RDFL Thread 2008

You, as opposed to Nicholls, have done some homework. More than was done last year by Riddell in lead up to GF anyway. The fact quite a few played in 2's on weekend doesnt mean much as you know. Pretty sure C meacham played 2's on the weekend too.
In response to your question do any of these match it with your new recruits the answer is prob no (besides Lacey of course). However, many said that Hannet, Donovan, Podbury etc wouldnt cut it against Belleville & co last year too but they did when it counted!
Sure did, had to fill in at the last minute as he is also the coach of the 2's, played both games if you have a closer look.

It was the bird finger he was displaying on myspace and turned up at the game all bandaged up, the thumb happened at a fight at school. He should also be awarded the the Matthew Lloyd Diving Award for the effort he put in in the last quarter.
Are we still talking about 16 year old kids , he can wear whatever he wants especially the grand final medal they won . The junior finals were a week ago all this talk about my space , sooking ,diving and tit for tat between rupertswood and sunbury grow up ,you people are not doing your clubs any favours . Move on or private message each other , go for a coffee and sort it out.

matt you keep saying the kangas have an ageing list. if you look close i think you will realise bar 5 players everyone else is aged between 18 and 25. now i would say that is a good mix. pls correct me if im wrong matt.

Technically, every side has an ageing list, but the point I make about the Kangas is that their key players are getting towards the end of their careers.

The likes of you and your brother, Cuffe and Niki etc. are still very much the key ingredients.

I think the Roos can still remain a good side when you all bow out, but there are not too many "young guns" down at Boardman Reserve.

Hopefully you can keep all those talented U16s coming through and make a healthy transition.

Speaking of juniors, I ventured into Romsey last night and I heard that the Romsey junior parents all had a "Mad Monday" this week. Must have been trying to make up the lack of senior players.

A late night for the riddell guys or a few pre finals nerves . Could be some sleepless nights before this finals series is finished .
Yeah mate out all night partying and just finished off at the casino, good night. Fool.

Technically, every side has an ageing list, but the point I make about the Kangas is that their key players are getting towards the end of their careers.

The likes of you and your brother, Cuffe and Niki etc. are still very much the key ingredients.

I think the Roos can still remain a good side when you all bow out, but there are not too many "young guns" down at Boardman Reserve.

Hopefully you can keep all those talented U16s coming through and make a healthy transition.

we didn't field an under 16 side:confused:

Gentleman

im really looking forward to tomorrow... massive crowd, massive games, massive atmosphere, massive day, and im sure that's not the only massive thing omni! Good luck to all teams this weekend, especially our reserves! ill write up something about our year in a couple of weeks. Go Centrals!!!

george

Gentleman

im really looking forward to tomorrow... massive crowd, massive games, massive atmosphere, massive day, and im sure that's not the only massive thing omni! Good luck to all teams this weekend, especially our reserves! ill write up something about our year in a couple of weeks. Go Centrals!!!

george

Yeah good on you Georgie, hope you boys have a successful day both on & off the field mate. You wanna let eveyone know where they will be able to get a feed & a drink off you blokes tomorrow pal, I guess most of us on the no' 1 oval will be parked on the hill so as we can see both grounds. :thumbsu:

Well omni,

with all the hoopla that has surrounded this fixture i can definatly clear this up for you. Centrals are running all bars and bbq's and running our canteen at number 2. Our juniors are running the canteen at number 1. So centrals are running the day despite rumours from a few weeks back. get there early for the egg and bacon rolls, the bbq's will be running all day. by the time you guys rock up, i would have already smashed 5!! be careful where you park tho... :cool:

see you all tomorrow

Well omni,

with all the hoopla that has surrounded this fixture i can definatly clear this up for you. Centrals are running all bars and bbq's and running our canteen at number 2. Our juniors are running the canteen at number 1. So centrals are running the day despite rumours from a few weeks back. get there early for the egg and bacon rolls, the bbq's will be running all day. by the time you guys rock up, i would have already smashed 5!! be careful where you park tho... :cool:

see you all tomorrow

Yep definately hope the two's can get up Sunday

What will the condition will Riddells ground be this weekend, a couple of days of sunshine would dry it out i would think, but what would a little rain do?

Hey mate, ground is perfect not too hard or soft under foot (was like that last night at training anyway).

hopefully not too much rain tomorrow night then, nothing worse than a final ruined by too much rain the night before, should be some good games this week.
In all grades

Good luck to all teams this weekend for the first week of the finals. Tips wise I think the winners will be:
Riddell by 59 points
Sunbury by 16 points
Macedon by 8 points

matt you keep saying the kangas have an ageing list. if you look close i think you will realise bar 5 players everyone else is aged between 18 and 25. now i would say that is a good mix. pls correct me if im wrong matt.

Matt tends to make a lot of wild statements without really knowing the truth. Hopefully he is given more time/money when he goes to qld so that he can spend more time on research & less time writing half-truths and generalisations. Why is it that so many journalists who write about footy have no real understanding of the game? I guess its a lot like umpires really isnt it? Very hard to find a good one because most of them have never really played the game and thus dont understand the intricacies associated with it.

Footyhead you are a goose, just like most other people on this thread. I may get it wrong from time to time, but that's only because I put my name on everything I write. If you went around a footy field each week and got the players', coaches, and spectators' opinions and put them on the record, I'm sure you will find most others are wrong just as much as me, if not more wrong in some cases.

But I'm happy to put my balls on the line, because it is my job and I'm paid to do so (not necersarrily on this thread though :p)

Just because I have never played at a high level of footy, doesn't mean I am not in a position to make judgements. Some players at AFL level are brilliant but don't know a thing about footy. They are just very gifted people. There are some people who can't kick a ball over a jam tin but know plenty about the game. I've played over 100 games in juniors, U18s and magoos, and I've never had any talent. But I've seen a shitload more footy than most people my age and I understand that I don't know it all, but I believe I know a fair bit about the caper.

Results today:

Under 18s
Riddell d Woodend-Hesket by 1 point
Kilmore d Macedon by 4 points

Reserves
Woodend-Hesket d Riddell by 38 points
Wallan d Kilmore by 12 points

Seniors
Diggers Rest d Macedon by 34 points
Riddell d Woodend-Hesket by 87 points

Comments:

As expected, Riddell were just far too good for Woodend-Hesket. Dominated every quarter and were by the best side into the STRONG wind all day. The highlight of the day was Climas' new kicks, who caught the eye of everyone. As chieftont would understand, the Melton folk couldn't take their eyes off the SHINY boots. My best on ground was Petran, who was simply awesome. Was certainly coasting from rounds 1-15, but has turned it on in this last month. The HOOVER - Peter Robertson - was also good, as was Slugga, Micky Allen, Leigh Harrison, Ricky Elliott, Brayden Allen, Jason Allen etc. The beauty about Riddell's side is that it is really hard to find the dominant players as they are all exceptional.

Woodend-Hesket must be disappointed tonight, really didn't put up a challenge. I don't think they have the cattle this season, which is a shame because it means the Bombers will win the GF in a cakewalk (unless someone does a Waddsy).

In the other senior match, Diggers Rest walked all over a non-competitive Macedon in the first half, and had the game sewn up by half time. The Cats fought hard but were just too far behind. My best for the Burra were Sims, Heritage, Marsh, Thompson and Jose.

In the magoos, didn't see any of the Woodend-Hesket v Riddell match, but everyone who did said the Hawks were amazing.

Wallan got the jump against Kilmore, but the Blues fought back and looked to be a good chance of winning. But with the GALE, the Magpies kicked two late ones to sure up the win.

Macedon was ROBBED in the Under 18s by a an umpire who is simply past it. Won't mention names but ONE FREE KICK in a half of footy to the Cats is simply not acceptable. Some due credit should go to the Blues though, who were pretty darn good. Swanny, Pronk and Tighe were best for Kilmore, while Goodwin, Markworth, Preston and McConville were best for the Cats.

In the other match, a 20-man Riddell side managed to pip Woodend-Hesket by the narrowest of margins. For oneeyedblue, that is one point. The Hawks just wasted too many opportunities with the wind.

Overall, it was brillaintly run day by Melton Central, and although it was the windiest place on earth today, the Blues should definitely be in contention to host another "double header" next season.

My ranking of the day and the footy: 7/10.

Just for all those FANS of the boots, here is another look:

p1020085zb6.jpg

Matt tends to make a lot of wild statements without really knowing the truth. Hopefully he is given more time/money when he goes to qld so that he can spend more time on research & less time writing half-truths and generalisations. Why is it that so many journalists who write about footy have no real understanding of the game? I guess its a lot like umpires really isnt it? Very hard to find a good one because most of them have never really played the game and thus dont understand the intricacies associated with it.
matt keep up the good work this thread will be a lot worse off without your wild statements and half-truths . It will be the pineapple states gain and our loss so best of luck champ and keep punching:thumbsu: