RDFL Thread 2008

well that is great news that the game will go ahead. Great for clubs, the league players and spectators. Do and will clubs receive any money from the league for this. I know in some other leagues, they share 50% between all the clubs for having an interleague game. This is a great idea and should be considered by those at the RDFL. Anyway, what will be the official teams or squads. Will provide great discussion?

Dont think the actual teams will be announced until the week of the game due to availability, injury etc..

The squads have been named though, the west squad is

BEVAN GREEN, DIGGERS REST
COL LAURIE, DIGGERS REST
CRAIG THOMPSON, DIGGERS REST
DANIEL MCCABE, DIGGERS REST
JEFF HERITAGE, DIGGERS REST
JEREMY JOSE, DIGGERS REST
JOHN RYAN, DIGGERS REST
LEIGH RUST, DIGGERS REST
RYAN UNDERWOOD, DIGGERS REST
SHAUN SIMS, DIGGERS REST
BRENDAN CHUGG, MELTON CENTRAL
BRIAN WHEELEHAN, MELTON CENTRAL
GLENN NANKERVIS, MELTON CENTRAL
JAKE SAVAGE, MELTON CENTRAL
JOSH ARMSTRONG, MELTON CENTRAL
KANE BULLEN, MELTON CENTRAL
MATTHEW MARTIN, MELTON CENTRAL
AARON BLADE, RIDDELL
DEAN BESANKO, RIDDELL
JAMES CLIMAS, RIDDELL
JAMES PETRAN, RIDDELL
JASON ALLEN, RIDDELL
JUSTIN BELVILLE, RIDDELL
LEE JAMES, RIDDELL
MICHAEL ALLEN, RIDDELL
PETER ROBERTSON, RIDDELL
SAM YOUNG, RIDDELL
BRET HENRY, ROCKBANK
DAVID INNELLA, ROCKBANK
DYLAN NICHOLSON, ROCKBANK
LUKE WALKER, ROCKBANK
MATTHEW KRUL, ROCKBANK
MICHAEL TAYLOR, ROCKBANK
THOMAS MAINEY, ROCKBANK
ADAM WALSH, KANGAROOS
BRENTON SUTHERLAND, KANGAROOS
JAMES HOUSE, KANGAROOS
JAMIE CUFFE, KANGAROOS
ROBERT JOHNSON, KANGAROOS
LEIGH MCINERNEY, KANGAROOS
MARK MCINERNEY, KANGAROOS
MATTHEW WELSH, KANGAROOS
ROBERT ELLIS, KANGAROOS
RONALD DAVIS, KANGAROOS
STEVE JAMES, KANGAROOS

Oneeyedblue- it was a tender for the E/W game not a bidding war as you may think. If Macedon rooms were finsihed it would have been great there with a terrific atmosphere and good ground. Did your club submit antything to the league about the game or is it just a cheap pot shot again ?? Lancefield also has a great ground and atmosphere but i suppose the league wouldnt give them the two biggest games for the year. You sound a bit predigidous towards Riddell though.
Agree Sunba- Riddell,Woodend and now it looks like Macedon have spent wisely on quality players -good luck to them. Some with past kids from the under 18s back at their old club and preofoming well with the mix of old and young now. The competition has greatly improved over the last 5 or so years maybe because of these teams,Clubs are now getting better quality players at their club and the footy just keeps improving.
Agree with you Mongrel its not a bad league at all at the moment and looks good for the future.
I said tender,as i said they put in a tender are you sure you are responding to the right person,if so i suggest you read it again,as for Riddell FC I have nothing against them they are a great club

Dont think the actual teams will be announced until the week of the game due to availability, injury etc..

The squads have been named though, the west squad is

BEVAN GREEN, DIGGERS REST
COL LAURIE, DIGGERS REST
CRAIG THOMPSON, DIGGERS REST
DANIEL MCCABE, DIGGERS REST
JEFF HERITAGE, DIGGERS REST
JEREMY JOSE, DIGGERS REST
JOHN RYAN, DIGGERS REST
LEIGH RUST, DIGGERS REST
RYAN UNDERWOOD, DIGGERS REST
SHAUN SIMS, DIGGERS REST
BRENDAN CHUGG, MELTON CENTRAL
BRIAN WHEELEHAN, MELTON CENTRAL
GLENN NANKERVIS, MELTON CENTRAL
JAKE SAVAGE, MELTON CENTRAL
JOSH ARMSTRONG, MELTON CENTRAL
KANE BULLEN, MELTON CENTRAL
MATTHEW MARTIN, MELTON CENTRAL
AARON BLADE, RIDDELL
DEAN BESANKO, RIDDELL
JAMES CLIMAS, RIDDELL
JAMES PETRAN, RIDDELL
JASON ALLEN, RIDDELL
JUSTIN BELVILLE, RIDDELL
LEE JAMES, RIDDELL
MICHAEL ALLEN, RIDDELL
PETER ROBERTSON, RIDDELL
SAM YOUNG, RIDDELL
BRET HENRY, ROCKBANK
DAVID INNELLA, ROCKBANK
DYLAN NICHOLSON, ROCKBANK
LUKE WALKER, ROCKBANK
MATTHEW KRUL, ROCKBANK
MICHAEL TAYLOR, ROCKBANK
THOMAS MAINEY, ROCKBANK
ADAM WALSH, KANGAROOS
BRENTON SUTHERLAND, KANGAROOS
JAMES HOUSE, KANGAROOS
JAMIE CUFFE, KANGAROOS
ROBERT JOHNSON, KANGAROOS
LEIGH MCINERNEY, KANGAROOS
MARK MCINERNEY, KANGAROOS
MATTHEW WELSH, KANGAROOS
ROBERT ELLIS, KANGAROOS
RONALD DAVIS, KANGAROOS
STEVE JAMES, KANGAROOS

more kangaroos players than riddell and diggers............interesting :confused:

Division 1)

Sunbury lions
Gisbourne
Melton bloods
Melton South
Darley
Kyneton
Crazyburn
Keilor ======= big if's
Kelior Park==== big if's
Taylor's lake=== big if's

Longest trip Keilor too Kyneton about 60 min's up the calder.

Article in today's Bendigo Addy

Tigers president says club is committed to BFL

Bendigo Advertiser
20/06/2008

KYNETON president Jeff Thaw says he is bemused by speculation that the Tigers have held recent discussions about a possible move to the Riddell District Football League next year.

Thaw said yesterday Kyneton was committed to the BFL and denied a radio report last Saturday morning that club officials had held a recent meeting with the RDFL.

‘‘It must have been a fairly secret meeting - I wasn’t there, our secretary is in Cairns, so he wasn’t there, our treasurer doesn’t know about it,’’ Thaw said.

‘‘That (going to the RDFL) would be the easy way out, but I think there are plenty of people around who wouldn’t want to see that happen.

‘‘There’s no doubt it is tough for us, but we figure Bendigo is the best league to be in.

‘‘If we want our footballers to play the best standard of football they can, Bendigo is where we should be.

‘‘We have been quite bemused by all the speculation about the club, but no-one, apart from yourself, has come and asked us about it.’’ RDFL general manager Scott McCartney also denied that talks had taken place recently about the prospect of Kyneton crossing over from the BFL.

‘‘We haven’t heard anything from Kyneton at all,’’ McCartney said.

‘‘Clubs may contact us and then there is a process whereby I contact the league where they are from and let them know we have been contacted.

‘‘But we certainly haven’t met with Kyneton.’’ The Tigers, who won the last of their six premierships in 1997, have struggled in the BFL since 2000.

Since 2000, Kyneton has won just 29 of its 142 senior games, and has only played in one final during that time _ a 19-point loss to Sandhurst in the 2003 elimination final.

The Tigers, who are winless this season, look headed for what would be their third wooden spoon since 2001.

Asked about how the club was positioned off-field, Thaw answered: ‘‘I think we’re no different to any other club.

‘‘It’s big business trying to run a club in the BFL and we probably have too few, who have to do too much.

‘‘We have had the same people on the committee for a long time and it has been hard to get new blood.

‘‘It’s just been a case of too few numbers.

’‘We played South Bendigo last week and the former president of South Bendigo was talking about them being in strife.

‘‘Now if South Bendigo, which is having all that success, is in strife, it makes it hard for the clubs that aren’t having success.’’ Thaw said the location of Kyneton made it hard for the club to retain its young players.

‘‘We are sort of stuck in the middle _ Maryborough and Castlemaine probably retain their kids a bit better because it’s too far to go to Bendigo or Melbourne.

‘‘We lose a few to Melbourne, whereas you could still move to Melbourne and play for Gisborne.’‘ So it does make it hard, but we have some good junior players coming through and hopefully, we can have some success with them.’’ Last year, Kyneton’s under-16sfr1/2 side made the Bendigo Junior Football League grand final, while the under-15A side was beaten in the preliminary final.

This year, the Tigers under-16sfr1/2 side sits sixth after 10 rounds, while the under-15A side is third, just two points from top.

The club’s under-18 side is also on the improve. After winning just two games for the previous two years, the Tigers already have three victories this season.

Any body got tips for this week.
Diggers host Centrals, These 2 have built up a bit of a rivalry, Centrals and improved imensly, while diggers have also added to their list and improved. Diggers 21 points
Rockbank host Lancefeild, reports are Rockbank have improved but have they improved as much as Lancefield. Lancefield 54 points
Kilmore come up against the much talked about Cats. At home it is always a different kilmore outfit and much harder to beat, my tip Cats 8 points
Romsey and Riddell, Romsey seem to have dropped off a little since earlier in the year,While Riddell are having a snowball effect, getting bigger and more momentum with every game they play, romsey to do well if they can get within 70 points my tip Riddell 135 points
Sunbury travel to Wallan with a fresh out fit after 2 weeks off, could that be an advantage or disadvantage. Go Roos!!

Roos desperate for support
by Matt Nicholls

BROADFORD Football Club is desperately banking on its supporters to turn out in numbers for tomorrow’s crunch game against Colbinabbin.
If the Roos can beat the Grasshoppers it will elevate them back into finals contention.
At home, Broadford should be able to restrict their visiting rivals, who are used to playing on the wide spaces of Colbinabbin Reserve.
The Roos have formed a youthful line up this season which has brought a mixed bag of performances from quarter to quarter and match to match. At their best they troubled ladder leaders Elmore for a large part of the game.
While Roos coach Chris Nolan is well aware that Mount Pleasant’s recent poor form has opened the door for his team to snatch a finals berth, he is highlighting the need to take it step by step.
“Finals are still a long way off. First we need to get better in some areas over four quarters each week, but with a little more consistency I feel our best footy could still see us have a big say on how the final five is shaped,” he said.
Nolan said it was important for the Broadford locals to get behind his side this week and in future matches this year, as he feels the club will struggle to stay afloat in the future without their support.
The coach said he was already looking to next season for the club to field both an Under 16s side in the Seymour District Junior Football League, as well as a thirds team in the Heathcote District Football League.
He said the Roos would find it impossible to field an Under 17s team next year, so was pushing for the HDFL to follow the trend of most Victorian football competitions and change to Under 18s.
“If the HDFL had Under 18s this year, we would have been able to field a thirds team,” Nolan said.
"This season we got one player who was too old for thirds (Jason Walsh), along with three boys that decided to stay and play open age that could still be playing thirds.
“We were given an exemption by the HDFL clubs this year to compete in the league without a thirds team, but I doubt they’ll allow us to that again next season. As a club we cannot survive without a thirds team.”
Last year 51 of the 60 players who represented Broadford at senior and reserves level came from the club’s junior program. Nolan said it was a similar number again this season.
In the past few weeks there have been whispers about a possible move to the neighbouring Riddell District Football League, but the Broadford coach said he knew little of the rumours.
"I'm not on the committee and to the best of my knowledge no communications with RDFL general manager Scott McCartney or the league has occurred,” he said.
Nolan pleaded for supporters to turn out in numbers to support his side tomorrow, and also encouraged anyone willing to start a working party towards ensuring Broadford’s future with a thirds team to step forward and get the ball rolling now, rather than wait until the season’s end.

Any body got tips for this week.
Diggers host Centrals, These 2 have built up a bit of a rivalry, Centrals and improved imensly, while diggers have also added to their list and improved. Diggers 21 points
Rockbank host Lancefeild, reports are Rockbank have improved but have they improved as much as Lancefield. Lancefield 54 points
Kilmore come up against the much talked about Cats. At home it is always a different kilmore outfit and much harder to beat, my tip Cats 8 points
Romsey and Riddell, Romsey seem to have dropped off a little since earlier in the year,While Riddell are having a snowball effect, getting bigger and more momentum with every game they play, romsey to do well if they can get within 70 points my tip Riddell 135 points
Sunbury travel to Wallan with a fresh out fit after 2 weeks off, could that be an advantage or disadvantage. Go Roos!!

Can anybody confirm outs this week? Heard Riddell and Macedon might have a few out? Are Roos at full strength?

Like to take this opportunity to Congratulate Riddell Player Jarryd Allen on making his A.FL. Debut tonight for the St Kilda Saints.

Well done Mate & Good luck !

Omnies Tips for Round 10.

Look out Kilmore Macedon are coming, & not only do they know how to WIN, they now know how to CRUSH a side ! Cats by 42 pts.

Sorry Redbacks but its now your turn for the % Whack (as if last week wasn’t bad enough) at the hands of the “Riddell Monster “ ! Bombers by 120 pts.

George 08 & his beloved Melton Club will come back to earth with a thud this week thanks to a Diggers unit keen for a win & on the rebound. Burras by 38 pts.

Hang in there Rockbank, how good will it be when you finally win one ? & it just might be tomorrow against Lancefield……. But……….. I just don’t think so, Tigers by 5 pts.

Now we get to the Match of the Round, Wallan v Sunbury. Both have very good mid fields & more than competent Forward lineups, but with Wallans captain Matt Gibson sidelined & Sunbury fresh & rested after the bye I am tipping the Kangas in a tight one by 9 pts.

Good Luck All.

George 08 & his beloved Melton Club will come back to earth with a thud this week thanks to a Diggers unit keen for a win & on the rebound. Burras by 38 pts.

Im looking forward to this one tomorrow. Blues 12 is right, we have built up a huge rivalry and we always look forward to playing them. Diggers will be a massive test, we know they're one team that will be thereabouts come finals time and we're looking forward to seeing where we're at with our football. It will be an interesting game... Good luck to all. ps: Rockbank to win!!!!!!

Big test for the cats over at kilmore this weekend. this ground is traditionally a graveyard for the cats with its wide wings and tricky winds ,definately no certainty here but a good guage as to how they are travelling .GO CATTERS ps (congrats to P.K on his 200th last week. Im sure Marty Lakey still has nightmares)

Nightmares from Blah Blah Blah or leather poisining, Monster had 50+ touches that day.

Lancefield six wins for the day, first time in a long time the club had gone throught the day undefeated. Seniors by 51 points.

Riddell def' Romsey by 76 pts.
Macedon def' Kilmore by 54 pts.
Sunbury def' Wallan by 13 pts.
& Melton def' Diggers by 4 pts thanks to free kick when runner in square at bounce in dieing stages of game.

Very impressed by the Cats today. If you had to give their players individual ratings, I reckon all but a couple of Macedon players would have been over 5/10. Whereas Kilmore only had one or two over that mark. Wright, Collins, McArthur, Beall, Christiansen all bloody awesome for the Cats. The big rig certainly has arrived. Forgotten his name as I don't have record in front of me, but #35 did a terrific job on Robbo. Although Matty found some of the ball and had about 20-odd disposals, his influence was certainly quelled. Kicked one of the all-time great goals in the last term though. Lot of Kilmore players need to have a long hard look at themselves. No where near good enough. They play Riddell next week and that will be five losses to all the other top sides (Burra, Kangaroos, Cats, Hawks, Centrals). Apart from an injury plagued Romsey outfit, Wallan and Lancefield, they have beaten no one and WILL NOT make the finals. Not the first time Kilmore has started like stars and fallen away mid season. Hate to bag the club because they have some great blokes and a lot of hard working people behind the scenes. But a football review needs to be done by the committee, which will sadly be depleted at the end of the season as Dayson and Karen Carroll are giving it away. Not blaming anyone for their demise, because its impossible to pinpoint Kilmore's problems, but its fair to say they lack depth in their playing list, and lack the intensity required at the top level. But I'm taking away the spotlight from Macedon, who were BLOODY AWESOME today. I certainly think they can match the Hawks. It will attact a HUGE crowd when they meet. Interesting result at Romsey, although Riddell won quite well in the end, perhaps they showed signs of a weakness in the first half when the Redbacks tried to play the "rough" card. The home side apparently couldn't maintain that level for the game's entirity, but if Woodend-Hesket or Macedon can try those tactics when they meet next, it may just pay dividends. Also congrats to Melton Central, who defied the odds to win a game many thought they couldn't win. Also, can't believe Matt Gibson got two weeks, that is disgraceful. Shouldn't have even been reported! Bloody Semmo. Speaking of umpires, think it was pretty poor that two "Macedon" umpires were officiating at Kilmore today. Made no difference whatsover to the result, but its not fair on the umpires to expect them to officiate unbiasedly against their mates. Even though they are both very good umpires. I think I've said enough for today. Good night gents, I'll be back on Monday :)

Riddell def' Romsey by 76 pts.
Macedon def' Kilmore by 54 pts.
Sunbury def' Wallan by 13 pts.
& Melton def' Diggers by 4 pts thanks to free kick when runner in square at bounce in dieing stages of game.
Thats a bit Harsh omni,the game was not lost from 1 infringement .Centrals kicked 6 goals without Diggers scoring from the end of the 2nd qtr till 3/4 time.Last quarter the lead changed 3 times.

Yes my beloved Centrals got up omni!! don't doubt the navy blue army! what a game! what a win! but i agree with digger52, game was not decided by the infringement, we nearly threw the game away in the last after being 4 goals up! diggers kicking with the wind in the last, rain came down and it became a bruising encounter. all supporters would have been rapt with both sides effort!

Very impressed by the Cats today. If you had to give their players individual ratings, I reckon all but a couple of Macedon players would have been over 5/10. Whereas Kilmore only had one or two over that mark. Wright, Collins, McArthur, Beall, Christiansen all bloody awesome for the Cats. The big rig certainly has arrived. Forgotten his name as I don't have record in front of me, but #35 did a terrific job on Robbo. Although Matty found some of the ball and had about 20-odd disposals, his influence was certainly quelled. Kicked one of the all-time great goals in the last term though. Lot of Kilmore players need to have a long hard look at themselves. No where near good enough. They play Riddell next week and that will be five losses to all the other top sides (Burra, Kangaroos, Cats, Hawks, Centrals). Apart from an injury plagued Romsey outfit, Wallan and Lancefield, they have beaten no one and WILL NOT make the finals. Not the first time Kilmore has started like stars and fallen away mid season. Hate to bag the club because they have some great blokes and a lot of hard working people behind the scenes. But a football review needs to be done by the committee, which will sadly be depleted at the end of the season as Dayson and Karen Carroll are giving it away. Not blaming anyone for their demise, because its impossible to pinpoint Kilmore's problems, but its fair to say they lack depth in their playing list, and lack the intensity required at the top level. But I'm taking away the spotlight from Macedon, who were BLOODY AWESOME today. I certainly think they can match the Hawks. It will attact a HUGE crowd when they meet. Interesting result at Romsey, although Riddell won quite well in the end, perhaps they showed signs of a weakness in the first half when the Redbacks tried to play the "rough" card. The home side apparently couldn't maintain that level for the game's entirity, but if Woodend-Hesket or Macedon can try those tactics when they meet next, it may just pay dividends. Also congrats to Melton Central, who defied the odds to win a game many thought they couldn't win. Also, can't believe Matt Gibson got two weeks, that is disgraceful. Shouldn't have even been reported! Bloody Semmo. Speaking of umpires, think it was pretty poor that two "Macedon" umpires were officiating at Kilmore today. Made no difference whatsover to the result, but its not fair on the umpires to expect them to officiate unbiasedly against their mates. Even though they are both very good umpires. I think I've said enough for today. Good night gents, I'll be back on Monday :)

Romsey,Riddell was a cracker of a game up until about the 15 min mark second Quarter enter simmo 3 goals to Riddell in 1 minute gave Riddell 3 goal lead at half time .This umpire destroys a game that quick i thought spectators were going to jump the fence,the guy obviously has issues and should give it away.His younger counterpart today had to take a goal back of Riddell after Simmo had his meltdown,I wouldnt be surprised if the young bloke gave it away after having to cop abuse because of Simmos incompetence.Take nothing away from Riddell,but before Simmo had a meltdown neither side could get the break. I think sides need to video the match if they have this fool umpiring send it in to the footy show ,fare chance you could win the major prize. After watching Macedon last week and Riddell today,i think the cats and Riddell may play off on the big day, both move the ball very quick with good forwards,interesting to Lee James yellow carded second quarter,frustration Warren Kairns scored the points in that battle

With some huge reports today has "pickle bet" on the Bowen been suspended.

I hope the power's of the league have a look at the scores at JJ Clancy reserve today, 1 V 2 in the 18's 6th V 7th in the magoos and 4th V 6th in 1's for a total score of 21 - 64.

Haven't seen Kilmore for a few weeks but you're right Matt they have slipped. Macedon played well and are one of the great improvers. Can't agree with the bagging you gave the Kilmore players here, why don't you tell the guys to their face. Matt you forget it was only a year ago you put in for a clearance to Kilmore and then decided to withdraw it because in your words "I don't think I would get a game even in the 2s".

Also no mention of the report on your pin up boy - softest one I've ever seen, should get off if it goes to the tribunal.

Yes my beloved Centrals got up omni!! don't doubt the navy blue army! what a game! what a win! but i agree with digger52, game was not decided by the infringement, we nearly threw the game away in the last after being 4 goals up! diggers kicking with the wind in the last, rain came down and it became a bruising encounter. all supporters would have been rapt with both sides effort!

Well done George & the Centrals boys, sounds like you had a ripper against all the odds......... kept yourselves in the race for a finals birth.

Can you keep up the " Melton Momentum " champ ?

Well done George & the Centrals boys, sounds like you had a ripper against all the odds......... kept yourselves in the race for a finals birth.

Can you keep up the " Melton Momentum " champ ?
great game this one but centrals very lucky to get away with this one after diggers had 14 scoring shots in the last and moving in for the kill when siren went to end the match.umps today pretty consistent and done a good job