RDFL Thread 2008

Temper Temper Matt .Do your job without bullshiting BE CAREFUL or this so called old man will come knocking

come on oneeyeblue.this thread is 4 discussion.dont worry it has made my blood boil numerous times,however we cant change sum of the bullshit these guys carry on about,so just accept it with a grain of salt:thumbsu:

Jesus Christ lads, just spent two pages reading thru a bit of schoolyard he said she said - one of the more respected threads that I enjoy reading has taken a turn for the worse this arvo:confused:. Apart from Riddell she looks pretty even, so any chance u can get the talk back to who's gunnna beat who in the race for finals spots, Bowen tips or even talk of any last minute signings before next Mondays deadline as it's usually a good read on here :thumbsu:.

Spot on Runner:thumbsu:

it's amazing how you blokes can sit here and pass judgement on blokes doing a job which you've probably never had a crack at yourself. If you have an issue with something it's not helping sitting on a keyboard bitching about it. If you're not willing to put your hand up and help out with what you perceive to be a "problem", all you're doing is contributing to it.

Some grounds are not the problem it's the wind conditions at these grounds (Diggers, Melton, Wallan, Kilmore, Rockbank) Kangas no netball facilities, Woodend just a sh!t ground for footy, best cricket ground in the district though. Before everyone start bitching a lot of time and money goes into getting clubs into finals I (my opinon only) hate seeing finals won and lost on a toss of a coin.

So where is the netball played at the sunbury kangaroos ground then?

Also i quite like woodends ground, i think its a pretty nice looking set up just under the mountains there. Its one of the nicer looking grounds in the comp i think. They have good facilities and their ground was in the best nick earlier in the season when we played them and usually by the end of the season its pretty good too. The only problem is that it turns to mud in the middle part of the year usually.

it's amazing how you blokes can sit here and pass judgement on blokes doing a job which you've probably never had a crack at yourself. If you have an issue with something it's not helping sitting on a keyboard bitching about it. If you're not willing to put your hand up and help out with what you perceive to be a "problem", all you're doing is contributing to it.

Does that mean I can say what ever I like about the orange maggots? :D

So where is the netball played at the sunbury kangaroos ground then?

Also i quite like woodends ground, i think its a pretty nice looking set up just under the mountains there. Its one of the nicer looking grounds in the comp i think. They have good facilities and their ground was in the best nick earlier in the season when we played them and usually by the end of the season its pretty good too. The only problem is that it turns to mud in the middle part of the year usually.

The Netball is played at one of the local high schools, a netball court is on the plans but we all know how long it can take councils to put plans into practice.

We should stop waiting for councils! It is a bit like our water and Diggers new development. A lot of talk - not much on the doing front.

Sounds like your licenced! You should have done seniors - might have picked up a few new sledging lines - I'm sure you would have attracted a few!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Was too unfit to run in senior matches. I've whacked on the weight since I broke my wrist early last season. Given away playing footy for good now, seeing as I'll need another op, but I may take up the whistle again one day in the U18s or something. The U10s and 12s give a good sledge, don't worry about that!

We should stop waiting for councils! It is a bit like our water and Diggers new development. A lot of talk - not much on the doing front.

True, but i must back ours up a little have you seen our ground lately, the council have spent a fait bit of time and invested a bit of money into our reserve the last couple of years, It could have something to do with the phone tower that was put up, apparently funds from that are all put back into the reserve.

Was too unfit to run in senior matches. I've whacked on the weight since I broke my wrist early last season. Given away playing footy for good now, seeing as I'll need another op, but I may take up the whistle again one day in the U18s or something. The U10s and 12s give a good sledge, don't worry about that!

Matt,

How many games did you end up umpiring? Why did you give it away?

Don't know how many I actually did, as I did a few in a day etc. but I gave it away because of politics within the RDFLUA (now Riddell Umpires). Plus I actually didn't enjoy umpiring.

come on oneeyeblue.this thread is 4 discussion.dont worry it has made my blood boil numerous times,however we cant change sum of the bullshit these guys carry on about,so just accept it with a grain of salt:thumbsu:
youre right Mongrel I have got to ignore the crap these jorno's come up with:thumbsu:

What another good weekend of football. What was the issues with the Romsey/Riddel clash. James must have been kept quiet to only snare three ? Woodend just keep going about their business and the Sunbury boys an excellent hard fougt win. Will be an unbelievable finish for the RDFL this year which is great for all involved. It's very sad but seems that the coming fortnights games east/west will be a joke. Apparently now a few players have been notified and are only meeting Thursday of next week or something along those lines. with the game only two days away this is a joke and i know coaches of clubs, officials and more importantly the players are not to happy with this arrangement. Have the respective coaches of the two sides been in charge of this as both are decorated players in our leagues and would havce thought they would have not been happy as well as have they been watching all teams play as I know from speaking to a couple of coaches they have not sighted Nick and Shane at any of their games which is surprising seen they have to form their squads. Big weekend this week. Macedon v Woodrend has to be match of the round. Both teams are quick and enjoy space and could go either way. Lancefield Diggers will be another great contest as well as Melton at home against Romsey. Riddel and Sunbury will cpontinue on their merry way you would think.

Absolute rubbish, both Shane and Nick have been at games involving all clubs in their respective areas.. They know which players are playing well and which players are not. In both cases, especially with Shane, I know he has been in contact with club coaches about respective players and will be in contact with the players this week. How many training sessions do the best players actually need for this game??? I wouldn't have thought any, a get together a few nights before the game to get to know one another then let them run out and put on a show, that is what we all want to see anyways... :thumbsu:

Don't know how many I actually did, as I did a few in a day etc. but I gave it away because of politics within the RDFLUA (now Riddell Umpires). Plus I actually didn't enjoy umpiring.

How much ploitics can be involed in umpiring a few under 10's matches matt?
Sounds like sooky sooky la la stuff mate.
I've never umpired before but l'm tipping its takes a stonger character than you to be able to do it.
Everyone has a crack at them and you pull the pin after a few under 10 games, l tell you what, it not as easy as it looks and some of the senior games l watch it takes a bit of heart to umpire senior games in the RDFL.

How much ploitics can be involed in umpiring a few under 10's matches matt?
Sounds like sooky sooky la la stuff mate.
I've never umpired before but l'm tipping its takes a stonger character than you to be able to do it.
Everyone has a crack at them and you pull the pin after a few under 10 games, l tell you what, it not as easy as it looks and some of the senior games l watch it takes a bit of heart to umpire senior games in the RDFL.

Mate it had nothing to do with the umpiring, it was to do with my job as a reporter. By commenting on umpires, I was actually breaking the code of conduct of the umpires' association.

Thought this might be an interesting read . . .

Poor fitness costs Pies

by Matt Nicholls

I DON’T know if I should call Wallan’s senior football side the Fremantle Dockers of the Riddell District Football League, but one thing is for sure, the Magpies are very, very ordinary in the last quarter of matches.
Unbelievably, the Pies have won just two final terms this year – in round three against Romsey when they had the game sewn up, and in round eight where they kicked 3.3 to 1.1 against Melton Central, albeit with a handy breeze at their backs.
Even in round one when they beat Rockbank they lost the last quarter.
In round five against Woodend-Hesket they trailed by just 11 points at half time, before getting blown off the map to lose by 71.
A week later they were unable to score in the final term against Macedon.
Last Saturday, Wallan trailed Sunbury Kangaroos by one point at three-quarter-time. It’s fair to say that the Pies’ home crowd knew their side would have to play out of their skins to win the match.
Although they kicked 3.1, which is actually one of their better final quarters this year, they were outgunned by the Roos, who kicked 5.1 to win by 13 points.
While Fremantle’s problems have been addressed as psychological, it is clear in my eyes that Wallan’s players lack the fitness to compete with the stronger sides in the RDFL.
It is a staggering fact that the Magpies have led at half time in seven matches, but gone on to win just two.
If they had of won all of those matches, they would be sitting third on the ladder instead of tenth.
Statistics suggest Wallan’s players are good enough to match most sides in the competition, but simply run out of puff when the game is there to be one at the end.
Coach Mark Pedersen disagreed that his side lacked fitness.
“We’re a side with a lot of new players and we just don’t know how to close out games,” he said.
“Our skills have let us down, too many players turnover the ball and that is what is costing us games at the moment.”
Wallan went into last Saturday’s match without the services of captain Matt Gibson, who is currently serving a two-week suspension for remonstrating with an umpire.
Deputy Blake Whiteway took the leadership reigns and played a brilliant game, with support coming from Shane Crosbie, Blake Henderson and Tim Tomsky.
Dave Cornish led the goalkicking with three majors, while Chris Smith and Tomsky each kicked two.
For the Kangaroos, Leigh McInerney, Paul Newton, Jamie Cuffe and Jason Collins all starred, with goals well shared.
With a number of niggling injuries Pedersen said his side was glad their bye was this weekend, and said he believed his side could still make the finals if they hit their peak form in the run home.
SENIORS
Kangaroos 1.2, 3.5, 6.11, 11.12 (78) d
Wallan 2.4, 4.9, 6.10, 9.11 (65).
Goals (K): P. Newton, J. Collins, J. Cuffe, R. Davis 2; M. Leonard, M. Welsh, L. McInerney.
Best: L. McInerney, Newton, Cuffe, Collins, S. Davis, M. McInerney.
Goals (W): D. Cornish 3; T. Tomsky, C. Smith 2; D. Fowler, K. Marc.
Best: B. Whiteway, S. Crosbie, B. Henderson, Tomsky, D. Henderson, C. Coleman.

In a previous post I mentioned an RDFL umpires surname,and that I believed this umpire was past it.This was an error in judgement from myself and would like to apologise to the umpire in question.I meant no melous in what I said and have nothing against the umpire in question.As I hold a position within the Romsey Football Club and I should not have commented on the umpiring.On behalf of my self and the Romsey Football Club I apologise to the umpire in question