RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

What will it take for the RDFL to break it's allignment with Burley and play go with Sherrin?

Do the RDFL get a kick back from Burley or, it is purely a cost factor?

You just can not compare to a Kangaroo Brand Sherrin!

What will it take for the RDFL to break it's allignment with Burley and play go with Sherrin?

Do the RDFL get a kick back from Burley or, it is purely a cost factor?

You just can not compare to a Kangaroo Brand Sherrin!

Wont happen, Burley sponsorship...

Nothing wrong with the Burley football if you can actually kick :p

There are a couple of things I'd like answered. Are these club presidents taking back the league ideas to their committees, or just making decisions on behalf of their club on their own.

The latest idea by the league to put out a record each week (at no cost to the clubs) is getting a 50-50 response. Why would clubs even think about knocking that back? They get it for free, can sell it for a bob and make some money. All they would have to do is to supply player names and numbers. If just about every metro league, and plenty of country leagues can do it, why can't we!? It would also give a chance for club sponsors to advertise in it.

The final one that I hear some club presidents are against is the intra-league interleague. Okay, it would be idyllic to play an interleague game against the HDFL, or EDFL Div 2 etc. But its not happening at the moment, they are either scared or can't be arsed. There has been a round allocated for the Interleague this year, so why not play a West v East? If played under lights, I know it would attract a big crowd, and most players would support it. The only ones that wouldn't would be the ones who only play for cash. It would showcase the best players in the league playing against one another. An Under 18 curtain raiser would also give TAC Cup sides and AFL recruiters a chance to see our best young talent battle it out against the best kids their own age in the district.

You know it makes sense.

Perhaps with some issues, presidents need to speak with their personal opinion, as they may not have or been given enough time to consult ideas with the rest of their committees.
The record seems a great idea, a number of clubs print their own record so they can promote club sponsors, functions, etc. yes they will get a page but for some that may not be enough.
As for the intra league game i personally think it is a waste of time and money.
Interleague is to showcase your league against others.

But i'm not a president so i wouldn't know how we voted

Perhaps with some issues, presidents need to speak with their personal opinion, as they may not have or been given enough time to consult ideas with the rest of their committees.
The record seems a great idea, a number of clubs print their own record so they can promote club sponsors, functions, etc. yes they will get a page but for some that may not be enough.
As for the intra league game i personally think it is a waste of time and money.

A closed minded response, exactly what I am talking about... What is the waste of time and money about a representive game within the league exactly???

You are entitled to your opinion mate, but I reckon if you asked the players they would jump at the chance to play ANY kind of representative footy, I know I would.

I'm sure the supporters would get right behind the idea as well, we need to try things before making decisions and shooting them down. This whole 'If it ain't broke then don't fix it' mentality is what will keep our league from evolving into a better one.

But if you can't get an interleague game going then an east v west all star game is the next best thing. It gives players an opportunity to strive for something, and an opportunity to showcase the best the league has to offer. It may not be quite as elite getting in the best 44 as it would be to get in the best 22, but it is definately better than doing nothing at all.

Here one for all you interleague fans- 2 Coaches have a draft system the pick of the competition and then one for one they pick there team 1 coach picks 1,3,5,7 etc the other 2,4,6,8 and then you will have the best versus the best. Imagine Cornish/Salter or James /Allen could be interesting just a thought open for dicussion.

School Yard footy 'I like it'.

I'm not saying i wouldn't watch it. But to me it would be a shame to see one of your clubs stars go down, it would be like getting injured in an intraclub pracy, when at the end of the day you gain nothing from winning or losing.

No issues with Lacy and running his other role at Richmond will stop him playing a few, he is still not quite 100% on whether he will play, has been doing a great job helping run the preseason which is a positive sign.

Halfull is right will be a bit of a turnover Darko i think is running around again, undefeated u18's a few of which have played good senior football previously and further improvement from our kids and we should be OK!

ur right we are going to have a few new faces but lets not 4get that our 18's wenr underfeated, 2's lost only one regular season game, there was players running around it that team would be playing seniors at any other club as well, so i would just hit the panic button just yet, im sure we'll be fine,

No question IMO that the Hawks will still be hard to beat, whether they can go BTB I'm not so sure. Certainly not prepared to write them off, but it looks like an ultra competetive season.

The Riddell District Football League has announced that in 2008 in celebration of 150 years of football, the RDFL will be holding the inaugural RDFL ALLSTAR GAME.
The game will be held on Saturday July 5th at a venue to be announced.
The All Star game will be made of two teams, East vs West The East Team would consist of players from Diggers Rest, Melton Centrals, Riddell, Rockbank and Sunbury Kangaroos. The West team will include players from Kilmore, Lancefield, Macedon, Romsey, Wallan and Woodend.
RDFL General Manager Scott McCartney stated “In my time at the RDFL I have seen how proud and passionate our players, supporters and members are about the RDFL, in recognition of this it would be a fitting tribute to all the work that has been done behind the scenes by clubs and by league executive by getting the best RDFL talent on the same field on the same day to celebrate 150 years of football” added Mr McCartney
It is envisaged that the game will have a finals atmosphere where every supporter from every club can come along and have a great day.
There will be a limited corporate and club sponsor marquee area, with fully catered hospitality.

allstarnews.jpg

And Caroline Wilson is back.... Must be a full moon again!

hmmmmm here we go again.

from memory last time a debate started up I WON and you resorted to personal attacks! so if you wanna start it up again id be more than happy to prove you wrong and make you look stupid (not hard).:thumbsu:

so how bout u start by me telling me who will get close to riddell in 2008??? diggers will not get within 10 goals and it hurts to say that

Also, I can confirm that there will be a top 6 this year.

The finals will work like this:

Week 1
1 v 2 (QF)
3 v 6 (1st Elim)
4 v 5 (2nd Elim)

Week 2
Winner of QF v Winner of 1st Elim (2nd Semi) -- WINNER GOES STRAIGHT THRU TO GF
Loser of QE v Winner of 2ns Elim (1st Semi) -- LOSER ELIMINATED

Week 3
Loser of 2nd Semi v Winner of 1st Semi (Prelim)

Week 4
Winner of 2nd Semi v Winner of Prelim (GF)

You have got to be joking!!

With riddell picking up sunbury lions exports along with lee james back in the side no team will come close

I learned last year that no side is ever a certainty in a grand final. I and many other astute followers of the RDFL predicted a Bombers victory by 30+ points and were clearly wrong. Every team in the comp will field better sides than last year.

Early nominations for the venue of the All-Star match?

If we have to use RDFL venues, I'd pick Macedon's Tony Clarke Reserve. Lancefield get the grand final and do a great job, but I think the Cats deserve this feature event.

It's central, is a big ground, will have excellent social facilities and scoreboard, and most importantly, Macedon FC could do with extra cash being based in one of the smaller towns of the competition.

Sunbury's Clarke Oval would be another good option, even though it is not an RDFL senior venue. It is massive and you could set up marquees etc for corporates. Ideally I'd like to see it under lights, but not if the light quality is sub-standard.

WORST IDEA EVER!!:thumbsdown:

Im not going to create a perosnal attack on you at all, but in order to have a debate and an oppinion, you would have reasonng! Most of the time people on here give reasoning behind their thought's! Perhpas we wouldn't be so judgemental if you gave reaosning.

Your thought's on Diggers may be true to some extent, but stranger things have happen in football

Day match:

1.Clarke Oval
2.Macedon
3.Romsey

Night Match
1.Gardiner Reserve
2.Boardman (Lions junior ground)

Also, I can confirm that there will be a top 6 this year.

The finals will work like this:

Week 1
1 v 2 (QF)
3 v 6 (1st Elim)
4 v 5 (2nd Elim)

Week 2
Winner of QF v Winner of 1st Elim (2nd Semi) -- WINNER GOES STRAIGHT THRU TO GF
Loser of QE v Winner of 2ns Elim (1st Semi) -- LOSER ELIMINATED

Week 3
Loser of 2nd Semi v Winner of 1st Semi (Prelim)

Week 4
Winner of 2nd Semi v Winner of Prelim (GF)

So if you finished 6th and you manage to beat the 3rd side (hypothetical of course) you then get a double chance.

Whereas if you finish 4th or 5th and you win the first final, there is no second chance if you lose the following final.

I know there is no truly unbiased finals series, but it's almost as though you'd rather finish 6th than 4th or 5th.

Revised top 6 anyone??

Im not going to create a perosnal attack on you at all, but in order to have a debate and an oppinion, you would have reasonng! Most of the time people on here give reasoning behind their thought's! Perhpas we wouldn't be so judgemental if you gave reaosning.

Your thought's on Diggers may be true to some extent, but stranger things have happen in football

Hang on a minute,

i couldn't have been clearer in my reasoning. sunbury lions exports and lee james :confused:

So if you finished 6th and you manage to beat the 3rd side (hypothetical of course) you then get a double chance.

Whereas if you finish 4th or 5th and you win the first final, there is no second chance if you lose the following final.

I know there is no truly unbiased finals series, but it's almost as though you'd rather finish 6th than 4th or 5th.

Revised top 6 anyone??

That was the first thing I said to the RDFL's Steve Turner when I got told.

If we implemented the system on last year's ladder, the first week of the finals would have been this (I believe)

Riddell v Woodend-Hesket
Sunbury Kangaroos v Kilmore
Romsey v Diggers Rest

Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell v Romsey

Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos

Woodend-Hesket v Riddell

The end result is still much of the same, although there is no week off in the first week of the finals and the prelim round if you are good enough to finish on top of the ladder and win your first final. What the top six does create is give hope for clubs like Macedon, Lancefield and Melton Centrals a chance to aspire for a finals berth, without relying on other clubs falling over.

That was the first thing I said to the RDFL's Steve Turner when I got told.

If we implemented the system on last year's ladder, the first week of the finals would have been this (I believe)

Riddell v Woodend-Hesket
Sunbury Kangaroos v Kilmore
Romsey v Diggers Rest

Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell v Romsey

Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos

Woodend-Hesket v Riddell

The end result is still much of the same, although there is no week off in the first week of the finals and the prelim round if you are good enough to finish on top of the ladder and win your first final. What the top six does create is give hope for clubs like Macedon, Lancefield and Melton Centrals a chance to aspire for a finals berth, without relying on other clubs falling over.

Not only that but it gives the 6th team the knowledge that if they can manage to sneak a win in first up, they're a chance at going deep into the finals. It won't be so bad finishing 6th, like I said before you'd rather that than 4th or 5th.

Could we see some Carlton-esk tanking to finish 6th :D