RDFL Thread 2008

I think if you were one of Clemos best mates you would know his best mates log in. No cash here, if its you maybe keep your log in secret from some of your (so called) mates.

Not sure What you mean Halffull, i saw all these things being posted about him and thought i should step in and let everyone know what the go really was. i do know he is jumping out of his skin to get back on the park after missing last week. you just about have to cut the kids leg off to stop him playing!

Ask yourself who Clemos best mate is.

boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Heard a good Rumour on MMM footy tonite.
Ben Cousins to play at Wallan.Can anyone @ Wallan elaborate.:confused::confused:

Heard the exact same whisper last night - true or not let's hope if it is that it's the Wallan v Kilmore Sunday game so we can all get along for a look :thumbsu:

Don't think I would waiste my time knowing who would have already won if the rumour is true lol...;) any way where would Wallan get the money to pay him?

Pretty sure BT on MMM denied it - but u must agree it's amazing what rumours can bob up at times

Heard today that johnno woodends skipper will miss the rest of the season with a knee injury. Rumour is he needs a reconstruction and will miss most of next season as well. Can anyone from woodend confirm?

Massive loss if true. But the Hawks do rotate nearly a dozen players through the midfield in any given match so although Johnno would be missed, they should be able to cover him slightly. Certainly makes their task of going back-to-back even harder. Not sure who is vice captain but you would expect that Lacy, Else, Ng or Donovan would be the front runners.

Massive round of footy coming up, especially for the lower ranked sides. In my opinion if Centrals, Lancefield or Wallan lose they can kiss finals goodbye. That means the Tigers v Pies contest is virtually an elimination final. If the Cats lose against Romsey they are still with a show, but could only finish in sixth position (perhaps the best spot of all outside the top 3?). Think Riddell should beat Diggers Rest pretty easily, but expect the Burra to make it a scrappy contest to protect their percentage. Could be negative but if I were coach that's what I would be trying to do. The Woodend-Hesket v Kilmore match should give us an indication on whether the Blues are contenders or pretenders. I think the Hawks will win by a couple of goals.

Massive loss if true. But the Hawks do rotate nearly a dozen players through the midfield in any given match so although Johnno would be missed, they should be able to cover him slightly. Certainly makes their task of going back-to-back even harder. Not sure who is vice captain but you would expect that Lacy, Else, Ng or Donovan would be the front runners.

Massive round of footy coming up, especially for the lower ranked sides. In my opinion if Centrals, Lancefield or Wallan lose they can kiss finals goodbye. That means the Tigers v Pies contest is virtually an elimination final. If the Cats lose against Romsey they are still with a show, but could only finish in sixth position (perhaps the best spot of all outside the top 3?). Think Riddell should beat Diggers Rest pretty easily, but expect the Burra to make it a scrappy contest to protect their percentage. Could be negative but if I were coach that's what I would be trying to do. The Woodend-Hesket v Kilmore match should give us an indication on whether the Blues are contenders or pretenders. I think the Hawks will win by a couple of goals.

Matthew who is your tip for the Cats vs Redbacks clash?
Speaking to some involved at MFC they think they are a massive chance and talking to Dippa Romsey are still missing a few so it might be a big opportunity for the boys from Tony Clarke.....

Matthew who is your tip for the Cats vs Redbacks clash?
Speaking to some involved at MFC they think they are a massive chance and talking to Dippa Romsey are still missing a few so it might be a big opportunity for the boys from Tony Clarke.....

I'm tipping the Cats by 4-5 goals. Think they are the fourth/fifth best side in it.

What do you mean to protect there percentage ?

Negitive football.... so you saying they will have 18 players in the bombers forward "50" ? How do you play negitive ?

Hawks to win by a couple of goals ?

Hawks beat diggers by 8 goals... diggers beat blues by 7 goals ... how you come up with that ... (form) guide ?

What do you mean to protect there percentage ?

Negitive football.... so you saying they will have 18 players in the bombers forward "50" ? How do you play negitive ?

Hawks to win by a couple of goals ?

Hawks beat diggers by 8 goals... diggers beat blues by 7 goals ... how you come up with that ... (form) guide ?

If I were coaching Diggers Rest on Saturday I'd play Cole Laurie one-out in the goal square and have three half-forwards to move the ball in there and crumb. I'd try and back my midfielders to win the ball in the midfield from the good work of Jose and stack the half-back line. Let Sims be the general in the run from defence. Play two blokes on Lee James and make Riddell change their game plan. Diggers could do it like what every other side has done this year and try and match them early and then readjust if it fails, but the simple fact is they'll get flogged if they do.

As for the Woodend-Hesket v Kilmore match, I think the Blues, coming off a 21-day break, should be fired up and raring to go with their best side on the park. The Hawks should be too good but I think Kilmore will give them a shake. You can't use form to make selections anyway. Macedon drew with Wallan, lost to Lancefield but came within five points of Diggers Rest. Some sides match up better than others.

Fair points you make ......... about the bombers v diggers game,

Diggers beat cats by 5pts (home) ...beat pies by 3pts...(away)

Hawks beat beat pies 72 pts (home) ...

Kilmore beat pies 8pts (home).. 10-7-67 to 8-11-59

I think you are selling the Hawks very short to only win by a couple of goals.

>>>>>form has everything to do with it ....... Be fair when you tip ..if you said 6 or 7 goals that would be near the mark (just) .

Fair points you make ......... about the bombers v diggers game,

I think you are selling the Hawks very short to only win by a couple of goals.

I see Kilmore play roughly 10 times a year, Woodend-Hesket 4-5 times. So you may be right, perhaps I'm selling the Hawks short. But I think this match will be a close one. Kilmore's midfield lacks explosive pace, which has been their downfall against some other sides. From what I have seen the Hawks don't have many super quick players in the centre. Accountability has also been a problem for the Blues this year and you would expect that their coach has addressed this in the break and the players would be desperate to impress. That's just my opinion, I respect yours too.

Robby 'Disco' Martin has been around at Woodend seniors since bursting onto the scene as a raw 18 year old back in premiership year of 2002. Probably should have won BOG medal that day against Lancefield after giving heaps of run as well as 2 goals off half back. Either you havent been around much over past 6 years or you are just another member of the opposition who doesnt do their homework or rate Woodend players. They seem to fly under the radar whenever discussion comes up re best players in comp etc and so often dont get the respect from opposition clubs/coaches they deserve & thus sneak under the guard and win finals/grand finals.

na ,Turk was clearly b.o.g that day lol. the medal is still hanging over the dunny
Disco had a top match but i would have gone with Archer at fullback