RDFL Thread 2009

If this has happened, we all can only hope the player involved gets life from the league. Its as weak as and should set a presedence within the league.
Hitting an umpire is a big no no and running away shows how weak this person was. Dont know how everyone else feels but life seems right to me. Its my opinion and that all it is.

100% correct. Talk a little while ago about how hard it is to get umpires. An incident like this makes the job even harder - also retaining young umpires. Would be surprised if the RDFL was not servere with there response both to the club and player.

I agree in principal, but unless this bloke has priors for anti-social behaviour on and off the footy field, I don't know if the RDFL should or could punish the Rockbank Football Club.

Sad day for the rams. Might be the end for the club . It was the worst thing I've seen in football in forty years . A moment of madness will cost a player so much more than just playing football. Police will be involved and so they should be .It's a shame for the people of the rockbank football club that work so hard to get teams on the ground week in week out . I saw tears in the eyes of some as they left the ground . Fair tick to the Rockbank players that personally came over and apologized to the Redback players. They seemed very embarrassed by what happened.
Garrrrrrrrrrrry kicked 6 before the game was stopped.
Broadie Holland, Matt how did you come up with that.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25561379-661,00.html

A 29-YEAR-OLD football player is being interviewed by police after allegedly punching a 16-year-old umpire.
The Rockbank player reportedly reacted angrily when the youth sent him off the ground.
He handed himself into police after the umpire complained about the alleged assault.
The teen umpire was concussed as a result of the incident.

I agree in principal, but unless this bloke has priors for anti-social behaviour on and off the footy field, I don't know if the RDFL should or could punish the Rockbank Football Club.

You pull the jumper on and you represent the club. Suba Lions a few years ago was kicked out of the comp due to a player hitting an ump on a footy trip. They had to put up a 10k bond to come back in. Rockbank should be held accountable and be put on notice that this is never to happen again. The league cannot say to them don't worry Rockbank you are just unlucky to have a loose cannon playing for you. Must send a message to all player and clubs.

Again, I do agree in principal. I don't agree with what the BFL did to Sunbury because as long as the bloke who whacked the ump on the footy trip was banned, it shouldn't have needed to go any further.

This Rockbank bloke who "allegedly" hit an umpire will be banned for life and although the Rams should received a stern talking to in order to do their best to prevent anything similar happening in the future, I don't believe they need to be fined or ordered to pay a bond.

This is a black day for the league as a whole, and no doubt RDFL house will react accordingly. Sounds like a very undisciplined performance by the Rams prior to this incident, very much a shame for a club that has worked hard to make their side more competitive.

On a more positive note, Lancefield defeated Melton Centrals by 5 goals in a tough, scrappy affair.

Diggers beat Kilmore by 15 goals or so and Woodend beat Wallan by 20 pts.

This is a black day for the league as a whole, and no doubt RDFL house will react accordingly. Sounds like a very undisciplined performance by the Rams prior to this incident, very much a shame for a club that has worked hard to make their side more competitive.

On a more positive note, Lancefield defeated Melton Centrals by 5 goals in a tough, scrappy affair.

Diggers beat Kilmore by 15 goals or so and Woodend beat Wallan by 20 pts.

Agreed, very sad day for the clubs in the competition.. Once again, our league will be frowned upon due to the actions of one.. I feel for the Rockbank FC as they have indeed worked hard to develop and improve, but the actions are just not good enough, a young man has taken up umpiring, and the young man in question is actually quite a good young umpire, but he has been "allegedly" assaulted in a game of football, not acceptable at all.
On another note, the Bombers just too good today, kicked the last 7 goals of the game after the Roos got within 2 goals early in the last. Meacham outstanding and I hope to see him in the interleague game, McCabe has exceptional skill level. Also thought that Braedan Whittard was outstanding around the contested ball.

Looking forward to the interleague games this week, from the Under 16 game all the way through to the senior game.

Does the RDFL have a de-registration policy as far as clubs go?

I think it is unfair to suggest that the Rams be held responsible, depending on how the club dealt with the situation, if they dealt with things correctly, and someone mentioned that they apologised to the Redbacks, would hope they apologised to the umpires as well. But if the club dealt with things professionally I dont think that the Rams as a club should be held responsible, the reputation of the club will already take a battering for the incident.

What happens in regards to the result of this game . I notice on the RDFL ladder they have made it a draw . Can this be correct?

Interesting question. I was of the belief that a game had to make it to half time for a result to be declared. It appears this incident occured in the second quarter.

What happens in regards to the result of this game . I notice on the RDFL ladder they have made it a draw . Can this be correct?

How can Rockbank take points from this game? Does anyone have a score at the time on the incident? If gary at 6 before half time I would think Romsey would have been up.

I think it is unfair to suggest that the Rams be held responsible, depending on how the club dealt with the situation, if they dealt with things correctly, and someone mentioned that they apologised to the Redbacks, would hope they apologised to the umpires as well. But if the club dealt with things professionally I dont think that the Rams as a club should be held responsible, the reputation of the club will already take a battering for the incident.

no pun intended??

But in all seriousness it is a pretty sad day not just for the RDFL but for football aswell. As an umpire myself I can handle a bit of banter and abuse, but this is disgusting. Best wishes to the umpire involved (won't name any names) and I hope he continues umpiring.

Romsey were 10 goals up surely the points would go to them, one side caused the match to be called off

I think common sense will prevail and the points go to Romsey. Care heaps anyway - with Gary there they are now the real deal. Lets jump off the Rockbank disaster and lets talk about who in your team plays on Gary? Does anyone want to put a name up that can at least keep him to 4 or 5???

no pun intended??

But in all seriousness it is a pretty sad day not just for the RDFL but for football aswell. As an umpire myself I can handle a bit of banter and abuse, but this is disgusting. Best wishes to the umpire involved (won't name any names) and I hope he continues umpiring.

He is only young so it might I say "MIGHT" throw his confidence back a little, for his sake I sincerely hope not, hopefully he runs out on a field next time he umpires with his head held high!!!

Lets hope it doesnt leave him with an ugly wound in his mind and confidence.

That's horrible if true.

It would be the first time ever an umpire has actually sought safety in the Romsey change rooms though! Normally they try and avoid going anywhere near the Redback "ferals". :D
pickles it was the worst thing ive or anyone at the game have ever seen the guy just ran up and king hit the kid,it took about 5 seconds before we all realised '' shit ,hes hit the umpire''.and it wasnt until the poor kid got helped past us that we actually realised how young he was.

Romsey were 10 goals up surely the points would go to them, one side caused the match to be called off

I agree that romsey should take the points.. but it was one player not the club. If simo did his job properly the 3 others that got sent off prior wouldnt have, but in sayin that i dont condone what happened with that young umpire at all

If this has happened, we all can only hope the player involved gets life from the league. Its as weak as and should set a presedence within the league.
Hitting an umpire is a big no no and running away shows how weak this person was. Dont know how everyone else feels but life seems right to me. Its my opinion and that all it is.
hey mate....when did he run away? he clearly was in the rooms with everyone else get your facts right ******** as if the incident isnt bad enough already he has never been reported once simmo instigated the whole thing the wrong umpire got belted in my view.Anyone would agree with that fact if they were actually watching simmos circus in the 2nd he sent three blokes off for askin him a question including a runner.The competition should ban simmo from umpiring he caused all of it he was laughing with the romsey players about sendin people off any player that has played with that bloke knows how bad he really is. nothing can make up for what the player in question has done but simmo should be banned forever worst umpire i have seen my whole life...my thoughts go out to the young umpire shouldnt of been you champ.

Totally agree with ya maums.. hopefully people wont start rubbishing the club now

You can be frustrated with the level of umpiring, but it shouldn't have been any umpire and to suggest so is just as bad.. I understand why you have defended the player in question, but dont make it worse by defending him by saying he should have hit the other umpire, as frustrated as you may get at some decisions, you cannot, EVER, strike an umpire... It is completely unacceptable, those days in our league, striking anyone, are gone.. We are here to play football and to suggest anything else is wrong, I am sure we wouldn't want to show up to games with that happening. No one with a sensible opinion will blame the Rams, but the club will have a responsible part to play in all of this, I just hope they play that role.. A member of the club has allegedly committed an unforgivable act, the club must accept some responsibility and work with the umpires to ensure they do not come out of this tarnished to the point of no repair.. I really do hope this happens, there are some great people at the club, but the entire club needs to embrace the enormity of the situation and make every effort to see that the correct outcome is achieved, for the club, the umpires and the league.