RDFL Thread 2007

Pfft. Once again you umps take my comments far too seriously. I think its admirable that you are defending your peers, but you had to be there to believe it. I'm sure Harry Wilson will be able to back me up when he gets online today :D.

Well, here I am. To say the umpiring was terrible early would be a MASSIVE understatement. I realise that the umps do the community a huge service and I would never want to do or say anything that would jeopodise that. As far as Matt's comments, I agree whole heartedly, except for the fact he named them. The people who matter, who were at the game, know who the umpires were.

Now, there were a number of incidents during the game that caused severe frustration to players, coaches and the spectators. At one stage, Matt McLellan was punched in the family jewells and then in the face, to which he recieved a cut lip. Matty Mac of course, got up and remonstrated with the offender. It was then the umpire got involved, once Matty had retaliated. I understand that you should wear the hits and that the person who retaliates always gets punished. But this incident happened 2 metres away from the umpire in question. Why didn't he pull the player up to begin with or just issue a warning, everyone knows Matty Mac isn't the sort of player to start trouble. The umpire then awarded a 50m penalty.

Another incident saw Brydon Morgan question an umpire during play, to which the umpire's response was "Stop F*****G whinging!". Another, I was having the ball short passed to me, when the umpire ran in between me and the ball. This caused me to have to stop short as I was going to run into him. Once the ball had cleared I yelled at him to "get out of the way" to which he replied "shut up you F***'n smart arse". Tempers flared and a few spot fires started up around the ground. The decision from the same umpire to award a free kick after I was being hasseled by 2 opposition players, when I pushed one of them was a discrace to say the least. I belive this is the incident Pickles gave a special mention to being the "Softest Free Kick". I pushed the guy in the chest, without malice or anger, more to clear him away from me. My team had the ball 40 metres out from goal, why would I remonstrate in anger when my team is having a shot for goal? As stated earlier, the person who retaliates gets punished. Granted I shouldn't have pushed him, but to reverse the free kick was absurd.

I approached both umpires at the half time siren, in a calm mannor and suggested that they should have a good look at the way the game was being umpired. They were over officiating and in turn inciting the frustrations. I told them that I would speak to the Romsey boys and tell them to pull their heads in. After half time the game changed. The umpires stopped the rubbish as did the players and we all got on with the game. I spoke to the umpires again after the final siren and congratualted them on turning it around. I also apologised for approaching them when I am not the captain, to which they said that as I approached them in a non threatening mannor it was acceptable.

As I stated earlier, I can appreciate the job these guys do, but surely you can't speak to the players the way that certain umpire did in the first half of the game and expect them to carry on their merry little way. All the players want and spectators for that matter, is consistancy.

Harry's Done!

then the umpires turned on kilmore in the 2nd half after harrys little chat haha...
i read someone asks who picks the best players... i also wonder because sometimes it seems as if they mustnt really watch the match... i would say that jamie duffy was easily in kilmores top 6 on saturday along with a few others but were left out... n why does it just have 2 be a top 6, if you beat a rockbank by 100 points theres no way they have 6 best players..... seems strange to me¿

its going to be good game to see sippy at full flight when he dosent have to be restrained by ankle deep mud, if he can damage the roos the way he did in that mud imagine what he will do when the ground is in good nik....scary times for the roos......and helmers for the next time he lines up on him. jubes did a fantastic job wasnt tagging helmers but just made him accountable for him, which it didnt look like helmers was happy to do- still played loose in defence, id say helmers had more punches thrown that possesions on satdy. did he get injured????? or just an off game???

not showing the cards is quite true, as for cuffe he was fantastic for a guy who hasnt played all year will be a massive asset come finals time, extremely hard to match up on, needing a big guy with a big engine to keep up with him.

just a qwik question is there many if any to come back in2 the teams that played satdy from both teams roos n hawks??

im happy 2 answer any question in relation to myself.i was not injured and wont make any excuses.it was a very hard fought game and look forward to the first final.please people when u praise sippy for his great game take into account his opponent had 30 possessions.

then the umpires turned on kilmore in the 2nd half after harrys little chat haha...quote]

I hardly think the umpires turned on Kilmore in the second half Van. There were a few iffy decisions that went Romsey's way, no doubt, but that's footy. The umpiring picked up substantially in the second half, imo. The last thing I want to do here is even slightly insinuate that the umpiring cost Romsey the game. It didn't, Kilmore and Romsey cost Romsey the game. We were out played and you guys wanted it more than us on the day, hats off to the Blues. Let's not forget though, for the standard of footy Romsey played for 3/4's the Blues should have won by 10 goals. It was a game we didn't want to drop but maybe it might give us the kick in the pants we need to snap us back into reality. With Lancefield next week, the local derby will be a huge game. This followed Riddell at Riddell and Woodend at home, the Redbacks have a big few weeks leading into finals. But at the end of the day, I'll say it again, hats off to Kilmore, I'm Dayson Carroll would be most impressed. Well done.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

By the way Van, what number are you and what number is the DiscoDuck?

im number 13 mate, with the blue bits in my hair haha... disco plays 2s however i dont think he played this weekend. i know what you mean about the decisions in the first half, i think there was a deliberate out of bounds at full back by Kairns, and it was extremely harsh to be given against him, running at full pace n he grabbed ball n went over the line running against the flight.. very stiff.

By the way Van, what number are you and what number is the DiscoDuck?

you wouldn't have seen the duck harry. third hammy for the season last week against the roos saw to that. going to have to lose, conservatively, 10kgs over summer before i consider having a crack again. just embarrassing myself at the moment.

im number 13 mate, with the blue bits in my hair haha... disco plays 2s however i dont think he played this weekend. i know what you mean about the decisions in the first half, i think there was a deliberate out of bounds at full back by Kairns, and it was extremely harsh to be given against him, running at full pace n he grabbed ball n went over the line running against the flight.. very stiff.

you wouldn't have seen the duck harry. third hammy for the season last week against the roos saw to that. going to have to lose, conservatively, 10kgs over summer before i consider having a crack again. just embarrassing myself at the moment.

I remember the decision you're talking about. It was VERY iffy. Although, they paid on against you guys earlier, so at least they were consistant, I guess:confused:

I was number 40. Little bloke with long sleeves, I did notice you van, I was going to give you some lip service about it, but I thought twice, given the mood the umps were in, if we had of had a bit of a push and shove it could've ended in free kicks either way. It's a nice look though, I like it. I might do mine with red patches for the finals in your honour!!:D

Still some hope yet Discoduck. Still 3 games plus the possibility of finals, are you a chance?

I remember the decision you're talking about. It was VERY iffy. Although, they paid on against you guys earlier, so at least they were consistant, I guess:confused:

I was number 40. Little bloke with long sleeves, I did notice you van, I was going to give you some lip service about it, but I thought twice, given the mood the umps were in, if we had of had a bit of a push and shove it could've ended in free kicks either way. It's a nice look though, I like it. I might do mine with red patches for the finals in your honour!!:D

Still some hope yet Discoduck. Still 3 games plus the possibility of finals, are you a chance?

i haven't seen a ladder in a while, but i don't think the twos are a chance of finals, and i'd be a 1 in a 1000 of being called up for ones. it wasn't the severest of hammy's i've had this year, so i might test it out at training this week - if it goes again, it will be year over, no doubt.

hopefully got noticed for getting a kick n not just the hair harry! yeah get sum red in there, anythin different is the way mate... good luck for rest of season.. hopefully we can get up this week and make our way there as well

good to see a bit of anecdotal evidence to back the comment up, as i have said before we do have off days, glad to hear they turned it round (apparently almost to kilmores peril, van) in the second half.

just might say the pushes that were paid would have been to try and stamp the argy bargy off the ball stuff out. harry said there was a bit of feeling in the game when that happens we are instructed to get right on top of things, maybe on this occasion was a tad soft but these things do have a tendancy to escalate, so we need to get on top of them early and nip them in the bud:thumbsu:.

don't worry about that mate by the sounds of things i would have joined in if i had the game, lol.

Lancefield v Melton Centrals
Should be a ripper matchup. The Tigers had a strong win last week with Scotty Smithwick continuing his good form this year up forward and Chris Collins playing a more unfamiliar forward role last week. Hope to hear that Tigers get a little more from young guns Sam Graham and Nath Milner, hope to see young Rob Cini get a run in the one's too soon.
Centrals have still shown inconsistency so far this year, again in the first half on Saturday giving Riddell a run. Centrals will have set themselves for this game and I give them a chance, but they will need the best from Wheelahan, Nankervis and Bullen to be a chance. Key Matchup - Smithwick Vs Bullen, Choate Vs Wheelahan.
Centrals by 2 points.

Riddell v Diggers Rest
Many would consider this match of the round. Hard to topple the Hawks/Roos contest though. Mick Allen returned to the Bomber lineup last week and had an instant impact on the forward line. The Bomber young guns are the driving force this year. Box, Leitch, Petran, Climas are all having a massive impact on this side and when you add them to the Bellville, Blade, Coles, J.Allen brigade it makes an amazingly balanced and skilled football side.
The Burra finally hit some form in the past couple of weeks, while everyone had hoped they were written off, most expected it to happen eventually and we all know what a dangerous side they are when they click. Thompson has been a huge bonus while Steve Hoare found some form last week. The Burra will be looking for another big scalp before an easier run home. Key Matchup - Bellville Vs Sims, M.Allen Vs Janner, J.Allen Vs Ruane.
Riddell by 35 pts

Romsey v Kilmore
The Redbacks have arguably been the inform side of the comp in recent weeks, they will be looking to back that up and put the final nail in the Kilmore coffin this week. The move of Dawson to the midfield has inspired the side, while McClellan has been in devastating form.
The Blues will be down after losing to Diggers and then finding it tough against the Roos. With Cornish missing the blues were always going to find it tough, but disappointingly, for me anyway, Robbo had no effect on the game whatsoever. I have always been Robbo's biggest supporter, but is it just me? Or does he have nowhere near the impact he should when playing against the top sides? Hopefully its just me...
Key Matchups - Morgan Vs Collis, Kairns Vs Straney, McClellan Vs Robertson
Romsey by 43 pts

Macedon v Rockbank
The Cats are the most injury depleted unit EVER!!! They have found it tough going this year and unfortunately for them, may find it even tougher come 5pm Saturday. The return of Scott Knight for some games will help Christianson and if Al Collins and Gus Story play ones they may be a chance.
The Rams are getting better every week, Matty Krul is a genuine star, as is Luke Walker. But I was most impressed with young Dylan Nicholson a couple of weeks ago, the boy is just another of the impressive list of youngsters.. Key Matchups - Christianson Vs Taylor, Story Vs Krul.
Rockbank by 32 pts

Match of the Round
Woodend/Hesket Vs Sunbury Kangaroos
The Hawks would have been shocked after being overrun by the Burra after kicking 7 opening quarter goals. You can be sure that they will be switched on not to let that happen again. Gidds will have the boys fired up for this one. Barker has added another dimension to the Hawks forward line. Pods has been outstanding this year as has Rick Dowling. Young Jarrod Arnold has had a great year.
The Roos will be alot happier after settling a side down in the last couple of weeks. With a stronger setup the Roos will be eyeing off 2nd spot in this one. The McInerney's have been good all year as has Bonnici and with Steve James due for one of his biggest challenges this week it will be interesting to see what sort of impact the midfield has.
Key Matchups - Sipthope Vs McInerney, Stacey Vs James, Dowling Vs Any Roo defender, Any Hawk defender Vs Helmers.
Roos to win

How did all these matchups fair in peoples minds. Very interesting to see what people think

The Dowling Vs Roo defenders and Helmers Vs Hawk defenders were fizzers, both defenders taking the honor's, Ash Powell for the Roos and Jubes Downing for the Hawks.
James Vs Stacey was an interesting matchup, pretty even overall I would have thought. Sipthorpe Vs McInerney was interesting, both had near on 30 possies, Sippy with his goal and ability to win the football across the midfield and half back and McInerney with his run and carry from stoppages. Would love to see round 2 in good conditions.

Couldn't say in totality on the other contests.

None of the Romsey Kilmore match ups were ever going to happen, Morgan n Colliss is a massive mis match, Colliss is 5 foot 9 n small, Morgan 6 foot plus n built like tarrant. Kairns plays full back n Strayney doesnt play foward so was never going to happen. Strayney n Burlak was a great contest. McClellan N Robbo, well Colliver was the man for McClellan and he did a very good job on him...

Agreed Van, McLellan was very well held. I thought Burlak was excellent given the limited opportunity hed was given. Did you see his mark in the send quarter? He was the meat in a Kilmore sandwich and took a great contested mark, he then converted. He was well positioned on Kempy's shoulders, might want to remind him about that on Tuesday night:D Morgan left the ground in the last quarter with some injury troubles (not sure of the extent), but was quite serviceable I thought.

gotta agree with pete, Morgs was ordinary for how he is rated. did have a run in with the umpire over on the scoreboard wing after constant whining. the umpire was funny in his telling Morgs he had touched it more times than him, though was disappointed to hear the umpire say to Morgs "stop f***ing swearing" - does beg the question - rules for them and rules for us???

Once again I question the inconsistencies in peoples opinions. Sims gets in the best although belleville was setting them up particularly early. Sims features in the best players and juzzy does not. Spoke to a few people last night saying the lancefield melton game was a tight struggle. Did choate go head to head with whelahan? Did robertson play on morgan at anytime.

The coaches are generally responsible for each sides best players.. Irrelevant to whether these players go head to head or not, the matchup's of individuals against each other is only a guide in the person who posts opinion, whoever gets the better of the battle, whether playing as direct opponents or not, is considered the winner, but that is in the eye of the person who first put the matchup to paper.

In this case it was me, I believed that whoever had the bigger impact in Sims and Bellville won that contest, same as McInerney Vs Sipthorp and so on. Sims got in his sides best due to more than likely the coach thinking he was in the best, irrelevant to how good his direct opponent was. Bellville failed to make his side's best, but that is the opinion of the club person that put the best players in. Best players in the paper are a little irrelevant, sides rarely get it right completely because it isn't an independant decision making process, it is usually the coaches etc that do put the best in, and it is the best in their own opinion, someone who does a specific job well etc. It will always remain the same.

And opinions will always be inconsistent, purely because they are opinions, and just like assholes, everyone has one, and clearly not everyone's opinion is the same... :thumbsu:

morgan didnt get a touch struggled big time. he was to worried complaining to the umpires. good role model seeing his captain..

entitled to your opinion mate, and your right he was quiet. But that last thing you wanna do is question him as a role model and skipper, he reads this and the last thing you wanna do is motivate him we all know how good he plays when hes fired up, especially if he gets fully fit and we play you in an elimination final

Well said catters!!! Morgs will get up and tear the next few sides to pieces, right when he was under the pump he dominated the Romsey Kangas game. Morgs steps up for big encounters regularly. Don't forget, he gets heavily tagged by two or three opponents and gets smashed around a fair bit, to be able to cop that week in week out and still play the brand of footy he does is a credit to the man. So what if he had a bad day, we all have them. It's just the amount of them that seperates us!! GO MORGS!!!

morgan is a star of the comp. one of the best on his days going around. Seen him play plenty of times and when on song very hard to stop and manage. Tipping a big finals series like last year for him. What are peoples early tips and key match ups this week. Getting very close to the business end. well done to rockbank last week. They have turned things around and are now competivitive for longer periods of the game. would be curious also to see the bowen medal market.