RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Awesome to see two clubs with the best away facilities in the league get finals...I wish all away rooms could be like Melton and Romsey's! :D

Extremely disappointing decision on a number of levels & a huge gamble awarding Woodend a final,... any final.

1. The ground will be a quagmire if we have so much as a heavy dew in the preceding weeks leading up to the game. :confused:

2. That the Board would take such a punt again, after last seasons debacle smacks of self interest & influence on a grand scale ! :eek:

3. That a Club can be rewarded with a Final after the way their supporters carried on in last years finals series defies belief ! :eek:

4. That the Board would show a total disregard for the "PAYING" spectator & fixture finals at dodgy venues that will serve up an inferior brand of footy - ie, Mud Wrestling, is bizarre ! :mad::eek:

Its blatantly obvious whats gone down here, the "FIX" is in !
Politics & Appeasement has taken precedence over the common sense approach of putting on the BEST SHOW on the BEST VENUES. :mad::mad::mad::mad:

Looks like everyone loses once again........... Oh that is except the usual suspects. $$$$$$$$$$$$ :cool:
Who are the losers??? And who are the usual suspects????

Awesome to see two clubs with the best away facilities in the league get finals...I wish all away rooms could be like Melton and Romsey's! :D

Hey dont forget the pleasurable experience that has been going on for the better part of 50 years, of showering in a shin deep muddy wading pool full of detritus that awaits those at Gilbert Gordon !

Been there on the Saturday in the past to help set up, when you were a player at Lancefield, Matthew?

Played three years of Under 18s there and another 2 years of ressies. Won the coaches award back in 2005 (i think) because I was the only bloke to play every game in the twos that season! :D

I wouldn't be spruiking about this too much. Coaches awards are usually awarded to the nuffy of the team, the one who usually sits on the bench all game and doesn't whinge about getting on the field. More like a 'Feel sorry for you" award!!

If you ever saw me play I am an absoulte nuffy!!! Although I did have one "Nichollenko" moment :p

Hey dont forget the pleasurable experience that has been going on for the better part of 50 years, of showering in a shin deep muddy wading pool full of detritus that awaits those at Gilbert Gordon !
geez, and I thought the english were whingers. sounds like u got something against woodend, and pull ur head in about the crowd behaviour at last yrs finals, there were three supporter bases in the wrong not one.

Got absolutely nothing against Woodend (used to play there once upon a time) just THAT ground at this time of year ! Yuk.

& how about you pull both of your heads in & stop shovelling the "Party Line" sport !...... I know what I saw & who started it, at Romsey that day & also the carry on at Kilmore the week before..... Disgaceful :thumbsdown:

Got absolutely nothing against Woodend (used to play there once upon a time) just THAT ground at this time of year ! Yuk.

& how about you pull both of your heads in & stop shovelling the "Party Line" sport !...... I know what I saw & who started it, at Romsey that day & also the carry on at Kilmore the week before..... Disgaceful :thumbsdown:
Was ay romsey also, completely adjacent, not sure what u mean by party line
:confused:

Don't be too sure about the RDFL finals series venues just yet.

My mail says Macedon put in a tender for a PRELIMINARY FINAL only.

The RDFL board gave them the semi, which they are UNABLE to host.

So the Cats told them to stick it.

Be interesting to see what happens now. Perhaps they could play a Saturday-Sunday double header at Woodend? Wouldn't that be a spectacle?

Don't be too sure about the RDFL finals series venues just yet.

My mail says Macedon put in a tender for a PRELIMINARY FINAL only.

The RDFL board gave them the semi, which they are UNABLE to host.

So the Cats told them to stick it.

Be interesting to see what happens now. Perhaps they could play a Saturday-Sunday double header at Woodend? Wouldn't that be a spectacle?
how come they couldnt host it, pickles

I hear because they didn't tender for it. (a semi that is )
They tendered for the Prelim' Final.
They didn't get it, so that should be the end of the story..... no consolation prizes necessary thank you very much !

And good on em for having a crack without any inside help.

I hear because they didn't tender for it. (a semi that is )
They tendered for the Prelim' Final.
They didn't get it, so that should be the end of the story..... no consolation prizes necessary thank you very much !

And good on em for having a crack without any inside help.
Who's on the inside from each club that are hosting finals? Name, names if you are going to post comments like that.

According to my source at Tony Clarke Oval, the Cats' sums suggested hosting a semi-final was about "break even". Considering they were competing with Woodend that weekend, no one would have gone because everyone loves watching footy at the swamp called Gilbert Gordon Oval.

I'm not sure who Gilbert Gordon was, but I'm sure he'd rest in peace a lot easier knowing he didn't have a quagmire named after him.

All this debate about grounds will go away if the RDFL can set up like the BalFL. Like the AFL the team that that finished higher gets the home final. The only debate would be where will the Grand Final be played. Which should be Lancefield or Macedon. The clubs that earned the right to have a final reap the $$$. If you did not earn a final then you can not sook about not having a final.

I would have though Nicholls would be red carded after knocking out IMS out of the RDFL Super Coach.

good on macedon for telling the rdfl to stick the semi.

the pit full of diesease they call woodends home ground should never be allowed to host any of the leagues show case games.
year in year out they request no home games for the last month or so of the home and away season so as their sess pool can be right for a final look what happened last year it was an absolute disgrace.
why not share the finals to the 3 best grounds in the comp, romsey , lancefield and macedon.
profits could be split amongst all clubs and that way finals would be played at the best venues with the best atmosphere

Looking at teams to compete in the finals, you would have to say Macedon FC would be a very big chance of playing in a preliminary final, That would be a massive plus to hosting it, how many games have they lost at home this year? It would almost certainly help them into a Grand Final.
Of course they would not be happy with missing an opportunity such as this, if true about telling the league to stick it, it sounds very childish. The league needs clubs to support the league to host finals, I think it was about 5 or 6 years ago the League supported Macedon with a way to return to the RDFL.

Looking at teams to compete in the finals, you would have to say Macedon FC would be a very big chance of playing in a preliminary final, That would be a massive plus to hosting it, how many games have they lost at home this year? It would almost certainly help them into a Grand Final.
Of course they would not be happy with missing an opportunity such as this, if true about telling the league to stick it, it sounds very childish. The league needs clubs to support the league to host finals, I think it was about 5 or 6 years ago the League supported Macedon with a way to return to the RDFL.

Its not being childish. If you go to an auction and bid on a Ferrari and lose, they don't give you a Ford Falcon as a consolation.

Macedon put in a tender for a prelim only. Why should they be forced to host a semi when they didn't ask for one? The Cats are not bitter about missing out on a prelim, they just don't know how the RDFL can try and force them into hosting something they didn't put their hand up for.

As for the 5 or 6 years ago stuff, I agree the RDFL helped them out. But too much water has gone under the bridge to keep referring back to those days.

Are we going to get to a stage in 2021 where the RDFL are still trying to use that to barter with them? I think not. The league is different now, the club is different and it should be forgotten.

What a ridiculous question !
How stupid do you think I am ?
You go get the names pal, then join the dots...... then you can name em on here....... it aint hard.
The fact of the matter is, Clubs don't have people 'ON THE IN'. They apply for final by way of tender, then they are notified if they are successful or not. So don't make baseless accusations, if you are not prepared to or can't justify them with answers!!!!!!