RDFL Thread 2008

Not sure who i would be more worried about getting abuse from, players and supporters or Parents i have seen some junior parents :eek:
if you have seen this then you will understand why it is so hard to attract and retain junior umpires and like any football club if you cant retain your juniors you soon find yourself in the s..t without a paddle....

What another good weekend of football. What was the issues with the Romsey/Riddel clash. James must have been kept quiet to only snare three ? Woodend just keep going about their business and the Sunbury boys an excellent hard fougt win. Will be an unbelievable finish for the RDFL this year which is great for all involved. It's very sad but seems that the coming fortnights games east/west will be a joke. Apparently now a few players have been notified and are only meeting Thursday of next week or something along those lines. with the game only two days away this is a joke and i know coaches of clubs, officials and more importantly the players are not to happy with this arrangement. Have the respective coaches of the two sides been in charge of this as both are decorated players in our leagues and would havce thought they would have not been happy as well as have they been watching all teams play as I know from speaking to a couple of coaches they have not sighted Nick and Shane at any of their games which is surprising seen they have to form their squads. Big weekend this week. Macedon v Woodrend has to be match of the round. Both teams are quick and enjoy space and could go either way. Lancefield Diggers will be another great contest as well as Melton at home against Romsey. Riddel and Sunbury will cpontinue on their merry way you would think.

Absolute rubbish, both Shane and Nick have been at games involving all clubs in their respective areas.. They know which players are playing well and which players are not. In both cases, especially with Shane, I know he has been in contact with club coaches about respective players and will be in contact with the players this week. How many training sessions do the best players actually need for this game??? I wouldn't have thought any, a get together a few nights before the game to get to know one another then let them run out and put on a show, that is what we all want to see anyways... :thumbsu:

shane definetly at diggers on weekend

I have seen Shane Geddes at 2 Riddell games at least in the last few weeks. :thumbsu:

Omni - I think you said after the Riddell / Macedon game early in the year that both Macedon sides would make the finals. You might be right, I just checked and all 3 of their sides are in their respective 6s. Still early but they are a different club from the wooden spooners of last year.

Sorry pal its only taken me a week but I now get it, very humorous ! :thumbsu::D

was just looking in the clearances section of the edfl website and noticed that daniel mitchell is returning to hadfield. does anybody have any reasons for this? how was he playing at romsey?

In a previous post I mentioned an RDFL umpires surname,and that I believed this umpire was past it.This was an error in judgement from myself and would like to apologise to the umpire in question.I meant no melous in what I said and have nothing against the umpire in question.As I hold a position within the Romsey Football Club and I should not have commented on the umpiring.On behalf of my self and the Romsey Football Club I apologise to the umpire in question
Don't be sorry he is a twit and the RDFL know that. Anyone who has seen this guy umpire knows that. I watched a game he was involved in a few weeks back and even the 9-10 year old kids in the car next to me could see the mistakes this guy makes. I don't think it was an error in judgement . Most clubs if not all would agree he isn't any good.

How does a player get reported in a match, get offered two weeks after the game, then have the case dismissed after a 15 minute hearing? I know he is my "love child" but seriously, it was a hip and shoulder FFS.

A registered RDFL player should know better than to question the integrity of the umpires and the RDFL tribunal

This registered player lives in a democracy where freedom of speech is allowed, so I shall and will continue to comment on matters where I see fit.

EDIT: By the way, both the tribunal and the umpires' association are independent from the Riddell District Football League.

This registered player lives in a democracy where freedom of speech is allowed, so I shall and will continue to comment on matters where I see fit.

EDIT: By the way, both the tribunal and the umpires' association are independent from the Riddell District Football League.

Rule 32(m) No member club,club official,or Registered player,Trainer or umpire shall,through any form of the media criticise the League,any official of the League,the independent Tribunal,any other member club or the Leagues rules and regulations.In default,any such member is given an opportunity to be heard by the League Executive,can be fined up to $1000:eek:

Yes I was at this game and though a little late was def not reportable. One thing I do have to ask Matt is were you taking stats for Robbo because in your last report of 20 or so..........well. He would have been lucky to have 10 and those besides his one goal (which was a good goal) had no impact on the game at all and 75% would have been in the back half.
Macedon are the real deal and will be a great game this Saturday, they have no real superstars but just play well together as a team, and as the saying goes " A team of champions will never beat a champion team".
They also have some big solid guys that are hard at it, there were a couple in the back line that just did what they wanted all day, and Kilmore failed to man up or show any respect, and in the end cost them as they just replelled the ball to the open spaces where they had numbers.

Rule 32(m) No member club,club official,or Registered player,Trainer or umpire shall,through any form of the media criticise the League,any official of the League,the independent Tribunal,any other member club or the Leagues rules and regulations.In default,any such member is given an opportunity to be heard by the League Executive,can be fined up to $1000:eek:

Sounds like you might have copped the rough end of that ruling. Looks like the league could make some big cash from a lot of people on this forum too. Luckily earlier today I was not criticising the umpire or the tribunal, just questioning :D

Yes I was at this game and though a little late was def not reportable. One thing I do have to ask Matt is were you taking stats for Robbo because in your last report of 20 or so..........well. He would have been lucky to have 10 and those besides his one goal (which was a good goal) had no impact on the game at all and 75% would have been in the back half.
Macedon are the real deal and will be a great game this Saturday, they have no real superstars but just play well together as a team, and as the saying goes " A team of champions will never beat a champion team".
They also have some big solid guys that are hard at it, there were a couple in the back line that just did what they wanted all day, and Kilmore failed to man up or show any respect, and in the end cost them as they just replelled the ball to the open spaces where they had numbers.

His heart may not have been in it . . .

EXCLUSIVE
Robertson to leave Blues

by Matt Nicholls

KILMORE Football Club is in dire straights after their best player and club champion Matt Robertson lodged a clearance to join Tocumwal on Tuesday.
The Blues have lost their past two matches and have drifted from fourth to eight position on the ladder.
With Robertson destined to leave, it leaves Kilmore with a massive hole to fill. Although football is a team sport, it is of my opinion that the Blues would have won just one match this season if they didn’t have Robertson.
Having been assigned as a goalkicking midfielder rather than a defensive one, the Kilmore star is enjoying perhaps his best season at J.J. Clancy Reserve.
Last year he finished third in the league best and fairest – the Bowen Medal – and all indicators are that he would be well in contention again this season.
Robertson’s departure is rock bottom for the Blues. It is unlikely that they will make the finals now, despite a strong start to the season.
Luckily they have a great committee and things off the field are in a stable position. But with president Dayson Carroll and his wife and club treasurer Karen set to step down at the end of this year, it may take a long time for Kilmore to get back on its feet.
This year’s newly appointed coach Campbell Speers has done the right thing this year by promoting the club in the media and trying to attract high quality players, but the reality is that he hasn’t been able to add any real quality to the Blues’ side.
Had Speers been able to recruit the likes of Mo Kaakour, Robbie Wittmer and Ken Ingram at the start of the season as he expected, and retained Dave Cornish and now Robertson, it would have been a different picture for the Blues.
But now they dwell at the bottom end of the ladder, and it appears Kilmore has some serious rebuilding to do.
No matter what Robertson’s reasons are for leaving, his departure will no doubt cause some angst around the club.
Despite being a triple best and fairest player, and arguably one of Kilmore’s greatest ever players, his name unfortunately is not highly regarded with some of the old-time Blues.
Robertson will leave a gaping hole in Kilmore’s line-up and the only positive to draw is that it will give the opportunity for someone to step up and make a name for themselves.
It will take a special player to fill his boots.

SO what actually happened and what was the report for?

Robbo report dismissed

KILMORE’S Matt Robertson was cleared of any wrongdoing at the Riddell District Football League Tribunal on Tuesday night.
The star midfielder was reported for charging in last Saturday’s match against Macedon, after collecting a Cats player with a late hip-and-shoulder.
After being offered a two-week early plea by the field umpire after the match, Robertson and Kilmore decided to contest at the tribunal.
After a 15-minute hearing, Robertson was cleared of any wrongdoing.

I heard there were a few reports or something at riddell romsey? any word from tribunal? and was the other report robertson? what happeend there?

Ive seen a few of you guy have a go at tips for the weeknd so ill give it a go early.
Sunbury vs rockbank, rockbank are a chance if the kangas take it easy. theyre going to win one sooner or later i think. theyre competitive but ill go sunbury by 24
lancefield vs diggers, lancefield a big chance at home, i reckon if centrals can beat diggers then lancefield can too. how are the injurys for these two teams? ill go lanny by 6
macedon vs woodend/hesket, should be a ripper. macedon beat kilmore over there which is a fair effort but woodend are clear second at the moment and will have class edge by 48
centrals vs romsey. romsey went alright for a half against riddell so if the play like that they can get back on the winners list. but i think centrals are startiong to fire, centrals by 24
riddell v kilmore, good luck kilmore riddell far too good riddell by 90

Robbo report dismissed

KILMORE’S Matt Robertson was cleared of any wrongdoing at the Riddell District Football League Tribunal on Tuesday night.
The star midfielder was reported for charging in last Saturday’s match against Macedon, after collecting a Cats player with a late hip-and-shoulder.
After being offered a two-week early plea by the field umpire after the match, Robertson and Kilmore decided to contest at the tribunal.
After a 15-minute hearing, Robertson was cleared of any wrongdoing.

So was it late, in your opinion? You can only assume the umpire did. Without seeing it, did the player still have the ball? Did the offending player have time to not continue with his action. I suppose the best indicator is, did the opposition players remonstrate?

this is very true, im lead to believe that the adjudicator may have had his mind on other things as he was apparently reciprocating to some recidivous friendly banter from beyond the white line moments before the report.
now to other matters, have we ever seen a better bunch of inimitable youngsters come through the ranks at any stage during the last 10-15 yrs ?
one must pay homage to all at rdfl headquaters and to all clubs for investing strongly in local home grown talent.
with the development squads i think you will start to see a lot more of the talented junoirs sticking fat to their local club and wanting to be a part of making this league a very strong one at that.
no doubt the league took 3 steps back when sunbury, gisborne, melton ,melton sth and darley left, but now have a look at what has transpired. young kids wanting to stay local and play with their mates rather having to travel over an hr each week to play.
it would be incredulous to assume that the league will stay with its current format.
i personally believe that within 5yrs you will see the rdfl once again become a two division league and that will only benefit everyone involved. yes of course there will be the powerhouse clubs with access to plenty of cash and resources but at the end of the day will that cash buy you a team of loyal teamates who play for their mates and the jumper they have grown up in ??? not a chance.look at riddell they have some of the best young talent in the league and all of those guys have stuck together since they were in primary school, every club has their talented kids and they should be the ones that clubs invest heavily in rather than any big name players who play for the coin and leave once they get there dollars.
wallan have returned after seeking bigger and better things from another league a move that may have sat un easy with some but guys the dog always comes home to the kennel !!
do you think jacana (not saying people would want them back) would be enjoying the drudgery in the edfl ?no , kyneton do they enjoy being annihilated week in week out ? no and do sunbury, bacchus marsh, melton, darley and melton sth all enjoy going to ballarat every second week ?? you would be crazy to think they would. you could add a few more teams close by in as well and it would work well and the league would be rite up there again with the very best of them . plenty of food for thought there !
anyway enough banter (yes i had a day off today and was bored!)
footy, match of the round hands down macedon vs woodend the cats have a bunch of young kids who are really starting to gel well as a team and have plenty of run about them and will take it right up to the woodend boys but in big matches experience counts and thats were woodend holds the key woodend fo me but wouldnt be suprised one bit if the cats got up.
sunbury vs rockbank
you would think sunbury would run away comfortably with this one , but expect some stubborn resistance from the rockbank boys sunbury and if they take them lightly it may just end up a little closer than people may think
riddell vs kilmore
how many goals is it physically possible to kick in a quarter ? plenty and kilmore are about to find out.kilmore havnt fired a shot this yr after the talk up they gave themselves pre season expect the kilmore full back to miss nxt week with a stiff neck from watching the ball sail over his head over 40 times !!! young,petran,climas,robertson and james have way to much class for any one from kilmore to be able to contain and expect to see them run riot on saturday
lancefield vs diggers
lancefield will beat diggers at home on saturday if they shut down sims or limit his supply into the forward line then its game over as diggers rely heavily on just a few and when there down its game over . little sneak forward pocket dowling has been in good form as has coach collins and the kids they have been blooding this yr are starting to gain valuable experince lancefield in a close one.
melton central vs romsey
centrals at home here will be too strong for the injury depleted romsey out fit, and should win comfortably.

Sounds like you might have copped the rough end of that ruling. Looks like the league could make some big cash from a lot of people on this forum too. Luckily earlier today I was not criticising the umpire or the tribunal, just questioning :D

A certain journalist (I better not name) ran crying to the RDFL earlier this week about people on this forum bagging umpires,as you say it could cost alot of people on this forum some cash (you included)

My tips for this week are:
Woodend-Hesket by 11 points.
Lancefield by 4 points.
Melton Central by 18 points.
Riddell by 220 points.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 82 points.