RDFL Thread 2007

I never said that mate, i just think it now opens up a can of worms in that if people took footage of every game there would be 2 or 3 incidents a game that could be deemed 'reportable' that the umpires dont catch, and im sure this could be used against opposition players, as it was in the Heath Wadden case in the Grand Final.
If the umpires missed it ( which there was a boundary, goal and field all within distance to see it) then so be it.
Just didnt think our club needed to take that measure!!
Well maybe players should be aware of this and not commit the reportable offence. It can work both ways. Maybe a bloke is reported for something trivial and footage from a different angle shows there's nothing in it. Would you then say don't use the footage to defend your player? If you belt someone then you should be reported, no matter how it is brought up.

Good Call :thumbsu:

Burras presentation last nite
as we know J.Jose, then Goof then D. Janner.
Most promising- L.Rust
Coaches award- S.Sims(was a great chioce, glenn talked how everyone expects shaun to be the 'great stand out player' but this year he sacrificed his game to make others look good)
Best in final-M.Hilderbrand
pity roo didnt get his goal kicking award. was a great nite, all players looking forward to 2008. was emphasised that diggers dont chase players with money like some clubs, would prefer to blood juniors. go the burras

Tabcorp was cleaned out by numerous members of the RDFL at Kilmore races yesterday. Halffullonfence, OMNI and matt_nicholls, along with a few of Macedon's young guns made around $4k between them.

Halffull's gun horse Alrosa won the sixth under the patient riding of Jamie Mott. Not bad considering one of the owners didn't know it was racing on the day until one of his former students of the game informed him.

I've decided to put up and end of season report for Lancefield and Kilmore. I'm hoping someone can contribute one for their respective clubs.

Macedon - Halffullonfence
Romsey - Harry Wilson
Riddell - OMNI
Roos - Itsmyshow
Hawks - Woody07
Centrals - WISH I COULD KICK
Rams - X Box
Diggers - Burraz

KILMORE
2007 ladder position: 6th - Nine wins, eight losses, one draw.
Best and fairest winner: Matt Robertson.
Leading goalkicker: David Cornish (73 goals).

HOW THE SEASON UNFOLDED
Recruiting Dave Cornish and Linton Kemp from Wallan pre-season, along with midfielder Jason King paid dividends.
While the Blues were unsuccessful against Riddell in round one, they went through the next three weeks with good wins over Lancefield, Melton Central and Diggers Rest.
By the halfway mark, Kilmore was a game and percentage clear in fifth spot and looking merry for the finals.
Youngsters Kale Ramsdale, Dave Saunders and Corey Mills were all showing excellent signs.
Things unravelled slightly in the run home. The Blues drew at home to Lancefield, lost at home against Diggers Rest, knocking themselves out of the finals race.
Mills broke his leg, midfield Adam Goudge broke his ankle and soft tissue injuries plagued most of the squad.
Recruiting Damien Barton back to the club midway through the season was a bonus, but Kilmore was unable to make the finals.

THE FUTURE AHEAD
Coach of three seasons Terry Ahearn has indicated he will no longer lead the Blues, so a replacement will need to be appointed. Whoever gets the job has an exciting time ahead.
Kilmore boasts a quality mix of youth and experience and needs to only recruit a handful to be a contender next year.
If they can retain the likes of Matt Robertson, Tristan Salter, Cornish, Kemp and Ryan Straney the Blues will be thereabouts.
A fast paced side, the new coach will need to take a more hard-lined approach than Ahearn, and teach Kilmore some basic discipline. Training numbers were poor all season and the Blues were simply frontrunners in 2006.
Against weak opposition you can get away with a loose game plan and a free-running style of play.
But against the upper-tier sides, you’ll get smashed every time, and the Blues did.

PRE-SEASON SHOPPING LIST
A mobile ruckman, another key position player and a midfielder who can break the lines.

LANCEFIELD
2007 ladder position: 7th – Five wins, 12 losses, one draw.
Best and fairest winner: Phil Conway.
Leading goalkicker: Scott Smithwick (29 goals).

HOW THE SEASON UNFOLDED
After a good first up win against Rockbank, the Tigers were given a reality check in round two when beaten by 128 points against Kilmore at LancefieldPark.
Playing coach Chris Collins went down with a knee injury which sidelined him for a month, vastly stretching Lancefield’s playing depth.
Heavy losses against Woodend-Hesket and Riddell followed, but perhaps the lowlight of the Tigers season was when they were defeated by Macedon at Tony Clarke Reserve in round five.
Collins returned to the field the week later and they responded with a fine win at home against Melton Central.
From then on the Tigers continued to improve, a draw in round 10 against Kilmore highlighting a 128-point turnaround.
The real highlight of the season was in round 17 however, when Lancefield produced a six-goal final term to overrun Sunbury Kangaroos to win by three points.
With five wins and a draw coming off a horror 2006 season, Collins’ first year as Tiger coach has to be seen as successful.

THE FUTURE AHEAD
Having reappointed Chris Collins as senior coach, signs are looking bright for Lancefield in 2008.
Club president Ian Brown is hoping they can retain all players from this season, and recruit strongly over summer.
The Tigers had a very young Under 18s side this season, with most bottom age or 16-year-old players, which is likely see plenty of youth to be injected into the seniors next year.
Over half a dozen Under 18 players were given opportunities in the seniors this season, and all should benefit from the experience.
Another strong pre-season and some good recruiting could see Lancefield be finalists in 2008, as long as their senior group of players remain consistent and the younger members continue to improve.

PRE-SEASON SHOPPING LIST
Another in-and-under midfielder, a smart half-forward, a centre-half-back and a strong marking full-forward.

As a follower of the hawks im am pretty embarrassed that our club decided to take action and go squelling to the tribunal with footage. :thumbsdown:
After talking to James the week after the incident i believe some contact was made between the 2 and all was sorted. Just a shame that our club took this measure after a fantastic win.
Surely a medal is the biggest justice of all!!

You aren’t much of a follower if you were truly embarrassed with the action that our club took! The word proud would have been more appropriate i would have thought. A club looking after the welfare of their players is hardly an embarrassment but rather its responsibility. It’s the reason why we get so many quality footballers but more importantly quality people joining our club without asking for a cent. Yes in the end Jimmy ended up with a medal and that's what the year is all about. However there are some other important experiences that every player is entitled to after winning a flag for example getting the opportunity to receive his medal in front of his family, enjoying the lap of honour, celebrating in the rooms and of course celebrating that night. These are all things that Wadden was able to do the year before on that very ground. They’re the moments you remember most when you look back on experiences like winning a flag. Jimmy wasn't afforded this right because of a selfish act that was deemed as deliberate –therefore he got what he deserved.
By the way discreet i can go down the pub king hit any person i want, then apologise the next day, but i dont know if that means my actions deserve to be looked at in any better light than if i didn't apologise. The only thing that was embarrassing was your comments.

You aren’t much of a follower if you were truly embarrassed with the action that our club took! The word proud would have been more appropriate i would have thought. A club looking after the welfare of their players is hardly an embarrassment but rather its responsibility. It’s the reason why we get so many quality footballers but more importantly quality people joining our club without asking for a cent. Yes in the end Jimmy ended up with a medal and that's what the year is all about. However there are some other important experiences that every player is entitled to after winning a flag for example getting the opportunity to receive his medal in front of his family, enjoying the lap of honour, celebrating in the rooms and of course celebrating that night. These are all things that Wadden was able to do the year before on that very ground. They’re the moments you remember most when you look back on experiences like winning a flag. Jimmy wasn't afforded this right because of a selfish act that was deemed as deliberate –therefore he got what he deserved.
By the way discreet i can go down the pub king hit any person i want, then apologise the next day, but i dont know if that means my actions deserve to be looked at in any better light than if i didn't apologise. The only thing that was embarrassing was your comments.

Well said

Tabcorp was cleaned out by numerous members of the RDFL at Kilmore races yesterday. Halffullonfence, OMNI and matt_nicholls, along with a few of Macedon's young guns made around $4k between them.

Halffull's gun horse Alrosa won the sixth under the patient riding of Jamie Mott. Not bad considering one of the owners didn't know it was racing on the day until one of his former students of the game informed him.

R D Martin was the jock, yes was a patient ride I had givin her up 400 out but the split happened and $$$$ all round. Agree with Omni 5K+ closer to the mark.

What a pickup ride. Squiggles was a benefactor to a poor ride from Mitch Beadman who took his horse off the rails to allow Ryan martin to squeeze through. Did you know that he was only a second off the track record? Hopefully some of that $5k goes towards the MCC/MFC social rooms :p

The owner Matt refered to as not knowing she was running was your's truly, mad dash to Kilmore after the boys rang to find out if she was a chance as for Omni had to drag him (screaming) to go.

He probably owes you $500 now. The Macedon boys will no doubt wreak havoc in Hobart, just tell them to avoid the ladies down there. Last time I was in Tassie I took one back to the cave and she was all good in daylight but once the clothes came off she was hairy downstairs, bit like the Japanese lasses in Tokyo.

Yer ok ok twist my arm you did.
Looking forward to Matt's fashions on the field pics in this weeks edition of the Free Press too.
I wonder if his special photos ( upskirts ! ) will make it in ? :eek:

He probably owes you $500 now. The Macedon boys will no doubt wreak havoc in Hobart, just tell them to avoid the ladies down there. Last time I was in Tassie I took one back to the cave and she was all good in daylight but once the clothes came off she was hairy downstairs, bit like the Japanese lasses in Tokyo.

Um...... Matt......... They are called MEN pal !

you are in no position to criticise the tassie talent matty. just be gratefull they are silly enuff to hook up with you.you should have taken pictures of her,coz thats what your likely to marry:D

Marriage is for suckers mate. Women are like buses, you miss one you jump on the next. I'm off to New Zealand for a couple of weeks over Xmas. I've been told that if I don't like Tassie chicks I should steer clear of the Maoris and sheep.

Footy trip eh & your still awake on Monday ?
Always said you Kangas dont have a crack !
Only paid $11.80 mate, you know the Scotsman in him wont allow him to share the joy !
How was Frankston anyway ?

only made it to broardy mate. well thats where we dropped off the bowen medalist after the little master cleaned up about 3 and a half grand maybe he was catching up with the owner of the horse :thumbsu::thumbsu: