbury Lions jumper doesn't have a Lion. It is how I first posted.

If Kyneton did join, perhaps they would have to wear an alternate home and away jumper, ie something like this http://www.countryfootyscores.com/exportimages/jumpers/combinations/yell_black.jpg

In the Lancefield v Kyneton games they would have to wear a clash strip. That's one option I guess.

Or the league have sets of alternate strips (like interleague with league logo and advertising) as horse racing club colours.

You smashed a much less than full strength Kilmore on Saturday, so don't get too ahead of yourself Mongrel. On my ratings and predictions I think in two years time Lancefield, Melton Centrals and Macedon will be improved, along with Rockbank. Also, of the new clubs to come into it I think Kyneton and Bacchus Marsh would be around the same standard as a top RDFL side. Wallan is a long way off this year but will be strong within two years in the RDFL if they joined. The points system also gives all sides a chance to compete on a reasonably level playing field.

not getting ahead of ourselves matt.but if u take notice of how rapidly the club is improving you will see that they are heading towards something very special.as for playing an undermanned kilmore.oh well the kangas have played for numerous weeks with half a side and still got the 4 points.
i am a realist and over the next few years i doubt whether sunbury would play in a very ordinary second division standard.in two years the club has recruited the likes of a.james,bonnicci,mcinereys,hole,helmers,boyd,cuffe,
minskin,s.james,j.ploog etc. imagine the next few seasons,then tell me whether 2nd division really suits the kangas footy club

not getting ahead of ourselves matt.but if u take notice of how rapidly the club is improving you will see that they are heading towards something very special.as for playing an undermanned kilmore.oh well the kangas have played for numerous weeks with half a side and still got the 4 points.
i am a realist and over the next few years i doubt whether sunbury would play in a very ordinary second division standard.in two years the club has recruited the likes of a.james,bonnicci,mcinereys,hole,helmers,boyd,cuffe,
minskin,s.james,j.ploog etc. imagine the next few seasons,then tell me whether 2nd division really suits the kangas footy club

The concept is a while off yet champ. I had to put teams in certain divisions to have a starting point. At the moment the Roos are in a situation where they would be too good for that second division. But that's the beauty of a relegation/promotion system. There's no doubt the Roos are on the move.

Also, when you guys were undermanned you got smashed by Riddell and Romsey, beat Diggers Rest by the narrowest of margins, and had with wins against Macedon and Rockbank.

This is were i see a problem, no club is going to want to be known as a second division Riddell league club. I cant find any reason for any of the current RDFL clubs to agree to what is being proposed, what is in it for them ?

i strongly agree bb.as a current player in the rdfl i wouldnt mind being in 2nd division tho.i just wouldnt wanna see all the gun sides leave to 1st division.the likely team to go to 1st division would be riddell.but romsey and woodend would be better suited to 2nd division to add strength.
would it be possible to leave the league as it is and put riddell up with lions,gissie,melton sth,melton,darley,wallan,jacana etc?