RDFL Thread 2009

Lost a couple of fringe players Omni, but no major outs, some good ins, so, yeah, we're really looking forward to this season.:thumbsu:

Could be a Tiger Double to make the finals this Season Pal.

Wonder what odds Pickles would give me for Richmond/Lancefield Double ?

OH ! (If he was running a book)
Which he isnt of course !

Any word on Melton Centrals? Have they gained any players or lost any? How's there ground looking? It was a disgrace last year!!

Could be a Tiger Double to make the finals this Season Pal.

Wonder what odds Pickles would give me for Richmond/Lancefield Double ?

OH ! (If he was running a book)
Which he isnt of course !

Million to one. Ben Cousins is good, but not that good.

Lancefield would be better off with the former West Coast Eagles captain and the boys from Punt Road can have my love child Myles Dorman :p

Further news on Danny Sandle. It appears the Cats have got my news on Sandle & clawed him before the Hawks could swoop. On good info that he trained well with Cats on wed night & was last seen in deep discussion with Lee, Johnno & Christensen. Would be very surprised to see him play anywhere else but Cattery now.

Million to one. Ben Cousins is good, but not that good.

Lancefield would be better off with the former West Coast Eagles captain and the boys from Punt Road can have my love child Myles Dorman :p

Better put me down for $1 pal, you know I'm good for it !
Just wont be the same this season without you squealing out...................................... " Doooorrrrrrrrmmannnnnn Yessssss " ! :eek:

Better put me down for $1 pal, you know I'm good for it !
Just wont be the same this season without you squealing out...................................... " Doooorrrrrrrrmmannnnnn Yessssss " ! :eek:

But I don't run a book :D

Yes I will miss seeing some of my favourites run around. Dorman, Dowling, Slugga, Robbo (the good one, not the ex-Riddell one), Cornish, etc. etc.

Still got a footy comp up here pal, but I reckon I might get a few kicks this season so its fair to say the standard isn't flash.

Mind you if my rugby performance is anything to go by, I might not even get a kick up here!!!

I think I can speak for the wider RDFL football community here and hope that everyone in the Kilmore region has hopefully not suffered any great loss in the bushfires over the weekend. Let's hope if this is the case that they can get back on their feet again quickly and that we are thinking of them. I wouldn't be surprised if some of the players are in the CFA, so I hope they are holding up as well.

AGREED ,all the best

Wandong juniors got burned down from what i have been told. Not sure what they doing for training. Maybe Kilmore or Wallan might help out in that regard

:thumbsu: Sunbury Juniors have made a donation and have asked for all clubs to do the same. It may not rebuild their facilities but i'm sure it will help replacing equipment.

Hey All,

Thanks for the support for the Kilmore community and those areas affected by the fires.

The Kilmore Football Netball Club is the Staging Area for the fire crews, emergency services and police etc. Thus our ground is off-limits for Football. Many of the players and officials have been down there non-stop supporting the guys on the ground, opening up all facilities, providing food/drinks, rest areas, whatever needs doing so that these guys just have to worry about the job. (Thanks to all who've helped)

NO TRAINING THIS WEEK.

Updates on what's happening in terms of Football will be posted on our website: www.kilmorefnc.com.au

**Can I ask if you know any of our players, please pass on not to bother with training etc and to keep an eye on the web (I've contacted as many as possible...but I'm sure I've missed many)**

Thanks again for the support.

Russell Stewart
Football Operations Manager

good luck guys believe at least one kilmore umpires escort(the one with the big mo)has lost everything.i had athought that maybe the board could organize a pre-season game with all proceeds going to relief works. i think that most members of the rdfl are like one big family and it would show that we as a league are more than just football and will help out when things go bad.

:thumbsu: Sunbury Juniors have made a donation and have asked for all clubs to do the same. It may not rebuild their facilities but i'm sure it will help replacing equipment.

Can only help blues. Also heard unconfirmed that Kinglake have lost everything and not playing this year. As with all areas you only have to take a drive between Wallan and Broadford and see the massive destruction done. Hope all are safe and loved ones are alive.

At least the ball is rolling then. Unconfirmed report that Kinglake have lost everything and wont be playing this year due to loss. Only got to take a drive up the Hume between Wallan and Broadford to see the massive destruction done. Hope nobody lost anything or family members in fires.
Also hope umpire escort from Kilmore rebuilds his loss and gets back on his feet. Good luck Mate.

good luck guys believe at least one kilmore umpires escort(the one with the big mo)has lost everything.i had athought that maybe the board could organize a pre-season game with all proceeds going to relief works. i think that most members of the rdfl are like one big family and it would show that we as a league are more than just football and will help out when things go bad.
Graham Kurzman is the umpires escorts name. Absolute legend and a nicer bloke you wouldn't meet. :thumbsu:

message to all my rdfl friends

i am making my pro boxing debut on fri 13th of march at the powerhouse in albert park.its a heavyweight bout, starting at 12pm. tickets are running out fast. they are 135 for a ringside table seat fully catered with three course meal and all your drinks. there is 11 fights on the card and hope to see some of u guys there.for fully catered ringside tickets call me on 0438805010. regards dean helmers

Thought it might be interesting to hear from some of our more regular contributors, and maybe less regular contributors on how they think the season shapes up as things stand right now.. Before all of the silly season of clearances etc begin to take shape...

From the stories I have heard..

Riddell:
Gains - Cam McCabe, Simon Whittle, Xavier Codd.
Losses - Lee James, Michael Allen, James Climas, Peter Robertson, James Petran, Sam Young, Aaron Blade.
Stepping Up - Ben Sonogan.
Losses are big losses for the reigning premier, but some quality recruits already and plenty of heresay of further recruits.. Will remain the team to beat in 2009.

Diggers Rest:
Gains - Steve Ruane
Losses - None
Stepping Up - Tom Gleeson
All fairly quiet on the Burra front, rumours of Cole Laurie and Jeremy Jose leaving early, unlikely to occur as the boys from the Burra will stick together for one last crack. Return of the former Bowen Medallist will give the Burra a boost, and news that Arnel Davis is looking good for 2009, will be right up there again.

Woodend/Hesket:
Gains - Brett Cook
Losses - Joel Goodyear, Adam Johnstone, Daniel Sipthorp
Stepping Up - Jesse Sheppard
The Hawks have been surrounded by rumours again, yet the only confirmed action so far has been with Cook. There is no doubt others will join him, the other interest will surround Lacy and whether he will be playing again. Always a contender.

Wallan:
Gains - ???
Losses - ???
Stepping Up - Chris Smith
The Magpies boys have been relatively quiet compared to last year, again, there have been plenty of rumours. I am sure there will be plenty more before the start of the season too.. Look for Wallan to improve dramatically and be one of the main contenders. Rumours of a move by Dave Cornish may disrupt them though.

Broadford:
Obviously an unknown quantity in the RDFL, but rest assured Doona's boys will be contenders in 2009 if anyone should choose to take them lightly, a young list with several talented players. Cant wait to see Broadford in action.

Romsey:
Gains: ???
Losses: Clint Wheatley, Bronson Wheatley
Stepping Up - Jamie Michael
Following the trend, all a bit quiet when it comes to the Redbacks, who notoriously are surrounded by rumours. New coach in Adam Kearney, will be interesting to see who sticks around. Steve Burlak has close ties with former coach Fitzgerald who is at Lancefield.

Lancefield:
Gains: Ben Talbot, Leigh Erwin.
Losses: ???
Stepping up - Alex Laidlaw
Unlucky to miss the finals last year the Tigers will be fired up for 2009. With a couple of handy additions and some talented youngsters taking the next step, definite chance at finals action in 09.

Kilmore:
Gains: Robbie Whittmar, Guy Booker
Stepping Up - Dylan Walker
After a disappointing 2008 the Blues are back on track and heading in the right direction for 2009. Whittmar is a massive bonus, while Booker should be able to draw other former teammates to the club. Will improve.

Macedon:
Gains - Ash Fleming
Losses - The Goodwins
Stepping Up - Kris Preston
The Cats sacked the coach after rising to the finals, again, everything a little quiet on the movement front although rumours around some of the key players such as the Big Rig and Jay Wilton are sure to be floating around in coming weeks.

Melton Central:
Gains: ???
Loses: Brendan Chugg
Stepping Up -
Last year we couldn't keep the Centrals boys quiet when raving about thier big recruit, questions were asked, but they were right, Chugg was a star. Unlucky to miss finals. Quieter this year, will be waiting to hear some rumours in the coming weeks.

Rockbank:
Gains:Christian Innella
Stepping Up -
The Rams are recruiting away quietly, strengthing the list with coach Leigh Spry. Rumours of some disappointment due to lack of senior players on the track. but the Rams have some quality players who are quality people and looking forward to seeing there improvement in 2009.

Of course, I will give my opinions on the Kangaroos a little later on :p

Overall, I think things again are looking up for the RDFL in 2009, again all clubs look like they will be improving and there should be some classic games this year...

Thought it might be interesting to hear from some of our more regular contributors, and maybe less regular contributors on how they think the season shapes up as things stand right now.. Before all of the silly season of clearances etc begin to take shape...

Lancefield:
Gains:]Ben Talbot, Leigh Erwin.James House
Stepping up - Alex Laidlaw
Unlucky to miss the finals last year the Tigers will be fired up for 2009. With a couple of handy additions and some talented youngsters taking the next step, definite chance at finals action in 09.

Of course, I will give my opinions on the Kangaroos a little later on :p

Overall, I think things again are looking up for the RDFL in 2009, again all clubs look like they will be improving and there should be some classic games this year...

You Forgot one

You noticed... I didn't want to spoil the news of the VFL recruit before it could be announced via media release...

Very Sharp boys, some of your finest stuff there........... Its about time too ! :thumbsu:

Actually I'd like to take back my comments. Its not every day a brilliant midfielder/tagger/half-forward/half-back from the VFL decides to grace the RDFL with their presence. Lucky there isn't a salary cap in our small district competition, the signing of J. House would just about fill up the Tigers' quota.