RDFL Thread 2009

Touche Omni:cool:. I remember the hit, and the scoreboard flashing "COP THAT", and I know it wasn't PC, pretty sure it was Morris, but that could be wrong.

As for the Tigers, we've made good progress and have set our season up well, but it's a long year.:thumbsu:

Yeah keeping the lid on very nicely there Joe, one week at a time & all that stuff, well done. Your boys looked very impressive I must say, & without Chris Collins so far in 09 as well.
Waters lost nothing, Ruffell a great presence up forward & the 2 House boys fitting in well too.Anyway something there for the Tiger faithful to get excited about come Finals time to be sure. :thumbsu:

It looked like you were heading towards your old (bullshit) favourite about Gisborne always chasing RDFL players.

I heard this second hand so correct me if im wrong didnt gisbourne try to recruit Petran and robertson and climas from Ridell? and also tried to recruit Willton from macedon, and also theyve tried to recruit lee James in the past aswell. Anyway, tips for this week. Diggers to keep getting better and beat Kilmore by 8 goals Woodsy to smash Wallan by 9 goals at home Lancefield tigers in a closer game agamst a competitve Centrals by 4goals Ridell over sunbury kangas by 7 goals too good. Romsey to smash rockbank by 15 goals moorcroft unstoppable after last weeks great start. Macedon at home over wallan by 5 goals

Let me just clear this up with some facts.
I was involved in speaking to players (recruiting i guess) for 4 years at Gisborne from 2004 - in that time we "officially" spoke with one player from the RDFL (yes Lee James) and only because we new he was leaving Riddell.

This year the club did contact the above mentioned players because 3 of them asked a mate of theirs at Gisborne to get our coach to call them. One of those didnt have the decency to return calls (instead spruiked to everyone else about how Gisborne are chasing him).

2 players from the RDFL approached us (chasing money)

Ben Sonogan was also spoken to as he also expressed interest in coming to Gisborne through his brother in law Anthony Belcher who is our captain.

These are 100% cold hard facts.

If anyone regards this as poaching - then we are guilty.

I dont really know why i am justifying this (probably to stop blokes like omni and nicholls spreading rubbish).

On the other hand (and lets remember i didnt start this)

At a well educated guess i would say up to a dozen or so of our players each year are approached by various RDFL clubs.

If anyone else wants to throw up names of player we have "tried to poach" feel free.

Until then give the Gissy bashing a rest

I was involved in speaking to players (recruiting i guess) for 4 years at Gisborne from 2004 - in that time we "officially" spoke with one player from the RDFL (yes Lee James) and only because we new he was leaving Riddell.

This year the club did contact the above mentioned players because 3 of them asked a mate of theirs at Gisborne to get our coach to call them. One of those didnt have the decency to return calls (instead spruiked to everyone else about how Gisborne are chasing him).

Ben Sonogan was also spoken to as he also expressed interest in coming to Gisborne through his brother in law Anthony Belcher who is our captain.

I dont really know why i am justifying this (probably to stop blokes like omni and nicholls spreading rubbish).

At a well educated guess i would say up to a dozen or so of our players each year are approached by various RDFL clubs.

If anyone else wants to throw up names of player we have "tried to poach" feel free.

I don't think you even need to be justifying yourself BB. Players (especially younger ones) should be testing themselves at a higher level.
The district leagues (including the RDFL are supposed to be feeders for higher leagues such as Bendigo and Ballarat, as such players should be looking to play at the higher level.
Players like Ruffel and others come back and star in lower leagues after struggling at higher levels. Richmond and Darby back to Romsey are further examples of players struggling for kicks in the Bendigo league dropping back a level or two.

I don't think you even need to be justifying yourself BB. Players (especially younger ones) should be testing themselves at a higher level.
The district leagues (including the RDFL are supposed to be feeders for higher leagues such as Bendigo and Ballarat, as such players should be looking to play at the higher level.
Players like Ruffel and others come back and star in lower leagues after struggling at higher levels. Richmond and Darby back to Romsey are further examples of players struggling for kicks in the Bendigo league dropping back a level or two.

Mark Darby is also joined at the Redbacks with a player from Kyneton,Trentham named McNorton. I dont know his first name,apparently a very top player in the higher level .

Ash McNaughten is another who seems to have found his level in district leagues after promising heaps.
Bendigo Pioneers after Kyneton juniors, couple of seasons back at Kyneton, out to Trentham and now Romsey.
Had the potential and breeding to be anything (his old man was a gun), but the jury is still out and time is also running out.

Ahhh "THe World According to Garp" !

Officially..... Officially, oh god do I love that word.

Oh &...... "FACT" !...... What, its a fact cause YOU say it is ????
You must've changed your name to Mr B Gisborne as well then ?

Well you know there is always 2 sides to every story........ & we've just heard yours......... AGAIN !
And to borrow your term................... Thats some pretty strong smellin Bullshit your peddling, right there pal.
Second hand Bullshit too !
Cause you know you never made those calls !!!!! Now there's a "FACT" for yu chuckles ! Spose thats why they were'nt OFFICIAL then ?

No need to reply either champ, we've heard it all before.
If anyone wants the REAL story, feel free to PM me, cause "Gissy Bashin" is really startin to BORE me to tears !

Ahhh "THe World According to Garp" !

Officially..... Officially, oh god do I love that word.

Oh &...... "FACT" !...... What, its a fact cause YOU say it is ????
You must've changed your name to Mr B Gisborne as well then ?

Well you know there is always 2 sides to every story........ & we've just heard yours......... AGAIN !
And to borrow your term................... Thats some pretty strong smellin Bullshit your peddling, right there pal.
Second hand Bullshit too !
Cause you know you never made those calls !!!!! Now there's a "FACT" for yu chuckles ! Spose thats why they were'nt OFFICIAL then ?

No need to reply either champ, we've heard it all before.
If anyone wants the REAL story, feel free to PM me, cause "Gissy Bashin" is really startin to BORE me to tears !
Gee your a little worked up over this one big fella - looks like you have taken it a bit personally (that wasnt my intention)

If Gissy bashing is boring you why dont you knock it on the head, your the main culprit.

Fact, Never did i say i physically made those phone calls, (another case of you putting words in peoples mouths) but i was there when they were made

I think you may be getting away from the point a little here old mate

Agree with Dazza - no need to justify yourself. Barham had you as his number 1 man for recruiting and helping manage the club. I only know of 2 premiership medals handed out to non players - yourself and the late Charlie Clough. Enough said.

Ash McNaughten is another who seems to have found his level in district leagues after promising heaps.
Bendigo Pioneers after Kyneton juniors, couple of seasons back at Kyneton, out to Trentham and now Romsey.
Had the potential and breeding to be anything (his old man was a gun), but the jury is still out and time is also running out.

if switched on and brings his a game to romsey he will destroy it, will hit the little ranga down in the square on the tit lace out every time he gets it.
how ever consistancy has always been ash,s achillies heel

Gee your a little worked up over this one big fella - looks like you have taken it a bit personally (that wasnt my intention)

If Gissy bashing is boring you why dont you knock it on the head, your the main culprit.

Fact, Never did i say i physically made those phone calls, (another case of you putting words in peoples mouths) but i was there when they were made

I think you may be getting away from the point a little here old mate

Not at all champ, its Friday, gotta beer in hand, looking forward to a huge week-end of Footy (Cattery tomorrow, East Point on Sunday) All is good in the world, feeling grand, no need to trouble yourself about MY demeanour son. Who knows may even try throwin a leg over later !

Dont know why you want to label me in that way, but thats your opinion, & your entitled to it. Dont really spend to much time thinking about Gissy to be honest pal, reason being, they are not in the RDFL senior competition & I'd rather focus on those Clubs that are.

So..................................

OMNI'S TIPS FOR ROUND 7 - are;

Lancefield to def' Melton by 38 pts.

Diggers to get the chocolates over Kilmore by 28 pts.

Macedon to play free flowing footy on the wide open spaces of the Tony Clarke & prevail over Broardford by 54 pts.

Riddell to just do enough over the Kangas & win by 17 pts.

Woodend to bounce back over Wallan by 24 pts.

& Rockbank to go down to a resurgent Romsey by 49 pts.

Good Luck to All. :thumbsu:

Sorry to mis-interpret - I was sure you said that the weekends game (which you lost) was the highlight of your football career.

Hey Kings....You part of yuor club at any level beside bashing anybody that posts on big footy? Being involved at Wallan in a fairly high level, I know how much we did take from a loss and that we PUSHED the ladder leaders to the final siren. I know what Pannui said and he is only a youngster. Give us all a break and keep your negativity to yourself. When we get all our players back from injury we will have a full strength side. Hopefully nobody takes Wallan as beinjg easy beat now because they might be in for a suprise.

Well we will have to agree to disagree. Accepting a loss as a "good loss" can end up on a slippery slope to mediocrity. Good luck with getting your players back and making a run at the finals.

I don't know if I've got this right or not, but MMM said that there was a severe incident involving a player & an umpire during a Rockbank vs. Romsey game today.

If so, what happened ?, and if so, was it as bad as they said or are MMM just exaggerating things ?.

I don't know if I've got this right or not, but MMM said that there was a severe incident involving a player & an umpire during a Rockbank vs. Romsey game today.

If so, what happened ?, and if so, was it as bad as they said or are MMM just exaggerating things ?.

What can only be desrcibed as the weakest incident in the RDFLs history. A Rockbank player whose name I will not say was sent off by the 16 year old field umpire.The player then ran back towards the umpire and punched him in the face,a big hit.The player ran off who knows where. Prior to this 2 or three Rockbank players were sent off 1 of there runners appeared to be reported . The game was called off and the umpires were escorted to the Romsey FC change rooms .I dont know what will happen to the club.

What can only be desrcibed as the weakest incident in the RDFLs history. A Rockbank player whose name I will not say was sent off by the 16 year old field umpire.The player then ran back towards the umpire and punched him in the face,a big hit.The player ran off who knows where. Prior to this 2 or three Rockbank players were sent off 1 of there trainers appeared to be reported . The game was called off and the umpires were escorted to the Romsey FC change rooms .I dont know what will happen to the club.

If this has happened, we all can only hope the player involved gets life from the league. Its as weak as and should set a presedence within the league.
Hitting an umpire is a big no no and running away shows how weak this person was. Dont know how everyone else feels but life seems right to me. Its my opinion and that all it is.

What can only be desrcibed as the weakest incident in the RDFLs history. A Rockbank player whose name I will not say was sent off by the 16 year old field umpire.The player then ran back towards the umpire and punched him in the face,a big hit.The player ran off who knows where. Prior to this 2 or three Rockbank players were sent off 1 of there trainers appeared to be reported . The game was called off and the umpires were escorted to the Romsey FC change rooms .I dont know what will happen to the club.

That's horrible if true.

It would be the first time ever an umpire has actually sought safety in the Romsey change rooms though! Normally they try and avoid going anywhere near the Redback "ferals". :D

If this has happened, we all can only hope the player involved gets life from the league. Its as weak as and should set a presedence within the league.
Hitting an umpire is a big no no and running away shows how weak this person was. Dont know how everyone else feels but life seems right to me. Its my opinion and that all it is.

One would hope gets gets barred from all football in Australia for life.