RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

Diggers rest played on saturday against redhill.. A team down mornington way that finished last in 07.
The burra lost by 4 goals not a great game by the burras. Only a few good signs from Davis, Jose and Underwood

Gday Gents, Have the burras picked up a new forward by chance, seeing they lost, Did he play, any good? S.Kangas had him down before xmas big bloke but heading to O+M last reports?

i heard on sunday that one of the conditions on wallan coming back to the premier league was that they wernt allowed to recruit current rdfl players for TWO years is this correct if so where does that leave cornish??also grey haired bloke playing for jacana was travis day???interesting to see dipper having long conversation to him after game about his availabilty this year and his maybe answer

just pack from pub run big talk down there re due to the drought and condition of the respective grounds a possible temporary possibly 1/2yrs merger of two clubs down this way and to play games out of newly renovated richard road ground (melton juniors ground,)possiblely known as the central bank football club

no april fool, this mail is gospel -Rams the new rdfl powerhouse, also rumoured they are very close to signing Tim McDonald (ex-riddell)

i talked to a rockbank player yesterday and he said that they had not picked up any new players, and had lost a few quality players.

even with that riddell bloke, assuming your info is correct, the rams still have quite a long way to go to challange the other bottom sides.. let alone a riddell or woodend

When is round one for you blokes 12th or 19th? No clearance even lodged so lets not get carried away yet, with a 14 day deadline the Blues have until after round one to make their first decision I spose.

Cornish trained with us tonight and a clearance has been lodged tonight!

guess he wanted to play in a quality jumper.. :D

Cant argue with that :D Although one has to feel for me old mate Daff who might now get the A$$ outa the goalsquare :eek: Is it true what they're saying that there was an agreement or something that Wallan were not to recruit from RDFL club's for a preiod of time after re-entering?
Heard ya's are rattling tins at the Hogan's/KFC traffic lights this weekend to raise the transfer fee.

Just kidding lads - either way the first Sunday clash should be a ball biter :thumbsu:

i talked to a rockbank player yesterday and he said that they had not picked up any new players, and had lost a few quality players.

even with that riddell bloke, assuming your info is correct, the rams still have quite a long way to go to challange the other bottom sides.. let alone a riddell or woodend

Obviously keeping his cards close to his chest. David Innella is back at the rams after a couple of years away, Dave is a star, would be in top 10 players in the league, in a better side would be in top 5. Is getting on in years but really knows how to play, once kicked 26 goals in 1 game for central altona.
Wouldnt think he would go there if they were not going to improve.
Nth Footscray premiership player last year.

just pack from pub run big talk down there re due to the drought and condition of the respective grounds a possible temporary possibly 1/2yrs merger of two clubs down this way and to play games out of newly renovated richard road ground (melton juniors ground,)possiblely known as the central bank football club

Sounds like pub talk pal and just that. Anyway, melton juniors won't allow a team to use their facilities, and there are restrictions for basing a senior club at that ground. Melton Bloods have already looked at it.

saw the clearance form of Cornish to come to Wallan last night. Hey Doona the collection is at Wellington Square:D. We can get more people there. :D:D:D

Looking on it as an outsider, I can understand why Dave wants to go back to Wallan. But I don't blame Kilmore if they try to do everything they can to keep him, or make sure he doesn't get cleared there for nothing.

Speers has planned his entire season around having Dave up forward. He gave his commitment to the club before Christmas. To say that you want to be cleared to Wallan on the eve of the season is a bit rough. If Wallan want him cleared I reckon they'd better be willing to put up some sort of fee. As an estimate, I reckon Dave would be worth about $5k to the Blues. To replace a player of his quality so close to the season will probably cost you more than that. And the quality of people around at this time are usually the mercenaries.

I've got no doubt Dave wants to leave Wallan for innocent reasons and not financial ones, so anyone who says that Kilmore has been outbidded is wrong. It's a catch-22 situation for Dave, who has to grow up in the town where 90% of his mates live and play footy. I know he loved playing for the Blues last year, so it must have been hard for him to tell Speers,

For all of those who want the full story, see this Friday's Free Press (yes we come out on Fridays now). Otherwise, see www.centralsport.org the same day. The website will be back up and running with up-to-date news, views and odds by the end of the week.

Can understand what you are saying Matt but we NEVER have had any kind of talk with him only to tell him we back in RDFL. Who has been saying Kilmore have been outbidded? Wallan have never put a price on anybodys head and im sure we never will.

Just assumed that money would be the first thing people thought of when they found out he was leaving.

I think you'll find in my article that I make it clear that Wallan haven't poached him too.

Get behind BigFootys own NotDoneYet who along with his diggers mate is competing in Kuala Lumper to be the Hamish and Andy shows overseas correspondents.

Get on to hamishandandy.com and get your votes in for the low cost ambassadors!!!
If they win Thommo won't be playing round 1!!!

scott smithwick still playing down that way... what's he been up to?

Hey Doona the collection is at Wellington Square:D. We can get more people there. :D:D:D

Especially with the forecast ;)

Yeah Id doubt if it was a money thing - know Dave a little bit thru one of my boys (Mickie Edwards) and he's always seemed pretty genuine, even in October when I played the whole "surely it would be hard to play aginst Wallan and vice versa with Kilmore now ;)"

I do feel for the Blues, especially with the timing of all this, more so as I know after talking to Speersy early in the summer the players he didn't pursue due to having Dave already there - but if he genuinely wants to return home to where he grew up then I'll be wishing him all the very best :thumbsu:

WRFL thread states Macedon beat coburg districts by about 30 points, any reports on the game?

yeah the macedon boys were just too skilled for their bigger bodied opponents...shoulda won by more..had about 10 more scoring shots than coburg.

the macedon 2nds came out on top by over 20 goals...although the opposition weren't much chop. the game got a bit fiery a few times.

might be a slightly more successful year for the club.

Looking on it as an outsider, I can understand why Dave wants to go back to Wallan. But I don't blame Kilmore if they try to do everything they can to keep him, or make sure he doesn't get cleared there for nothing.

Speers has planned his entire season around having Dave up forward. He gave his commitment to the club before Christmas. To say that you want to be cleared to Wallan on the eve of the season is a bit rough. If Wallan want him cleared I reckon they'd better be willing to put up some sort of fee. As an estimate, I reckon Dave would be worth about $5k to the Blues. To replace a player of his quality so close to the season will probably cost you more than that. And the quality of people around at this time are usually the mercenaries.

I've got no doubt Dave wants to leave Wallan for innocent reasons and not financial ones, so anyone who says that Kilmore has been outbidded is wrong. It's a catch-22 situation for Dave, who has to grow up in the town where 90% of his mates live and play footy. I know he loved playing for the Blues last year, so it must have been hard for him to tell Speers,

For all of those who want the full story, see this Friday's Free Press (yes we come out on Fridays now). Otherwise, see www.centralsport.org the same day. The website will be back up and running with up-to-date news, views and odds by the end of the week.

You cant be serious about the $5k can you? Since when do you have to pay (or are expected to pay) a transfer fee for a player wanting to join your club? It is a very simple equation in this case. Cornish is from Wallan, still lives in Wallan and Wallan have rejoined a local league. Kilmore can block his clearance if they want but unless he owes them money or hasnt returned club gear he will be cleared immediately. To even suggest money should be exchanged for the clearance is bordering on stupidity from someone qualified to know better.

Maybe not $5k but at least a couple of barrels surely ;)

DIDN'T DIPPA PLAY WELL

WHATS HAPPENED 2 RYAN THE YAK FROM ROMSEY

CHEERS...
THE MERCENARY...
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'm pretty sure Kilmore have had advice from someone within AFL Victoria's ranks to suggest that if it went to appeals they'd be a very strong chance of winning. I never said Wallan should pay a $5k transfer fee, just that is what Cornish is worth to Kilmore.

All I know is that I've been inundated with phone calls and emails since this Cornish situation arose, so I'm happy to stoke up the fire a little. I told Dave I wouldn't ridicule him in the paper tomorrow, just that I would tell people the facts.

I'm pretty sure Kilmore have had advice from someone within AFL Victoria's ranks to suggest that if it went to appeals they'd be a very strong chance of winning.

It has to get to appeal first. Football Victorias transfer rules of which the RDFL is a signatory state there are only four reasons a clearance can be refused.
1 - the player has signed a contract
2 - the player owes the club money
3 - the player owes the club equipment / jumpers
4 - the player is suspended

If the player does not have any of the above hanging over his head then the clearance becomes automatic. These rules have been in place for a couple of seasons and was why Wallan could not refuse Cornishes clearnce to Kilmore last season.

It has to get to appeal first. Football Victorias transfer rules of which the RDFL is a signatory state there are only four reasons a clearance can be refused.
1 - the player has signed a contract
2 - the player owes the club money
3 - the player owes the club equipment / jumpers
4 - the player is suspended

If the player does not have any of the above hanging over his head then the clearance becomes automatic. These rules have been in place for a couple of seasons and was why Wallan could not refuse Cornishes clearnce to Kilmore last season.

Can Kilmore knock it back once and then go straight to an appeals process?

yeah the macedon boys were just too skilled for their bigger bodied opponents...shoulda won by more..had about 10 more scoring shots than coburg.

the macedon 2nds came out on top by over 20 goals...although the opposition weren't much chop. the game got a bit fiery a few times.

might be a slightly more successful year for the club.

Pretty quick were the boys from macedon and played some good footy as well, ran well, good talking backing up each other i was impressed (im not from macedon by the way )

But in saying that Districts had 8 players out who are walk up starters in the ones never the less a good win by the cats . i think they will shock a few teams this yr .