RDFL Thread 2008

Jimmy McArthur, think he is about 20yrs old mate. Has a brother that plays in the VFL (Williamstown or Sandringham I think). To quote one of the spectators at the match on Saturday "is one of the best forwards in the competition". So a great pickup for the Cats. Make sure you read this Saturday's RDFL record regarding Macedon.

Did nt know he was that young . On the grape vine ...... Could what the cats are looking for, to push into a top 3 possi. Nothing less then a GF spot this year . around the traps.:thumbsu:

Yeh right :confused: from wooden spoon to "Nothing less then a GF spot this year".

Interesting soon as another player above average comes into the league it's about $$$$$$.

As a punter, I know that form can be handy, but often it doesn't stand up. It's best to back your instincts. Like I said, if it had of been a dry track, I think the game would have been closer. The Blues lack the strong bodies (or the ones with the strong bodies refuse to use them) and therefore I thought the Hawks would win by more in the wet.

Ridiculous, uneducated comment Matt. Woodend have not excelled in these conditions for about 10 years now. They are a far better team on a quick dry track as evidenced in last years finals. Although they have a good record at home it is because they are purely a better team & pride themselves on winning at home. The blues certainly looked to have the bigger bodies to me but your right when you say they didnt want to use them. Too unaccountable across the board, no 1 offender their skip and best player. Must learn to run both ways before they challenge.

Yeh right :confused: from wooden spoon to "Nothing less then a GF spot this year".

Interesting soon as a another player above average comes into the league it's about $$$$$$.

Good call. Macedon has been the cellar dwellers of the RDFL for the last few years, it is outrageous for anyone to expect them to make a grand final this season. To make the finals after finishing on the bottom last season would be a great achievement. Mr Goodwin and co at MFC have done a brilliant job thus far, but there is still plenty of work to be done. The new scoreboard, social rooms etc have given the place a new feel and I hear that new change rooms are on the agenda. To all current and past committee members of the last few years, as well as all the volunteers, I take my hats off to all of you. Although the Cats didn't win many games from 04-07, they never got a bad reputation for being arseholes or not enjoying a beer after the match. It's good to see that some of their star U18s from recent seasons have also decided to come back and repay the club for the work they put into them as adolescents. I'm sure if all RDFL clubs could get back some of their star youngsters who left for greener pastures ($$$), they would be much better for it.

Ridiculous, uneducated comment Matt. Woodend have not excelled in these conditions for about 10 years now. They are a far better team on a quick dry track as evidenced in last years finals. Although they have a good record at home it is because they are purely a better team & pride themselves on winning at home. The blues certainly looked to have the bigger bodies to me but your right when you say they didnt want to use them. Too unaccountable across the board, no 1 offender their skip and best player. Must learn to run both ways before they challenge.

Everyone knows that Woodend-Hesket always do well in the muddy conditions. For starters, pretty much all of their players have the appropriate footwear. Yes Kilmore were bloody unaccountable and I was embarrassed to watch them play that way in a "season defining" match, but I stand by my comments that I believe if it were a dry day they would have played better. Also, and it is clear that I am his number one fan on this thread, but of all the players you could get stuck into, you chose the wrong one. If Kilmore didn't have Robertson (and he isn't their captain by the way) I think they would have only recorded one victory this season. I believe he has also been told by the coaching crew to become more of an attacking option this year and drift forward, rather than rack up easy possessions at half-back like he has done so in the past few seasons. Here are some of the players I thought needed to be much better for Kilmore on Saturday: Straney, Finnigan, Hede, Colliver and Kemp. As for uneducated comments, I never said Woodend-Hesket played better in the mud than on the dry conditions, I was saying that the Blues are useless when it is wet. They lack leadership and desire when the contested ball is there to be won.

Good call. Macedon has been the cellar dwellers of the RDFL for the last few years, it is outrageous for anyone to expect them to make a grand final this season. To make the finals after finishing on the bottom last season would be a great achievement. Mr Goodwin and co at MFC have done a brilliant job thus far, but there is still plenty of work to be done. The new scoreboard, social rooms etc have given the place a new feel and I hear that new change rooms are on the agenda. To all current and past committee members of the last few years, as well as all the volunteers, I take my hats off to all of you. Although the Cats didn't win many games from 04-07, they never got a bad reputation for being arseholes or not enjoying a beer after the match. It's good to see that some of their star U18s from recent seasons have also decided to come back and repay the club for the work they put into them as adolescents. I'm sure if all RDFL clubs could get back some of their star youngsters who left for greener pastures ($$$), they would be much
better for it.

OK ,,,, the cats pushed diggers to 5 pts ... beat red backs by 60 pts... diggers and red backs 3-4 ladder possi.....

Think with this new guy they can push into top 3-4 .....

It crap's me ..when club's fold ... I knew heaps of guy's that went to the cats for $$$$$$$$$ they only got to 3rd ... then they folded .

Kidding yourself if you think they cant push to the top 3-4 ..... take my hat off to the cats if they can come from the bottom to this possi in couple of years ..

So why cant Rockbank do this then ?

OK ,,,, the cats pushed diggers to 5 pts ... beat red backs by 60 pts... diggers and red backs 3-4 ladder possi.....

It crap's me ..when club's fold ... I knew heaps of guy's that went to the cats for $$$$$$$$$ they only got to 3rd ... then they folded .

Kidding yourself if you think they cant push to the top 3-4 ..... take my hat off to the cats if they can come from the bottom to this possi in couple of years ..

Not wanting to sound smart the quality of the Cats 18's & 16's 02-07 was far away better than Rockbanks, the hard part is keeping them.
Something Riddell has done.

Nicholls i already told you what i thought of you sat night and after reading your comments today they havent changed.
your prob right that some players didnt have the desire, but singling out players again is your typical rubbish, 2 of the players you singled out havent played in 6 weeks and im going to stick up for kempy because i thought he was more than serviceable. you were standing on the side lines all day hanging shit on me which i can accept but its really easy from the sidelines.
woodend are a bloody good side, they have an even spread of good players across all lines of the ground again and i wouldnt be suprised if they did manage to knock riddell off again.
your wearing pretty thin with your big mouth buddy so dont come smiling around me anymore

I
Tip for all players: buy a pair of long-stop footy boots. The drought may not have broken but Kilmore were made to look like a pack of geese by wearing prima-donnaish moulded boots. The Hawks all had the right boots and were able to keep their feet in the contests.

nicholls - what sort of boots are these??? i want to make sure i dont buy the same - i think i might stick with the $30 dunlops from Kmart like your good self :D

was looking at screw ins last year and the stops were only about 5mm longer than those of the screw in stops - in mud thats 3 inches deep does it really make a hell of a difference??

i can probably guess correctly that it wasnt the boots that were the factor - it was the personnel and the fact that woodend are on that stuff 5 times a fortnight - kilmore 2 times a year at most

In your infinite wisdom oeb, could you please let us all in on how much Riddells budget is and where you get your FACTS, this would be of great interest to me and I'm sure other clubs too, as over the past couple of months everyone has had an opinion about it and like I have stated in an earlier post, maybe it is who they pay and not how much!!!! If you can't back it up with some cold hard facts PULL YOUR HEAD IN and stop whingeing.

Didnt think I was whingeing,I dont need to be told by you to pull my head in,I couldnt give a rats arse who or how much Riddell pay players

last time we were there, i spoke to a few volunteers and to me they seem to have a very good backing from local people who are willing to put hands in pockets. not just a couple but a good number. if they can do this for the next couple of years then the cats will be flying!

A mate at work went along to the Lancefield/Wallan clash as my mob had a bye, said the umpiring was the worst he'd seen this season. He did say Lancefield still woulda won the game regardless but it (umpiring) took a fair bit away from the spectacle for those that paid to get in.

Mate reckons the ump in question loves being the centre of attention and once any team (or it's bench) start questioning decisions, 9 time out of 10 you'll suffer for the day.

Think they are bigger than the game the Semmens twins.

In your infinite wisdom oeb, could you please let us all in on how much Riddells budget is and where you get your FACTS, this would be of great interest to me and I'm sure other clubs too, as over the past couple of months everyone has had an opinion about it and like I have stated in an earlier post, maybe it is who they pay and not how much!!!! If you can't back it up with some cold hard facts PULL YOUR HEAD IN and stop whingeing.

Maybe you can tell us,you must be in charge of RFC budget.

i am good mates with a cousin of a former Riddell player now at Romsey who was on some good coin - was just a middle teir player so god only knows what the top teir are one

am more than sure a lot are just there for sucess - but surely a lot of the younger guys who could command big $$$ else where are on a nice wicket to be kept at Riddell - its not rocket science when a whore house has a sign on the scoreboard and there is a light tower that doubles as a mobile phone tower!!!

nicholls - what sort of boots are these??? i want to make sure i dont buy the same - i think i might stick with the $30 dunlops from Kmart like your good self :D

was looking at screw ins last year and the stops were only about 5mm longer than those of the screw in stops - in mud thats 3 inches deep does it really make a hell of a difference??

i can probably guess correctly that it wasnt the boots that were the factor - it was the personnel and the fact that woodend are on that stuff 5 times a fortnight - kilmore 2 times a year at most

Gee, for some of us poor Unfortunates thats all we have to look forward too !

Omni - I think you said after the Riddell / Macedon game early in the year that both Macedon sides would make the finals. You might be right, I just checked and all 3 of their sides are in their respective 6s. Still early but they are a different club from the wooden spooners of last year.

Yes jc, yes they are. Discounting Riddells first game of the year against a depleated Woodend lineup, Macedon have really been the only club to have a red hot crack against the Bombers. And since then I believe they have picked up a couple of very handy recruits. Should make for a very interesting round 11 clash when the boys in the blue & white hoops host the Hawkers at the Tony Clarke.
Or better still round 13 when they host the Bombers.

Perhaps the respective Hierarchy's (point taken) should get together & fixture it on a Sunday/s so more could get along and witness a ripping contest......................... plus make a shitload more $$$$$$ !

Perhaps the respective Hierarchy's (point taken) should get together & fixture it on a Sunday/s so more could get along and witness a ripping contest......................... plus make a shitload more $$$$$$ ![/quote]

Hard enough to get people to commit to Saturdays without getting the volunteers for Sunday footy.

i seen in an earlier thread wallan has been written off for finals, after the weekends performance prob well deserved but are only a game off the pace in the race to the finals. with a side full of new faces and alot of injuries to date, the pies have a two week break after this week and will be a very different side in a month. went up against woodend, riddell, and macedon with alot of injuries, surrended very handy leads against diggers and kilmore. alot of excuses in there but im very confident wallan will turn the corner very soon.

ground condition is pretty good. cant give to much away as ur from sunbury and we have yas this week. it got completely dug up a yr ago so it is still settling down.

Good call. Macedon has been the cellar dwellers of the RDFL for the last few years, it is outrageous for anyone to expect them to make a grand final this season. To make the finals after finishing on the bottom last season would be a great achievement. Mr Goodwin and co at MFC have done a brilliant job thus far, but there is still plenty of work to be done. The new scoreboard, social rooms etc have given the place a new feel and I hear that new change rooms are on the agenda. To all current and past committee members of the last few years, as well as all the volunteers, I take my hats off to all of you. Although the Cats didn't win many games from 04-07, they never got a bad reputation for being arseholes or not enjoying a beer after the match. It's good to see that some of their star U18s from recent seasons have also decided to come back and repay the club for the work they put into them as adolescents. I'm sure if all RDFL clubs could get back some of their star youngsters who left for greener pastures ($$$), they would be much better for it.
Speaking to a local builder who had a lot to do with the new social rooms and was only invited to the opening by text message on the Saturday morning which didn't give give him any time to attend as he had something else on so I hope the Cats aren't relying on him to contribute to the changerooms also, as they may be disappointed. Not happy Jan.

Nicholls i already told you what i thought of you sat night and after reading your comments today they havent changed.
your prob right that some players didnt have the desire, but singling out players again is your typical rubbish, 2 of the players you singled out havent played in 6 weeks and im going to stick up for kempy because i thought he was more than serviceable. you were standing on the side lines all day hanging shit on me which i can accept but its really easy from the sidelines.
your wearing pretty thin with your big mouth buddy so dont come smiling around me anymore

Cool your jets Hede, so you had one bad match. It's my job to report and comment on what I see at matches. You had no trouble with what I had to say about Wallan's players early on, or Romsey's players a fortnight ago. It comes with the territory. Well all know you can play footy, so this week against Macedon do just that and everyone will know about it.

Speaking to a local builder who had a lot to do with the new social rooms and was only invited to the opening by text message on the Saturday morning which didn't give give him any time to attend as he had something else on so I hope the Cats aren't relying on him to contribute to the changerooms also, as they may be disappointed. Not happy Jan.

Find that really interesting as the "official opening" between the footy and cricket clubs has yet to be done (waiting for kitchen to be finished) most work done by cricketers so would be dissapointing for a "dummy spit" from anyone associated with the building of the rooms. Footy club needed the use for them ASAP so they were used as they would of been during cricket season. As a member of both clubs I cant see any problem with how things have gone so far.

Yes jc, yes they are. Discounting Riddells first game of the year against a depleated Woodend lineup, Macedon have really been the only club to have a red hot crack against the Bombers. And since then I believe they have picked up a couple of very handy recruits. Should make for a very interesting round 11 clash when the boys in the blue & white hoops host the Hawkers at the Tony Clarke.
Or better still round 13 when they host the Bombers.

Perhaps the respective Hierarchy's (point taken) should get together & fixture it on a Sunday/s so more could get along and witness a ripping contest......................... plus make a shitload more $$$$$$ !

Credit to the Cats, they have improved a lot but are still at least 8 goals off the hawks.

Can anyone/pickles confirm the rumour true that the east west game has been cancelled. spoke to a few boys who have been selected saying that it is a joke that noone has found out, clubs coaches. this would be a shame as it had potential to provide serious $$$ back to leagues and clubs