RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

fairly disappointing topic being discussed here.perhaps we can get back to on field discussion.there are sum fantastic recruits floating around the league.
maybe we can here about sum of them
Totally agree with you big fella!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Injuries,salary issues and all the other crap means nothing,the side you put on the ground week in week out is what we should be talking about!!!!

This looks at this stage to be a huge year for the comp with a lot of sides stepping up and says even better things for the league overall.

Excited about tommorows game

as we have a friday game we need to put our tips in a day earlier.
mine are all the home sides.
Kilmore by 15
Diggers by 4
Macedon by 23
Romsey by 54
Woodend by 30
Also what is going on with the only girl(as far as I know) leading the tipping comp.
(I suppose we had a girl win it last year too)

Has rockbank really improved that much ?

Well, hasnt it been a couple of good weeks of footy!!!! Wallan making a successful comeback to RDFL against Rockbank(must say thanks to Rockbank president for making timekeeping a happy affair). "Pickles" did raise a few eyebrows down here but hey,THATS LIFE. The diggers game was one of the best games I have seen for awhile. Thanks to The Burras timekeepers as well.

Has anybody got a result from Kilmore/ Sunbury yet???

I did have some issues with somebody taking my identity and I have changed my pass codes so it wont happen anymore.

Sunbury beat kilmore by about 15pts. Kilmore were up by about 4 goals around 1/4 time before letting it slip

Great day Kilmore yesterday - big crowd - good game - new rooms good. Gate of $1800 donated to breast cancer - must be plenty of money up there to be able to afford that.

Kilmore v Sunbury.

Very good game of footy at Kilmore yesterday with the lead changing several times.
Kilmore jumped the Kangas in the first & led by four goals at Quarter time, leaving the Sunbury Brains Trust with blank expressions looking for answers.

The next 2 Quarters were what could be best described as an “Arm Wrestle “ with Sunbury slowly trying to wrest back the ascendancy through the determination of players such as Dean Helmers Ronald Davis, Steve James & of course, Leigh & Mark McInerney.
This they accomplished & lead by couple of goals at the final change.
But Kilmore were not done yet & to their credit fought back valiantly early in the last quarter to take back the lead, mainly due to the services of one Matt Robertson.
I must admit I am now fully aware of just how good this bloke really is thanks to the efforts of our resident Journo yesterday spruiking his virtues in my ear at his every possession whilst holding a Frothy in one hand & his Joy Stick in the other.
I think Versatility is Robbo’s Trademark, he can play & rack up the posies almost anywhere on the park.
But unfortunately for Kilmore they do not have 5 of him when the Kangas came storming back to overhaul them by a couple of late goals to win the match.
Well done to Leigh McInerney on winning B.O.G. Medal Honors yesterday.

Scotty McCartney & the boys at the big house along with Kilmore are to be Congratulated on organising & running a very Professional & Entertaining Days competition yesterday too.

Off to Macedon now for more Great RDFL Action !

Great day Kilmore yesterday - big crowd - good game - new rooms good. Gate of $1800 donated to breast cancer - must be plenty of money up there to be able to afford that.

It was a great day and the crowd was very good, $1800 on the gate was donated to breast cancer in order to play the game. I am led to believe that in order to play on ANZAC day gate takings must be donated to a charity. This will be an annual thing with the 2 clubs and next year Sunbury will also donate the gate takings to breast cancer and they will be wearing a pretty pink jumper.

What are peoples thoughts on the jumpers? when i first heard about the pink i was thinking bright pink but i thought they looked very good. It definately made it easier for the players.

Sunbury 2's shoudl have won by alot more, were 7 goals up at three quarter time and really should of went on with it.

Perhaps, it was a hard fought out game and the boys were stuffed in the last. Maybe the soft ground took abit more out of the legs, as the boys are normally running around on concrete :D
Give Kilmore a little credit they didn't lay down, they fought it right out to the end

Macedon v Melton.

Kicking with the aid of a four to five goal wind advantage Macedon lead at the first change by four goals.
They then out scored Melton into the wind in the second quarter two goals to one to lead by five goals at half time.
Melton gave away an unbelievable Five Fifty Meter penalties in an undisciplined first half.
In the third quarter Melton mounted a spirited challenge moving the ball with ease from the stoppages to only trail by one goal at the main break.
In the last quarter Macedon came out firing with young Paul Conversano getting plenty of it in their forward line & James Wright capping of a stella around the ground B.O.G performance.
The Cats kicked four goals to one in the last quarter to run out winners by four goals, Full forward Jeff O’Connor also Starred for Macedon with Five Goals.
Final Scores Macedon 11. 14 Def’ Melton 7. 8.

Wallan defeated Romsey by 5 goals on a very cold and wet afternoon.
Scores were roughly 12.11 to 7.11. Good hard game of footy.
Best players for wallan were blake whiteway, chris coleman, daff fowler and david cornish kicking around 6 i think

Wallan defeated Romsey by 5 goals on a very cold and wet afternoon.
Scores were roughly 12.11 to 7.11. Good hard game of footy.
Best players for wallan were blake whiteway, chris coleman, daff fowler and david cornish kicking around 6 i think
For the third week in a row Lancefield were unable to take the points in a game they could easily have won. Woodend made the most of their opportunities in a game that was tight all day, and ran out victors by around 4 goals.

Rest assured, however, that if teams want the points against my tiges, they will have to earn it.

It was a great day and the crowd was very good, $1800 on the gate was donated to breast cancer in order to play the game. I am led to believe that in order to play on ANZAC day gate takings must be donated to a charity. This will be an annual thing with the 2 clubs and next year Sunbury will also donate the gate takings to breast cancer and they will be wearing a pretty pink jumper.

What are peoples thoughts on the jumpers? when i first heard about the pink i was thinking bright pink but i thought they looked very good. It definately made it easier for the players.
I'm told that only a donation has to be made to a charity, not the whole gate. Good on both clubs if that whats goin to happen.

Yeah Macedon played a ripper game yesterday, no doubt about that. They ran really hard, tackled hard, simply showed Centrals how to play football. Yes they were also a little undisciplined but i'm sure you'll agree omni, they were very stiff with some of the 50m penalties. Macedon player takes a mark, Centrals player holds him up, bang 50m penalty. Firstly, its not bloody AFL and the umpires simply wanted to be known in this game. Ive never seen an umpire pay these 50's until yesterday. I'll be asking the question on Monday. And secondly, if they were going to call these 50m penalties not once did they warn Centrals players yet Macedon players were warned plenty of times. If they're going to call it and set the trend early, then do it for the rest of the game. But Centrals players didn't learn from the first and they should off.

Big congrats to the Macedon boys, definately felt very welcome after the game and a few of their senior players got around to have a chat. I was impressed with the corterie group (a few were smashed at the end of the game) :p they've set up and the vibe around the Club is definatley a plus. Again, thanks Macedon for putting on a ripper day, although we lost, I definately enjoyed the day. :)

The jumper clash, some thing must be done in future rounds, not great watching players tackle their team mates.

Good news for the Kanga boys with the new social rooms hopefully ready for the next home game.

Yeah Macedon played a ripper game yesterday, no doubt about that. They ran really hard, tackled hard, simply showed Centrals how to play football. Yes they were also a little undisciplined but i'm sure you'll agree omni, they were very stiff with some of the 50m penalties. Macedon player takes a mark, Centrals player holds him up, bang 50m penalty. Firstly, its not bloody AFL and the umpires simply wanted to be known in this game. Ive never seen an umpire pay these 50's until yesterday. I'll be asking the question on Monday. And secondly, if they were going to call these 50m penalties not once did they warn Centrals players yet Macedon players were warned plenty of times. If they're going to call it and set the trend early, then do it for the rest of the game. But Centrals players didn't learn from the first and they should off.

Whilst I am Loathe to criticise the men in Orange George you do make a very valid point & from an objective view of the Game yesterday there was a couple of inconsistant calls there.
Having said that, I dont believe that those Decisions would have had a bearing on the Final outcome of the Contest.

Whilst I am Loathe to criticise the men in Orange George you do make a very valid point & from an objective view of the Game yesterday there was a couple of inconsistant calls there.
Having said that, I dont believe that those Decisions would have had a bearing on the Final outcome of the Contest.

I'm not the type to criticise as well but I was furious in the first half of the game with the umpires. The decisions wouldn't have changed the result, no, Macedon were just way to good for us but I thought the game would have been more enjoyable to watch if the umpires weren't noticed in the first half. After half time the umpiring was awesome.

Will always agree with this Concept George. :thumbsu:
But unfortunately it can just be human nature for some to wanna STANDOUT & be NOTICED !

While I got you there George, I wonder mate could you give me who you thought was Macedons best player Yesterday please ?
Am having a bit of a disagreement about it with a certain outspoken CAT who shall remain nameless !