RDFL Thread 2009

nicholls you cant really make statements from what locals say! its going to be a cracker of a game!

will be far from a cracker of a game yes it will be a highley anticipated clash between two rivals which should draw a huge crowd but wallan will run rings around you boys and i reckon they will touch you up with ease, wallan and macedon and throw in riddell have by far recruited the best for the season ahead.

Boys, no one will ever know the form of any team before round one. it's all here say until that first bounce whether it be kilmore and wallan or riddel and diggers. I will agree that we havent heard much from kilmore in regards to recruiting and i will be intersted to see if the supposed 'young' blokes can handle the heat!

boogs ur a toll , yes helmers may be at the end of a career you could only wish for, yes he may be slowing down but age catches up with everyone,but he is from from fat, dont think all of the months in the gym for boxing would allow that !
tips for this week

riddell by14 pts over diggers
lancefield by 123 pts over rockbank
kangas by 63 pts over centrals
broadford by 40 pts over romsey
macedon by 27pts over woodend
wallan by 88pts over kilmore
If you were trying to call me a "TOOL" id be offended. learn to punctuate

Scotty Gilchrist kicking bags. the only bags that man has got is under his eyes. The old fossill. Hahahahaha. See ya 2mrw. ;) :p:D Wake me up if I fall asleep out there Gil. On night shift. Finsh at 4am. Home by 5am. Sleep by 5.30. wake at 12pm. straight to ground then try and conjure some energy to kick Gilly's old but.

What's the best energy tablets on the market? May need them

Tips for round 1
Ridell By 48 points- Diggers to be in it till half time, maybe three quater time then riddell to run away
Lancefield by 12- should be a good this year Lanny but i rekon they might undresatamate rockbank and they have a few recruits too.
Romsey by 10 points- not sure about broadford so its a bit of a guiess and Morgan will be a good additon for them.
Sunbury by 6 points - close game hard to pick but i think the sunbury boys might get over them.
Woodsy by 48- hawks to start the year with a big win and a few recruits starring like cook and knox
Wallan by 60 points- should be good walan thsi season Kilmore close in first half but wallan run away with it

Just a pre season Bowen rough tips-
Wittmer for Kilmore
Cook from Woodsy
Bullen from Centrals

Davo's Tips

Riddell by 42 points - Kegger to kick 8
Lancefield by 88 points - Doorman to be BOG
Romsey by 18 points - Morgan to take the honours
Centrals by 28 points - Wheels always plays well against the Rovers
Macedon by 22 points - Big recruit Ash Fleming to kick 6 from CHB/Wing
Wallan by 42 points - Scott Gilchrist can kick big bags and should do so against Kilmore, but i expect Booker to be the shinning light at Kilmore.

Omni’s Tips for Round 1.

Romsey to get up over Broardford by 20 pts, & show the newcomers to the competition just how challenging their move into the RDFL will be.

Kilmore to battle hard in this clash of the Traditional Rivals but eventually succumb to the superior talent of the Wallan unit by 28pts.

Lancefield at home to crush an unfortunately undermanned Rockbank in an early percentage booster by 78pts.

Melton to show some fight early, but stall, unable to “Chugg” home in their encounter with Sunbury….. Roos by 15pts.

And in the Grand Final Re-Match; Riddell at home to prevail once again over Diggers in the match of the round by 22pts. (unless we have 6 inches of rain Sat’ morning & the ground turns to Bog - then Diggers by 7pts)

Macedon to continue their improvement with an early upset win at home over Woodend by 9pts. Timmy Detman to get leather poisoning & take home the Billy Tunn Medal.

Good Luck to all Boys, enjoy yourselves & have fun !!! :thumbsu:

Whilst I am at it, here is a little question/talking point for you all that is particularly relevant & topical, given the recent publicity surrounding Richmond Coach, Terry Wallace……. And that is -
Does a Coach have a “Use by Date” ?

There are a couple of RDFL coaches out there that have been around for a while. So -
Is their message becoming stale ?
Are their Players still listening, performing, going that little bit harder for them when asked ?
Are they still as eager & enthusiastic now as they were at the beginning ?
Do the players still embrace their Coaches Game Plan ?
Or……… Has the Coach lost his group ?
And now the teams successes will start to wane.

Only time will tell I guess.

Would an RDFL President and or Committee sack a Coach Mid-Season ?

These are all Hypotheticals of course………… but you never know in footy !!!! :rolleyes:

Long time reader, first time poster. Just wanted to give my tips for the weekend.

Riddell by 54 points - Got some handy recruits Riddell and Diggers have lost a couple with a question mark over Leftie's fitness. Still they do have a former bowen medalist back in Ruane which will be a handy additon to a pretty good midfield. The problem is Kegga, I don't think Diggers will have anyone to play on him as he will be too strong for most small backman and too quick for tall backman. And don't underestimate players like Whittle and Casson. Whits is a good in and under player and will love playing in our league. Casson is also a very hard running player who reads the play very well. I know Riddell have lost some proven good players, but there replacements are more then capable.

Lancefield 60 points - Lancefield had a good team last year and from what I have read have only added to it.

Melton 12 points - Should be a good old fashioned hard game this one and there is no loved lost between these two. Just think that Melton will be able to get over the line but should be close.

Woodend 18 points - Was going to tip Macedon but word out of the cattery is that there are a few injuries (not confirmed - just rumor). Ash Fleming will be a smokey for the bowen as there is not many in the league I believe who is 6'5", fit and quick to go with him. Also has inspector gadjet arms and good dukes. He was one of the premier players in the BFL so I can see him dominating this league. May take a few games to adjust though. Still the Woodsmen were daylight ahead of everyteam bar one last year and from what I have read, have lost a couple but also gained a couple as well so you shouldn't see them slip this year. Still should be a cracker.

Wallan 36 points - Went pretty well last year Wallan and pushed a lot of sides in there first year back. If they live up to there hype they could be very big players come September. Kilmore are also being talked up but they did that last year and ....well I don't need to go into that. Still, it is a new year and again, judging by what I have read, this should be close one but I'm tipping the pies will kick away towards the end.

Broadford 15 points - This is guess in the dark. Romsey have good in's but they need a big turn around from last year. Have no clue how Broadford go about it but everyone on here seems to think they will give most sides a red hot go.

Can't wait for the weekend. Good luck to all involved.

WOO HOO. Footys back. Should be a good year of football. I see Romsay got Amir Dianati. Saw him play last year at Barham. Will be a handfull to contain. Everybody recruited as well as possible. Anyway, time to head upto Kilmore for a hopefull win to start Wallans season off. Good luck to all.

Final Scores :

Riddell 13. 11. 89. Def' Diggers 8. 9. 57.

Sunbury 12. 15. 87. Def' Melton 7. 7. 49.

Macedon 13. 7. 85. Def' Woodend 10. 7. 67.

And I believe Kilmore were 7 goals up over Wallan with a couple of minutes left to play.

Great news for the RDFL with Kyneton community radio 100.7 fm broadcasting live games this weeks game was Macedon V Woodend/Hesket. With a relay station on Mt Macedon in the pipe lines broadcasts from Riddell / Romsey / Lancefield ETC, can only be good for the RDFL brand.

Final Scores :

Riddell 13. 11. 89. Def' Diggers 8. 9. 57.

Sunbury 12. 15. 87. Def' Melton 7. 7. 49.

Macedon 13. 7. 85. Def' Woodend 10. 7. 67.

And I believe Kilmore were 7 goals up over Wallan with a couple of minutes left to play.

Wallan got done by 8 goals. Gave Kilmore a 5 goal headstart kicking into wind in 1st quarter. The fight on hill was good watching though:D. Only 1st round, things can only get better.

Lancefield overcame Rockbank in the last quarter to win by 18 points. Whilst the Tiges failed to make the most of a number of opportunities, I tell you this: Underestimate the Rams at your peril. They played a good brand of footy, and I can see them being very competetive this year.

jeez aren t there some silly looking ppl out there that tipped Wallan to smash the Blues this weekend...to be honest Wallan looked nothing like a top four team or premiership contender that ppl predicted them to be...i know its early days yet but it was truly a spirited effort by the Kilmore boys and hopefully teams can continue to take them easy thinking that it will be a comfortable four points when the the time comes around but be rudely suprised like the Wallan boys were. Good on the Bluers for having a fair dinkum crack and hopefully continue flying under the radar for 09.

What's going on with the website results. No numbers to cross reference who you were watching. Also no best/goals for reserves.

could anyone from centrals explain the positioning of the score board.? none of the crowd could see it unless you were on the far side of the ground. and during the last quater not even the players could see it thnx to the bright ppl who decided to stand in front of it. any chance of moving it?

we asked the council for a replacement scoreboard last year where the old one was. but due to council having no understanding of how a game of football is run, decided it was a good place to put it where it is. of course when we asked for it to be moved, the reply hasnt come. we tried it on the fence before, it's lower but as per usual, people complain that they couldn't see that either. so it's a no win situation. the club is working on a solution.

well done to the sunbury seniors who showed centrals how to play direct attacking football. cuffe dominated the game and proved to be the difference. centrals only played one quarter which is simply not good enough. i must admit i only saw the second half of football and from what i've been told, wasnt the best half to watch. well done to the reserves and especially the netballers where all grades won, first time ever i think!

the crowd was awesome and we would like to thank all those sunbury members who joined us in the rooms after the game.

The crowd at Riddell was one of the largest I have seen in recent years for a home & away fixture, & I'm told that at Macedon there wasnt a car space to be had !

How were crowd numbers at the other games ?

one of our sponsors went to the melton v melton sth game and said centrals v sunbury had more and wished he was there for the start of the game :thumbsu:

At Kilmore vs Wallan it would have been very difficult to of even been able to get a car park at J.J Clancy Reserve by half time of the Firsts match...great crowd in with both Kilmore and Wallan supporters making it a great atmosphere to play amongst.