RDFL Thread 2007

As for getting me away from the club it was always going to be my last season with Diggers as I had moved to Sydney mid-season (which didn't work out) or to spend a couple of seasons with Geds before he retired. Newman had no part in my decision to leave.

Coach Newman has a very short memory of who got him the coaching position at Diggers. They struggled so badly to lure a 2's coach they went for someone with no ability after I made the call to a committee member and set up the initial interview. People forget that Glen runs the 2's and Newman is his bi**h.

really???

pretty sure they made the granny last year, and this year they are on top.

Fellas, Nichollenko made his much anticipated return to football today. Under the coaching regime of Simon O'Donnell and Billy Brownless, the 20-year-old showed the crowd his exciting speed, amazing skill and ball winning ability.

At Assumption College for Ray Carroll's 50th year testimonial, I pulled the boots on for the former ACK champions against the current First XVIII. In a shaky opening five minutes I struggled to pick up the tempo of the game, but snuck forward to give off a nice goal just before qtr time. In the second qtr it appeared as if the ACK boys didn't hear about my Leo Barry-esque mark against Kilmore's reserves in round two and I was without an opponent in the second term. Sneaking to the pocket, I took a fair dinkum screamer (simple mark) 45 metres from goal (10 metres) and on a 90 degree angle (45). In front of a 1000-strong crowd at the Main Oval. Nichollenko calmly went back and slotted what appeared to be a match winner.

Unfortunately my legs were unable to run out four quarters so i spent half the third term resting up, only to see teammates such as Adam Pickering, Bo Nixon and Jon Henry let the side down and let the schoolboys overrun us. In all seriousness it was a fantastic day for one of Australia's most iconic sporting legends. Ray Carroll has done so much for the students at Assumption College over the past 50 years and it was a fitting tribute for the great man.

Champion Data says I finished with 4 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 tackles, 3 marks, 1 goal assist, and 1 goal.

I'm now very bloody sore and a hot bath beckons Nichollenko, who has hung the boots back up until another cameo beckons.

Was mighty cold there Matty and that wind woulda blown Christ off his cross today!!! Left just into the 3rd term but sounds like I shoulda hung around as all of ya stats musta come when I left ;) Can't believe Trenny burnt you in the 1st term and bombed one home from outside 50m when you were on ya own in the square. But did see that one you guided thru to the City end early in the 2nd :thumbsu:

Webby's stats woulda been big he was in everything from what I seen. Fantastic crowd there, plenty of old heads which was good to see.

Nicholls was running around giving high 5s i think he loved just takin the field at the ground... it was an honour to play there today although very hung over(perhaps still drunk) co-ordination suffered from sleep deprivation. Webby woulda had 40 touches as well as Pelly n Trenny. Nicholls cooly slottin home a big one was funny to see. Good to have Simon n Billy helping out was a good day n alot of fun, great to play with some of my old teammates may never play with them again.
nicholls 2 votes couldnt sneak 3, one more big one n ya woulda got my 3 haha

Thanks for the kind words fellas. Feeling it today though. Would have definitely been the highest standard of footy I've played in for sure. Those kids don't like the physical stuff too much, but because they're so quick when they do hit they hit hard. Don't know if I would have got any votes though. Just proud to be able to play in a game with such high quality players (and blokes). Yes, I was like a little kid yesterday giving high fives and patting blokes on the arse. Found an extra petrol tank I didn't know exist either, think they call it adrenalin. It's the closest I'll ever come to playing senior footy - and something I'll never forget.

jesus blueboy16, please move on from the newman sledging, everyone is getting so sick of it. you are no longer there so how about writing something positive for once, they (the 2nds)aren't missing you that much if they are winning easy most weeks.

just on other note , today at the sunbury under 14a semi between sunbury and gisborne during the 3rd quarter gisborne were caught having 19 players on the field and the umps did a count and gisbornes total score was wiped off and they ended up losing by 33 points. pretty poor coaching by the gisborne coach , i feel sorry for the young fellows, but i still think sunbury would of one anyway.
Turn it up mate, the kid was on the ground for no more than 15- 20 seconds when the Gisborne runner noticed that the young fella was on the ground when he was supposed to be on the bench (directly after half time). As the runner called him straight of the ground, you could could hear the Sunbury coach and his staff squeal like little pigs for a head count.The Gisborne score was removed but later reinstated because apparently the captain and not the coach has to be the one that calls for a head count (umpires mistake).

This was clearly an honest mistake from the poor kid (12 year old). Like i said, he was on the ground for 15-20 seconds maximum straight after half time. I know that rules are rules but i personally thought it was an absolute disgrace from the Sunbury coach. Talking to some Sunbury parents after the game and they felt quite embarrased about the whole thing.

Turn it up mate, the kid was on the ground for no more than 15- 20 seconds when the Gisborne runner noticed that the young fella was on the ground when he was supposed to be on the bench (directly after half time). As the runner called him straight of the ground, you could could hear the Sunbury coach and his staff squeal like little pigs for a head count.The Gisborne score was removed but later reinstated because apparently the captain and not the coach has to be the one that calls for a head count (umpires mistake).

This was clearly an honest mistake from the poor kid (12 year old). Like i said, he was on the ground for 15-20 seconds maximum straight after half time. I know that rules are rules but i personally thought it was an absolute disgrace from the Sunbury coach. Talking to some Sunbury parents after the game and they felt quite embarrased about the whole thing.

Yep, poor form from the Sunbury coach I would suggest... Its not as though Gissy were playing with 19 players..

oh so it is the sunbury coaches fault that the gisborne coach can't keep in touch with who he has on the field is it?
as i said i feel sorry for the young gisborne fellows but rules r rules ,if the shoe was on the other foot i bet the same would of happened

If this story has been reported correctly then i cant believe junior footy has stooped so low. Why would a coach instead of calling a head count simply let the opposition coach know that a 'kid' has made a mistake and tell him to come off. If it happened more than once then yes questions should be asked-but a once off....come on! Feel for the kid! Once again if the facts are correct then the Sunbury coach must be a goose! I'm with you on this one B.B!

Strongly agree with woody here... Its not senior footy, they are kids, kids get confused easily and can sometimes run on into position.. Poor form to call a head count..:thumbsdown:

any match reviews from the weekend ims or pickles? any betting won or lost on weekends games? new markets for this weeks games or bowen medal? diggers to make the finals and be giant killers with the redbacks

Mr Pagan each Monday all you do is ask for reviews and updated odds etc, etc. How bout you either write about the game you went to, or respect that most of us have jobs and write that stuff when we get a free minute or two? :D

C'mon Pickles, no need to get like that:thumbsdown: We all trawl the thread at different times to check any new posts and we all like to read different people's opinions and thoughts on the games. You of all people should be used to being asked for your thoughts and opinions on the weekend's round. Don't start niggling your fans mate, that's how you lose them!!:D

DPagan, it is my opinion, that Pickles perhaps doesn't want to report on the Local Derby (Romsey v Lancefield) as his old side the Tigers got rolled yesterday. He has a few soft spots in this league, Robbo, Kilmore, Lancefield, Robbo and Robertson from Kilmore.:D

C'mon Pickles, no need to get like that:thumbsdown: We all trawl the thread at different times to check any new posts and we all like to read different people's opinions and thoughts on the games. You of all people should be used to being asked for your thoughts and opinions on the weekend's round. Don't start niggling your fans mate, that's how you lose them!!:D

DPagan, it is my opinion, that Pickles perhaps doesn't want to report on the Local Derby (Romsey v Lancefield) as his old side the Tigers got rolled yesterday. He has a few soft spots in this league, Robbo, Kilmore, Lancefield, Robbo and Robertson from Kilmore.:D

See that's where you are wrong Harry my good friend. I probably have more allegiances at Romsey than any other club in this competition. Robbo is only my third fave Kilmore player too! :D

Also, apologies to dpagan. It was just a long weekend and I'm coming down after a terrific day yesterday and very little sleep over the three nights. I'll have some ponderings up at some stage this afternoon, and the odds will be on centralsport.org at some stage this week.

Wrap ups for this week...

Kilmore are gone for the year, Diggers will cause some headaches for sides come finals if they can get past Romsey, who will also cause headaches. Riddell is flying under the radar AGAIN... Just cruising now heading into finals and are by far and away the outstanding side in the competition. Everyone learnt to forget about trying to clip Sippy and just play football. Wheels from Centrals is a genuine star midfielder in this comp and Steve Burlak is just about the best Full Forward in the game right at this moment.

Oh, and Macedon has the worst leg injury list of any side just about EVER.....

Sunbury V Melton game was pretty much what Harry thought would happen! This is always a good game, and a physical contest right to the line! Goal or two in it till about the 5 min mark of the third quarter until we kicked away!

They have some talented players in Brian Wheelan and number 9, young kid, not to sure of his name, some improving signs for them looking into next year!

I watched the under 16a final between Sunbury and Rupo yesterday @ rupo! Some exceptional skill work by some very talented young kids coming through the system, however majority of these kids will now go to either the vafa or BFL, something has to be done to keep these kids round, if the don't go on to play higher football!

The score line didn't really represent the way the game went, but all up a good brand of junior football, quick movement of half back and some dominant ball use by some quality kids! Rupo hom by 20 odd points, but watch out for Dylan Murphy and Matt Medcraft in a couple of years time! These two could play senior football very shortly, even at the top, only body size will hurt them!

Look forward to the week ahead against Lancefield, heard the surface is in good knick! Hospitality up there is always good!

Noticed the same umpires from Saturday got paired up to do all 16's games togther yesterday! Notably it was a senior umpire with a junior senior umpire (if you get me)! Is this a buddy system thing that's going on, or just coinsidence?

Wrap ups for this week...

Kilmore are gone for the year, Diggers will cause some headaches for sides come finals if they can get past Romsey, who will also cause headaches. Riddell is flying under the radar AGAIN... Just cruising now heading into finals and are by far and away the outstanding side in the competition. Everyone learnt to forget about trying to clip Sippy and just play football. Wheels from Centrals is a genuine star midfielder in this comp and Steve Burlak is just about the best Full Forward in the game right at this moment.

Oh, and Macedon has the worst leg injury list of any side just about EVER.....

Good call on most of them IMS. The only one i'd query is Riddell, hardly flying under the radar-clearly on top and best side in the comp-that would be flying within the radar-out where everyone can see them and hopefully where a few sides can aim and shoot them down when it counts. However it will be tough, they will and should be very confident going into the finals series. It will take a big effort to bring the Riddell down-but you never know;).

Agreed mate, just not much said about them at all at the moment, still think that any of the top 5 can win on their day and its going to be an awesome finals series for the RDFL.... Cant wait to get along and watch some of these games.

it takes a very brave man to write off kilmore just yet, i wouldnt be making any predictions til at least 25/08/07 around 4:15pm

riddell look like the side to beat though

when do the league decide on where and when certain finals are played.. i assume if clubs have two sides in the final were possible then try and play them on the same day.. the reaon i say this is most of the senior sides will have there 2nds playing in the finals as well

IMS youd be fairly confident that your boys have the double chance wrapped up with kilmore beating romsey and them having two difficult games to come...

No wonder the airfares are so dear !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A bit of real work wouldn't hurt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How did your boys go on the weekend Woody ?;)

Yeah not bad Trueblueroo, like all the teams in the top five excluding Riddell still got a lot of work to do if we want to be competitive come finals time.Like IMS i think Sunbury, Diggers, Romsey or Woodend can beat Riddell if all the cards fall our their way. Agree IMS it's going to be one of the best finals series our league has had!

Sunbury V Melton game was pretty much what Harry thought would happen! This is always a good game, and a physical contest right to the line!

Harry's never too far away!! Never too far in front, yet never too far behind!! This years finals is going to be a dead set cracker!! Riddell have beaten everyone, Woodend have beaten Riddell, Romsey, Sunbury, Diggers and Kilmore, Sunbury have beaten Woodend, Romsey, Diggers and Kilmore, then Romsey have beaten Sunbury, Diggers and Kilmore, while Diggers have beaten Kilmore and Woodend and then finally Kilmore have beaten Romsey and Diggers!!!!! Did everyone get all of that?? Perhaps run your eyes over it again. It would seem that some previous posts have been pretty accurate in that any one can win on their given day.

Except no one can beat Riddell . . . unless its played in a swamp :D