RDFL Thread 2008

Petran only played his best footy late in the season, Wheels missed too many games, Connellan was a little bit stiff but perhaps not as good as Jose and Waters, and Cornish was okay, but nowhere near as good as Dowling, Allen etc.

Hey Matt, when do you think the RDFL will use independent umpires in their finals, they have the opportunity to get first div umpires from the NFL and thus have no bias to any team playing in the finals. I saw 3 games on the weekend and thought that the umpiring was bias to one team all day, using neutral umpires would solve this problem , what are your thoughts.

Fair point, but I think Lancefield's side back then would easily beat the one they have now. As would Riddell's. Country footy all across Victoria has dropped off from the halcyon days in the 70s, 80s and 90s. I still think Lancefield on 96 would go close to Riddells side today.

Yes tigers side 1996 would beat the one of today as for beating Bombers of today no way.

This tigers team of 1996 was a good team , but why didnt they want to come up ...................... becuase they would have gotten there pants pulled down ...

div1 ............................. day-lite div 2

So you think RDFL sides of Div 1 back in 1996 have droped off ?

Melton bloods
Sunbury lions
Melton south
Darley

All straight away played in finnals in BFL leauge for about 5-7 years.

Gisbourne had not won a Flag in 28 years in RDFL . Till these clubs left .
then they won 3 flags in a row .

Then went too BFL and won prob around the 5 flags now !

Cant compare era's......

I never said Riddell's 2008 side would beat a Divv 1 one side. I said I'd love to seem them play a pretty darn good Divvy 2 side. You are the one who got sidetracked and failed to read what I wrote properly.

EDIT: Also, I can't comment on Melton, Darley or Melton South but I can definitely say that the Gisborne and Sunbury sides from the mid-90s would poleaxe the current sides that take the field.

Its not just RDFL and ex-RDFL clubs that have dropped off in quality as time elapses, it is all sides. The kids just aint as tough as they used to be. Probably because they see too many AFL players like Lloydy and Dale Thomas on the TV, and not enough of Dermie and Dipper. Perhaps they are more skilled, but it wasn't always skill level that go you through back in the good old days.

Hey Matt, when do you think the RDFL will use independent umpires in their finals, they have the opportunity to get first div umpires from the NFL and thus have no bias to any team playing in the finals. I saw 3 games on the weekend and thought that the umpiring was bias to one team all day, using neutral umpires would solve this problem , what are your thoughts.

I think the RDFL have it in their by-laws that they will get their umpires from the Riddell Umpires association. While one game in particular was very bad, I didn't see too much of an issue in any others.

There's a big difference between an umpire that is incompetent, and a cheat, and I don't think we have any cheats umpiring our games at the moment.

I think the RDFL have it in their by-laws that they will get their umpires from the Riddell Umpires association. While one game in particular was very bad, I didn't see too much of an issue in any others.

There's a big difference between an umpire that is incompetent, and a cheat, and I don't think we have any cheats umpiring our games at the moment.

Saw a few diamond valley sorry NFL games this year and I dont think the umpiring there was anything special. Didn't see any games last weekend as I was crook but will probably get to Kilmore this week. I reckon the seconds match between the Kangaroos & Wallan will be worth the effort.

Fair point, but I think Lancefield's side back then would easily beat the one they have now. As would Riddell's. Country footy all across Victoria has dropped off from the halcyon days in the 70s, 80s and 90s. I still think Lancefield on 96 would go close to Riddells side today.

couldnt be further from the mark there matt.riddells current side would beat lancefields 96 side by 200 points.i played in a very average macedon team in 96 and we defeated lancefield at lancefield that year.and riddell would beat macedons 96 team by 250 points

I think that you will find that finals means just as much to the umpires as it does to our players, The finals is the showcase time for the league so why wouldn't we showcase our best umpires.
To bring in umpires from a different league would not be show casing RDFL Football. Different leagues umpires would have different interpretations of some rules, Eg. say in the NFL, an umpire may determine a Bump very soft, the EDFL may say too hard but the RDFL would say that it is a standard bump in our competition. It can take all clubs a year to work out how each umpire, umpires a game and we all should know our boundarys by finals. Some umpires are the same every time, some are like women, ;) just when you think you have them worked out they change.
I understand your view, and i have asked the same question previously, but now understand the reasoning behind it.

Saw a few diamond valley sorry NFL games this year and I dont think the umpiring there was anything special. Didn't see any games last weekend as I was crook but will probably get to Kilmore this week. I reckon the seconds match between the Kangaroos & Wallan will be worth the effort.

Wallan play Woodend this week, while the Kangas play Riddell. you may see the above game this year, but, you might have to wait until next, let's wait and see what this weekend of footy can do for you.

couldnt be further from the mark there matt.riddells current side would beat lancefields 96 side by 200 points.i played in a very average macedon team in 96 and we defeated lancefield at lancefield that year.and riddell would beat macedons 96 team by 250 points

Deano, have a think about what you just said. I understand if you want to retract that statement.

THEN versus NOW
- Marty Lakey was better than what Sam Young is now

- Simon Choate was better than what Justin Belleville is now

- Damien Choate was better than what Aaron Blade is now

- Tristan Fisher was better than what Glenn Robertson is now

- Danny and Ryan O'Meara were better than what Lancefield have at CHF and FF now (no one).

- Andrew Reaper was better than what Leigh Harrison is now

- Justin Pattinson was one of the best players to ever grace the fields of Lancefield Park.

- Brad Ryan was a terrific full back.

- Mick Graham and Jason Allen are very similar players.

So to come on and say that this year's Riddell side would be THAT much superior is just a stupid thing to say. For someone who actually played in that era, you should know better.

Deano, have a think about what you just said. I understand if you want to retract that statement.

THEN versus NOW

- Danny and Ryan O'Meara were better than what Lancefield have at CHF and FF now (no one).

- Justin Pattinson was one of the best players to ever grace the fields of Lancefield Park.

So to come on and say that this year's Riddell side would be THAT much superior is just a stupid thing to say. For someone who actually played in that era, you should know better.

Not havin a crack ...... Just know the two standards of that era ... divi 1 unreal ........ divi 2 just ... when sides played NTH fawkner in divi 2 they beat them by 20 goals .......... rember when gisbourne played them 65 goals to 2 ......... just food for thought !

I have already accepted and have always known and believed that Divvy 1 was shitloads better than Divvy 2.

That's why I compared the best Divvy 2 side of 1996 to Riddell's current side, not a Divvy 1 side. Because the current Bombers just wouldn't compete against those elite Divvy 1 sides.

Wallan play Woodend this week, while the Kangas play Riddell. you may see the above game this year, but, you might have to wait until next, let's wait and see what this weekend of footy can do for you.

Ide luv to see the match up of Mongrel V BDR68 this week, now that would be worth watching !

Even better if it was a nail biter & they both got angry. :eek:

THEN versus NOW

Sorry Matt I agree with Mongrel on this one, 1996 how old were you 10 -11. Looking at your idols with rose coloured glasses may have clouded your judgment a smidge. You come up with 10 match ups and there is 22 players, Riddell's strength is their all over evenness not just their best 10.

Just remember the old saying "the longer retired the better they were".

THEN versus NOW

thats what we all love and will miss about u matt.you express your honest opinion and you take the time to find evidence to support your theories.and reading your last post would make anyone want 2 retract the statement i made.however i will let independant people be the judge then.i will come back with my detailed view and let the readers make their own decision on this.back shortly

matty still in the process of drafting up my theory.but b4 that perhaps u can help the kangs with a game plan should they defy all odds and make the granny.afterall macedon beat lancefield that year and i know 100 percent that the kangas would beat my old team.could you possibly give us a detailed summary of the match ups this year and how we could pull off the seemingly impossible?

obviously mongrel you have been around a while. intersetd to see what your views are about the comp today. The best backs, mids forwards today as well as how you think riddel can be beat or can they?

I have already accepted and have always known and believed that Divvy 1 was shitloads better than Divvy 2.

That's why I compared the best Divvy 2 side of 1996 to Riddell's current side, not a Divvy 1 side. Because the current Bombers just wouldn't compete against those elite Divvy 1 sides.
would have to disagree with that statement having played divvy 1 with craigieburn from 92 to inception of a 1 division rdfl comp current riddell side would easily hold their own agaisnt the elite divvy 1 sides from what i have seen of them this season simply awsome team very hard to find weak link in team:thumbsu:

Surely thats bait

While I respect Marcus as a player (even though if he plays in defence he takes the third forward, or when he plays in attack its mostly against the weaker teams), a monkey could have coached Gisborne to some of the flags they won in the BFL. Marcus is lucky that Mick McGuane built the club into a football juggernaut, and left it in good shape. Shame the Under 18s are useless though. But I guess that's what happens when you neglect your juniors for such a long time . . .

Matt what the hell is this. You should have been a man of your word and stopped posting if this is the drivel you come up with.

Barham has been named the CHB of the year in the Bendigo league for the last 3 years. Third forward is a myth and you are guessing. The reason he somethimes ends up with a weaker player is that he plays CHB no matter what. If the gun forward wants to drag him to the goal square to get him out of the play he will not follow. He is coach so he needs to know what is happening up the ground. He is a great footballer and would be the premier player in the RDFL by that far it would be embarrassing.

Can't coach? Maybe you should spend some time there - once again you have no idea what he can and can't do as a coach. He has lost 6 games in 3 years in the home and away season in a good competition. Gis don't have the most money or the best facilities but still is a force in the BFL.

For someone in the media you should do some research before you spew garbage like this. The group of under 18's that played this year have had no success since under 10's. They were always going to struggle this year.
Name 1 RDFL side that have more locals that played the last home and away round than Gisborne? You can waste your time seaching but you won't find one. Lets hope QLD actully develops you into a credible media writer. Somehow you maybe lost to spreading rumour and gossip with little to back it up.

Matt what the hell is this. You should have been a man of your word and stopped posting if this is the drival you come up with.

Barham has been named the CHB of the year in the Bendigo league for the last 3 years. Third forward is a myth and you are guessing. The reason he somethimes ends up with a weaker player is that he plays CHB no matter what. If the gun forward wants to drag him to the goal square to get him out of the play he will not follow. He is coach so he needs to know what is happening up the ground. He is a great footballer and would be the premier player in the RDFL by that far it would be embarrassing.

Can't coach? Maybe you should spend some time there - once again you have no idea what he can and can't do as a coach. He has lost 6 games in 3 years in the home and away season in a good competition. Gis don't have the most money or the best facilities but still is a force in the BFL.

For someone in the media you should do some research before you spew garbage like this. The group of under 18's that played this year have had no success since under 10's. They were always going to struggle this year.
Name 1 RDFL side that have more locals that played the last home and away round than Gisborne? You can waste your time seaching but you won't find one. Lets hope QLD actully develops you into a credible media writer. Somehow you maybe lost to spreading rumour and gossip with little to back it up.

Haha. Just had to stir up the Gisborne faithful before I left. Don't worry, I rate Billy Goat Jr, but I just wanted a reaction!

matty still in the process of drafting up my theory.but b4 that perhaps u can help the kangs with a game plan should they defy all odds and make the granny.afterall macedon beat lancefield that year and i know 100 percent that the kangas would beat my old team.could you possibly give us a detailed summary of the match ups this year and how we could pull off the seemingly impossible?

Hate to be the bearer of bad news Deano, but its just Riddell's year this season. I think the Kangas can make it, but they can't beat the Bombers.