RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

Ingram coached Craigieburn in the early 90's and played for them again in the early 2000's. Craigieburn were undefeated his last stint as coach until he kinghit stickman Fowler 100 metres off the ball and got rubbed out for the rest of the year and Craigieburn self destructed in the finals.

Has moved around a few clubs now in the area and does love playing for the dollar.

Kilmore seem to be spending a few dollars this year. Can anyone confirm new recruits??

Ingram coached Craigieburn in the early 90's and played for them again in the early 2000's. Craigieburn were undefeated his last stint as coach until he kinghit stickman Fowler 100 metres off the ball and got rubbed out for the rest of the year and Craigieburn self destructed in the finals.

Has moved around a few clubs now in the area and does love playing for the dollar.

Kilmore seem to be spending a few dollars this year. Can anyone confirm new recruits??

Scroll back a few pages where the initial signings were mentioned in a newspaper article. Rob Wittmer also mentioned to be returning I believe. Apart from Ken and Robbie, all the recruits are apparently youngsters (22-23ish)which I think can be a good thing.

I had a great chat with KFC coach Campbell Speers last week, and as long as the players get along and commit to the hard yards required (twice a week) they could be in for a fair season. He said he felt for Tez at times last year when a few got slack re: training, and knows that's gunna be the biggest battle.

Still Riddell v Kilmore for me :D

LADDER
Riddell
Diggers
Woodend
Kilmore
Sunbury

Romsey
Wallan
Macedon
Lancefield
Melton Central
Rockbank

PREMIERS
Diggers to have a big year

RUNNERS UP
Sunbury

BOWEN
Shaun Sims

BIGGEST MOVERS
Kilmore

BIGGEST SLIDERS
Romsey

ROOKIE
Dylan Hannan (diggers)

PLAYER TO WATCH
Cole Laurie

Has anybody heard of new recruits for Wallan yet? Could be a team to watch with current players plus any new players. With Peddo on board as coach they might be the suprise packet.;)

Peddo has told me about a few big signings for us but i won't reveal them till i see them on the training tarck.

watch out for melton central recruit brendan chugg this year. he is an outstanding player. would be a real chance for the comp medal.

LADDER
Riddell
Diggers
Woodend
Kilmore
Sunbury

Romsey
Wallan
Macedon
Lancefield
Melton Central
Rockbank

BIGGEST SLIDERS
Romsey

Correct me if I'm wrong but Romsey finished 4th last year and Sunbury finshed 3rd. If Romsey drop to 6th spot and Sunbury to 5th, then we've both dropped 2 spots on the ladder. Do you base your opinion as "Romsey being the biggest sliders" on the fact that if we do drop to 6th we're out of the finals? And therefore it's a bigger 2 spot drop than that of the Kangas?

On other news, just waiting for a final confirmation, but it would seems that Romsey have pretty much kept their full list from 2007 and have picked up a few new signings, some of which will cross off some items off of our pre-season shopping list!!! I will revert back when everything is ready for public notification.;)

Correct me if I'm wrong but Romsey finished 4th last year and Sunbury finshed 3rd. If Romsey drop to 6th spot and Sunbury to 5th, then we've both dropped 2 spots on the ladder. Do you base your opinion as "Romsey being the biggest sliders" on the fact that if we do drop to 6th we're out of the finals? And therefore it's a bigger 2 spot drop than that of the Kangas?

On other news, just waiting for a final confirmation, but it would seems that Romsey have pretty much kept their full list from 2007 and have picked up a few new signings, some of which will cross off some items off of our pre-season shopping list!!! I will revert back when everything is ready for public notification.;)

from the sounds of it Morgs has done an about face and decided to go around again , i was very sure that he would only have an off field role with romsey this year .. Look fwd to the update in future posts

i think u should learn to read, i believe 4th burra had sunbury as his runner up, so that would mean that in his opinion romsey will be the biggest sliders. correct me if im wrong.

Couple of stories you fellas might like to read.

Blues sign two more

by Matt Nicholls

KILMORE Football Club continues to keep the Riddell District Football League on its toes, with all the talk around football circles focusing on the Blues.
Touted as the big improvers in 2008, the Blues further enhanced their prospects on Monday night by signing on two more high quality players, a tall and a small.
Alan Carroll, who has played much of his career at Craigieburn, is expected to hold down a ruck or key position role for the Blues.
Having been one of Craigieburn’s better players in recent years, it is expected by Kilmore senior coach Campbell Speers that he will take some stopping by the opposition.
The other recruit is in-and-under midfielder Mo Kaakour, who played with West Coburg in the Essendon District Football League last year.
Built similarly to Daniel Bonnici, who was recruited to Sunbury Kangaroos last year and won the Riddell District Football League’s best and fairest award, Speers believes that Kaakour is a level above the Bowen medallist.
Carroll and Kaakour join the likes of Ken Ingram, Ben Pronk and Stephen Sapiano as new senior recruits.
While yet to sign, former Blues champ Robbie Wittmer has done most pre-season sessions with the Blues, and it is believed Speers has a couple more players up his sleeve.
While the limelight will obviously be on the recruits in pre-season and in the early stages of the home and away rounds, if Kilmore is to really challenge for its first premiership in seven years, the Blues will need their local talent to shine.
Looking good at the Blues’ first training session after Christmas on Monday night were last year’s vice-captain Adam Goudge and erratic midfield/forward Travis Hede.
Also impressing on the track were last year’s seniors Linton Kemp, Dave Cornish, Brad Colliver, Glen Barnes, Dave Saunders, Mick Altas and Damian Barton.
With last year’s captain Matt Robertson yet to commit to the Blues or any other football club, it is likely that Kilmore will have a new leadership group this year.
Whatever happens, it seems that Speers’ motto, “2008 – The time is now for Kilmore”, is certainly ringing in the ears of his players, who appear desperate for success this winter.

Magpies ready to swoop

by Matt Nicholls

WITH just 86 days to go until the first round of the Riddell District Football League, Wallan Football Club - the new kids on the block – is gearing up for what promises to be a successful first year back in the competition.
Under the coaching regime of Mark Pedersen, the Magpies have finals in their sights, a feat the club was unable to achieve in the past six years competing in the Diamond Valley Football League (now NorthernFL).
Having been accepted back into the RDFL, Wallan president Neal Langborne said that the club is looking forward to renewing old rivalries with the likes of Kilmore, Romsey, Woodend-Hesket and Lancefield.
Along with Pedersen, the Magpies have a new look coaching panel in all grades, with veteran Brett Keenan taking over the reserves role, and former Preston VFA player Mark Newman coaching the Under 18s.
Prior to Christmas, training attendances were sensational, with over 60 players attending training.
Rather than the gruelling running regime implemented by many coaches in pre-season, the footballs were the focus from session one, with Pedersen emphasising that both skill and fitness will be required in 2008.
A number of former players have committed to return to Wallan this year, and a number of new recruits also look likely to join the Magpies’ nest – all of which will be revealed when clearances open on February 1.
Langborne said there was a new enthusiasm around the club, with the players looking forward to returning to the RDFL, brand new change rooms, and the addition of netball teams.
Another challenge for the Magpies will be converting their thirds from Under 19 level to Under 18s.
Langborne said the club will welcome as many young players as possible to Greenhill Reserve.
While some clubs struggled to field competitive netball sides last season, Wallan looks likely to field two strong teams in 2008, with over 25 girls expressing interest in playing with the Magpies.
A netball coach has yet to be appointed and any interested can still apply by sending an application to PO Box 127, Wallan VIC 3756. Applications close on February 5.
Langborne said club is in need for some additional trainers. Those interested should contact football manager Andy Astbury on 0447 564 710. Remuneration is negotiable
Pre-season training for football resumes at 6pm on Wednesday, January 30.

good on ya speers.kaakour is a class above bonnicci?
the bloke just won the bowen and hes being tainted 4 a player yet to play his first rdfl game.with all this sprooking kilmore better succeed

Couple of stories you fellas might like to read.

Blues sign two more

by Matt Nicholls

KILMORE Football Club continues to keep the Riddell District Football League on its toes, with all the talk around football circles focusing on the Blues.
Touted as the big improvers in 2008, the Blues further enhanced their prospects on Monday night by signing on two more high quality players, a tall and a small.
Alan Carroll, who has played much of his career at Craigieburn, is expected to hold down a ruck or key position role for the Blues.
Having been one of Craigieburn’s better players in recent years, it is expected by Kilmore senior coach Campbell Speers that he will take some stopping by the opposition.
The other recruit is in-and-under midfielder Mo Kaakour, who played with West Coburg in the Essendon District Football League last year.
Built similarly to Daniel Bonnici, who was recruited to Sunbury Kangaroos last year and won the Riddell District Football League’s best and fairest award, Speers believes that Kaakour is a level above the Bowen medallist.
Carroll and Kaakour join the likes of Ken Ingram, Ben Pronk and Stephen Sapiano as new senior recruits.
While yet to sign, former Blues champ Robbie Wittmer has done most pre-season sessions with the Blues, and it is believed Speers has a couple more players up his sleeve.
While the limelight will obviously be on the recruits in pre-season and in the early stages of the home and away rounds, if Kilmore is to really challenge for its first premiership in seven years, the Blues will need their local talent to shine.
Looking good at the Blues’ first training session after Christmas on Monday night were last year’s vice-captain Adam Goudge and erratic midfield/forward Travis Hede.
Also impressing on the track were last year’s seniors Linton Kemp, Dave Cornish, Brad Colliver, Glen Barnes, Dave Saunders, Mick Altas and Damian Barton.
With last year’s captain Matt Robertson yet to commit to the Blues or any other football club, it is likely that Kilmore will have a new leadership group this year.
Whatever happens, it seems that Speers’ motto, “2008 – The time is now for Kilmore”, is certainly ringing in the ears of his players, who appear desperate for success this winter.

Magpies ready to swoop

by Matt Nicholls

WITH just 86 days to go until the first round of the Riddell District Football League, Wallan Football Club - the new kids on the block – is gearing up for what promises to be a successful first year back in the competition.
Under the coaching regime of Mark Pedersen, the Magpies have finals in their sights, a feat the club was unable to achieve in the past six years competing in the Diamond Valley Football League (now NorthernFL).
Having been accepted back into the RDFL, Wallan president Neal Langborne said that the club is looking forward to renewing old rivalries with the likes of Kilmore, Romsey, Woodend-Hesket and Lancefield.
Along with Pedersen, the Magpies have a new look coaching panel in all grades, with veteran Brett Keenan taking over the reserves role, and former Preston VFA player Mark Newman coaching the Under 18s.
Prior to Christmas, training attendances were sensational, with over 60 players attending training.
Rather than the gruelling running regime implemented by many coaches in pre-season, the footballs were the focus from session one, with Pedersen emphasising that both skill and fitness will be required in 2008.
A number of former players have committed to return to Wallan this year, and a number of new recruits also look likely to join the Magpies’ nest – all of which will be revealed when clearances open on February 1.
Langborne said there was a new enthusiasm around the club, with the players looking forward to returning to the RDFL, brand new change rooms, and the addition of netball teams.
Another challenge for the Magpies will be converting their thirds from Under 19 level to Under 18s.
Langborne said the club will welcome as many young players as possible to Greenhill Reserve.
While some clubs struggled to field competitive netball sides last season, Wallan looks likely to field two strong teams in 2008, with over 25 girls expressing interest in playing with the Magpies.
A netball coach has yet to be appointed and any interested can still apply by sending an application to PO Box 127, Wallan VIC 3756. Applications close on February 5.
Langborne said club is in need for some additional trainers. Those interested should contact football manager Andy Astbury on 0447 564 710. Remuneration is negotiable
Pre-season training for football resumes at 6pm on Wednesday, January 30.

Have heard on the grapevine, that their are a couple of unhappy campers in K'town, with the recent shopping taking place. The term this one individual used was "Killing the Kids". Sounds like some of these blokes would be better of playing in the clubs super rules side.

the bloke just won the bowen and hes being tainted 4 a player yet to play his first rdfl game.with all this sprooking kilmore better succeed
Spot on ! That is the worst call from a coach i have ever heard and ive never seen either of these blokes play.

Have heard on the grapevine, that their are a couple of unhappy campers in K'town, with the recent shopping taking place. The term this one individual used was "Killing the Kids". Sounds like some of these blokes would be better of playing in the clubs super rules side.
Again Spot on ! Why all the excitement over a 42 year old forward, apparently on decent coin ?

Interesting read in the Midland Express today Kyneton coach naming Danny Harrison and Ben Sullivan as some of Kyneton's new signed recruits???

good feeling around the club i havent heard any bad reviews.
on little mo kaakour, well hes twice come runner up in EDFL Div 1 league best and fairest, so i guess he must be able to play.
robbie whittmer played with both kaakour and bonicci at east keilor and he belives both very similar but kaakour a better player.
also pretty confident that my mate robbie will play for the blues

Speers has obviously seen both play at a good level so would be able to make a judgement. He wasn't canning Bonnici, just talking up Kaakour.

Never heard anything like that. My opinion of killing kids is playing 18-20 of them in the one senior side without much experience around them. With some of the recruits coming to the Blues it will only help nuture the young ones there. Plus they haven't had an Under 18s side for years so its a bit hard to make that comment.

Again Spot on ! Why all the excitement over a 42 year old forward, apparently on decent coin ?

Kenny is away on holidays and will attend his first Kilmore session on Monday. I think he'll be good for the club, if he can play 13-14 games and kick 50 goals and coach some of the Blues' young forwards. He knows Speersy pretty well.

Interesting read in the Midland Express today Kyneton coach naming Danny Harrison and Ben Sullivan as some of Kyneton's new signed recruits???

Read that at 6am this morning and thought that was interesting. Kyneton do have a history of spruiking about recruits early though.

Having played with Bonnici at EK and against Kaakour (who played @ West Coburg), it's a hard call.
Dan was more of a forward pocket/pinch-hit on the ball when i played @ EK with him, but has obviously developed into a prominent on-baller @ RDFL level.
Mo was always a hard-running, skillful midfielder who was definately in the upper-echelon of mids in EDFL A Grade-which is excellent local footy.

As for Harrison and Sullivan, i too have heard they were keen to go to Kyneton to play with the Tiggers, but i'd be suprised if Dip and Sparra would ever let that happen.

On Morgan, i think he would be silly to skip a year of footy. He is 26 and if he gets his body right, well we all know what he's capable of. There is plenty of time to not play footy later in life!!!!!

good feeling around the club i havent heard any bad reviews.
on little mo kaakour, well hes twice come runner up in EDFL Div 1 league best and fairest, so i guess he must be able to play.
robbie whittmer played with both kaakour and bonicci at east keilor and he belives both very similar but kaakour a better player.
also pretty confident that my mate robbie will play for the blues

kaakour won a b&f at east keilor a few years back playing with bonicci
played at west coburg last year have herad very big raps on the man
can only be good for the comp

yeah thats one of the reasons why i wrote you as biggest sliders.
and if sunbury are making the GF as i wrote that they would become runners up theyre hardly going to be the biggest sliders. going from not making the granny to being the runners up is not a slide at all.
it was just my opinion though. its too early to accurately call what will happen in season 08.

yeah thats one of the reasons why i wrote you as biggest sliders.
and if sunbury are making the GF as i wrote that they would become runners up theyre hardly going to be the biggest sliders. going from not making the granny to being the runners up is not a slide at all.
it was just my opinion though. its too early to accurately call what will happen in season 08.

I stand corrected, I had over looked your prediction for the "Runner Up" as it was so sublty pointed out to me by Bulldogs08, who suggested that I learn to read. Given the fact that I have now completed a short course in "How To Read - For Dummies" and have just finished my first novel "See Spot Run", I have re-read your post and you are correct. I was merely trying to find some reasoning behind your opinion. I think everything is cleared up now. Thanks.

P.S. I have also enrolled Bulldogs08 into a course I saw on the Bulletin Board - "Grammar and Punctuation - The relationship between man and pen".

I stand corrected, I had over looked your prediction for the "Runner Up" as it was so sublty pointed out to me by Bulldogs08, who suggested that I learn to read. Given the fact that I have now completed a short course in "How To Read - For Dummies" and have just finished my first novel "See Spot Run", I have re-read your post and you are correct. I was merely trying to find some reasoning behind your opinion. I think everything is cleared up now. Thanks.

P.S. I have also enrolled Bulldogs08 into a course I saw on the Bulletin Board - "Grammar and Punctuation - The relationship between man and pen".
what would i use a pen for i have a keyboard. see if there is a course in "grammer and puncuation" - the relationship between man and keyboard, enroll me and let me know the dates. i would love all the help i can get. cheers your friend bulldogs08.