RDFL Thread 2009

Anyone here from Kilmore? will Trent Kelly be a regular in the seniors?

Trent Kelly is in the army reserves this yr so is taking a break from the footy unfortunately...would dare say he would of been a firsts regular this season at Kilmore but i think he would have been eligible for the U/18 and a halfs as well this yr...

Riddell were victors over Gordon in a pretty easy hit out at Bomber Oval today, winning 14. 11. 95. to 6. 10. 46.

Players to catch the eye were Jason Allen, Darcy Grant, Lockie Testro, Murray McDougall, Ben Sonegan, Chris Meacham (with a lazy 6 or 7 majors) & the ever reliable Buzzy Jelleville in the mid field.

Unfortunately for the rest of the competition the Bombers look like they will still be a force in the RDFL in 09 !

Riddell were victors over Gordon in a pretty easy hit out at Bomber Oval today, winning 14. 11. 95. to 6. 10. 46.

Players to catch the eye were Jason Allen, Darcy Grant, Lockie Testro, Murray McDougall, Ben Sonegan, Chris Meacham (with a lazy 6 or 7 majors) & the ever reliable Buzzy Jelleville in the mid field.

Unfortunately for the rest of the competition the Bombers look like they will still be a force in the RDFL in 09 !

Rockbank beat Gordon in a praccy match last week or the week before too. What basis for your suggestion that Riddell will remain a force in 09 Omni?

I was just looking through the clearances and noticed that Sipthorps clearance was refused back in feb, it has not since been re lodged or approved. Is he staying put at Woodend? is he giving footy a miss this year or has his clearance not been updated on the website?

Rockbank beat Gordon in a praccy match last week or the week before too. What basis for your suggestion that Riddell will remain a force in 09 Omni?

Cause I dont wanna have my house burnt down & be run outa town at the pointy end of a fire arm !!!!! :eek:

No no seriously they still tick all the boxes to be a very successful unit, move the ball very quickly & skillfully, & have a formidable focal point up forward.
They may not be a 20 goal better side than the rest of the comp' this season (which aint such a bad thing) but as I have said previously the much publicised departures will provide an opportunity for others to step up & play some good footy, which I witnessed a little of today. :thumbsu:

Seems to be on the agenda of some out that way.

This is just hearsay/rumour. We've no intention of leaving the the RDFL.
It's never been discussed at Committee level, the President, Secretary or myself haven't even mentioned it in passing.

Honestly this is the first of I've heard of it...

IMO I think NFL are probably on the lookout for some sides to fill their new Div 3, however we won't be one of them.

Apparently won by about 12 goals James. Very quiet down back for broady for the day apparently, which boades well for you. Butterworth turned in a pretty solid performance in his new strip as did a little fella they were calling Joffa.

The Young guns of the RDFL Academy took on AFL Cairns at Riddell on Sunday winning in a hard and tough battle by 84 Points
Skipper Myles Doorman was impressive, kicking six majors and setting up 3-4 others.

“His presence at the contest is amazing for a smaller guy, his ability to read the play and use the ball effectively is second to none” said Coach Glenn Elliott

“Myles has the ability to bring others in the game and whilst he managed to kick half a doze, he easily assisted in 3 to 4 others.
acad-1.jpg

Macedon Bigman Peter Markworth showed he is going to be the premier centre half forward in the Buffalo Sports Under 18 cup in 2009 with a dominate display up the field.

“Markworth lead well up the field, he was able to open the forward line up for Myles and Sunbury Kangaroos key forward Matthew Leonard, taking strong pack marks up the wing and centre half forward” added Elliott

“Markworth, Doorman and Leonard kicked 10 goals between, they all come from different clubs, but you would have thought today they had been playing together for years” said Elliott.
The backline stood up well under pressure, Romsey’s Jamie Michael proving to be important in all the RDFL thrusts forward.

“Jamie is a 16 year old kid who is playing seniors, he continues to improve, has exceptional leadership capabilities and is one of the guys who has benifted greatly out of the academy program over the past two years” said Elliott.

All the attention turns to the RDFL 18’s schedule that includes games against the BFL and SFL in May and June.
acad-6.jpg

Final Scores

RDFL Academy 17-14-116 to AFL Cairns 5-2.32

Best players
Doorman (Lancefield), Pugsley (Riddell), Markworth (Macedon), Phillips (Kilmore) Healy (Lancefield), Nolan (Riddell), Deprada (Sunbury Jnrs).

Goal Kickers
Doorman 6, Pugsley 2, Leonard 2, Markworth 2, Reid 2, Healy 1, Phillips 1 and House 1

Any practise matches on easter weekend boys?
Just trying to get a bit of a summary of whats gone on so far fellas
havent been able to go see any games cause of work but I hear our boys at Woodsy going along nicely.
I spose a few blokes will be keeping it a bit quiet but just intrested if any new players standing out or any young blokes stepping up. Good to see the rdfl team have a winn.
How have Lancefield and Romsey gone in there practise matches? and also havent heard much from Centrals apart from that four team comp they played. Riddell beat Gordon in one game, do they play another?
thanks

Any practise matches on easter weekend boys?
Just trying to get a bit of a summary of whats gone on so far fellas
havent been able to go see any games cause of work but I hear our boys at Woodsy going along nicely.
I spose a few blokes will be keeping it a bit quiet but just intrested if any new players standing out or any young blokes stepping up. Good to see the rdfl team have a winn.
How have Lancefield and Romsey gone in there practise matches? and also havent heard much from Centrals apart from that four team comp they played. Riddell beat Gordon in one game, do they play another?
thanks

l.carroll and m.carroll back at the redbacks and b.richmond gone can anyone confirm????

BM SPORTS AFL CLINIC
Hi all, just to let all parents know that BM Sports have rescheduled there AFL clinic to the 16th and 17th of Friday, from 8:30am to 3:00pm at Soldiers Reserve Werribee for children aged 7 to 13. Due to the change of dates and any inconvenience caused, we have reduced the normal price of $80 a day or $140 for the two days to $50 a day or $90 for the two days. It includes skill training, morning tea, drinks plus specialised training by senior Werribee FC players including Rob Castello and Dom Gleeson over both days. For more information call 0422 938 708 or 0434 949 159.

Prietty quiet on the forum at the moment i thought it might have been pretty busy leading up to round one. Everyone must be away on holidays like em!
Are matt nicholls or itsmyshow going to have a go at a top 50 again its always intersting to see and also might be a good time for everyon to do a premership pick and bowen medla pick.
Good news for the redbacks with carroll boys returning, could they be a chance to make finals this season.

Prietty quiet on the forum at the moment i thought it might have been pretty busy leading up to round one. Everyone must be away on holidays like em!
Are matt nicholls or itsmyshow going to have a go at a top 50 again its always intersting to see and also might be a good time for everyon to do a premership pick and bowen medla pick.
Good news for the redbacks with carroll boys returning, could they be a chance to make finals this season.

no one posts much on here anymore sunqvist for fear of being barred or having there post removed , the thread has gone down hill massively, it use to be one of the first threads i would read but now only have to check it once every few days as no one at all posts on it anymore

Brydon Morgan back from Queensland last week, straight to Romsey

Heard a whisper that new Bendigo Leauge side Strathfieldsaye meeting could be on the cards with him, there are links up there with Nick Dwyer assistant coach and former Romsey young gun Ben Richmond playing there(he was great on saturday kicking 4 goals from what the herald sun reads) they seem to be in a very good financial position and reckon it would make for a interesting chat!! ONLY A RUMOR AT THIS STAGE THOUGH!!!!!!!!

I got my hands on a DVD of Saturday's game and the new Bendigo side looks ultra impressive. It makes Kyneton's efforts even sadder considering they have been shit in the BFL for just about 10 years now and Strathfieldsaye come along and get up and running straight away.

Wouldn't be surprised if Morgan went to the Storm, although Romsey are also financial and could probably match a lot of offers. I'm tipping he'll end up at the Redbacks simply because it's his spiritual home and wouldn't need to prove anything to his peers and opponents.

The answer to your whisper about Morgs is in the RDFL clearances, good luck to Richo ,huge potential big loss for the Redbacks

So OEB can i safely assume that you are stoked to have Morgs back after the following pot shots you had at him last year.....?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneeyedblue
:thumbsu: best thing to happen at Romsey was Morgan putting in for a clearence dont have to listen to him sook

Quote:
Morgan can play footy when he wants to, but his body language and attitude towards his team mates leaves a lot to be desired .Romsey has a lot of very good young players coming through and i seriously believe the club is better off without his negativity

Quote:
what makes Morgan a great player he plays about 5 good games a year

Quote:
we will soon see if Morgans departure will make the difference you seem to think it will ,his replacment more than capable

Quote:
can anyone tell me if Brydan Morgan (Heathcote) has pulled a heart muscle yet