RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

If this is the case Riddell will be almost unstoppable. Sammy is a gun. Starts to make me wonder how they (Riddell) are financing this recruitment drive? Good luck to them, but they must have some handy sponsors on board.

Riddell will do what Riddell do spend up big to try and win a flag if they loose they could always do what they did a few years back and fold for a year

Another interesting pickup for Riddell with Sam Young..

Massive pick up for Riddel. Has had some bad knee injuries over the last few years but if he gets himself right is an awesome player.

At this rate of picking up players Riddel could nearly challenge Sunbury Lions and Gisborne

This competition seems to be surrounded by the fact Riddell are the heart and soul of the RDFL.

Are they really that good? Saw snip-it's of Lee James for Mulwala last year and was ok but no standout, was looking a little dis-interested at times, however had potential to star.

Have read this forum for months with great interest, and I am struggling to understand how one side can be so dominant without a main competitor or rivalry for a few years? I lived in Romsey, 10 odd years ago and remember big weekend clashes, and you would know that both sides where always in it. This just doesn't seem to be the case anymore, would that be a fair statement?

Couple of the young Riddell boys where here recently and inquired about playing with the Bombers in the GV. They indicated they where seniors from all reports, how would they compare in a side like the Echuca Bombers?

sammy young also had a bad back injury a few years back from backing into a pack.he was a gun in juniours were i was fortunate to play with him in the rep side,also played against him in seniors when he was at sunbury and he was a player that stood out.great pick up if its true and good luck to him if he does transfer leagues.another sign rdfl is on the up!!!!!!

Hi All....Westmeadows are looking for a game on the 5th of April. Home or away is fine. Really need a hit out for all 3 grades. 18's, 1's and 2's. Please send me a private message if you are interested.

Dont forget to sign up guys, the more contestants the better the prize the RDFL will supply... :thumbsu:

RDFL Tipping for the 2008 season is now open...

Go to www.mysportstips.net
If you are an existing member log in.. If not, sign up.

Go to Join Comp
Enter Competition code: 10112
Enter Password: 2008

Everyone welcome to join the comp, it costs nothing and adds a bit of interest and fun to the season, so get involved....

IMS :thumbsu:

Massive pick up for Riddel. Has had some bad knee injuries over the last few years but if he gets himself right is an awesome player.

At this rate of picking up players Riddel could nearly challenge Sunbury Lions and Gisborne

Obviously you have not seen much of Gis and Sunbury. Lee James the gun forward in the comp was a fringe player at Sunbury. Young has not played football for 2 years and is coming off a knee reco, McCabe played 2 or 3 games for Sunbury seniors and is a solid 2's player at best, Power's back is stuffed and will be lucky to play 6 games.

Please dont start in here, your return to this thread will be very short lived.

Happy to keep it footy related - actually thought my 1st post was footy related. 2nd post was in response to "no comment" poor comments. Thanks for the heads up.

Oh I will so be looking forward to BUMPING into you at our games pal !

Make sure you come up & introduce your self you hear ?​

Yes indeed your first post was.. My post was as much in response to everyone, than it was to you.. All are welcome to post here, it only makes our thread bigger and better.. I just dont want this thread to turn into rubbish arguments that the Bendigo and Ballarat thread sometimes become.

Thanks guys.. Keep it to football... That goes for you too OMNI :D

This competition seems to be surrounded by the fact Riddell are the heart and soul of the RDFL.

Are they really that good? Saw snip-it's of Lee James for Mulwala last year and was ok but no standout, was looking a little dis-interested at times, however had potential to star.

Have read this forum for months with great interest, and I am struggling to understand how one side can be so dominant without a main competitor or rivalry for a few years? I lived in Romsey, 10 odd years ago and remember big weekend clashes, and you would know that both sides where always in it. This just doesn't seem to be the case anymore, would that be a fair statement?

Couple of the young Riddell boys where here recently and inquired about playing with the Bombers in the GV. They indicated they where seniors from all reports, how would they compare in a side like the Echuca Bombers?

I agree Bomber, I don't believe they are that good, when they have only succeded in winning 2 Grand Finals out of the last 4 they played in.

In those GF's they have played against 4 differant sides, which to me means the top 5,6 or 7 teams in the competition are very competitive, which should make for some very exciting Big Weekend clashes this year as you put it.

Certainly, Riddell will again this year play finals football, but dominant....I don't think so?
With Wallan joining the RDFL and a number of sides picking up some quality players, this will make for a very exciting year.

Just like those days from 10 odd years ago Bomber.

A dominant side from up your way is the Nathalia FC in the Murray League.
Winning 4 straight GF's, how can that be in such a strong league as the MFL?
OH, and then there was the Brisbane Lions...........but thats another story.

As for Lee James, I believe he kicked 77 goals in the 11 home and away games that he played in for Mulwala. And in the process spanking many of the Murray Leagues top Full Backs.
I also understand he was BOG in a loosing Elimanation Final against Barroga.
Kicking 85 goals for the season. (13 games)
Not bad for a dis-interested Full Forward

Also, if you can post the names of the young Riddell boys that were up your way we may then be able to determine how they would compare against the Echuca Bombers.
That is if I knew any of the Echuca Bombers players?

I agree Bomber, I don't believe they are that good, when they have only succeded in winning 2 Grand Finals out of the last 4 they played in.

In those GF's they have played against 4 differant sides, which to me means the top 5,6 or 7 teams in the competition are very competitive, which should make for some very exciting Big Weekend clashes this year as you put it.

Certainly, Riddell will again this year play finals football, but dominant....I don't think so?
With Wallan joining the RDFL and a number of sides picking up some quality players, this will make for a very exciting year.

Just like those days from 10 odd years ago Bomber.

A dominant side from up your way is the Nathalia FC in the Murray League.
Winning 4 straight GF's, how can that be in such a strong league as the MFL?
OH, and then there was the Brisbane Lions...........but thats another story.

As for Lee James, I believe he kicked 77 goals in the 11 home and away games that he played in for Mulwala. And in the process spanking many of the Murray Leagues top Full Backs.
I also understand he was BOG in a loosing Elimanation Final against Barroga.
Kicking 85 goals for the season. (13 games)
Not bad for a dis-interested Full Forward

Also, if you can post the names of the young Riddell boys that were up your way we may then be able to determine how they would compare against the Echuca Bombers.
That is if I knew any of the Echuca Bombers players?

I won't mention their names openly on the forum but some of the Echuca lads that spring to mind are 'Dylan Butler' and 'Xav Campbell' not sure if you know of them?

'Nathalia' has had success simply because they were able to secure some rather large financial backing which kept their young ones and exports around. The Murray League or Riverina League has always been a 'step sister' to the O&M or SSA, simply because of the Dollars and sponsors involved. Nathalia has just reaped the rewards of a successful committee and excellent marketing plan.

Riddell by the sounds have had the combination but failed to execute it to its full advantage. Would that be correct in saying?

Onto this league now, how is it's finacial status now? Is it getting adequate sponsorship now and backing?

Oh I will so be looking forward to BUMPING into you at our games pal !​

Make sure you come up & introduce your self you hear ?​

No worries omi - who knows we could be arm in arm singing the Bomber theme song after they win the 2008 flag by years end!

Really looking forward to 08 RDFL season - once again RDFL match of the round will be called on the radio - 100.7 on your FM dial. Maybe Omi you could join the Birdman and myself for special comments when the match of the round involves Riddell.

No worries omi - who knows we could be arm in arm singing the Bomber theme song after they win the 2008 flag by years end!

Really looking forward to 08 RDFL season - once again RDFL match of the round will be called on the radio - 100.7 on your FM dial. Maybe Omi you could join the Birdman and myself for special comments when the match of the round involves Riddell.

or perhaps you might have to learn the woodend theme song like last year omni.:D

any one going for a look at the Kilmore v Oak Park practice match this afternoon? Beautiful day here in Kilmore, the surface at Clancy Reserve is in great nick which should mean a good day at the football :thumbsu:

what time is kick off doona2

I am on my way now...hopefully I haven't missed kick off!

I left just before 3/4 time and by then Kilmore were done. 30 odd points to 67 or 68...so I assume Oak Park went on with it.

The Kilmore President lives near me, and when talking he informed me that a few of the Kilmore lads were missing due to cricket, thus had some make up numbers in the two's...so I assume that flowed to the one's.

Kilomre have some good practice matches coming up....another against Seddon/Yarraville in two weeks.

One noticable feature of the game was Kilmore's kicking... mostly 70 metres!
That is 50m up, and 20m long!

I left just before 3/4 time and by then Kilmore were done. 30 odd points to 67 or 68...so I assume Oak Park went on with it.

The Kilmore President lives near me, and when talking he informed me that a few of the Kilmore lads were missing due to cricket, thus had some make up numbers in the two's...so I assume that flowed to the one's.

Kilomre have some good practice matches coming up....another against Seddon/Yarraville in two weeks.

One noticable feature of the game was Kilmore's kicking... mostly 70 metres!
That is 50m up, and 20m long!

Flipped a text to Robbo who said the end margin was about 10-11 goals, not a bad effort IMO seeing the rise in standard the Blues played against (RDFL to EDFL Div 1). The cricket match I was overlooking went the distance so didnt get back to have a look - howd Mo Kaakour and some of the Blues recrtuits go? Did any of the Oak Park recruits from the Nthn Bullants (Frankie Raso etc) play? If so they woulda been exciting to watch Id imagine

Looking forward to the annual ACk clash in a fortnight, reckon the locals might have their first win over the college for a few years, which usually is a guage for a good season. Then it's the game Rgs011 has mentioned and another EDFL club (Keilor Park) I believe.

unless you want to play their under 18's i seriously doubt kilmore will be playing a practice match against yarraville/seddon in 2 weeks. word on the street is yarraville/seddon have had a mass walk out over the summer.

did mo kaakour play for kilmore?
word waas that westy were offering up more for him to stay put, with their coach being sacked during pre-season, wasnt a well liked person at the club and not sure who has taken his spot but the players that walked out are now rumored to be heading back to give A-Grade a shake this year,

still havent seen an aproved clearence on the website,

did mo kaakour play for kilmore?
word waas that westy were offering up more for him to stay put, with their coach being sacked during pre-season, wasnt a well liked person at the club and not sure who has taken his spot but the players that walked out are now rumored to be heading back to give A-Grade a shake this year,

still havent seen an aproved clearence on the website,

Mo has signed with Kilmore and will play, both according to him and his coach. West Coburg apparently knocked back his clearance applications because they believed he still had a jumper, but according to Speers, it was a misunderstanding and has been resolved. The best for Kilmore were (according to the coach): Dave Saunders, Trav Hede, Chris Temperley, Lucas D'Antonia and Mo Kaakour. EDFL A-graders Oak Park won by about eight goals.