RDFL Thread 2008

Noticed Woodend boys more interested in Gisborne game and drinking piss than any RDFL matches on the weekend. Would think they might want to get another look at the mighty Riddell Bombers before finals time, especially their coach but no from what i saw at tele on saturday arvo he was more interested in betting & drinking than studying. Poor form from woodsy boys, my tip is they will go out in straight sets this year

what are you on about roy, just coz we didnt go and watch the other teams means jack shit you moron, why would we go and watch riddell, we knew that they were going to win, we already know who there guns are, what homework could we possibly do??
i dont think that they are going to change there game plan this week from the one that has worked for them all season-
Robertson taps to lil brother, handball to young bracks atackle, kicks to james, goal

poor form is a crap phrase to use, what dose it matter what we do on the weekend, or who we watch?
Plus it is our week off, last time i checked we werent playing in the AFL, that we could have a drink on the weekend and get on the punt!!

Im sure that this reason will be the whole reason why in your eyes we will fail this year!, coz we didn go and watch riddell, if you had any brains you would know that like the teams in riddell, there are anumber of connections - friends at gisborne, im sure that we dont always get the chance to watch a higher level of footy on the weekends due to playing so getting to a game in gisborne isnt such a bad idea.

Im pretty sure you have got no idea on what the hell you are on about, roy!

Great call.

There is only one way to beat Riddell, and its the same method you use against every other side:

GET FIRST HANDS ON THE PILL

If they don't have it, they can't hurt you.

I saw the Bombers first hand on the weekend, and I think they can be beaten, but it means the opposition will have to play at an elite level with the midfielders firing and all players' skill levels at 90+ per cent.

Good on Woodend-Hesket for having a few brews and a punt. Just hope they got on Admirals Lady ($44) in the last at Flemington like a couple of us did at the Red Lion.

Noticed Woodend boys more interested in Gisborne game and drinking piss than any RDFL matches on the weekend. Would think they might want to get another look at the mighty Riddell Bombers before finals time, especially their coach but no from what i saw at tele on saturday arvo he was more interested in betting & drinking than studying. Poor form from woodsy boys, my tip is they will go out in straight sets this year

Woodend had a strong training session at Gilbert Gordon from about 12:00pm to 1:30pm on Saturday. A representative of the playing group and a representative of the coaching panel then attended the Riddell v Lancefield game and reported back to the rest of the group with their observations. The remainder of the group that did not attend the Riddell v Lancefield game stuck together for the day instead of going their own separate ways. They had a couple of beers, a bet and watched some footy together. If the team go out in straight sets I suggest that they look for more fundamental reasons as to why it occurred, rather than any focus on what they did on the weekend.

Great call.

There is only one way to beat Riddell, and its the same method you use against every other side:

GET FIRST HANDS ON THE PILL

If they don't have it, they can't hurt you.

I saw the Bombers first hand on the weekend, and I think they can be beaten, but it means the opposition will have to play at an elite level with the midfielders firing and all players' skill levels at 90+ per cent.

Good on Woodend-Hesket for having a few brews and a punt. Just hope they got on Admirals Lady ($44) in the last at Flemington like a couple of us did at the Red Lion.

The last guy I saw getting his hands on the Pill first got buried by about 4 riddell players - that's an exaggeration but you know what I mean. Easy to say but hard to do!!

was just browsing matty's website centralsport.org and noticed he snuck the love child in the bowen medal market at $25!!!!

ROUND 17

SENIORS
Macedon $1.70 v Wallan $2.10
Melton Central $2.30 v Lancefield $1.55
Riddell $1.04 v Sunbury Kangaroos $8.50
Rockbank $15 v Woodend-Hesket $1.04
Diggers Rest $1.30 v Kilmore $2.60
Any draw: $25

RESERVES
Macedon $3.80 v Wallan $1.15
Melton Central $1.40 v Lancefield $2.50
Riddell $1.25 v Sunbury Kangaroos $2.70
Diggers Rest $1.80 v Kilmore $1.85

UNDER 18
Wallan $15 v Lancefield $1.04
Kilmore $1.70 v Diggers Rest $2.10
Riddell $1.40 v Sunbury Kangaroos $2.50
Macedon $1.04 v Romsey $15

PREMIERSHIP

SENIORS
Riddell $1.10
Woodend-Hesket $4.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $10
Wallan $15
Macedon $15
Diggers Rest $20
Lancefield $25
Melton Central $101

RESERVES
Riddell $1.30
Wallan $3.50
Woodend-Hesket $4.50
Sunbury Kangaroos $7.00
Diggers Rest $10
Melton Central $10

UNDER 18
Macedon $2.50
Kilmore $3.50
Woodend-Hesket $4.00
Riddell $5.00
Diggers Rest $5.50
Lancefield $5.50

BOWEN MEDAL
Sam Young (Riddell) - $2.80
Blake Whiteway (Wallan) - $4.50
Brendan Chugg (M/Central) - $6.00
Lee James (Riddell) - $6.00
Jeremy Jose (Diggers Rest) - $6.00
Peter Robertson (Riddell) - $6.50
Shaun Sims (Diggers Rest) - $6.50
Chris Collins (Lancefield) - $6.50
Mick Lacy (Woodend-Hesket) - $6.50
James Wright (Macedon) - $7.00
Tom Waters (Lancefield) - $7.50
Aaron Blade (Riddell) - $7.50
Ryan Connellan (Romsey) - $7.50
Jamie Cuffe (Kangaroos) - $8.00
Daniel McCabe (Diggers Rest) - $8.00
James Climas (Riddell) - $8.50
Brian Wheelahan (Melton Central) - $8.50
Guy Donovan (Woodend-Hesket) - $8.50
Simon Choate (Lancefield) - $10
Dave Cornish (Wallan) - $10
Cam Dawson (Romsey) - $10
Jae Wilton (Macedon) - $15
Justin Belleville (Riddell) - $15
Luke Walker (Rockbank) - $25
Matt Robertson (Kilmore) - $25
Brennan Beall (Macedon) - $25
Jay Shewan (Lancefield) - $25
Brenton Sutherland (Kangaroos) - $25
Dave Henderson (Wallan) - $30
Damien Niki (Kangaroos) - $30
Rick Dowling (Lancefield) - $30
Jason King (Kilmore) - $50
Dave Innella (Rockbank) - $50
Tristan Salter (Kilmore) - $50
Tom Mainey (Rockbank) - $50

Any unlisted player: $25

Anyone willing to have a crack at what they think might be this years team of the year???

I would be very surprised if it didn't look something like this:

B: Craig Thompson, Warren Kairns, Bevan Green.
HB: Jae Wilton, Jason Allen, Bobby Johnson.
C: Shaun Sims, Chris Collins, James Wright.
HF: Brendan Chugg, Mick Lacy, Cole Laurie.
F: Mick Allen, Lee James, Rick Dowling.
R: Jeremy Jose, Blake Whiteway, Sam Young.
I: Tom Waters, Guy Donovan, Peter Robertson, Aaron Blade.

Geez ya self imposed ban didnt last long Pickles :p

B - K.Weng Ng (WH), W.Else (WH), R.Johnson (SK)
HB - J.Allen (Rid), J.Wilton (Mac), J.Wright (Mac)
C - M.Welsh (SK), S.Young (Rid), P.Robertson (Rid)
HF - B.Chugg (MC), M.Lacy (WH), S.Sims (DR)
F - R.Dowling (LF), L.James (Rid), D.Cornish (W)
R - J.Jose (DR), J.Climas (Rid), C.Collins (LF)
I - B.Whiteway (W), S.Choate (LF), L.McInerney (SK), M.Allen (Rid), B.Wheelahan (MC), C.Laurie (DR), C.Dawson (Rom).

Riddell - 6
Woodend/Hesket - 3
Diggers Rest - 3
Sunbury Kangaroos - 3
Wallan - 2
Melton Centrals - 2
Macedon - 2
Lancefield - 3
Romsey - 1
Kilmore - 0
Rockbank - 0

Not a bad side Nicho, but this one would smash it :D

Backs - N Ash, B Allen, R Leitch

Half backs - M Peatling, J Allen, P Murden

Centres - J Belleville, T McDonald, P Robertson

Half forwards - A Blade, J Petran, D Besanko

Forwards - M Allen, L James, C Meacham

Rucks - G Robertson, S Young, J Climas

B - K.Weng Ng (WH), W.Else (WH), R.Johnson (SK)
HB - J.Allen (Rid), J.Wilton (Mac), J.Wright (Mac)
C - M.Welsh (SK), S.Young (Rid), P.Robertson (Rid)
HF - B.Chugg (MC), M.Lacy (WH), S.Sims (DR)
F - R.Dowling (LF), L.James (Rid), D.Cornish (W)
R - J.Jose (DR), J.Climas (Rid), C.Collins (LF)
I - B.Whiteway (W), S.Choate (LF), L.McInerney (SK), M.Allen (Rid), B.Wheelahan (MC), C.Laurie (DR), C.Dawson (Rom).

SOFT! You can't name a hundred players on the interchange. Only four get selected. Make the tough call! I should have put Ninga in my side ahead of Bev Green, but I'm happy with the side I've selected. I reckon Whiteway is the best bet for the Bowen. Always in Wallan's best players and stands out with the facial hair!

what are you on about roy, just coz we didnt go and watch the other teams means jack shit you moron, why would we go and watch riddell, we knew that they were going to win, we already know who there guns are, what homework could we possibly do??
i dont think that they are going to change there game plan this week from the one that has worked for them all season-
Robertson taps to lil brother, handball to young bracks atackle, kicks to james, goal

poor form is a crap phrase to use, what dose it matter what we do on the weekend, or who we watch?
Plus it is our week off, last time i checked we werent playing in the AFL, that we could have a drink on the weekend and get on the punt!!

Im sure that this reason will be the whole reason why in your eyes we will fail this year!, coz we didn go and watch riddell, if you had any brains you would know that like the teams in riddell, there are anumber of connections - friends at gisborne, im sure that we dont always get the chance to watch a higher level of footy on the weekends due to playing so getting to a game in gisborne isnt such a bad idea.

Im pretty sure you have got no idea on what the hell you are on about, roy!

Judging by your 20 goal loss a few weeks ago im guessing you have shitloads of homework to do. I wonder if Eade, Calrkson & co will say the same thing about geelong in the next few weeks. I can just imaging Clarko hitting the piss with hodgey, buddy & the boys on a sunday arvo while cats are playing Roos and saying "why would we go and watch geelong, we knew that they were going to win, we already know who there guns are, what homework could we possibly do??"
i Dont have a problem with players getting on the piss, in fact i reckon its grouse team bonding, but surely the coaching crew should be paying some attention & i dont just mean some midget player who has been given a token coaching role this year...

SOFT! You can't name a hundred players on the interchange. Only four get selected. Make the tough call! I should have put Ninga in my side ahead of Bev Green, but I'm happy with the side I've selected. I reckon Whiteway is the best bet for the Bowen. Always in Wallan's best players and stands out with the facial hair!

You are probably spot on.. Was soft.. The only change I would have is Collins - Whiteway, but Collins won it for me... I would probably drop Choate, Dawson and Laurie if I had to, seeing as though it upset you so much.

No Matt Welsh, your kidding yourself Nicholls. Will go close to Roos B&F but no place in your best 22?

Super attitude, i love it. Thats why you are an average side in a below average league. Go and figure out a way to stop or break down Riddels game plan. You could start by figuring out a way for their ruckmen to stop getting his hands on the footy first. Then the tap might not go to his lil bro. Then you might go forward and you might figure out that Sam Young doesn't like it when you run him hard the other way. You might even figure out that when Sam is puffing (not on a reefer) that you can physically annoy him and he will give away silly free kicks- who knows give him a smack behind the ear and he might even get himself sent off. He is a good player when it goes his way but he is a sook and has a short temper that can be uncovered easy. Riddell are the best side by a mile and admittedly Woodend are crap but you are playing in an average country league so the depth of players is not great. How about Woodend tries to expose some of Riddells weaker links. How about they run hard at that soft bloke with the dreadlocks??? There are so many things that can be done to beat Riddell and im sure if you gave me a few hours then i could write you a thesus on Riddells weaknesses but if you already have it worked out then good luck to you einstein. You will sitting in the Woodend pub with a sorry look on your face in September knowing you didnt really exhaust all avenues to win a flag. In hindsight though who cares- you got to wear a helmet in juniors, Danny Sipthorp will still be off his face nude techno dancing and Matty Loughnane will still be bowling right arm over in the summer. Get a life moron, if your not fair dinkum then play two's- you stink a bad smell!!!

What a shame you hate Melton South - maybe they could send you copy of their games!

Judging by your 20 goal loss a few weeks ago im guessing you have shitloads of homework to do. I wonder if Eade, Calrkson & co will say the same thing about geelong in the next few weeks. I can just imaging Clarko hitting the piss with hodgey, buddy & the boys on a sunday arvo while cats are playing Roos and saying "why would we go and watch geelong, we knew that they were going to win, we already know who there guns are, what homework could we possibly do??"
i Dont have a problem with players getting on the piss, in fact i reckon its grouse team bonding, but surely the coaching crew should be paying some attention & i dont just mean some midget player who has been given a token coaching role this year...

i just think that your comment of poor form for not watching the riddell game is just crap, if riddell beat us, then im guessing its not because we didnt take time off to go and watch them, its because there a better team on the day than what we were, plus the 20 goal hiding they gave shows nothing, lets wait til september, hopefully were the 2 teams left on that sunday, both at full strenth as to what we can be, and then judge it on those merits, not the idea that because we didnt "study up" on them.

and as for i my height what has that got to do with anything, nothing i guess, alot like your veiw you were trying to get across, what token coaching role had i been given? and again what has it got to do with not studying up on riddell?????

Omni’s 2008 RDFL Bowen Medal Vote Catching Fancies.

Riddell – Sam Young, Peter Robertson, Aaron Blade. Justin Belleville.

Woodend – Sam Bowen, Kar Weng Ng, Paul Podbury, Jay Downing.

Diggers – Jeremy Jose, Shawn Sims, Craig Thompson, Cole Laurie.

Sunbury – Bobby Johnson, Steve James, Leigh McInerney, Brenton Sutherland.

Wallan – Blake Whiteway, Blake Henderson, David Henderson, Haydn Langborne.

Macedon – James Wright, Jae Wilton, Brian Matthews, Daniel Trotta.

Lancefield – Tom Waters, Chris Collins, Caleb Plowman, Rick Dowling.

Melton – Brendan Chugg, Glen Nankervis, Kane Bullen, Brian Wheelehan.

Kilmore – Matt Robertson, Jason King, Adam Gouge, Alan Carroll.

Romsey – Ryan Connellan, Ben John, Warren Kairns, Phil Romeril.

Rockbank – Jason Welfare, Thomas Mainey, Travis Cook, Luke Walker.

Great work CHEIFTONT,how's Zippy collins doing isnt he a great mate of yours from south too. is it true he was standing on the mark when you kicked that winning goal ?

Omni’s 2008 RDFL Bowen Medal Vote Catching Fancies.

Riddell – Sam Young, Peter Robertson, Aaron Blade. Justin Belleville.

Woodend – Sam Bowen, Kar Weng Ng, Paul Podbury, Jay Downing.

Diggers – Jeremy Jose, Shawn Sims, Craig Thompson, Cole Laurie.

Sunbury – Bobby Johnson, Steve James, Leigh McInerney, Brenton Sutherland.

Wallan – Blake Whiteway, Blake Henderson, David Henderson, Haydn Langborne.

Macedon – James Wright, Jae Wilton, Brian Matthews, Daniel Trotta.

Lancefield – Tom Waters, Chris Collins, Caleb Plowman, Rick Dowling.

Melton – Brendan Chugg, Glen Nankervis, Kane Bullen, Brian Wheelehan.

Kilmore – Matt Robertson, Jason King, Adam Gouge, Alan Carroll.

Romsey – Ryan Connellan, Ben John, Warren Kairns, Phil Romeril.

Rockbank – Jason Welfare, Thomas Mainey, Travis Cook, Luke Walker.

Jamie Cuffe not a vote catcher???

Matt do you know why Riddell are looking for a new coach,but have Mark Power or his brother Matt in the mix for next year.And L Harrison is not happy there been stuck in the two's

Scooter is doing a great job, and as far as I know all the players are behind him, and he should be there again next year if he wants the gig. Harrison played well in the seniors on the weekend, but he has had to change his game to fit into that side. I think the Powers are terrific coaches but don't think they'll be leading the Bombers next year.

Just wanted to know what you heard,but i guess i have the mail before you.Scooter stay's five of their guns will go

Wilton and Dettman to turn it on for our first final's tilt in years,we will have a crack. But the 09 season will be ours we have former players and new recruits lined up maybe one or two from Riddell and Gisborne

My team of the year.
B: B Johnson(SUN) Kairns(ROM) Else(WH)
HB Ng(WH) Allen(RID) Wright(MAC)
C L Mclnnerney(SK) Young(RID) Welsh(SK)
HF Chugg(MC) Lacy(WH) Whiteway(W)
F Sims(DR) James(RID) Laurie(DR)
R Jose(DR) Collins(L) Wheelehan(MC)
INT Climas(RID), Blade(RID), Wilton(MAC), Dawson(ROM)