RDFL Thread 2008

What so ur saying riddell isnt a good side, so that means diggers cant call themslelves a good side cause riddell absoutely demorolised them this year in dry conditions...

no, riddell are a great side. simply pointing out the fact that the conditions cannot be used as an excuse. when riddell defeated diggers earlier this year they were the beater side on the day and vice versa yesterday. my point is - GOOD SIDES DONT MAKE EXCUSES. a team that has won every game by 10 goals+ this year can't say that wet weather caused such a turn around.

Woodend far to good 4 wallan today too much pace umpire simmons is past his use by date hate to see him dictate the outcome of a close game in these finals . Yellow card he gave today was an absoulte disgrace . Matt Nicholls if you were at game give us your thoughts

Any idea on the main game? I left at 3/4 time and she looked like going down to the wire

It’s a sad day, when at the start of a game, when you look at who is umpiring the game you realise that you have no hope of winning. the umpires of the Wallan Woodend game umpired from the goal to goal line, see free kicks from 50+ meters away . Wallan stands no chance while some of the umpires are umpiring. Woodend were very good today and we have no excuse for losing, but we never had a chance at the start.
As was said to me during the game. it’s a disgrace that semmens can get a final with his ability and should be lucky just to umpire any game during the year. Maybe he may realise that he is a disgrace to the rdfl as an umpire.

DOONA what is the situation regarding what Leauge broadford will be in next season . How do you think broadford would go if youse came across to the RDFL after watching the game today and with the young list you have .

no, riddell are a great side. simply pointing out the fact that the conditions cannot be used as an excuse. when riddell defeated diggers earlier this year they were the beater side on the day and vice versa yesterday. my point is - GOOD SIDES DONT MAKE EXCUSES. a team that has won every game by 10 goals+ this year can't say that wet weather caused such a turn around.
who said riddell where making exuses just a bad day at the office dont think that will happin in two weeks time

Well done to Diggers for doing the unthinkable... Gives everyone something to talk about. Should be a rematch in two weeks time but then again, imagine if it was as wet as yesterday this week??? Could it happen?

Anyway, poor form from you 6bums, derogatory comments like that deserves a clip around the ear! If the comment was racist or sexist it would be deleted, hoping our moderators will do something about this. :thumbsdown:

What a Boon for the League, & for us the spectators !

2 Grand Finals this season ! The "Entree", at Romsey this Saturday between Woodend & Riddell should be a Cracker........ Get there early, standing room only for sure ! Two teams enter....... One team leaves, to take on the Giant killing Burras the following Sunday at Lancefield in the "Main Fair" for the right to be crowned R.D.F.L. Premiers for 2008.

I'll be there with Bells on....... wouldn't miss it for quids !

Get your tickets through the usual agencies. :thumbsu:

What a Boon for the League, & for us the spectators !

2 Grand Finals this season ! The "Entree", at Romsey this Saturday between Woodend & Riddell should be a Cracker........ Get there early, standing room only for sure ! Two teams enter....... One team leaves, to take on the Giant killing Burras the following Sunday at Lancefield in the "Main Fair" for the right to be crowned R.D.F.L. Premiers for 2008.

I'll be there with Bells on....... wouldn't miss it for quids !

Get your tickets through the usual agencies. :thumbsu:

the kangas were very gracious in defeat today omni.HOWEVER woodends supporters today created a monster 4 next week.the messages im receiving is all three sunbury teams will be at romsey to support riddell next week and answer to these so called tough guys taunts from today.and yes as humble as i was tday with the numerous ferral taunts,i will be there and on the riddell bandwagon.just a shame that woodends players and coaching staff are fairly professional and these drunks are about 2 see what happens when u bite off more than u can chew.i also laughed at how quick these big mouths vacated the ground.sad for the rdfl but next week will be even sadder when all my boys are on that side of the fence

Yeah bad luck to your boys today champ.
Finals really can be the very best of times or the very worst of times indeed.
I must say I didn't notice any Ferrals there today, but I didn't get around much & the only Woodend people I did speak to are perfect gentlemen to be sure. If what you are saying did infact occure, then that is disappointing, they will surely rue the day they riled up the Kanga Faithful make no mistake about that !

Good to hear your gunna be in the Bombers corner next week champ, I will make sure I bring my Red & Black Flogger so you & Grubby can take turns waving it from behind the big sticks every time we boot a goal !

Gav' can wear my Riddell scarf, I'll dig up a bomber jacket for Jarrod, Spud & Joeb can hold up the run through banner, & we will give Mark, Dummy & Bobby water bottle duties & Welshie can be the runner............ OK Done, your on board !

It’s a sad day, when at the start of a game, when you look at who is umpiring the game you realise that you have no hope of winning. the umpires of the Wallan Woodend game umpired from the goal to goal line, see free kicks from 50+ meters away . Wallan stands no chance while some of the umpires are umpiring. Woodend were very good today and we have no excuse for losing, but we never had a chance at the start.
As was said to me during the game. it’s a disgrace that semmens can get a final with his ability and should be lucky just to umpire any game during the year. Maybe he may realise that he is a disgrace to the rdfl as an umpire.

The umpiring in this league is a joke, from the juniors to the seniors they give idiots games to umpire. The league really need to do something about this

DOONA what is the situation regarding what Leauge broadford will be in next season . How do you think broadford would go if youse came across to the RDFL after watching the game today and with the young list you have .

How did the vote go at the special AGM. What's happening in the future.

Wasn't a special AGM mate, more like an info night with 5 of your mob on hand to answer questions. I'm none the wiser after attending the meeting as the speakers from our end weren't overly convincing, but for me, and it's only my view - our future depends on 3rds football, so if it is our main shot at returning to 3rds then I'd back it.

We had 4 netball sides training for grand final's so those girls weren't present, it will go to a vote Im told when the club re-forms (AGM) in a fortnight.

On the hand after reading Mongrel & lauriec's posts Im not too sure - good umpires and the fact all club's get along was a key selling tool by the RDFL :confused: Also we were told when it comes to finals all grounds must meet a criteria so fair to say Woodend was right to go?

Standard was ok, plenty of pressure meaning turnovers and Id say both Kanga's/Woodend had a few more mature bodies than I had this year, but I dont think they'd be too far ahead of us going on yesterday.

Ive said all along that Riddell would be definite top 3 in our comp, but reckon HDFL club's would fill the other 4 spots - after Saturday do I throw Diggers in there?

Wasn't a special AGM mate, more like an info night with 5 of your mob on hand to answer questions. I'm none the wiser after attending the meeting as the speakers from our end weren't overly convincing, but for me, and it's only my view - our future depends on 3rds football, so if it is our main shot at returning to 3rds then I'd back it.

We had 4 netball sides training for grand final's so those girls weren't present, it will go to a vote Im told when the club re-forms (AGM) in a fortnight.

On the hand after reading Mongrel & lauriec's posts Im not too sure - good umpires and the fact all club's get along was a key selling tool by the RDFL :confused: Also we were told when it comes to finals all grounds must meet a criteria so fair to say Woodend was right to go?

Standard was ok, plenty of pressure meaning turnovers and Id say both Kanga's/Woodend had a few more mature bodies than I had this year, but I dont think they'd be too far ahead of us going on yesterday.

Ive said all along that Riddell would be definite top 3 in our comp, but reckon HDFL club's would fill the other 4 spots - after Saturday do I throw Diggers in there?

Doona – was the RDFL presentation based on them wanting Broadford in? Or was it just a sell job that to make sure you understood what the RDFL was about? After the issues (my observation and nothing against Wallan) of bringing in the 11 team. Byes, uneven draw, finals six etc, I hope the RDFL has a bit longer and more detailed look at the implications of a 12 team comp. It will remove the bye (big plus) but will we have 22 rounds or will we continue with an uneven draw. If we do have an uneven draw how will they assess Broadford and who will they play in the second half of the season? Will Broadford have to bring umpires with them – we know we have a shortage there?

Don’t worry about the banter here about RDFL clubs, contrary to what you may think they all get along pretty well and always have a beer together after the games. The strength of the RDFL is home grown comp which isn’t overly affected by money and isn’t too big. I think being a single division promotes this and I am concerned that if the RDFL gets too big it will lose this strength. Over recent years the RDFL has grown in playing standard and overall club professionalism, and I fear a little bit that we are tinkering with a well balanced comp, without the need to.

I think this may be a one sided view... I thought the umpiring in the games was pretty good right across the weekend..
The 2 guys in the 2's yesterday umpired the game pretty well, the reason the free kick count reflected the way it did was that Woodend were first to the ball, plain and simple... In the RDFL if you are first to the ball you will always get the favorable decisions.. Sure there are some calls that are wrong, but overall, all of the umpires on the weekend were ok.

Here is my assessment of the weekend (seniors only). Diggers did an absolutely fantastic job and won against another team that also was playing in the same conditions – HOWEVER – this game was brought to the lowest football skill level by a totally unacceptable playing surface. It was bad before the seniors game and disgusting after it started. If this ground has not had a single game played on it in six weeks, and it turns to a swamp as quickly as that, get it off the list. It was not a presentation of top football at a top facility!

Sunday – did it rain on Saturday?? A very good game and congrats to both teams for having a go. Sunbury just didn’t quite have enough to take it out but went down fighting. We will get a better preseason next year and that will get us off to a good start (a few early home games doesn’t hurt the confidence!!).

The final 6 – a few teams have gone from 6th straight into the G/F! (well done Sunbury A grade netball) but to be honest I don’t think it is right. There are sides that got in the top two based on 18 rounds of competition and one of them gets hung out to dry after the first round of finals. In under 18s the two top teams play in the prelim this week and the 6th placed team is already in the G/F. I know the 6th place team has beaten one of them but the top two should have to be beaten by any team below them!

Clubs do get along quite well mate.. The repeat offenders that plonked themselves on "the hill" behind the coaches box are just muppets that you have to deal with at every Woodend home game unfortunately, but thats ok, they are supporting thier team (that none of them are or were good enough to play for more than likely).. But surely if they have the balls to bait someone from over the fence, they will be there again this week just as vocal when thier side is playing Riddell, its just that this week some of the people they baited might be on the same side of the fence, will see if they are as brave this week.

This is no reflection on Woodend.. Stu Braddy did some fantastic work in previous years building that football club into repeated GF contenders and the people that now run the club are tireless volunteers that have WH in a strong position both on and off the field with both the Reserves and Senior sides travelling nicely.

Doona – was the RDFL presentation based on them wanting Broadford in? Or was it just a sell job that to make sure you understood what the RDFL was about? After the issues (my observation and nothing against Wallan) of bringing in the 11 team. Byes, uneven draw, finals six etc, I hope the RDFL has a bit longer and more detailed look at the implications of a 12 team comp. It will remove the bye (big plus) but will we have 22 rounds or will we continue with an uneven draw. If we do have an uneven draw how will they assess Broadford and who will they play in the second half of the season? Will Broadford have to bring umpires with them – we know we have a shortage there?

Don’t worry about the banter here about RDFL clubs, contrary to what you may think they all get along pretty well and always have a beer together after the games. The strength of the RDFL is home grown comp which isn’t overly affected by money and isn’t too big. I think being a single division promotes this and I am concerned that if the RDFL gets too big it will lose this strength. Over recent years the RDFL has grown in playing standard and overall club professionalism, and I fear a little bit that we are tinkering with a well balanced comp, without the need to.

Umpiring numbers were reported as beng solid, but was said if we did have any umpires (we do have a few who live locally) they'd be more than welcome in joining the pool if they wanted to.

If the RDFL club's think two clubs in two years is too much "tinkering" then I'm sure you get the final vote on club's wishing to join your comp. Our club has it's AGM in a fortnight, and I still got no idea yet if that even includes a vote on this matter.

Umpiring numbers were reported as beng solid, but was said if we did have any umpires (we do have a few who live locally) they'd be more than welcome in joining the pool if they wanted to.

If the RDFL club's think two clubs in two years is too much "tinkering" then I'm sure you get the final vote on club's wishing to join your comp. Our club has it's AGM in a fortnight, and I still got no idea yet if that even includes a vote on this matter.

That isn't the RDFL club's thoughts, they were mine only.

I think that "tinkering" by strengthening the league with clubs such as Broadford has to happen... I remember a time not that long ago that the league was happy to stay in the position they were without moving forward, 2 years after that the league had less clubs, 3 years after that were on the verge of folding....

I think this may be a one sided view... I thought the umpiring in the games was pretty good right across the weekend..
The 2 guys in the 2's yesterday umpired the game pretty well, the reason the free kick count reflected the way it did was that Woodend were first to the ball, plain and simple... In the RDFL if you are first to the ball you will always get the favorable decisions.. Sure there are some calls that are wrong, but overall, all of the umpires on the weekend were ok.

A quick question to those who know more about umpiring than I... is it a) justified, b) unprofessional or c) reprehensible that an umpire can respond to a player questioning their ability to umpire at a finals/grand final level by saying "looks like we're in the same boat... I hope you blokes don't make it (the grand final) either".

Every body expects the umpires in our comp to sit back and cop repeated abuse from players without responding... We are all human, of course eventually you are going to respond.. It is clearly unprofessional to respond, but in reality, these guys are pretty much voluteers and dont deserve the serve they get most of the time... They are paid a pittance to enforce rules that are forced upon them and then repeatedly have to sit tight lipped while players call them everything under the sun... Give em a break... I would tell a player too if that were the case.... Some players should consider themselves lucky they get away with how much they get away with, as a basketball referee they would be out of the stadium first time... Shut up and play the game, stop beaking all the time and maybe you would be FIRST to the ball...

now vobloke, i've had a look back over all your posts. and of the 15 times you've posted on big footy 9 of them were to whinge about umpiring. Ok champ we get it.

To label someone a disgrace is highly unjustified, as the same could probably be said about your teams inability to adapt and learn. I will spell this out for you as clearly as I can mate, if you are FIRST to the ball and keep your mouth SHUT you will be rewarded, you don't have to be a member of mensa to work that out.

Could be time for your club to look internally and stop heaping blame on outside factors that are out of your control, and start to better yourselves in areas that you bear control over.