Sunbury Kangaroos by 82 points.

1st time this year.. Yay for us...

My tips for this week are:
Woodend-Hesket by 11 points.
Lancefield by 4 points.
Melton Central by 18 points.
Riddell by 220 points.
Sunbury Kangaroos by 82 points.

Albeit Lancefield have been playing well and Diggers have struggled, I think Diggers might do pretty well against Lancefield. Lancefield are heavily dependent on their young ruckman and centre - the absolute strength of Diggers. I don't think Lancefield will get anywhere near as much ball as they are used to and will struggle to get a competetive score.

I think th ewoods will have it tough but might get across the line by a few more than you indicated. The rest - agree. Riddell could break a record this week if they don't get too sloppy!

They probably will knock Robbo's back, although that's just a gut feeling. I do know for a fact that he is not contracted.

As for tipping Riddell by that much, yes, the Blues are going pretty bad. As much as it pains me to say this, but it would not surprise if they finished second last this season.

Form this week Matt .....

220 pnts ? They really going that bad ?
can anyone answer me the following
1/highest score in rdfl history
2/highest winning margin
3/highest aggegrate score kicked in one day by u/18s res sen
4/ any chance the bomber powerhouse can achieve these records this year:eek:

can anyone answer me the following
1/highest score in rdfl history
2/highest winning margin
3/highest aggegrate score kicked in one day by u/18s res sen
4/ any chance the bomber powerhouse can achieve these records this year:eek:

Think Gisborne probably have those records sewn up when they played Nth Faulkner.

On Saturday July 18 1987 Kilmore beat Subury Rovers
51.24 - 330 to 0.4 - 4
grant kayll kicked 20 goals for the match!
i reckon that would be the highest winning margin

this is very true, im lead to believe that the adjudicator may have had his mind on other things as he was apparently reciprocating to some recidivous friendly banter from beyond the white line moments before the report.
now to other matters, have we ever seen a better bunch of inimitable youngsters come through the ranks at any stage during the last 10-15 yrs ?
one must pay homage to all at rdfl headquaters and to all clubs for investing strongly in local home grown talent.
with the development squads i think you will start to see a lot more of the talented junoirs sticking fat to their local club and wanting to be a part of making this league a very strong one at that.
no doubt the league took 3 steps back when sunbury, gisborne, melton ,melton sth and darley left, but now have a look at what has transpired. young kids wanting to stay local and play with their mates rather having to travel over an hr each week to play.
it would be incredulous to assume that the league will stay with its current format.
i personally believe that within 5yrs you will see the rdfl once again become a two division league and that will only benefit everyone involved. yes of course there will be the powerhouse clubs with access to plenty of cash and resources but at the end of the day will that cash buy you a team of loyal teamates who play for their mates and the jumper they have grown up in ??? not a chance.look at riddell they have some of the best young talent in the league and all of those guys have stuck together since they were in primary school, every club has their talented kids and they should be the ones that clubs invest heavily in rather than any big name players who play for the coin and leave once they get there dollars.
wallan have returned after seeking bigger and better things from another league a move that may have sat un easy with some but guys the dog always comes home to the kennel !!
do you think jacana (not saying people would want them back) would be enjoying the drudgery in the edfl ?no , kyneton do they enjoy being annihilated week in week out ? no and do sunbury, bacchus marsh, melton, darley and melton sth all enjoy going to ballarat every second week ?? you would be crazy to think they would. you could add a few more teams close by in as well and it would work well and the league would be rite up there again with the very best of them . plenty of food for thought there !
anyway enough banter (yes i had a day off today and was bored!)
footy, match of the round hands down macedon vs woodend the cats have a bunch of young kids who are really starting to gel well as a team and have plenty of run about them and will take it right up to the woodend boys but in big matches experience counts and thats were woodend holds the key woodend fo me but wouldnt be suprised one bit if the cats got up.
sunbury vs rockbank
you would think sunbury would run away comfortably with this one , but expect some stubborn resistance from the rockbank boys sunbury and if they take them lightly it may just end up a little closer than people may think
riddell vs kilmore
how many goals is it physically possible to kick in a quarter ? plenty and kilmore are about to find out.kilmore havnt fired a shot this yr after the talk up they gave themselves pre season expect the kilmore full back to miss nxt week with a stiff neck from watching the ball sail over his head over 40 times !!! young,petran,climas,robertson and james have way to much class for any one from kilmore to be able to contain and expect to see them run riot on saturday
lancefield vs diggers
lancefield will beat diggers at home on saturday if they shut down sims or limit his supply into the forward line then its game over as diggers rely heavily on just a few and when there down its game over . little sneak forward pocket dowling has been in good form as has coach collins and the kids they have been blooding this yr are starting to gain valuable experince lancefield in a close one.
melton central vs romsey
centrals at home here will be too strong for the injury depleted romsey out fit, and should win comfortably.

Ahhhhh finally a fan !
Nice post champ, if you keep this up I will be out of a job. :thumbsu: :eek:

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

2008 PRE-SEASON ODDS - (if I was running a market).

To make the top five
Riddell $1.01
Sunbury Kangaroos $1.05
Woodend-Hesket $1.10
Kilmore $1.25
Diggers Rest $1.75
Romsey $1.95
Wallan $2.40
Lancefield $2.90
Melton Central $3.10
Macedon $4.00
Rockbank $7.00

To win the premiership
Riddell $1.70
Sunbury Kangaroos $3.50
Woodend-Hesket $4.00
Kilmore $4.50
Diggers Rest $8.50
Romsey $11
Wallan $15
Lancefield $25
Melton Central $41
Macedon $51
Rockbank $101

Bowen Medal
Lee James $5
Daniel Bonnici $5
Daniel Sipthorp $7
Matt Robertson $7
Dave Cornish $7
Justin Belleville $10
Shaun Sims $10
Mark McInerney $12
Leigh McInerney $12
Paul Podbury $12
Steve Burlak $15
Robbie Wittmer $15
Brydan Morgan $15
Brian Wheelahan $20
Matt Stacey $20
Chris Collins $20
Matt Gibson $20
Blake Whiteway $25

New odds for market if there was one please Matt.

Agreed halful be great for you Matt to update this on all accounts of betting, Prmiers, wooden spoon, bowen etc. could you have a crack at a twos one as well ?

I hear there is someone out there that takes bets on the RDFL from time to time, so I shall put up a current market for him.

To make the finals
Riddell ~ No betting
Woodend-Hesket ~ No betting
Diggers Rest $1.04
Sunbury Kangaroos $1.20
Macedon $1.30
Melton Central $1.60
Romsey $1.80
Lancefield $2.50
Wallan $2.70
Kilmore $3.20
Rockbank $101

To win the flag
Riddell $1.15
Woodend-Hesket $2.80
Macedon $4
Sunbury Kangaroos $10
Diggers Rest $12
Melton Central $15
Romsey $20
Lancefield $40
Wallan $50
Kilmore $50
Rockbank $1001

Bowen Medal

Sam Young $3.50
Lee James $5
Mick Lacy $7.50
James Wright $10
Brian Wheelahan $10
James Climas $12
Blake Whiteway $12
Leigh McInerney $12
Shaun Sims $15
Simon Choate $15
Jeremy Jose $15
Cam Dawson $20
Justin Belleville $20
Kar Weng Ng $20
Peter Robertson $25
Tom Waters $25
Brendan Chugg $25
Matt Robertson $25 (suspended ATM)

It's a pretty hard market to compile this year, you would expect the Bowen to go to a Riddell player, but you just don't know what the umpires are thinking when they give votes. You would think the Bombers would draw the 3,2,1 in almost every game, but in the past the men in orange have pretty much always given the opposition at least one vote. I think the winner will come from this list of players, with Sammy Young my pick at this stage to take it out.

Axe wielded

KILMORE Football Club has wielded the axe on its underperformed senior team by making eight changes at the selection table on Wednesday night.
Matt Robertson, Travis Hede, Ben Newham, Jon Sutherland and Justin Colliss have all been omitted. Youngsters Andrew Hibbert and Trent Kelly will return to the Under 18s, while Steve Sapiano is unavailable.
Coming into the team are promising Under 18s Neil Swann and Rory Tighe, while Assumption College centreman Simon Collis will make his Kilmore debut.
Bruce Hutchison, Dave Saunders, Dale Keenan, Matt Senyschyn and Nick Benis have all been promoted after good form in the reserves.
TOMORROW’S TEAM
Kilmore’s team for tomorrow’s match against Riddell will be:
B: R. Tighe, G. Barnes, B. Colliver.
HB: T. Salter, J. Thompson, J. King.
C: C. Franks, D. Saunders, B Hutchison.
HF: L. D’Antonio, A. Moedt, N. Benis.
F: D. Kenyon, M. Senyschyn, D. Keenan.
R: T. Harries, A. Goudge, S. Collis.
I: N. Swann, L. Kemp, C. Temperley, J. Saunders.

2008 PRE-SEASON ODDS - (if I was running a market).

To make the top five
Riddell $1.01
Sunbury Kangaroos $1.05
Woodend-Hesket $1.10
Kilmore $1.25
Diggers Rest $1.75
Romsey $1.95
Wallan $2.40
Lancefield $2.90
Melton Central $3.10
Macedon $4.00
Rockbank $7.00

To win the premiership
Riddell $1.70
Sunbury Kangaroos $3.50
Woodend-Hesket $4.00
Kilmore $4.50
Diggers Rest $8.50
Romsey $11
Wallan $15
Lancefield $25
Melton Central $41
Macedon $51
Rockbank $101

Bowen Medal
Lee James $5
Daniel Bonnici $5
Daniel Sipthorp $7
Matt Robertson $7
Dave Cornish $7
Justin Belleville $10
Shaun Sims $10
Mark McInerney $12
Leigh McInerney $12
Paul Podbury $12
Steve Burlak $15
Robbie Wittmer $15
Brydan Morgan $15
Brian Wheelahan $20
Matt Stacey $20
Chris Collins $20
Matt Gibson $20
Blake Whiteway $25

New odds for market if there was one please Matt.

Haven't been able to get to any matches this year Hal, but has Sunbury been more impressive than the Hawks thus far? Or do they have more room for improvement? From what i've heard it has been Riddell then daylight-Woodend/Hesket and a gap and then the rest. Notice you're keeping a lid on the cats odds despite the team being the biggest improver this year. They do tell me that This weeks match against the cats will be a ripper. That being the case i think i might make a special trip down to see it. Need to find some warm clothes first. Dont let me down Hawkers! Might see you there.

Woody, HFF was posting my pre-season odds. Asking me to give some current ones.

Axe wielded

KILMORE Football Club has wielded the axe on its underperformed senior team by making eight changes at the selection table on Wednesday night.
Matt Robertson, Travis Hede, Ben Newham, Jon Sutherland and Justin Colliss have all been omitted. Youngsters Andrew Hibbert and Trent Kelly will return to the Under 18s, while Steve Sapiano is unavailable.
Coming into the team are promising Under 18s Neil Swann and Rory Tighe, while Assumption College centreman Simon Collis will make his Kilmore debut.
Bruce Hutchison, Dave Saunders, Dale Keenan, Matt Senyschyn and Nick Benis have all been promoted after good form in the reserves.
TOMORROW’S TEAM
Keep an eye on young Simon the kid is a jet!

Axe wielded

Coming into the team are promising Under 18s Neil Swann and Rory Tighe, while AssumptionCollege centreman Simon Collis will make his Kilmore debut.
TOMORROW’S TEAM

so kilmore realise the seniors are stuffed for this year. may as well stack the 2s!!

They probably will knock Robbo's back, although that's just a gut feeling. I do know for a fact that he is not contracted.

As for tipping Riddell by that much, yes, the Blues are going pretty bad. As much as it pains me to say this, but it would not surprise if they finished second last this season.
They will knock his clearence back for sure. If it happens to go to an appeal he will get cleared because he is trying to play a higher standard of footy. Am i right?

His heart may not have been in it . . .

EXCLUSIVE
Robertson to leave Blues

by Matt Nicholls

Despite being a triple best and fairest player, and arguably one of Kilmore’s greatest ever players, his name unfortunately is not highly regarded with some of the old-time Blues.

pointless inclusion in this article for me. not needed.