Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
hey there harry, i must retract my last comment from earlier today!!! u are now clearly the NUMBER NEWS BREAKER on this thread, it looks like we can now call matt nicholls just plain old matt, now he is known as "FORMER MR RDFL"
so mr harry what would the 2 div teams look like?
the comment about wallan going straight into div 1 is a bit steep, they would be a bottom 3-4 side in the rdfl at the moment so what merit do they have going straight into div 1 when you see that riddell are shooting for 3 straight, its clear that riddell are the closest team to be straight into the div 1 position.
how would the promotion system work??? same as ess dfl? winner of div 2 comes up and last placed div 1 relegated??
for you ppl who keep an eye on div 2 ess footy there is so uch to gain for the div 2 side to play div 1.
that would be a fair system i would think?
have a look at the past 3 sides who have been promoted from ess div 2- avondale hts, west couburg and craigeburn, 2 of those teams are fighting for a finals berth, all aginst the cash up clubs.
it would be great, have something to really fight for if you were in div 2.
what do other ppl think of the promotion/ relegation system?
dose anyone else have a good idea????
A submission to clubs will take place shortly on the possibility of this move becoming a reality for the 2008 season.
So Mike's prediction of a 2 division competition could, in all likelyhood, become a reality, much sooner than I or anyone else could have possibly predicted.
Hopefully the existing clubs make the right choice in moving the competition forward, with this break in developments in the past 2 days.
Mike out.
Fellas I'm back after a day and a half off work. Good to see the RDFL world is still rotating and the discussion on new teams joining the comp is continuing. Congratulations Mike for taking over as numero uno. It's a tough gig. Here's a story I wrote last week for today's paper. You guys might find it interesting.
Also, latest stories and odds will be up on centralsport.org soon.
Enjoy.
Football restructure needed
by Matt Nicholls
THERE was an overwhelming response to my article published last week on the future of the Riddell District Football League.
I received phone calls from a number of people, mostly those currently involved with the RDFL at some level, but a number from outside the competition.
I spoke to the Ballarat Football League CEO, two people from clubs within the Central Murray Football League, and representatives from AFL Victoria and the VCFL.
The article has seemingly created widespread interest across football circles throughout the state.
On popular internet website www.bigfooty.com there has been a number of interesting comments about the concept.
For those who missed The Free Press last week, the article was an opinion piece on how the RDFL could expand its wings to become a two-division competition.
I spoke about clubs such as Wallan, Gisborne, Sunbury, Darley, Bacchus Marsh and Kyneton joining the competition to make it one of the most powerful in Victoria.
While much of the feedback I received was positive, there was a fair share of backlash too.
Ballarat Football League CEO Rod Ward told me last week that if my concept took off, it would significantly hurt his competition, as the idea involved five BFL clubs returning to their former home in the Riddell District.
Mr Ward’s comments were fair, but football is now a cut-throat industry where every league is out for itself.
Darley, Melton, Sunbury and Melton South are all original RDFL clubs and all have their juniors in the Riddell District competition.
If not for the RDFL’s dramatic fall from power 10 years ago, it is unlikely the Ballarat Football League would have these sides competing.
FLOW ON EFFECT
Across Victoria, there are dozens of football leagues that need to be restructured.
If you are to change the RDFL, it will have significant implications on neighbouring leagues such as the Bendigo and Ballarat competitions.
To fix those competitions you need to add from neighbouring leagues which creates a huge flow-on effect.
It is my opinion that the VCFL and AFL Victoria need to sit down with a big whiteboard, forget history for a minute, and fix a fast growing problem in football.
Almost every football competition in the state has geographical problems.
Some competitions are played in a close proximity, but there is a real difference in standard between the top and bottom sides in those leagues.
In around an hour, I sat down with a map and list of football leagues and ladders and came up with this possible league reformation, using clubs from the Riddell District, Bendigo, Ballarat, Central Highlands, Maryborough-Castlemaine, Heathcote District and Kyabram District football leagues.
There were 77 clubs in those seven competitions, and taking into account that Strathfieldsaye (near Bendigo) is likely to have a senior club up and running next year, this is how my restructured format worked out.
LEAGUE 1 – Riddell District Football League
Div 1: Gisborne, Kyneton, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury Lions, Melton, Darley, Melton South, Riddell, and Woodend-Hesket.
Div 2: Kilmore, Wallan, Romsey, Lancefield, Sunbury Kangaroos, Diggers Rest, Macedon, Rockbank, Trentham, and Melton Central.
LEAGUE 2 – Bendigo Football League
Div 1: Golden Square, Sandhurst, South Bendigo, Kangaroo Flat, Eaglehawk, Harcourt, Elmore, Colbinabbin, Mount Pleasant, and Castlemaine.
LEAGUE 3 – Ballarat Football League
Div 1: Ballarat, East Point, Lake Wendouree, Redan, Sebastopol, Maryborough, North City, Daylesford, Hepburn, and Learmonth.
LEAGUE 4 – Heathcote District Football League
Div 1: Broadford, Heathcote, Avenel, North Bendigo, White Hills, Yea, Nagambie, Rushworth, Huntly, and Strathfieldsaye (new club to be formed next year).
LEAGUE 5 – Kyabram District Football League
Div 1: Ardmona, Girgarre, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Stanhope, Tallygaroopna, Undera, Violet Town.
LEAGUE 6 – Central Highlands Football League (merged with MCDFL)
Div 1: Waubra, Avoca, Ballan, Dunnstown, Bungaree, Buninyong, Campbell’s Creek, Carisbrook, Maryborough Rovers, and Talbot.
Div 2: Royal Park, Newstead, Dunolly, Gordon, Beaufort, Creswick, Clunes, Springbank, Newlyn, and Maldon.
Obviously VCFL and AFL Victoria experts would be better placed to make judgements on such radical changes to the above football leagues, but it certainly is something that should be considered.
No doubt the football sidelines will be swarming with discussion about this issue on Saturday as this topic continues to grow legs.
not bad work there mr nicholls, u were just sitting on that as your money shot werent u?? maybe just gone back to number 2 reporter.
lets say for argument sake this all went though, would this then rekindle the age old argument of weather or not we should introduce inter leauge games for these 6 proposed leauges?
how could we structure this so that that we could get a ranking of each leauge and a good system that would draw a big crowd to these games?
the other hurdle would be when to play it?
They tried this format in the 90s when there were 2 Divisions ,it was ok until I think it was Wallan ( don"t quote me on that) refused to go up to 1st Division because they did not think they could compete .I know when Diggers won it in 93 the next year they struggled in 1st Division.hey there harry, i must retract my last comment from earlier today!!! u are now clearly the NUMBER NEWS BREAKER on this thread, it looks like we can now call matt nicholls just plain old matt, now he is known as "FORMER MR RDFL"
the comment about wallan going straight into div 1 is a bit steep, they would be a bottom 3-4 side in the rdfl at the moment so what merit do they have going straight into div 1 when you see that riddell are shooting for 3 straight, its clear that riddell are the closest team to be straight into the div 1 position.
how would the promotion system work??? same as ess dfl? winner of div 2 comes up and last placed div 1 relegated??
for you ppl who keep an eye on div 2 ess footy there is so uch to gain for the div 2 side to play div 1.
have a look at the past 3 sides who have been promoted from ess div 2- avondale hts, west couburg and craigeburn, 2 of those teams are fighting for a finals berth, all aginst the cash up clubs.
hey there harry, i must retract my last comment from earlier today!!! u are now clearly the NUMBER NEWS BREAKER on this thread, it looks like we can now call matt nicholls just plain old matt, now he is known as "FORMER MR RDFL"
Talking to some of the Sunbury LIONS people they were impressed with the following and support of the local sides. Especially when Kangas and Diggers played on their ground and the cars were two deep around the whole ground they havent seen that for years. The local sides of the RDFL pull a far better following than Sunbury playing at home or away. Thus a greater rivalry between the locals (RDFL) when they play. I think Sunbury miss the crowd support from both teams. The only rivalry is the BFL versus Sunbury. The thing to be careful with all this division stuff is if the STONGER sides came back would they be a power house and thus the crowd support dropped off hurting the existing RDFL clubs or would the supporter base pick up. None of the RDFL sides have pokies thus needing the supporters to help finacially with the club .
A great big hello once again to all of my friends in Big Footy land.
Mike has been diligently gathering intelligence and some not very intelligence to place at the mercy of the fine people of this very web information site.
Mike has it on very good authority, that the Sunbury Lions Football Club, as of Tuesday 7th August, have officially submitted an application to return to the RDFL for season 2008, leading the way in discussions with other clubs Melton, Melton South, Wallan and two other clubs, stongly rumoured to be Gisborne and Bacchus Marsh about forming an initial 6 team division one competition next year, leading to a stronger ten team division one competition in 2009.
A submission to clubs will take place shortly on the possibility of this move becoming a reality for the 2008 season.
So Mike's prediction of a 2 division competition could, in all likelyhood, become a reality, much sooner than I or anyone else could have possibly predicted.
Hopefully the existing clubs make the right choice in moving the competition forward, with this break in developments in the past 2 days.
Mike out.
looking at pickles odds. thought it would be a good chance for people to share some smokies for the bowen? i'll run with kemp from kilmore
nice preview ims,looks like a couple of good matchups,but i think centrals are feeling confident with their new game style and will continue to use it as it seems to work,and add the element of greenies return i think they will be jumpin out of their skins on sat.
I'm sure if the 2 div was to go ahead, umpires would not be sent to BFL and with the need to cover our own league would not be sent to the ammos.
At the moment clubs are disappointed that we see some of our best umpires sent elsewhere. Especially when the league and top 6 sides are so competetive.
If this were to happen I believe 2nd division would severly suffer, all the best umpires would umpire div 1 and Div 2 would get whatever is left over. The league at the moment has good up and coming umpires.
Who would make the decision on who goes where?
steve james has had big impacts on alot of games this year...i know bonnici and mark mcinerny will poll well, but i reckon the umpires will notice this guys influences..i think hed actually be a big chance to lead the kangaroos players in votes..
any of you sunbury blokes reckon thatd be a chance?, youd obviously know more than me? ims...tru blu...mongrel??
what about some others/clubs Is morgan a chance? Blade will take votes away from belleville? very interesting