RDFL Thread 2009

My apologies i didn't count the names, If you read my first post i said for making the 09 under 18 Interleague squad. One would assume that the Final Team would be done on monday night after training.

sorry for trying to get back to talking football

Your first post read "will play" that was what I was questioning, then if the team had been picked. No prob with talking footy just making it factual.

I know that Macedon ha been selected as the venue to host, with the new social rooms and outdoor netball court, it is sure to be one of the best venues. Central for the RDFL but a fair trip for those from the Southern league.

I believe the squads will be released on monday.
I think Shane Geddes name was mentioned as coach but i'm not 100%.

Hopefully the ground softens between now and when the game is on.

Geddes has been seen at various games.

Good luck to the 3 Romsey boys playing their 100th this week, Brydan morgan, Ryan "yak" Connllan, and Luke Carroll.

Romsey will be red hot to cheer off those 3 in fashion..

Go redbacks!

Yeah good luck to the 3, all good players with the redbacks over a numberof years.
Tips for me on my 2 teams.
Hawks will go very close against riddell. sources tell me training this week has been best all season & a couple of good players should be back in.
Cats will struggle this week cause injuries & flu have hit apparently. if they get within 4 goals of flying roos id be happy but if they win i will be officially jumping on the wagon for 09

I don't care what people say, the Romsey vs Lancefield rivalry is THE BIGGEST in the RDFL.

I've been going to these derbies since I was a toddler and there is certainly no love lost when these two clubs meet. The crowds always come out for these contests and they have been the pioneers for Sunday "blockbusters" at local footy level.

No matter how each side is travelling on the ladder, you can always guarantee a red hot contest when the Redbacks and Tigers face off. Sure, the biff has gone from both sides of the fence, but that can only be a good thing. Instead of seeing club legends like Dipietro and Lakey trying to knock each others' blocks off, we've got the likes of Connellan and Conway busting their guts for the contested footy, with Choatey and Morgan at ground level tustling for the next possession.

You could almost write a book on the history of the Romsey versus Lancefield contests. There would be plenty of old blokes with plenty of stories to tell from yesteryear.

Kilmore and Wallan is a good rivalry, but it just doesn't come close to Romsey vs Lancefield in my opinion. Macedon and Woodend-Hesket have tried, and not failed, but no one will get up to the level of the Redbacks and Tigers clashes.

For what it's worth, I'm tipping Romsey to lead narrowly at half time, but for Lancefield to finish strongly to overrun the Redbacks for a 10 point victory.

Omni’s Tips for Round 4.
(Last round 4, total 13 outa 18.)

Lancefield to just keep rolling along & have a very tough win over Romsey by 9 pts.

Diggers are GAWNNN ! & Hopkins has gotta be under the pump. Wallan to give them an old fashioned touch up at home by 45 pts.

Macedon to just have to much talent for a determined Sunbury outfit in what shapes up as one of the matches of the season thus far. Cats by 16 pts.

Melton should be able to make it two on the trot with a home victory over the hapless Broardford boys to the tune of 32 pts.

Well I have been wanting to do this for quite a while...............Rockbank, yes Rockbank at home to account for an inconsistant Kilmore group by 17 pts.

And last but not least, Riddell to just fall over the line against Woodend on the "Shifting Sands" that is Gilbert Gordon by 13 pts.

Good Luck to all Boys, enjoy yourselves & have fun !!! :thumbsu:[/quote]

Omni’s Tips for Round 4.
(Last round 4, total 13 outa 18.)

Lancefield to just keep rolling along & have a very tough win over Romsey by 9 pts.

Diggers are GAWNNN ! & Hopkins has gotta be under the pump. Wallan to give them an old fashioned touch up at home by 45 pts.

Macedon to just have to much talent for a determined Sunbury outfit in what shapes up as one of the matches of the season thus far. Cats by 16 pts.

Melton should be able to make it two on the trot with a home victory over the hapless Broardford boys to the tune of 32 pts.

Well I have been wanting to do this for quite a while...............Rockbank, yes Rockbank at home to account for an inconsistant Kilmore group by 17 pts.

And last but not least, Riddell to just fall over the line against Woodend on the "Shifting Sands" that is Gilbert Gordon by 13 pts.

Good Luck to all Boys, enjoy yourselves & have fun !!! :thumbsu:
[/quote]

Lancefield playing some really good footy and to beat Woodend is one thing, to beat them by 9 or 10 goals is another. Romsey played well last week but I got a stat from Diggers that Romsey got 10 goals directly from Burra turnovers. Still this is a big game and you would expect both teams to come out firing but I can't see the redbacks winning this one. Lancefield to easily account for Romsey - 67 points

I will assume Omni that you meant Fitzy is under his own mounting pressure to get a win......no one at the football club would question his position at this stage of the year. While I don't agree that there season is gone just yet, I do believe they face an up hill battle. Clearly the loss of Jezza Jose was a lot bigger then they expected. This game last year at Wallan was a cracker and I am tipping it will be the same only the result reversed. Wallan - 5 points

Good to see 1st v 2nd and it seems like this is going to be a cracker. Both teams are playing there best footy for a long time and I don't believe that this game is going to disappoint. So many key match ups here so little time to write. I'm thinking though the run of the cats will prove to be the deciding factor in this game. Macedon - 12 points

Sorry to both teams, but this game will not effect the final 6. Unfortunately for both teams I can't see them making the finals. The Centrals got a good win last week and Broadford seem to be struggling to find there feet in a new comp. Can only go on winning form for this game. Melton - 24 points.

What is going on at Kilmore? First week they come out and smash a team which everyone said they wouldn't get near, then the last 2 weeks have not been able to find that form again? I'm really glad to see the rams are very competitive this year and from all reports gave Riddell a run for there money by playing a very physical brand of football. I'm tipping the rams to go 2-2. Rockbank - 28 points

This a huge game for more then one reason. Woodend lose this and they go 1-3 which is going to make it tough on a team who have been so good over the last few years. Riddell keep going on there merry way and I think that they will be loving the fact that everyone is talking up Macedon and Sunbury. They are still the reigning premiers and they are undefeated and I am tipping they will stay that way. Riddell - 37 points

i noticed on the rdfl website the u/18 interleague squad names two players who dont even play in our u/18 competition.although they may be good footballers and play in our junior comp it would be a shame if two regular players at u/18 level in our comp missed out.does anyone really think that these two boys will play in our comp?i think not.

My tips for this weekend are:
Broadford to notch up their first win by 11 points.
Sunbury Kangaroos to defeat an injury depleted Cats by 3 points.
Lancefield to win against a fired up Romsey by 10 points.
Riddell to beat Woodend-Hesket by 31 points.
Wallan to sneak over the line against a slow Diggers Rest outfit by 19 points.
Rockbank and Kilmore to draw.

Where's my mate greenbac? And the other wallan posters from last year?

Looks like wallan will have their work cut out for them vs lancefield next week after their big win against romsey. They seem to be flying at the moment. Have heard that kilmore have got a stack of injuries at the moment too, anyone know how they went against the rams?

Centrals beat Broadford today 97 to 47. it was a great contest and i tell ya, those kangas can hit hard all day long! they were awesome in that area and i agree with a few earlier posts, those boys can run! also like to thank their senior team and a few of their supporters for sticking around after the game till late, we will pay you back! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

but i will mention something, not happy with a minority of their supporters who decided to light an open fire near the car park to keep them warm! who does that?! plus after we told them to put it out, they then lit it again. :mad: once they left, they didn't put it out and luckily we were able to put it out safely before any kids got near it.

also, what is the rdfl's policies about bringing bottles into venues? that's right, it's not allowed! poor form! wish the minority of members of the broadford footy club who did this took a leaf out of those boys who stuck around afterwards! sorry boys in the rdfl we support each other!

overall it was great a great day!

I don't care what people say, the Romsey vs Lancefield rivalry is THE BIGGEST in the RDFL.

I've been going to these derbies since I was a toddler and there is certainly no love lost when these two clubs meet. The crowds always come out for these contests and they have been the pioneers for Sunday "blockbusters" at local footy level.

No matter how each side is travelling on the ladder, you can always guarantee a red hot contest when the Redbacks and Tigers face off. Sure, the biff has gone from both sides of the fence, but that can only be a good thing. Instead of seeing club legends like Dipietro and Lakey trying to knock each others' blocks off, we've got the likes of Connellan and Conway busting their guts for the contested footy, with Choatey and Morgan at ground level tustling for the next possession.

You could almost write a book on the history of the Romsey versus Lancefield contests. There would be plenty of old blokes with plenty of stories to tell from yesteryear.

Kilmore and Wallan is a good rivalry, but it just doesn't come close to Romsey vs Lancefield in my opinion. Macedon and Woodend-Hesket have tried, and not failed, but no one will get up to the level of the Redbacks and Tigers clashes.

For what it's worth, I'm tipping Romsey to lead narrowly at half time, but for Lancefield to finish strongly to overrun the Redbacks for a 10 point victory.

What do you call a crowd for the Derby ? , One extra car coming in the gate for a grand total of Two cars. You were right about almost able to write a book these contests.(almost)

Centrals beat Broadford today 97 to 47. it was a great contest and i tell ya, those kangas can hit hard all day long! they were awesome in that area and i agree with a few earlier posts, those boys can run! also like to thank their senior team and a few of their supporters for sticking around after the game till late, we will pay you back! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

but i will mention something, not happy with a minority of their supporters who decided to light an open fire near the car park to keep them warm! who does that?! plus after we told them to put it out, they then lit it again. :mad: once they left, they didn't put it out and luckily we were able to put it out safely before any kids got near it.

also, what is the rdfl's policies about bringing bottles into venues? that's right, it's not allowed! poor form! wish the minority of members of the broadford footy club who did this took a leaf out of those boys who stuck around afterwards! sorry boys in the rdfl we support each other!

You go there Georgie !

They may well have been CFA members pal, getting a little practice in for next Summer ! :eek: :D

Back on the fires issue. Romsey almost always have fires in a barrel at their games, as do Woodend-Hesket and sometimes Macedon and Lancefield. Not sure what the Broadford folks lit their fires in (probably on the ground from your post George) but I don't have a problem with it if its done in a controlled manner. Not every club has the magnificent facilities Macedon has to watch footy behind glass, so the diehard supporters need to keep warm.

PS. Go FREO!

well done sunbury to get home by such a close margin. A well fought game and expecting a fierce matchup the next time these two meet. Good to see Macedon proving they are not just a one man forward line army with fleming having a quiet day forcing other forwards to step up to the plate and snag a few.

Would also like to comment on the level of composure and consistency from the umpires from the day. They let the play go free and only picked the blatenly obvious which was a refreshing outcome on letting the better team win off their own boot...

You may want to tell that to a few other clubs in the league, plenty of BYO stubbies being drank on the far side of Boardman by a few of the Macedon clan, that's not to mention a couple of them also having the audacity to do it standing in front of the bar.

As all club committee members would admit it is hard to stop it 100%, even our own do it, but we need to all stick together. If we know it is happening lets not turn the blind eye.

You may want to tell that to a few other clubs in the league, plenty of BYO stubbies being drank on the far side of Boardman by a few of the Macedon clan, that's not to mention a couple of them also having the audacity to do it standing in front of the bar.

As all club committee members would admit it is hard to stop it 100%, even our own do it, but we need to all stick together. If we know it is happening lets not turn the blind eye.

Could not agree more it's a growing trend to BYO with excuses of "they don't sell this type here or it's too expensive to buy off the clubs" the usuall excuse. The more worrying thing its usually bottled drinks as well. A good idea would be at the next Presidents meeting for all to agree to stamp it out whether at home or away. Commitees should be responsible and make their members responsible for their behaviour at all games.

Overall have enjoyed all games watched this year with yesterdays at Boardman a cracker.

Yeah i enjoy standing around the barrels at woodend but we don't have barrels!!! :eek:

Anyway to an exclusive, well not really, ims revealed it earlier but centrals will be wearing a clash jumper for macedon next week! If I could post a photo i would but for some reason I can't. There will be an article on our new website later on today but if you want to get a gawk at the website it is www.meltoncentralfnc.com.au. as always these things are a work in progress but we hope to complete it in the next couple of weeks. :thumbsu: