RDFL Thread 2007

they were actually very good umpires too :thumbsu: just paid man in front and let the game flow very freely, kudos!

Speaking of free kicks, two experienced umpires in Ken Freeman and Troy Jones had shockers. In the second quarter the game got out of control and they didn't handle it too well. I know it isn't an easy gig and I'm not pot shotting these guys because they normally do a good job.

come on matt not pot shotting? you named them which in turn is a shot at them, not just the umpiring of the game. Are you still running around with the umps on a wednesday? have fun at training after critisising your team mates (umpires) on a public forum.

I don't train on Wednesday nights, too much hassle to get to Melton and my life is already busy enough at the moment. Secondly, I'm a journalist first, umpire second. I still have to have an opinion and I'm sure mine reflects those of the crowd and players. Like players, umpires have bad games. I mention players that don't play well too.

If someone has a crack at my umpiring it doesn't particularly phase me. I've had pretty good feedback but I reckon you know almost straight away if you've made a blue on the field. Sometimes I wish I could blow my whistle again and take back a free I've paid but its a quick game and you can't ponder for too long on a decision because there is another straight after to make.

Speaking of umpiring, I rolled my ankle in the third term of the first game I was scheduled to officiate in today. Had to miss the second. Twas a shame as I like umpiring U14 games on my own, good challenge for a newbie like me.

I don't train on Wednesday nights, too much hassle to get to Melton and my life is already busy enough at the moment. Secondly, I'm a journalist first, umpire second. I still have to have an opinion and I'm sure mine reflects those of the crowd and players. Like players, umpires have bad games. I mention players that don't play well too.

yeah mate but the difference is you can say what players have had a bad game and it is water off a ducks back, but when you start mentioning umpires names it reflects negatively on umpiring in general, it's hard enough for us to retain and recruit umpires without this sort of bad publisity:thumbsdown:

troy was our number one umpire last year and unfortunately due to injury hasn't been able to get up and running this year, and ken freeman is one of the most respected blokes in the association, because of his knees he can hardly even walk but still manages to get out there every weekend and run his game. i think your comments were in bad taste mate.

If someone has a crack at my umpiring it doesn't particularly phase me. I've had pretty good feedback but I reckon you know almost straight away if you've made a blue on the field. Sometimes I wish I could blow my whistle again and take back a free I've paid but its a quick game and you can't ponder for too long on a decision because there is another straight after to make.

Speaking of umpiring, I rolled my ankle in the third term of the first game I was scheduled to officiate in today. Had to miss the second. Twas a shame as I like umpiring U14 games on my own, good challenge for a newbie like me.

I think you will find matt that you don't have to have an opinion. It is actually quite easy to say nothing at all. How often do you hear an umpire tell a player that he made a mistake or in your case a journo, you don't see us telling you that you made a spelling mistake or used incorrect grammer. Umpire 22 got it right about the 2 umpires on saturday. Feel free not to make excuses about being to busy and come down wednesday, why not try and get through one of Troy's fitness sessions and request an U/18 game before you do you jorno, i better spell it right journalist work!!!! Also your not to fased about comments about your umpiring, fancy that, you can make those comments when you have done a top of the table senior clash with a large crowd, its a little different to a mum telling you that her 10 yr old son should have got a free kick!!!!!

Pfft. Once again you umps take my comments far too seriously. I think its admirable that you are defending your peers, but you had to be there to believe it. I'm sure Harry Wilson will be able to back me up when he gets online today :D.

Secondly, I already have commitments on Saturday mornings that rule out doing 18s games. Would be very interested in the challenge but I made a commitment to officiate Assumption matches.

Thirdly, why can't you blokes admit you had a bad game? Often I pick up the paper on a Wednesday and say 'I could have written that better', or Why didn't I structure my story that way'. Sports writers are specifically reporters, but it is also an opinion-based career.

If I say Matt McLellan had a shocker, which he did, it isn't water off a ducks back for him. He cops it on the chin and comes out the following week and gets 30 possies. Steve Burlak took the criticism when I said he was playing poorly early in the season and has responded well.

Kenny and Troy know they didn't have their best games and will no doubt be better next week.

Come on Roddy-The big storm was nothing than a light shower. 10 contested marks you might want to halve that and subtract one or two-no influence! Strange move with M. Mcinerney playing on Sip-Sip too strong and Mark played too wide of him. Sip clearly showed he's in a different league when it comes to ability to Mark. Adam Johnstone beat Leigh Mc and Bonnici was well held by Banga and i believe took the points in the end. Helmers no influence on the game. If the roos are honest i'm sure they'll agree Woodend should have won by more-heaps more inside 50's and consequently shots on goal. In my humble opinion Sunbury still the lack discipline through the middle i.e accountability. Unfortunately they seem to kick chase rather than take a man when opposition midfielders have control of the ball. Is Leigh given permission to sit off the contest by Dixon because this a tactic that clearly doesn't work, particularly in conditions like today. One extra onballer will always be more beneficial that a player sitting 10 metres off the contest. Hawks were too tough and hard that the ball. Well done to the roos for an entertaining game-they fought hard. Oh forgot to mention Woodend's backline superb today Wazza great game, back in form-Disco took Ploog to the cleaners-Shea excellent -L and j. hrdwick great and Jubes beat Helmers comprehensively early!

by the sounds of this post the hawks should have won by twelve goals.
it was a very hard fought game with woodend taking the honours in a game that could have gone either way.yes sippy had a good game,but the ankle deep mud did suit him more than the fleet footed mak mcinerney.
i also agree that jubes did a fair job tagging me,and bonnicci was also kept below his best.i think u will find that coach jarrod dixon played guys in strange positions because the reality is these two sides will meet in the first final and he wasnt going to show all his cards yet.i thought cuffe was superb and yes i will play on sippy in the finals.

hard earned win for kilmore on the weekend, hats off to em,

looking at the draw diggers have 3 games they should win against melton lancefield and macedon

kilmores last 2 against macedon and rockbank they'll win, but this week against the hawks is the game that shapes the finals. if the blues drop it diggers will take back the 2 point lead going into the last 2 games. Win it, they'll maintain their lead and lock themselves into the 5. i know its monday and theyre fresh from a big win, but i think everyone should be looking forward to the biggest match of their season on saturday..

Pfft. Once again you umps take my comments far too seriously. I think its admirable that you are defending your peers, but you had to be there to believe it. I'm sure Harry Wilson will be able to back me up when he gets online today :D.

Secondly, I already have commitments on Saturday mornings that rule out doing 18s games. Would be very interested in the challenge but I made a commitment to officiate Assumption matches.

Thirdly, why can't you blokes admit you had a bad game? Often I pick up the paper on a Wednesday and say 'I could have written that better', or Why didn't I structure my story that way'. Sports writers are specifically reporters, but it is also an opinion-based career.

If I say Matt McLellan had a shocker, which he did, it isn't water off a ducks back for him. He cops it on the chin and comes out the following week and gets 30 possies. Steve Burlak took the criticism when I said he was playing poorly early in the season and has responded well.

Kenny and Troy know they didn't have their best games and will no doubt be better next week.

we can admit to having a bad one champ (unless you talk to semmo:D), but for someone whos opinion influences alot of other people your comments were not on. to say you single out individual players from time to time doesn't cut it in this argument because thats one in 22, what you have done here is name our whole team.

Umpires have to be accountable too. My comments mean jack shit. I reckon I spoke to over 50 blokes on Saturday and pretty much all of them thought the umps had a bad day. In contrast, two weeks ago, the umpiring at J.J. Clancy Reserve for the Kilmore v Diggers Rest clash was superb and noted by the spectators and players.

Question to all out there. Who decides the best players for games each week? they continue to amaze me and plenty of others???

Umpires have to be accountable too. My comments mean jack shit. I reckon I spoke to over 50 blokes on Saturday and pretty much all of them thought the umps had a bad day. In contrast, two weeks ago, the umpiring at J.J. Clancy Reserve for the Kilmore v Diggers Rest clash was superb and noted by the spectators and players.

Hey Matt
Does anyone know the ressie results from weekend .RDFL website must be playing up.Diggers beat Riddell by 9pts .Does anyone else wanna let others know the results please especially Roos v Hawks.

Hey Matt
Does anyone know the ressie results from weekend .RDFL website must be playing up.Diggers beat Riddell by 9pts .Does anyone else wanna let others know the results please especially Roos v Hawks.

Woodend/Hesket 2.5 6.6 9.9 11.9 (75)
Sunbury Kangaroos 1.0 2.0 2.1 4.3 (27)

GOALS: Woodend/Hesket: D Salpietro 4 S Millard
2 B Olivieri 1 A Fox 1 M Bourke 1 D Boyle 1 P
Vella 1 Sunbury Kangaroos: A Salm 2 G Gilmore
1 J Hocking 1

BEST: Woodend/Hesket: D Salpietro P Vella B
Olivieri A Fox S Millard M Stevens Sunbury
Kangaroos: S Davis D Powell M Pelly W Bowden S
Fraser S Boyd

Romsey 3.4 6.5 7.7 9.7 (61)
Kilmore 2.1 3.3 5.3 6.4 (40)

GOALS: Romsey: M Darby 4 S Dremel 2 M Carroll 1
B Walters 1 S Tucker 1 Kilmore: S Heather 2 T
Symons 2 J Tennant 1 K Ramsdale 1

BEST: Romsey: S Dremel T Brady M Darby M
Dipietro M Carroll D Repacholi Kilmore: D
Saunders R Blake M Davern S Heather J
Sutherland R Scetrine

Rockbank 2.3 4.4 5.6 6.7 (43)
Macedon FC 2.3 2.4 2.7 3.15 (33)

GOALS: Rockbank: F Offer 1 R Lalli-Cafini 1 B
Ruane 1 S Formica 1 A Mackay 1 G McInerney 1
Macedon FC: M Taylor 2 N Morabito 1

BEST: Rockbank: S Formica A Calleja B Ruane J
Vaiano G McInerney J Stafford Macedon FC: M
Ploumatos R Tadd S Barrett B Bell M Smith C
Axton

Diggers Rest 2.2 5.9 6.10 7.13 (55)
Riddell 4.1 5.2 6.4 7.5 (47)

GOALS: Diggers Rest: G Hannon 1 B Sheehan 1 S Underwood 1 M
Sheahan 1 R Billinghurst 1 P Elliott 1 K Pearce
1 Riddell: M Palmer 3 D Grant 2 J Linnell 1 T
Marinier 1

BEST: Diggers Rest: C Eddy N Pinder M Sheahan B Green T
Bourne K Pearce Riddell: M Palmer R Sonogan D
Grant D Burke K Greasley B Marks

Melton Central 3.6 4.13 9.17 15.20 (110)
Lancefield 0.1 0.1 0.3 1.3 (9)

GOALS: Melton Central: C Mullins 5 G McDermott
2 J Hannett 1 S Scalzo 1 D Viney 1 P Mackay 1 W
Hardham 1 A McNabb 1 D Heath 1 M Shugg 1
Lancefield: S Curran 1

BEST: Melton Central: M Martin D Heath D Viney
M Shugg G McDermott S Scalzo Lancefield: T
Blackhall S Curran B Bacon-Dudderidge P Gardner
S Ingram S Stevenson

mate we could be having ripper days and 50 blokes at the local footy could think we were shit house. The guys know if they've had a bad day, the perception of umpires isn't great as it is, so for comments like that to be posted on a highly read public forum (especially the fact it contained names) has the potential to be damaging.

on a better note, Thanks for the pump up:p

hard earned win for kilmore on the weekend, hats off to em,

looking at the draw diggers have 3 games they should win against melton lancefield and macedon

kilmores last 2 against macedon and rockbank they'll win, but this week against the hawks is the game that shapes the finals. if the blues drop it diggers will take back the 2 point lead going into the last 2 games. Win it, they'll maintain their lead and lock themselves into the 5. i know its monday and theyre fresh from a big win, but i think everyone should be looking forward to the biggest match of their season on saturday..

Biggest game of some of the young fella's careers Id say, Im backing the Blues to keep on coming :thumbsu:

Finally someone has admitted to the fact that he won't play this year :thumbsu:

Good ploy though, to put the fear of Jesus into the RDFL oppositon, well done Roos, well done.:thumbsu:

Oops.. May have been a little misleading the post saying he wouldn't play this year... Sorry Harry :p

Biggest game of some of the young fella's careers Id say, Im backing the Blues to keep on coming :thumbsu:

Going to take a monumentous effort for the Blues to get over the Hawks... Sippy Vs Robbo please coaches, lets see these two go toe to toe... :thumbsu:

Come on Roddy-The big storm was nothing than a light shower. 10 contested marks you might want to halve that and subtract one or two-no influence! Strange move with M. Mcinerney playing on Sip-Sip too strong and Mark played too wide of him. Sip clearly showed he's in a different league when it comes to ability to Mark. Adam Johnstone beat Leigh Mc and Bonnici was well held by Banga and i believe took the points in the end. Helmers no influence on the game. If the roos are honest i'm sure they'll agree Woodend should have won by more-heaps more inside 50's and consequently shots on goal. In my humble opinion Sunbury still the lack discipline through the middle i.e accountability. Unfortunately they seem to kick chase rather than take a man when opposition midfielders have control of the ball. Is Leigh given permission to sit off the contest by Dixon because this a tactic that clearly doesn't work, particularly in conditions like today. One extra onballer will always be more beneficial that a player sitting 10 metres off the contest. Hawks were too tough and hard that the ball. Well done to the roos for an entertaining game-they fought hard. Oh forgot to mention Woodend's backline superb today Wazza great game, back in form-Disco took Ploog to the cleaners-Shea excellent -L and j. hrdwick great and Jubes beat Helmers comprehensively early!

Wow Woody, I am sure that the guys down at Woodend will be rapt that you have posted this, from the chats I had with the guys after the game most thought that it was a fantastic arm wrestle that everyone cant wait to see take place again. Woodend were very good on Saturday, that the margin should have been much more, possibly, that Cuffe didn't have an impact?? Strange.. But you are entitled to your "Humble" even if the post if far from it opinion.

Sipthorpe played a great game of football, Warren Else was ok, thought that Pods was damaging, Bowen and Fennell early got plenty of the ball. Johnno was good, mainly in the last quarter though. Disco did play well on Ploog, dont know about that trip to the cleaners though. Overall, the Hawks played a better team game on the day and outplayed the Roos, but this year is far from over.... Dowling was well held, Matt Welsh dominated the far wing against Cuinik, Cuffe was playing in his first senior game in a while, will get better, scary to think how much better he can get. As for the contested mark situation, Jamie took 7 contested marks and 12 all up.

Pickles, I have a problem with three games that consist of best players and conflicting reports that I have spoken to people at various grounds over the weekend. Who decides these best players?

Oops.. May have been a little misleading the post saying he wouldn't play this year... Sorry Harry :p

You lied.... I'm hurt:(

Well done Roos, a rumor that was quickly swallowed, then regurgitated and now has to be swallowed again, leaves a bad taste in the mouth:thumbsu: Bringing Cuffe in just in time for finals..... do you not have faith in James?????:D

I am still trying to swallow my pride. I thought I had the right mail, considering it came direct from the man's mouth.

Note to all Big Footy RDFL thread readers, DON'T TRUST ANYONE FROM THE ROOS!!!! :D:D God, I'm bitter!! You got me. I'm going to have to start a rumor myself in retaliation....... Let me stew for a while.:thumbsu:

Here goes based on what I have heard. Robertson did not have much of an influence when I was there but don't get me wrong a great win to the blues. Cornish was great but the red head)(Kemp) I think was rebounding all day. Robertson featured in the best players. Bonnici is a star but very quite. Was told he got a little of it but was one of the best. Just asking who decides or does the best players?

You lied.... I'm hurt:(

Well done Roos, a rumor that was quickly swallowed, then regurgitated and now has to be swallowed again, leaves a bad taste in the mouth:thumbsu: Bringing Cuffe in just in time for finals..... do you not have faith in James?????:D

I am still trying to swallow my pride. I thought I had the right mail, considering it came direct from the man's mouth.

Note to all Big Footy RDFL thread readers, DON'T TRUST ANYONE FROM THE ROOS!!!! God, I'm bitter!! You got me. I'm going to have to start a rumor myself in retaliation....... Let me stew for a while.

Lol.. Nothing wrong with improving an already strong rucking lineup is there Harry :D
Jamie will be a very handy young up and comer heading into finals.. Looking forward to seeing a bit more of the young man... Wonder what his odds are for the Bowen :p

by the sounds of this post the hawks should have won by twelve goals.
it was a very hard fought game with woodend taking the honours in a game that could have gone either way.yes sippy had a good game,but the ankle deep mud did suit him more than the fleet footed mak mcinerney.
i also agree that jubes did a fair job tagging me,and bonnicci was also kept below his best.i think u will find that coach jarrod dixon played guys in strange positions because the reality is these two sides will meet in the first final and he wasnt going to show all his cards yet.i thought cuffe was superb and yes i will play on sippy in the finals.

its going to be good game to see sippy at full flight when he dosent have to be restrained by ankle deep mud, if he can damage the roos the way he did in that mud imagine what he will do when the ground is in good nik....scary times for the roos......and helmers for the next time he lines up on him. jubes did a fantastic job wasnt tagging helmers but just made him accountable for him, which it didnt look like helmers was happy to do- still played loose in defence, id say helmers had more punches thrown that possesions on satdy. did he get injured????? or just an off game???

not showing the cards is quite true, as for cuffe he was fantastic for a guy who hasnt played all year will be a massive asset come finals time, extremely hard to match up on, needing a big guy with a big engine to keep up with him.

just a qwik question is there many if any to come back in2 the teams that played satdy from both teams roos n hawks??