RDFL Thread 2007

Great work Matt, a lot of food for thought there, particularly like the "Points" concept I think that might just be the answer to even things up & keep Clubs under control.

The one thing about the super League idea is.................it makes Sense !

Great work Matt, a lot of food for thought there, particularly like the "Points" concept I think that might just be the answer to even things up & keep Clubs under control.

The one thing about the super League idea is.................it makes Sense !

Thanks OMNI, like I was trying to explain to Mike Lyon last week I have been cooking up this story for a while now and just letting it build. Now is probably a good time to bring it up.

I believe you may be a betting man Matt so give us some odds & a possible time frame please ?

When the RDFL becomes a two-division competition

2008 - $6
2009 - $5
2010 - $4
2011 - $3.50
2012 - $3.50

Between 2007 and 2012 - $1.50
Between 2012 and 2020 - $2.30

There's no way I'd take bets on this though. Too hard to judge.

Whats your gut feeling mate, will it happen ?

Everything needs to fall in place but I think Gisborne hold the key. As much as I am pumping up bearsboy's tyres here but Gisborne is the premier club in this district and if they joined it would be a big wakeup call to other clubs.

Kyneton for example, in my opinion, will never win a Bendigo FL flag again without spending huge money. They are already spending it this year and are second last on the ladder. Common sense says they should consider joining the RDFL. If Gisborne came back it would help get Kyneton.

Wallan will come.

My understanding is that the VCFL has plans to merge the Ballarat FL and Central Highlands FL, so losing Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury and the Meltons won't hurt them too much.

Trentham would be mad not come.

Sunbury Lions will consider it, but would be easier persuaded if Gisborne were to come.

If the Lions and Bulldogs are here, it would be easy to get Darley too.

My gut feeling keeps telling me it won't happen. But it could, and if it does, will probably be three years from eventuating.

We could even see a smaller six-side competition involving Gisborne, Melton, Melton South, Sunbury, Bacchus Marsh and Darley first. Keeping the current RDFL as it is, with possibly Wallan the only edition.

Comeon Doona, you know who I am and I know who you are. Reason why Kilmore had lost players to Broadford over the years is due to $$$. :p

And judgin by how long they stayed you wont get an argument out me on that one :eek:

Tried to get young Edwards and co. to entice their mate Cornish up during the pre-season but it seems to work both ways as I was told we were outbidded ;) I watched him on a few Friday nights a couple of years back and knew what he had to offer and its been a real bonus for the Blues before the the injury flare up as he's had a ripper year to date.

In all seriousness though during my time I can remember Nick & Kempy (awesome), Grant Kyall (got nothing out him) Butts (won a b&f), maybe Buddy Fatchen for a year or two and now we have obviously JR and Spanner Heppell. Probably a few others Ive forgotten but Im sure Willow, Dorman, maybe even Pete Ezard, Barney Patullo, Chrissie Jacavou have spent time down your way - the BFNC have had a good relationship with Kilmore kids like Chooka, young Weller, Keeny, even Robbo and Harley Ryan mighta played thirds along with endless others when your town didn't have 3rds so its been a pretty good relationship both ways.

Pity it will never evolve into a rivalry that sees us compete :thumbsdown: Broadford has 15-16 clubs within an hour and plays just one . . . . . go figure that one out :confused:

is it true the panthers have applied twice now to re enter the rdfl due to their financial problems in the bfl ?

Harry - Pre game reviews for this week?:confused:

im no harry...but here are my tips..

rockbank over macedon by 4 goals
lancefield over centrals by 3 goals
riddell to bring diggers back a peg by 6 goals
romsey over kilmore

match of the round with huge top 3 implications..
ill tip the hawks over the kangas by 15 pts mainly because of how good they are on their ground...they're a well coached side so i reckon their mindet will be 100% on this week and they will have forgetten about last weeks result.
i hope the conditions at woodend are good on saturday it could be a high scoring affair...
any news on what the grounds like?? would like to know especially if a first week final is gonna be played there

im no harry...but here are my tips..

Don't talk your self down my young padawan apprentice... You're doing just fine, keep up the good work young catters.... I'll take you under my wing tomorrow night, Harry could show you a thing or 2:D

Harry's Happenings are moments away, stay tuned..........;)

Harry's Happenings

Lancefield v Melton Centrals

With Lancfield sitting on 4 wins, 9 losses and 1 draw, some might say that they've had a terrible year, not me. I think they have been a genuine chance on a lot of their games and if not for the lack of one or two key position players, they would be giving the top 5 a real nudge. Centrals on the other hand have been dissapointing, genuinely. With the players they have, no real big names in the RDFL, with Wheelahan the exception, I would have thought they were going to be more competitive. When they play the top sides, they can often take it up to them and when they play the bottom sides they also seem to take it down to them. I hate to say it, because if you have read any of Harry Happenings over the last few weeks, you will see a very common theme when I'm talking about Lancefield's game. Conway, Collins and Choate. The engine. From there, the rest of the Tiger machine's quality drops away, much like a Korean made car. This game looks to be a good battle of 7th v 8th, anyone's game, but because it's at Lancefield, Harry's going with Lancefield by 5 points.

Riddell v Diggers Rest

This game is going to be a genuine contest, a replay of last year's GF and Digger's hitting their straps. The Burra's midfield is about the only one, at the moment, that seems capable of getting near the likes of Belville and Blade. Upforward Riddell appear too strong, but, the little bloke Janner had been credited with a few big scalps in weeks gone by, Salpietro and Cornish, could he add Allen to the list? The Burra's forward line on the other hand is where they tend to fall down. Having said that, all reports tell us that Payne finally stood up and did something last week and sealed the game. Digger's will be looking to take another big name side down in the next 4 weeks, and none of them bigger than Riddell. They proved last week they can do it, by dismantling the Hawks in the second half. Riddell on the other hand haven't been beaten since round 2. Could a loss be a good thing at this time of the year leading into finals? Jose will be the deciding factor, if he gets his hands on it first in the middle, look out Bombers. Harry's Tip: Diggers 3 points:eek:

Romsey v Kilmore

The Redbacks were very disappointing last week. The end result was 41 points over Rockbank. The fact that they kicked 1 goal 14 in the second half has Harry a little worried about their fire power up forward. Kilmore as we are all aware (thanks Pickles) have the likes of Robbo, Kemp and Cornish, all guns that will have a direct impact on the game. The Redbacks will have a refreshed (and tanned) Morgan back this week after he missed last week due to work bench duties interstate. The last time these two sides met the Redbacks were all over the Blues at JJ Clancey and ran out 43 point winners. This week at Romsey Park, expect the Redbacks to have a fair bit of hunger after last weeks form slump. Kilmore need nothing short of the 4 points if they are to keep any hope of playing finals in 2007. Expect a huge battle in Romsey's backline with James Moore to play on Cornish again. Connellan should dominate the ruck and Matty McLellan should tear it up getting it all round the ground. But we all know how good Robbo is (thanks Pickles). This man cannot be left unattended, he will drift loose accross the half back line picking up 150 kicks if you let him. Harry's Tip: Romsey by 7 goals.

Macedon v Rockbank

Rockbank will win this week. Last week they took it right up to Romsey. They kicked with the wind last week and kicked 5 goals 5. The fact that were having 10 shots on goal is telling you something. Krul was fantatsic winning the ball all over the ground, along with Shirley and Saxon. If the Rams play the way they did last week they should beat Macedon by 6 goals. If "Junkyard" got off his suspension, expect a truley hard battle in the middle, with him matching up on Aaron Christiansen, and I would say "Horse" would match up on Chris Nicholson. If the rain keeps coming down, as it looks like it will, the Macedon boys are in for a hard slog, even at their own ground. The Rams will come to play. Harry's Tip: Rockbank 22 points.

Sunbury v Woodend Heskett

The kangas are back on track!! After a 9 goal smashing of Kilmore last week their confidence will be sky high. But you can bet they will have only one thing in their sights, the brown and gold jumpers of the Woodend boys. Sipthorp, look out, Helmers in comin to getcha!!! These two boys should have a huge battle between them this week, along side Podbury and Bonicci. Gilbert Gorden Reserve will have the lifeguards in their towers all day so best you boys be diving straight in the deep end (that's the end opposite the social rooms). The McInerny boys had want to be ready for their legs to burn this week. We all know they are a little suseptable to endurance and the heavy ground won't help their cause. The thing these brothers have on their sides is footy smarts. Play smart, not hard (and I don't mean they're lacking physical presence). They gather a multitude of possessions around the stoppages and feed the ball out to the runners, very smart. Woodend will have the home ground advantage, which I think could be all that's in it in the end. Harry's Tip: Woodend 5 points in a thriller.

Well, that's Harry done for this week. :thumbsu:

I hope it make sense, it did in my head. Good luck to those pulling them on this weekend:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Harry.

Don't get me wrong pickles and guys, you've put alot of work into the plans. However, the competition in the last few years just keeps on improving. There are obviously some weaker sides but by looking at results despite losses they seem to be conmpetitive on their given day. I don't think we need to change the format. The only ideas I would recommend would be a regular match of the round on a Sunday(Night matches) and a weekly record. Other than that the RDFL is in great shape and does not need to be tampered with.

Think Harry you are spot on. Great job with these reviews. Some great match-ups this weekend. Just hope for the competition sake that teams don't get defensive at let these match-ups occur and they all play off one another. Will be some great battles going on over the weekend and hope these pan out as all games/match ups would be great to watch. Here goes!!
Belleville vs Sims. Let these blokes just go at one another PLEASE
Janner vs Allen- Janner to rebound- Allen too smart
Mclennan vs Robertson- Once again let these blokes go head to head
Kemp vs Morgan- Is he playing?
Choate vs Wheelahen- Both work hard- and again let these blokes go head to head
Helmers vs Sipthorpe Great to watch!!
Johstone vs Bonnici- Great at first hands on- Massive battle this one
Ruck battle will be where it's won including the Mc brothers and nikki

Hope that all teams on the weekend just go out and just play with no defensive mind sets or tags. All games this week can go either way. This is a huge round!!!!!!!

Should be a ripper matchup. The Tigers had a strong win last week with Scotty Smithwick continuing his good form this year up forward and Chris Collins playing a more unfamiliar forward role last week. Hope to hear that Tigers get a little more from young guns Sam Graham and Nath Milner, hope to see young Rob Cini get a run in the one's too soon.
Centrals have still shown inconsistency so far this year, again in the first half on Saturday giving Riddell a run. Centrals will have set themselves for this game and I give them a chance, but they will need the best from Wheelahan, Nankervis and Bullen to be a chance. Key Matchup - Smithwick Vs Bullen, Choate Vs Wheelahan.
Centrals by 2 points.

Riddell v Diggers Rest
Many would consider this match of the round. Hard to topple the Hawks/Roos contest though. Mick Allen returned to the Bomber lineup last week and had an instant impact on the forward line. The Bomber young guns are the driving force this year. Box, Leitch, Petran, Climas are all having a massive impact on this side and when you add them to the Bellville, Blade, Coles, J.Allen brigade it makes an amazingly balanced and skilled football side.
The Burra finally hit some form in the past couple of weeks, while everyone had hoped they were written off, most expected it to happen eventually and we all know what a dangerous side they are when they click. Thompson has been a huge bonus while Steve Hoare found some form last week. The Burra will be looking for another big scalp before an easier run home. Key Matchup - Bellville Vs Sims, M.Allen Vs Janner, J.Allen Vs Ruane.
Riddell by 35 pts

Romsey v Kilmore
The Redbacks have arguably been the inform side of the comp in recent weeks, they will be looking to back that up and put the final nail in the Kilmore coffin this week. The move of Dawson to the midfield has inspired the side, while McClellan has been in devastating form.
The Blues will be down after losing to Diggers and then finding it tough against the Roos. With Cornish missing the blues were always going to find it tough, but disappointingly, for me anyway, Robbo had no effect on the game whatsoever. I have always been Robbo's biggest supporter, but is it just me? Or does he have nowhere near the impact he should when playing against the top sides? Hopefully its just me...
Key Matchups - Morgan Vs Collis, Kairns Vs Straney, McClellan Vs Robertson
Romsey by 43 pts

Macedon v Rockbank
The Cats are the most injury depleted unit EVER!!! They have found it tough going this year and unfortunately for them, may find it even tougher come 5pm Saturday. The return of Scott Knight for some games will help Christianson and if Al Collins and Gus Story play ones they may be a chance.
The Rams are getting better every week, Matty Krul is a genuine star, as is Luke Walker. But I was most impressed with young Dylan Nicholson a couple of weeks ago, the boy is just another of the impressive list of youngsters.. Key Matchups - Christianson Vs Taylor, Story Vs Krul.
Rockbank by 32 pts

Match of the Round
Woodend/Hesket Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
The Hawks would have been shocked after being overrun by the Burra after kicking 7 opening quarter goals. You can be sure that they will be switched on not to let that happen again. Gidds will have the boys fired up for this one. Barker has added another dimension to the Hawks forward line. Pods has been outstanding this year as has Rick Dowling. Young Jarrod Arnold has had a great year.
The Roos will be alot happier after settling a side down in the last couple of weeks. With a stronger setup the Roos will be eyeing off 2nd spot in this one. The McInerney's have been good all year as has Bonnici and with Steve James due for one of his biggest challenges this week it will be interesting to see what sort of impact the midfield has.
Key Matchups - Sipthope Vs McInerney, Stacey Vs James, Dowling Vs Any Roo defender, Any Hawk defender Vs Helmers.
Roos to win

Should be a ripper matchup. The Tigers had a strong win last week with Scotty Smithwick continuing his good form this year up forward and Chris Collins playing a more unfamiliar forward role last week. Hope to hear that Tigers get a little more from young guns Sam Graham and Nath Milner, hope to see young Rob Cini get a run in the one's too soon.
Centrals have still shown inconsistency so far this year, again in the first half on Saturday giving Riddell a run. Centrals will have set themselves for this game and I give them a chance, but they will need the best from Wheelahan, Nankervis and Bullen to be a chance. Key Matchup - Smithwick Vs Bullen, Choate Vs Wheelahan.
Centrals by 2 points.

Riddell v Diggers Rest
Many would consider this match of the round. Hard to topple the Hawks/Roos contest though. Mick Allen returned to the Bomber lineup last week and had an instant impact on the forward line. The Bomber young guns are the driving force this year. Box, Leitch, Petran, Climas are all having a massive impact on this side and when you add them to the Bellville, Blade, Coles, J.Allen brigade it makes an amazingly balanced and skilled football side.
The Burra finally hit some form in the past couple of weeks, while everyone had hoped they were written off, most expected it to happen eventually and we all know what a dangerous side they are when they click. Thompson has been a huge bonus while Steve Hoare found some form last week. The Burra will be looking for another big scalp before an easier run home. Key Matchup - Bellville Vs Sims, M.Allen Vs Janner, J.Allen Vs Ruane.
Riddell by 35 pts

Romsey v Kilmore
The Redbacks have arguably been the inform side of the comp in recent weeks, they will be looking to back that up and put the final nail in the Kilmore coffin this week. The move of Dawson to the midfield has inspired the side, while McClellan has been in devastating form.
The Blues will be down after losing to Diggers and then finding it tough against the Roos. With Cornish missing the blues were always going to find it tough, but disappointingly, for me anyway, Robbo had no effect on the game whatsoever. I have always been Robbo's biggest supporter, but is it just me? Or does he have nowhere near the impact he should when playing against the top sides? Hopefully its just me...
Key Matchups - Morgan Vs Collis, Kairns Vs Straney, McClellan Vs Robertson
Romsey by 43 pts

Macedon v Rockbank
The Cats are the most injury depleted unit EVER!!! They have found it tough going this year and unfortunately for them, may find it even tougher come 5pm Saturday. The return of Scott Knight for some games will help Christianson and if Al Collins and Gus Story play ones they may be a chance.
The Rams are getting better every week, Matty Krul is a genuine star, as is Luke Walker. But I was most impressed with young Dylan Nicholson a couple of weeks ago, the boy is just another of the impressive list of youngsters.. Key Matchups - Christianson Vs Taylor, Story Vs Krul.
Rockbank by 32 pts

Match of the Round
Woodend/Hesket Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
The Hawks would have been shocked after being overrun by the Burra after kicking 7 opening quarter goals. You can be sure that they will be switched on not to let that happen again. Gidds will have the boys fired up for this one. Barker has added another dimension to the Hawks forward line. Pods has been outstanding this year as has Rick Dowling. Young Jarrod Arnold has had a great year.
The Roos will be alot happier after settling a side down in the last couple of weeks. With a stronger setup the Roos will be eyeing off 2nd spot in this one. The McInerney's have been good all year as has Bonnici and with Steve James due for one of his biggest challenges this week it will be interesting to see what sort of impact the midfield has.
Key Matchups - Sipthope Vs McInerney, Stacey Vs James, Dowling Vs Any Roo defender, Any Hawk defender Vs Helmers.
Roos to win

Always a great read IMS... spot on the money about form of Hoare and Thompson , reckon those key matchups are very unlikely to happen though. Morgan likely to miss again does that give kilmore a fighting chance or are romsey a fair better side at home???

Gives Kilmore a glimmer but still probably a tough job to get home.

top five for bowen
bonnici
belleville
robertson
mclnnerney
sipthorpe

Anyone game enough to have a crack at team of the year side?