RDFL Thread 2009

Have seen on the RDFL website that the clearance has gone through as well as Shannon Green from Silvan. I am assuming is a mate of Gary's, any news on him and what his capabilites are?

Wow great pick ups, did a fair bit of boxing with em both over summer, they are both very fit and can Seriously play!

It's not just about one player, it's what he will do for the club as a whole, he will attract other players to the club as well as attracting allot of interest at the club, more people through the gate which will benefit the club financially. I know romsey have performed below expectations but there not far off the mark & when their at full strength with Garry in the side, they will be very competitive. This guy is still a chance of kicking the ton this year, other players will play better because of him, Marbo offered more money but maybe someone from the club has secured employment for him, whatever brought him to romsey will benefit the club immensely.

Agree 100% slyone. Good on romsey and they deserve credit where credits due. This will lift romsey immensely both on and off the field. He's a dead set gun and will bring them into calculations for top 3 or 4 i reckon now. I think with him in the side they may roll woodend/hesket tomorrow.

Omni’s Tips for Round 6.
(Last round 5, total 21 outa 30.)

Bit pressed for time this week..........(Happy 21st Jimmy, Happy 18th Kat)

Lancefield to LANCE the Kangas to the tune of 16 pts.

Diggers to REST the ascendancy off Melton by 22 pts.

Macedon to KILLmore by 45 pts.

Rockbank can BANK on beating Broardford by 17 pts.
(Let you off the hook Chris Nolan, for your absurd comments in the local paper this week..... it wont happen again !)

Wallan to have no answer for the RIDDLE that is Riddell, by 42 pts.

& Woodend to END all the Romsey optimism of late by 37 pts.

Good Luck to all Boys, enjoy yourselves & have fun !!!

Omni’s Tips for Round 6.
(Last round 5, total 21 outa 30.)

Bit pressed for time this week..........(Happy 21st Jimmy, Happy 18th Kat)

Lancefield to LANCE the Kangas to the tune of 16 pts.

Diggers to REST the ascendancy off Melton by 22 pts.

Macedon to KILLmore by 45 pts.

Rockbank can BANK on beating Broardford by 17 pts.
(Let you off the hook Chris Nolan, for your absurd comments in the local paper this week..... it wont happen again !)

Wallan to have no answer for the RIDDLE that is Riddell, by 42 pts.

& Woodend to END all the Romsey optimism of late by 37 pts.

Good Luck to all Boys, enjoy yourselves & have fun !!!

Two things.

1. What did Doona say in the paper?

2. Leave comedy to the funny blokes.

Two things.

1. What did Doona say in the paper?

2. Leave comedy to the funny blokes.

doona just had a little sook about the standard of footy in the rdfl blaming conjested footy for his sides lack of heart and poor performances.
said his side was struggling to adapt to rdfl standard.
so a wrap up of his comments would be , recruits are nothing as they promised poor performances and expectation that they would come in and dominate clearly hasnt happened.
perhaps the broadford boys shouldnt have taken their move into the rdfl so lightly.

doona just had a little sook about the standard of footy in the rdfl blaming conjested footy for his sides lack of heart and poor performances.
so a wrap up of his comments would be , recruits are nothing as they promised poor performances and expectation that they would come in and dominate clearly hasnt happened.
perhaps the broadford boys shouldnt have taken their move into the rdfl so lightly.

In fairness to Doona, there is a shit load more congestion in the RDFL compared to the Heathcote league. Although having said that, Broadford and North Bendigo's grounds are the two smallest in that comp so the Roos should be used to playing in a bit of congestion.

2 of their losses pal did come on the "Wide Expanses" of their own Dung heap !

Nolan said, & I'm quoting him here verbatim - "It was taking some time for the Kangaroos (Broardford) to adjust to the new league. Personally I've battled with the standard of footy. Where we're from we're used to big grounds & free flowing football, so we've struggled more with the congested footy in the RDFL"

Memo Chris - Its called accountable footy sport, get used to it ! Or it'll take you another 10 months to get another win.

Guess I didn't let him off the hook after all. :eek:

Nolan and BFC lakeys - "trouble adjusting to new league" and "battling with the standard", - now hiding behind high expectations you would walk in to the Riddell League, perceived as sub standard, and hand out floggings each and every week.

2 of their losses pal did come on the "Wide Expanses" of their own Dung heap !

Nolan said, & I'm quoting him here verbatim - "It was taking some time for the Kangaroos (Broardford) to adjust to the new league. Personally I've battled with the standard of footy. Where we're from we're used to big grounds & free flowing football, so we've struggled more with the congested footy in the RDFL"

Memo Chris - Its called accountable footy sport, get used to it ! Or it'll take you another 10 months to get another win.

Guess I didn't let him off the hook after all. :eek:

You blokes will regret what u have wrote,this will only encourage B/Ford on. Do not be supprised at the end of the season they just sneak into your finals or they they will be knocking on the door

It doesn't matter who you are or where your from, each league has its own characteristics. There are not many players that move leagues and adapt to the change instantly, some will but B'ford have over 60 players to adapt, plus the coach. Different rules and interpretations also come into it.
It took Wallan half a year to start hitting their straps last year.
I think if you read over previous posts, it was the RDFL people talking them up.

I'm pretty sure that a side who finished near the bottom of the table in the HDFL wouldn't expect to come and dominate in the RDFL....and I know Doona wouldn't and didn't expect that. Go back through the posts and I'll think you'll find it was people from other HDFL clubs doing a bit of shit stirring and nothing else. I was one of them!:D So get off his back and let him coach, and if you don't like what he said in the paper...stiff shit, don't read his comments.

Lancefield defeated Sunbury by 43 pts, the tiges also won the 18's while the roos won the 2's easily.

Also, Romsey beat Woodend by 5 goals, Moorcroft kicked 8 and Green was best on, Riddell beat Wallan by 6 pts, Diggers beat Centrals by 8 goals or so, Macedon beat Kilmore easy (the Big Rig kicked 8 I believe), and Broadford had the better of Rockbank by 5 goals.

Final Scores.

Lancefield 15. 14. 104. Def' Sunbury 8. 13. 61.

Macedon 16. 8. 104. Def' Kilmore 4. 4. 28. Big Rig James McArthur - 9 Goals.

Riddell 10. 18. 78. Def' Wallan 11. 6. 72.

Think there is some that may be a little harsh here on Doona, his comments may have been taken a little out of context. His point was that his players have adjusted a little slower to the style difference in the HDFL and RDFL, it wasn't meant as a comment of the standard or skill difference between the two competitions, he was referencing that his smaller bodied players are not adjusting to more contests in games they have played so far.

A little irrelevant anyways.. But just thought I would put my take on it after chatting with Doona a couple of weeks ago.

Think there is some that may be a little harsh here on Doona, his comments may have been taken a little out of context. His point was that his players have adjusted a little slower to the style difference in the HDFL and RDFL, it wasn't meant as a comment of the standard or skill difference between the two competitions, he was referencing that his smaller bodied players are not adjusting to more contests in games they have played so far.

A little irrelevant anyways.. But just thought I would put my take on it after chatting with Doona a couple of weeks ago.

Now your talking.Doona would out coach anyone in the RDFL:thumbsu:

Care to explain how he would out coach any of Power, Hopkins, Lee, Cook etc. Not being smart but i think your being a little dismissive of the above guys talents. If Nolan would clearly out coach all of the above people then surely their gameplan would have been in place over summer and the congested "standard" would not have come as such a shock.

Gee Kilmore have been bitterly disappointing their past two weeks. Never looked like scoring a goal. Big McArthur for macedon today very very good. Always looked in control in from of goal.

Updated premiership odds after round 6

Riddell $3
Lancefield $4
Macedon $4
Diggers $9
Romsey $12
Sunbury $14
Woodend $ 19
Centrals $40
Wallan $45
Broadford $51
Kilmore $65
Rockbank $100

Reasons
Riddell still team to beat undefeated although had a scare on the weekend

Lancefield and Macedon are about the same with really dominant form lines and quality lists.

Diggers have strung a couple ion a row and are starting to hit their straps

Romsey have picked up the best player in the comp and he will kick at least 5 a game and will win the goal kicking

Sunbury are a little off the pace and their old brigade will find it hard to continue the good form

Woodend seem to be struggling a little bit but do have some quality so expecting some good form in the future

Centrals cost themselves a chance at finals with losses to sunbury and rockbank in the first two rounds and would be a long shot to make finals

Wallan only have 1 win after 6 rounds and even though they troubled riddel will find it extremely difficult to make the top 6

Broadford have strung a couple of wins together and seem to be adapting well but will not get near the finals

Kilmore are inconsistent and will not be a factor for most of the year

Rockbank are finding it hard to find consistency of effort and will struggle for the rest of the season.

Now your talking.Doona would out coach anyone in the RDFL:thumbsu:

Enough already, dont take any notice of the Ump biglayock, this is purely some payback for a bit of banter we had with the HDFL Saints in 2008. So I was misquoted/misinterpreted Im sure it's happened to us all at some stage. Time for a change of topic as this is so bloody ridiculous :thumbsdown: Hows the interleague side shaping up? It seems like it's pretty well run in comparison to where we've come.

Sounds like a few people on this forum are jealous of other clubs going out recruiting quality players, Romsey have opened the doors to all locals and who ever wants a game, they have been hit hard by injuries and have out gunned some teams from other leagues to get Garry to the club, Garry will dominate in this league and lift the confidence of the players around him, he may even attract locals & others to the club? What ever Romsey are paying, is their business & nobody Else's. Good on them for pulling off the coue of the year. Now if Romsey beats your team then your committee will have to work on recruiting just as Romsey has and if your team is successful in doing so, then the RDFL is better off, and so will your team!

Garry Moorcroft was great at Silvan and it is 95% employment opportunities why he left, he is an absolute GUN and one tuff SOB. Romsey boys will walk tall with him around and the ton is certainly within reach. Silvan went from two men and a lost dog watching their games to regularly pulling 200+ to a game. If Romsey look after him, he won't leave, but as with everyone your family is your number one priority and that is the same for Gary.

Fair point I guess....jobs a plenty in Romsey! (TIC) :D

Final Scores.

Lancefield 15. 14. 104. Def' Sunbury 8. 13. 61.

Macedon 16. 8. 104. Def' Kilmore 4. 4. 28. Big Rig James McArthur - 9 Goals.

Riddell 10. 18. 78. Def' Wallan 11. 6. 72.

Was good to see Wallan put in a good game and put Riddell to the sword. Another 5 minutes and I think the result might have been different. Lets hope this is the start of a better season with some wins on board. A couple of injured players coming back and we back near full strength. Romsay got big pickup in Moorcroft. Will bring more spectators to games hopefully. Also good to see crowds getting stronger at games. Not many car parks left at Wallan last saturday.

you reckon watching Wallan was good... being in the team was one of the highlights of my short career!!! despite the loss i have never seen so much feeling and mateship in a team before than. it makes me proud to have been part of it and i know that if any of the boys read this than they would agree. It was finally good to see a team that came against Wallan this year constantly looking over there shoulders to see where the pressure was coming from. Extremely proud of how the boys banded together and bring on Woodend:D

Maybe that is the reason why Riddell are so good in this comp. If they had lost they would have been really disappointed - Wallen lose and it is high 5's and back slapping. Glad you proud however.

I think the House brothers would be fairly happy this week. The younger one dominated and Lancefield had a great win over Sunbury.