RDFL Thread 2009

Not much publicity for the round robin competition a few RDFL sides are playing in this weekend. Details i've got are sketchy. I've heard Rockbank, Diggers and Melton Centrals along with a few Ballarat sides participating as well. Not sure of the time or venue either.

Anyone got more details? would be good to get along and watch.

it is a round robin comp, all sides mentioned above are playing in it. It is initially meant to be played at souths ground but i also heard the rumour that it will be changed. Teams might actually be 18. Ill let you know... I do know that the bloods might be a little worried about playing against us, just like when we played south a few years ago and we knocked them off :thumbsu:

FYI all As posted on RDFL website.

In response of the recent bushfires, Melton Council, Diggers Rest FC, Melton Centrals FC, Melton South FNC, Rockbank Football Club along with event partners and organisers the RDFL, will be hosting the Inaugural Melton Council Cup, on Saturday 21st of March at Blackwood drive, Melton. All proceeds going towards the Wandong JFC.

Wandong JFC, established in 2008, suffered the devastating loss of losing the use of their footy ground. The rooms are still standing but the ground is severely damaged.

Over 200 homes were lost in the area; we want to ensure the kids still have their footy club in 2009.

The 4 team round robin event will see a modified format to ensure fast action packed contest. With 12 a side, 4 Backs, 4 Mids and 4 forwards, the games are tipped to be an open fast paced game. The games will be 2 x 15 minute halves, with the top two teams playing off in the grand final for the Inaugural Melton Council Cup.

It is asked that patron please make a $10 donation on the gate.

There will be plenty of food and drinks so come along and help support this great initiative.

Fixtures
11.00am Diggers Rest v Rockbank 1.15pm Melton Centrals v Rockbank
11.45am Melton South v Melton Centrals 2.00pm Melton South v Rockbank
12.30pm Diggers Rest v Melton South 2.45pm Diggers Rest v Melton Centrals

4.00pm Final

Rules
As per AFL rules except for below:
• 12 a side 4 backs 4 forwards 4 midfielders
• Two 15 minute halves
• 5 minute half time break
• Unlimited interchange bench and interchanges but must still go through the gate.
• Last team to touch the ball as it goes out of bounds loses possession.
• 9 points for goal scored outside 40m

For details please contact Scott McCartney at the RDFL on 0411 391 222

From memory Lancefield, Woodend, Macedon, Riddell, Romsey, Wallan. Live in Kilmore and see Broadford's a couple of times a week. Geez that ground at Macedon is a great size aint it - although would it be fair to say that outer wing is a no-go zone? Do many opposition sides get lost out there?

All grounds obvioulsy are pretty dry - although Romsey was the pick for me, Riddell seemed green enough compared to others.
Word out of Allens is that the coach of Broadford is very, very upbeat about his sides chances this year.:D You sneaking over to Lancefield this weekend Doona?

Pi$$ off trwb you obvioulsy trying for some pay back after all the Heathcote spruiking last summer ;) You saw how far off the pace we were last year so please dont lull us into a false sense and just remember I abstained from voting as I wanted to stay with you blokes :cool:

are you gunna be there? If so I might come out and say hi . . . and I will even buy the first one or are you back in the orange :thumbsu:

RWB.the word out of Allens i heard if B/Ford don't make the finals this season,Donna is going to lick the mint leaves for next year so the suggar will stick to them:Dhope to see you at Lancefield old mate

Half right, if we miss the finals Im dead in the water, but as for licking teh sugared lollies that role is kept for one man only and you're fully aware he hails from Heathcote :D

Geez Big Ump & TRWB both at Lancefield, definately coming now :thumbsu:

Broadford Football Netball Club's new website is now up and running. Still a few items to be added, but should be completed by the weekend. Thumbs up to young Jack Ezard who was in charge of the project - great job young man :thumbsu:

http://www.broadfordfnc.com.au

Broadford Football Netball Club's new website is now up and running. Still a few items to be added, but should be completed by the weekend. Thumbs up to young Jack Ezard who was in charge of the project - great job young man :thumbsu:

http://www.broadfordfnc.com.au

Congrats on the site...looks good.
New Sponsor, New League, You're playing your cards close to your chest...big things out of Harley Hammond in 2009 I suspect!

Congrats on the site...looks good.
New Sponsor, New League, You're playing your cards close to your chest...big things out of Harley Hammond in 2009 I suspect!
Anything less than finals this year for the Boys from Broady will be a waste! :thumbsu:

Jesse Sheppard is a young rising star and will have a good year of footy! not for his skills but because the opposition will not touch him because of his sexuality. gets most of the ball after the game in the rooms/shower. generaly recieves more than just 3 votes.

Pi$$ off trwb you obvioulsy trying for some pay back after all the Heathcote spruiking last summer ;) You saw how far off the pace we were last year so please dont lull us into a false sense and just remember I abstained from voting as I wanted to stay with you blokes :cool:

are you gunna be there? If so I might come out and say hi . . . and I will even buy the first one or are you back in the orange :thumbsu:
You weren't that far off the pace old son, and Spudda is adament that you blokes will finish top three!:D And it is a bit of payback....:p

Won't be there my friend, will be at work all weekend.:( Will have to rely on Talbot when he gets to work for his assessment.

And will be donning the orange at every opportunity!

You weren't that far off the pace old son, and Spudda is adament that you blokes will finish top three!:D And it is a bit of payback....:p

Won't be there my friend, will be at work all weekend.:( Will have to rely on Talbot when he gets to work for his assessment.

And will be donning the orange at every opportunity!

You still loving the double bubble on the weekends I see . . . . . and what would Spudda know :D

Interesting article in the Free Press today Doona. (Why is it called this when we have to buy it?)

Thanks to Kev Fitz & his boys from Lancefield for the hit-out against Heathcote yesterday. Ground was in super condition and a reminder as to why the GF is played there. Very hot conditions and the game was played in good spirit. I'd expect the tigers to be top 5 in '09.....

Too true Mockery. Ground looked great....Tigers were quite impressive but it is too early to say top five!

Heathcote good-given they had a number of one's players out. Good all round effort. Like the look of some of their new signings.

Went for a drive over to Lancefield on sat, 2 pretty impressice country teams. Heathcote will be thereabouts again particularly if a few were still missing but more importantly Lancefield will be hard to beat this year in RDFL. New recruits Irwin & Ruffell looked good, Dorman missing but otherwise close to full strength. Overheard some mebers of their coaching staff saying they expected to finish top 3. Probaly ahead of other 2 teams ive been watching over summer, Hawks & cats.

Unfortunatley the cricket pitch was still not covered and council would not permit it, due to liability, Pitch should hopefully be covered this week

But the Lakers were told on the Thursday night that the Sunbury ground could not be used. They then got in contact with their council and had their pitch covered and goal posts put in on the Friday. They then could not get a response to see if the game was still on at their ground so they ended up having to play an intra club match.