RDFL Thread 2009

In my eyes, if a player is tackled and tries to kick it, but does not make contact, that is dropping the ball. This doesn't seem to get paid, made an attempt is always the call, please explain how an attempt is a disposal. He dropped the ball, I think it is as simple as that.

The way that the laws are currently written, an umpire is not able to reward a good or great tackle, but is only allowed to penalise the player for not disposing of the ball correctly or in a timely manner.

The key points are, in order:

1. Was the tackle legitimate?

2. Did the player have a prior opportunity to dispose the ball?

3. Did the tackle knock the ball out?

4. Has the player had an opportunity to dispose of the ball once tackled?

If the answers fall the right way, then the player with the ball can be penalised.

If the player makes a legitimate attempt, and the tackle knocks the ball clear, then it is play on.

The spirit of the rules seek to ensure that the player that makes the play is given every opportunity to do so.

In saying all of this however, this scenario occurs within a 1/2 second, and before the umpire has been able to assess the criteria the ball has more often than not moved on. If the ball is moving on, then the umpire would be criticised for being too technical if they called the play back all the time.

I hear your frustrations, and this is what makes it difficult in umpiring our great game!!!

Regarding the RDFL and netball.
Some one needs to do something about the umpire for A grade at Broadford. The fact that she called the sunbury girls BITCHES and that they should learn how to play netball is well and truly disgraceful. Not to mention the face that this umpire is the most biast 1 i have ever seen. Can anyone tell me how an umpire can advance every call for there teem yet not advance 1 for the other?????

THe Broadford A grade unpire advanced all but the first call, and all in favoure of Broardford and not once for Sunbury. How can this be allowed??? Then to say that all the Sunbury girls are BITCHES. And need to learn how to play the game.

Its about time the league steps in and does something NOW

And by the way according to the women the RDL netball is CRAP...
Can someone explain

ims how come you tell the netballers they cant say anything about the umpires/ officals but never said anything when kenny copped a bagging on here consistant i think not..:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

I was at the riddell v rockbank game on saturday and let me tell you riddell didnt have that convincing of a win as people are saying.
They are a very good team and it showed at the end of the game with them eventually winning. with that rockbank play a very aggressive style of footy which showed on saturday and even riddell had to step up a notch to overcome the pressure.

There were reports of a number of players that were not going to be available for riddell on the weekend, they wern't as short as everyone had predicted, i only noticed two of there key players missing.

Rockbank will cause alot of headaches for alot of teams this year if they keep this level of intensity up and even will push some of the stronger teams to the line. proving this against lancefield and now riddell.

I think the game showed 2 things.
1. Rams are still a long way off it.
2. We all knew Riddell are going to very hard to beat. They proved they have great depth which all great teams need.

They have odds on sportbet for the Ballarat and Bendigo Leagues. If they ran one on the RDFL Riddell would be very short.

Never said the Rams would be up there just that they've improved a sh*t load on last year. Macedon faired better than the Rams last year and are building even further on that. Good on em for being top spot too.

The fun and sh*t stirring has disappered from the thread.
Political correctness gone mad.

Dont blame me !! I love that sort of stuff too. :thumbsu:

Spare a thought for poor old Matty too !

I know the rules on here backwards, & I cant find it anywhere that refereing to some one as a Westpac Banker gets you rubbed out for LIFE !!!
Maybe he should have shifted his allegiances to the Roos & he would have been ok !!! :cool:

Dont blame me !! I love that sort of stuff too. :thumbsu:

Spare a thought for poor old Matty too !

I know the rules on here backwards, & I cant find it anywhere that refereing to some one as a Westpac Banker gets you rubbed out for LIFE !!!
Maybe he should have shifted his allegiances to the Roos & he would have been ok !!! :cool:

:eek::eek::eek:

I have read this thread for 2 years now and found it a laugh and interesting. Although there is one person in particular - Kings Army - who seems to talk utter rubbish. Kings Army gets his thrills out of stirring the pot - which I'm sure he will from this post.

He calls serge a friend, kings army is a person who has never gone anywhere in his football career so he chooses to dag from Serge's a*se and hangs on every word he says. And the answer to your question Blues 21 is that he was married and I'm sure as no surprise to anyone she left him...

I have just returned from Port Douglas it was a lovely wedding that was organised a very long time ago.

Riddell FC is not run by "The Power's" but a strong committee which was evident over the past 2 weeks, when serval "Power's" were on holidays attending a family wedding. Riddell have respect for all clubs in the RDFL and it is people like Kings Army who start these rumors. Riddell FC know only too well how hard it is to run a club, they folded not that long ago.

With no disrespect to Woodend FC but on thursday night the President, Football manager, Senisor Coach, Senior Assistant Coach, Reserve Assistant Coach and No.1 recuit will not be at training, due to a funeral. (Do you think they sat around a table and planned that one aswell)

Kings Army you are truely a stupid little boy!

I've also been reading big footy for the last couple of years and let me say the RDFL thread has gone soft . How much has the boss of the league got to do with this . A mate just told me that the the league may fined people $1000 if they criticize them or any of it's members on this forum. What a joke! BEWARE IF YOU CARE.
RDFL RULE 19, THATS JUST WRONG.

I have read this thread for 2 years now and found it a laugh and interesting. Although there is one person in particular - Kings Army - who seems to talk utter rubbish. Kings Army gets his thrills out of stirring the pot - which I'm sure he will from this post.

He calls serge a friend, kings army is a person who has never gone anywhere in his football career so he chooses to dag from Serge's a*se and hangs on every word he says. And the answer to your question Blues 21 is that he was married and I'm sure as no surprise to anyone she left him...

I have just returned from Port Douglas it was a lovely wedding that was organised a very long time ago.

Riddell FC is not run by "The Power's" but a strong committee which was evident over the past 2 weeks, when serval "Power's" were on holidays attending a family wedding. Riddell have respect for all clubs in the RDFL and it is people like Kings Army who start these rumors. Riddell FC know only too well how hard it is to run a club, they folded not that long ago.

With no disrespect to Woodend FC but on thursday night the President, Football manager, Senisor Coach, Senior Assistant Coach, Reserve Assistant Coach and No.1 recuit will not be at training, due to a funeral. (Do you think they sat around a table and planned that one aswell)

Kings Army you are truely a stupid little boy!

I was sick of reading the netball thread as the netballers were the only ones posting. If anyone would believe that Mark and Matt would pick a wedding date for Ants beacuse of who their teams were playing then they would also believe the rumour that gulible has been removed from the dictionary.

Next time we cross paths ask to look at my phone - I can show you the messages sent form Serge asking me to post on here. I hang on ever word? Are you 4? Been friends with Power long before he was involved in football.

You also have gone no where in your football career so don't get on here and pretend your Kevin Sheedy.

I've also been reading big footy for the last couple of years and let me say the RDFL thread has gone soft . How much has the boss of the league got to do with this . A mate just told me that the the league may fined people $1000 if they criticize them or any of it's members on this forum. What a joke! BEWARE IF YOU CARE.
RDFL RULE 19, THATS JUST WRONG.

They will send you a warning via private message first. If you keep pushing who knows. The message is fairly strong. Have not heard of anyone having things taken further. RDFL is not the only league that do this.

Guys/Girls,

Remember Big Footy is a form of media, the only difference is we are the reporters. As the league doesn't want to be advertised in a negative way the rule was brought in, and fair enough. How many followers have spent years defending peoples opinions that our league was crap due to what ever reasons.

I have been guilty of typing before thinking before, but we need to think before we type. It is our clubs that will come under fire, alias or not.

RDFL Rule 19 (m) is quite clear which say:

“No member club, club official, or registered player, trainer or umpire shall, through any form of the media, criticise the League, any official of the League, the Independent Tribunal, any other member club or the League’s rules and regulations. In default, any such member shall be deemed to have brought the League into disrepute and after the member is given an opportunity to be heard by the League Executive, can be fined up to $1000”

They will send you a warning via private message first. If you keep pushing who knows. The message is fairly strong. Have not heard of anyone having things taken further. RDFL is not the only league that do this.

wrong!!!!:d

What part of the post is wrong?

I think it is more of who takes offence, a moderator may think it is not bad, but then the league may, if the later, you will more than likely hear from your club or league. If the moderator thinks it is an infraction he will PM you.

I have had a league boss contact myself directly through a private message in regard to leagal action. Would you like me to forward? It is great reading.

The problem is how can a league boss know who is posting? Accounts are created and the password passed around. Should not happen but I have heard it does.

I have had a league boss contact myself directly through a private message in regard to leagal action. Would you like me to forward? It is great reading.

The problem is how can a league boss know who is posting? Accounts are created and the password passed around. Should not happen but I have heard it does.

Just reading all about this. i cant beleive a league boss made contact over this issue and legal action was mentioned what if you didnt belong to a club does this apply to people who dont what a joke get real and take some criticism and as for accounts,passwords getting passed around will legal action be mentioned about privacy laws on this thread cmon guys get back to footy news

Firstly, I believe the legal term is 'slander', and you don't need to belong to a club to be sued for that. Secondly, when you sign on to BF you tick the T&C's. Part of those is that you are responsible for any post made under the user name you create. If you release the password to someone else, that's your bad luck. If they shoot their mouth off on here using your account, you are responsible. You can argue, jump up and down and declare your innocence, but it's black and white. And, finally, in this day and age, tracing your IP address is not that difficult if they really want to.

But you're right, footy would be a better topic.:thumbsu:

Firstly, I believe the legal term is 'slander', and you don't need to belong to a club to be sued for that. Secondly, when you sign on to BF you tick the T&C's. Part of those is that you are responsible for any post made under the user name you create. If you release the password to someone else, that's your bad luck. If they shoot their mouth off on here using your account, you are responsible. You can argue, jump up and down and declare your innocence, but it's black and white. And, finally, in this day and age, tracing your IP address is not that difficult if they really want to.

But you're right, footy would be a better topic.:thumbsu:
Cmon Fella's lets get back to Talking Footy, i think the league is doing a good job, everyone is entitled to their opinion. The teams are getting stronger which is paving the way for an even comp, just the thing we are all looking for. Great news Rockbank are no longer easy beats, no more easy games.

To get back to the topic of football, here is a question.

As clubs are now aware, umpires are hard to come by at the moment and most Reserve and U 18 games are played without official boundary umpires. The policy to date has been for the field umpire to bring the ball in 15m and throw it up.

What is the feeling about this? Is this acceptable? Should clubs be told to provide a boundary umpire?

I was at a game on the weekend where clubs complained about it, but didn't offer to provide a boundary.

To get back to the topic of football, here is a question.

As clubs are now aware, umpires are hard to come by at the moment and most Reserve and U 18 games are played without official boundary umpires. The policy to date has been for the field umpire to bring the ball in 15m and throw it up.

What is the feeling about this? Is this acceptable? Should clubs be told to provide a boundary umpire?

I was at a game on the weekend where clubs complained about it, but didn't offer to provide a boundary.

I think they should supply them they have before why shouldnt they now to many bad calls i was at a game on weekend and watched the ball go over line 5 times and was called good by players who were in possession of the ball could cause problems why cant league offer some sort of remuneration to clubs the same as umpires get paid to run boundary would save a lot of problems