RDFL Thread 2008

Hate to be the bearer of bad news Deano, but its just Riddell's year this season. I think the Kangas can make it, but they can't beat the Bombers.

no one would dare argue with u there matty.however u did make this exact statement last year if i remember correctly:D

Haha. Just had to stir up the Gisborne faithful before I left. Don't worry, I rate Billy Goat Jr, but I just wanted a reaction!

What you have done is called "Trolling".

Also getting on here and saying - this is my last post ever - is called "glorey hunting".

Leaving for QLD - is called a "god send" for the RDFL.

Putting your real name on here and acting like some sort of martyr is called "pre puberty paranoia".

Writing for the crappy paper you write for is called "no talent".

Getting paid 18k a year for your articles is called "over paid"

Knowing little about football and writing about it is called "over estimating your abilities".

But please don't take it to heart - just after a reaction.

Following a different club in every league in Australia and hoping at least one succeeds is called desperate. I get paid good money to write what you call "drival" (sic).If the RDFL was so unhappy with what I write, I'm sure they wouldn't ask me to publish articles in the record each week. The crappy paper I write for has been a great stepping stone to bigger and better things, and you have got to start somewhere. Don't see too many 21yo sports journos at the Age or Sun now do you? The reason why I returned to posting because I had dozens of people ring me, text me, or email and requesting I do so. I didn't realise my posts were that popular. It was in no shape or form, "glorey hunting" (sic). Also, when refer to God, can you please start the great one's name with a capital G.

I'm happy to have bitten to your post, because its been a pleasure having all this banter with the queer as folk from Gisborne.

Okay here is the full list of vote pollers for the 2008 Bowen Medal.

25 - T. Waters.

20 - S. Young, J. Belleville.

18 - J. Jose.

17 - P. Robertson.

14 - B. Chugg.

13 - B. Wheelahan, J. Wright.

12 - S. Sims, M. Lacy.

11 - A. Blade, C. Laurie.

10 - K. Weng Ng, P. Podbury.

9 - M. Welsh, T. Mainey, M. Robertson, T. Dettmann.

8 - L. James, B. John, A. Christiansen, S. Choate.

7 - W. Carton, J. Savage.

6 - J. Cuffe, R. Johnson, A. Kearney, R. Connellan, D. Pante, J. Heritage, D. Henderson, H. Langborne.

5 - R. Martin, C. Collins, D. Kenyon, J. Downing, C. Dawson, J. King, S. Brown.

4 - M. Vidal, M. McLellan, L. McInerney, J. Goodyear, M. Gibson, K. Marc, R. Shirley, S. Graham, W. Else.

3 - R. Davis, T. Fennell, L. Wilson, J. Forrest, C. Thompson, C. Johnson, B. Whiteway, T. O'Brien, J. Petran, G. Donovan, B. Matthews.

2 - J. Allen, M. Taylor, S. Knight, B. Cook. A. Collins, C. Plowman, T. Goodwin, D. Niki, G. O'Connor, L. Weller, P. Snowden, M. Allen, B. Henderson, D. Sipthorp, S. Galea, C. Braddy, S. Burlak, L. Rust, M. Peatling, D. McCabe, M. Stacey, M. Dettmann, L. Goodwin, B. Green, J. Armstrong, D. Fowler, S. Crosbie.

1 - S. Bowen, D. Nicholson, L. Barker, M. Krul, R. Straney, J. Welfare, B. Pronk, D. Hannan, K. Roach, D. Innella, M. McInerney, B. Henry, J. McArthur, S. Jamieson, L. Harrison, K. Bullen, B. Allen, P. Newton, N. Ash, D. Cornish, R. Ellis, P. Taylor, A. Laidlaw, S. Cameron.

CLUB BY CLUB (note these may be slightly out)

1. Riddell - 88 votes
2. Diggers Rest - 62 votes
3. Woodend-Hesket - 61 votes
4. Macedon - 51 votes
5. Melton Central - 46 votes
6. Lancefield - 45 votes
7. Wallan - 41 votes
8. Romsey - 38 votes
9. Sunbury Kangaroos - 33 votes
10. Rockbank - 24 votes
11. Kilmore - 23 votes

COMMENTS and QUESTIONS

- How did Climas not poll one vote!?!?
- How did Whiteway only poll three votes!?!?
- Umpires must hate the Sunbury Kangaroos
- How did Same Bowen get just one vote?
- Tim Dettmann would have seriously challenged if not for injury
- Waters polled in 12 of the 15 games he played
- How did Jason Allen only poll 2 votes ? (For second year running ! )
- How did Jae Wilton not poll a single vote ?!?!
- How did Peter Robertson poll 17 votes (4th) & miss out on Steve Turner Medal ?!?!?

another question to throw out there. How many of the top 20 made the team of the year side or again missed out on the team of the year side?

Save you the time.

25 - T. Waters.
20 - S. Young, J. Belleville.

18 - J. Jose.

17 - P. Robertson.

14 - B. Chugg.

13 - B. Wheelahan, J. Wright.

12 - S. Sims, M. Lacy.

11 - A. Blade, C. Laurie.

10 - K. Weng Ng, P. Podbury.

9 - M. Welsh, T. Mainey, M. Robertson, T. Dettmann.

8 - L. James, B. John, A. Christiansen, S. Choate

riddell and sunbury grand final at least the kangas might show some heart and make a match of it unlike the disgracefull performance woodend put in on saturday, all of those sticking out there hand for coin for woodend should pay back everyone who paid to come in and watch you pack of girls run around like fairies! oh thats right we at woodend dont pay our players they play for the love of the jumper isnt that the standard reponse ??
what happened to barker ? mate i bet you couldnt count your balls and get the same answer twice. i've seen better hands on a lepper ,did he brake a fingernail ? is that the reason why he kept dropping his head when ever he went for a mark ?? oh hang on that happens all the time due to being as soft as butter.
sipthorp unfit and clearly not interested.
sook it up boys that someone has written something bad about you cos the sheep dog performance put it by you guys on saturday was a joke rockbank wouldve put in a better performance.
talking of soft macedon had a player 13 i believe its collins , soft and scared if he run any wider during play there would be stop marks on the rooftops of cars, perhaps use the summer to decide if your ready to play a contact sport like football otherwise i beg you to stop embarrassing yourself out there as you make it look like your scared of your own shadow i swear i saw you throw the ball in shear terror when an opponent was coming at you!!
and what happened to the "big gun recruit from gisborne" robert belcher ?
someone told me he didnt play as he had a headache, but word has it he was more than capable of smashing down vodka cruisers later on that evening if this is true the club should send him packing i hear the sunbury womens football team go alrite reckon you may fit in nicely there , it was a final, you would chop your left nut off to play in a final especially a final with macedon as there as rare as a three breasted prostitute. some poor attitudes and performances from some less than poor blokes on the weekend, diggers stay home this week if you get withing 15 goals of riddell i think it would be worthy of you to sing your team song for one last time as it will be as good as a win for you , your no chance collins from macedon has a better chance of actually going in and getting a hard ball ( we all no that wont happen). harry high pant for macedon a goodwin a few questions for you if you dont have feet you cant wear boots right ? if you dont have hands you cant wear gloves right ? if you dont have a head you cant wear a hat right ? then what the hell were you doing wearing a bra on saturday while you were playing ?? how much vaseline do you go through a game with your shorts pulled up so far ? the nipple rash must be a killer after every game.
engrave the cup now riddell are a absolute shoe in unless they come down with scurvy on grand final eve no one unfortunatly is a chance to steal it from them this year far to good and far to strong.
sunbury and riddell granny and lets hope the local talent is on show and maybe just maybe our resident stud matt nicholls could manage to be oh so lucky and collect his own prize for the year as he deserves it for the crap he puts up with lets be honest boys he does do a lot of good stuff for a lot of clubs only the soft ones like romsey and woodend who both cant cop criticisim would disagree. hope to play cricket against you this year pickle im making a comeback and saddling up for the mighty tylden tigers in g grade !

talking of good old gisborne who love to plunder rdfl talent
why is it that you always return the favour to the rdfl and give back nothing but has beens and hacks with an attitude that reeks of being at your club ?? starting to show with how poorly your 18's are going that the kids dont want a bar of your club anymore with all the good ones going to the rdfl just as it should !

just a quick note on what sunbury have done against riddell this year insight.

rd 17 SK 19 to riddell 133
rd 6 Sk 31 to riddell 167

No offense to sunbury or any other RDFL team for that matter but even though they may match them physically they wouldnt be much a match for them in the big one either...

...No one can match riddell, id be surprised if anyone got withing 10 goals..

why is it that you always return the favour to the rdfl and give back nothing but has beens and hacks with an attitude that reeks of being at your club ?? starting to show with how poorly your 18's are going that the kids dont want a bar of your club anymore with all the good ones going to the rdfl just as it should !

Didn't you read kingys post the u/18 side has never had any success. This is the first year since joining bendigo league that the u/18's have not made the finals which i thick is a real credit to gisborne and its junior club

riddell and sunbury grand final at least the kangas might show some heart and make a match of it unlike the disgracefull performance woodend put in on saturday, all of those sticking out there hand for coin for woodend should pay back everyone who paid to come in and watch you pack of girls run around like fairies! oh thats right we at woodend dont pay our players they play for the love of the jumper isnt that the standard reponse ??
what happened to barker ? mate i bet you couldnt count your balls and get the same answer twice. i've seen better hands on a lepper ,did he brake a fingernail ? is that the reason why he kept dropping his head when ever he went for a mark ?? oh hang on that happens all the time due to being as soft as butter.
sipthorp unfit and clearly not interested.
sook it up boys that someone has written something bad about you cos the sheep dog performance put it by you guys on saturday was a joke rockbank wouldve put in a better performance.
talking of soft macedon had a player 13 i believe its collins , soft and scared if he run any wider during play there would be stop marks on the rooftops of cars, perhaps use the summer to decide if your ready to play a contact sport like football otherwise i beg you to stop embarrassing yourself out there as you make it look like your scared of your own shadow i swear i saw you throw the ball in shear terror when an opponent was coming at you!!
and what happened to the "big gun recruit from gisborne" robert belcher ?
someone told me he didnt play as he had a headache, but word has it he was more than capable of smashing down vodka cruisers later on that evening if this is true the club should send him packing i hear the sunbury womens football team go alrite reckon you may fit in nicely there , it was a final, you would chop your left nut off to play in a final especially a final with macedon as there as rare as a three breasted prostitute. some poor attitudes and performances from some less than poor blokes on the weekend, diggers stay home this week if you get withing 15 goals of riddell i think it would be worthy of you to sing your team song for one last time as it will be as good as a win for you , your no chance collins from macedon has a better chance of actually going in and getting a hard ball ( we all no that wont happen). harry high pant for macedon a goodwin a few questions for you if you dont have feet you cant wear boots right ? if you dont have hands you cant wear gloves right ? if you dont have a head you cant wear a hat right ? then what the hell were you doing wearing a bra on saturday while you were playing ?? how much vaseline do you go through a game with your shorts pulled up so far ? the nipple rash must be a killer after every game.
engrave the cup now riddell are a absolute shoe in unless they come down with scurvy on grand final eve no one unfortunatly is a chance to steal it from them this year far to good and far to strong.
sunbury and riddell granny and lets hope the local talent is on show and maybe just maybe our resident stud matt nicholls could manage to be oh so lucky and collect his own prize for the year as he deserves it for the crap he puts up with lets be honest boys he does do a lot of good stuff for a lot of clubs only the soft ones like romsey and woodend who both cant cop criticisim would disagree. hope to play cricket against you this year pickle im making a comeback and saddling up for the mighty tylden tigers in g grade !

Congratulations *insight* you have now succeded Donegal as the best writer (I use that word loosely) of rubbish on the RDFL thread. I assume you must be a perfectly built ex-Brownlow Medalist that put fear in every person you looked at - plus a few Bowen medals as well. I can't believe you woud spend time writing that much rubbish. Get the mirror out mate and have a good look at yourself!

Did you go to the same school of bullsh!t as Nicholls?

Please list the players plundered by Gisborne.

Is Sippy one of the hacks gisborne gave back to the RDFL?

just a quick note on what sunbury have done against riddell this year insight.

rd 17 SK 19 to riddell 133
rd 6 Sk 31 to riddell 167

No offense to sunbury or any other RDFL team for that matter but even though they may match them physically they wouldnt be much a match for them in the big one either...

...No one can match riddell, id be surprised if anyone got withing 10 goals..

As I said riddell are over the line, shut the gate. but mark my word they do have weaknesses its just no opposition has been smart enough to identify & exploit them. so for the sake of us having a contest in this years granny here are just a few things about them. You can thank me later.

Lee James, has lost his leap these days so put someone in the hole, he cant jump on their backs any more.

Their ruck is their biggest weakness, Burnett is a statue & Robertson is sus to a bit of the physical stuff. Speaking of that burnett is no warrior either, lacks courage, rough him up and he wilts too.

Belleville, Blade, Mcdonald, Coles and Young are slow and selfish and hang onto the ball far to long so tackle them every time, it will result in free kicks leading to turn overs and stoppages where you are able to re-group and mount your attacks.

Down forward Meacham and Allen can hurt you cause they never get the best backman, Meacham takes a good high overhead grab, so at the first opportunity get your backman to back under him when he flies, I think they call it tunneling. It will work a treat. Allen is slow and short and can be intimidated. Answer; put an angry taller faster player on him.

Some of their backs have become cocky and unaccountable of late too, run off Ash, Peatling, Murden and Bradon Allen, they chase kicks and can be exploited.
Whilst on Bradon Allen he has a fuse and can be sucked in, just try giving his brother a clip, his eyes roll back and he tilts!

The answer to their young brigade is isolate & intimidate them, their inexperience in this department will expose them to being put off their games.

The rest, ie Besanko, Harrison and Palmer are passengers in that side and wont hurt you, pay them no attention, they are insignificant to a game plan.

Rowsell is the nervous type and likely to panic when under pressure also, so if your teams tactics are starting to take effect his wild rotations and mad changes will give you a flow on affect helping you greatly achieve the win.

Matt, you seem to know all the votes in the Bowen, who were the players that took 8 votes off Riddell to stop them getting all possible votes(96) for the season?

R1 - Mick Lacy one vote.
R2 - Tim Dettmann three votes.
R5 - Tom Waters one vote.
R8 - Tom Mainey one vote.
R13 - James Wright two votes.

Have heard a rumor that if true makes me slightly ashamed to call myself a Macedonian.

Apparently (or so the rumor goes), Macedon have put in a complaint to the league suggesting that the WHFC goal posts are 20cm (!) too close to the fence, and have requested that the WHFC have their final this week taken off them.

Now I am more than slightly bitter at the league for taking our final off us this year because the walls of the stadium were slightly too close to the netball courts outer lines but it was the league that I was bitter at, seeing as the MCG has been such a magnificent venue for the past 2 prelims.

It just does not seem to be the right way to go about it in a country league, the teams have to stick together and support each other where they can because if bickering like this starts clubs will be forever putting in complaints about ground surfaces etc, and it makes it much too difficult to run a club if this becomes the case.

And further to this why has their been no mention of the atrociously hard centre of the Melton Bloods ground on the weekend or the shemozzole that the players had to put up with at the gate, not to mention the predictably terrible wind that sprung up, who would have seen that coming? Players should not have to pay to play in the finals, and this is something that can be easily avoided. If I had to pay back when I was playing I would have told them where they could shove it.

Maybe these simple areas should be looked after before we start looking at fences and walls that are too close yet have been operating like that for the last 10 years and no one has previously given 2 shits about.

Despite the top 6 being a poor system it appears that the two best sides will playoff in the big 1. I tend to agree though that the Bombers appear unbeatable, however stranger things have happened in footy.....
Tips this week:
Riddell by 75 points;
Woodend by 5 points.
All the best to all those competing.

Are you able to also list the players apart from Sippy - that played regular senior footy at Gisborne and returned to the RDFL? Not certain who the hacks and has beens are that we sent you???

Have heard a rumor that if true makes me slightly ashamed to call myself a Macedonian.

Apparently (or so the rumor goes), Macedon have put in a complaint to the league suggesting that the WHFC goal posts are 20cm (!) too close to the fence, and have requested that the WHFC have their final this week taken off them.

Now I am more than slightly bitter at the league for taking our final off us this year because the walls of the stadium were slightly too close to the netball courts outer lines but it was the league that I was bitter at, seeing as the MCG has been such a magnificent venue for the past 2 prelims.

It just does not seem to be the right way to go about it in a country league, the teams have to stick together and support each other where they can because if bickering like this starts clubs will be forever putting in complaints about ground surfaces etc, and it makes it much too difficult to run a club if this becomes the case.

And further to this why has their been no mention of the atrociously hard centre of the Melton Bloods ground on the weekend or the shemozzole that the players had to put up with at the gate, not to mention the predictably terrible wind that sprung up, who would have seen that coming? Players should not have to pay to play in the finals, and this is something that can be easily avoided. If I had to pay back when I was playing I would have told them where they could shove it.

Maybe these simple areas should be looked after before we start looking at fences and walls that are too close yet have been operating like that for the last 10 years and no one has previously given 2 shits about.

Your court walls are more than slightly too close to court, and lacks a decent viewing area. Did your club offer to play on the outdoor courts if that was the reason for not getting the final?

I agree with you that, Clubs do need to stick together with a little less whinging, every club has at some stage been in a position that is out of there control, and i'm sure every club does have something wrong with it's facilities etc. We all need to remember where we come from and that life is not always perfect.

Your last comment, mm let me think, when you were playing you probably didn't get a cent so free entry for players is a bonus. Most senior players now get something so to pay shouldn't be a big deal, I agree that players shouldn't have to pay and that is why they don't the league trialled something last week and it didn't work ahwell they changed it for this week and went back to a pass system.
For you to say that you would tell them to shove it, your thinking about yourself there. Would you really tell all your team mates that you are going to let them down and not play because you were too tight to pay your $8. I really doubt it. We all play for Finals and we have to pay all year at away games anyway.
Do you refuse to buy a record for $2 then ask to read somebody elses?

I doubt if any club would do that. Somebody did comment on their boundary clearance a while ago (can't be bothered trying to find it) and player safety should be paramount. In this day and age of litigation you really need to cover your backside. It really is a minefield! How hard is too hard? We play on some rocks at the start of the season (not just cricket pitch areas either) and Councils will do 'Click' tests to assess the hardness. Who owns the accountability? The Club, Council, League or all of them. You can see the bush lawyers queuing up. Rules have been set for player safety in just about every form of sport and they should be followed. If ground don't not comply they should correct it, but to cancel a final after years of use - I don't think so! and I suppose if a court is used during the season (and when we played Macedon early in the year we did), then that's what makes the Macedon decision strange (inconsistent).

Your court walls are more than slightly too close to court, and lacks a decent viewing area. Did your club offer to play on the outdoor courts if that was the reason for not getting the final?

From a Sunbury perspective I'm not sure if we should be throwing rocks about a netball court. The courts we have used prior to this year had no clearance, had no viewing area and was not that close to the football ground (suppose you don't need viewing area when the footballers can't walk there to watch!). Now we are even further away playing on a school yard. Plenty of viewing area but nobody to watch! Considering the gale blowing on Saturday, I think the netballers would have preferred to be inside than some fully exposed wind tunnel!