RDFL Thread 2009

What does being a failed player have to do with being a good umpire? Good football players do not neccessarily make good umpires. This is a myth that has been tryed at AFL and failed. The skills required are vastly different.

A player may have a better understanding of what it feels like to cope a whack in the ear hole, but that is about as far as it goes. Most umpires have played the game at some stage in their life and even if they have not played 1 game they can still make an exceptional umpire.

In relation to the specific umpires, that is your opinion. If you have a specific complaint that you can back up with evidence then write a letter or discuss it with the umpiring body. If there is a legitimate complaint it will be discussed. If you do not get satisfaction then you have to accept the "umpires decision" and get on with it.

Good players and teams will look at umpiring decisions in the 1st 10mins of the game and adapt quickly to the umpires. Umpiring decisions set a precedent for the game.

I have seen players disputing decisions with umpires while the game is still in motion nearby. What a waste of energy and what a liability that player becomes if he cannot get on with the game instantly. This is why you rarely see AFL players disputing decisions, coaches would not tolerate such behaviour as this behaviour severely disadvantages the team.

So if you have a LEGITIMATE complaint in relation to the Simmos then make it. If not or if you are dismissed then it is time to "get on with it". Stop wasting energy on such umpiring hating rants, observe the umpires understand there individaul differences and adapt accordingly.

Get a life mate, you're publicly naming and dumping shit on a 16 year old kid for going out there week in, week out and having a crack at a job most blokes wouldn't have the aggots to do:thumbsdown:.

To say that no one should know umpires names is just ignorant, I have a very good relationship with alot of the players and coaches inside this league, and I know it makes it alot easier for me to officiate in games by having those relationships, I also think there is a greater understanding from the players and coaches if they are able to approach me before, during or after a game of footy, even outside of the footy setting.

Well you are to be congratulated, if that is the case but you are out of the ordinary in the league and probably should get a GF game, you may want to take on a mentoring role if you are allowed to. I am not dumping shit on the 16 year old but the organisation that allocates him to games when he is clearly not qualified to umpire them. He is not qualified to umpire U 16 GFs so how can he be expected to umpire a senior game.

So if you have a LEGITIMATE complaint in relation to the Simmos then make it. If not or if you are dismissed then it is time to "get on with it". Stop wasting energy on such umpiring hating rants, observe the umpires understand there individaul differences and adapt accordingly.

This has been done been done time an time again, to no avail. The RDFL answer is that we have no control over them, in the 12 years I was involved with a club there were probalby 6 serious complaints made and they are still there.

Just look at this thread and how many times does their name pop up, it's about time that they took notice.

"4 big dud umpires in the RDFL. 2 x Simmos, McFarlane and Cusack."

I am not dumping shit on the 16 year old but the organisation that allocates him to games when he is clearly not qualified to umpire them. He is not qualified to umpire U 16 GFs so how can he be expected to umpire a senior game.

looks like a fairly obvious dumping of shit to me mate

And as for his qualifications, how the hell would you know how qualified he is? you wouldn't have the first idea of of the developement pathway mat has taken, or probably any other umpire for that matter.

Blue12,

I agree with your comments. In fact umpires watching Friday night footy with a different interuptation of the rules often stuff up in the local leagues on Saturday by going with the AFL interuptation because they saw it on TV the night before.

The local leagues also need to adapt to the changes where appropriate. I umpire in a league that has a 25m penatly instead of 50m. The way the game is played these days a 25m penalty where the game is stopped can be a disadvantage to the attacking team.

"Perhaps more communication to the spectators and players on how each individual league interpret different rules".

That would be great, but takes time and therefore money, if I was at a club I would make it may business to understand the rules and interuptations of the league I was playing in. I would talk to umpiring coaches and I would observe the way the umpires were interupting the rules in games and adapt accordinly.

Get a life mate, you're publicly naming and dumping shit on a 16 year old kid for going out there week in, week out and having a crack at a job most blokes wouldn't have the aggots to do:thumbsdown:.

To say that no one should know umpires names is just ignorant, I have a very good relationship with alot of the players and coaches inside this league, and I know it makes it alot easier for me to officiate in games by having those relationships, I also think there is a greater understanding from the players and coaches if they are able to approach me before, during or after a game of footy, even outside of the footy setting.

Still feeling the love NOW eh champ ??? :rolleyes:

Plus the kid is only really qualified to umpire under 14's and has been placed in a senior environment with another umpire that has no respect 2 + 2 + 5
Great post B75,as for you lauriec your living in the past and you play your own game thru the eye's of your children as you were not good enough yourself !This is a game we all love and YES it does frustrate me aswell as alot of coaches,players and followers etc.But we do not want to lose a 16 year old umpire to a game he loves too no matter who fault is . Hope you back soon champ

Well after reading the last few pages I really don't know what to say. I read a post earlier in response to my last post which appears to have been deleted and there are now another number of people on here just bagging umpires. I would think that people would want to just keep quiet at this time, not throw anymore fuel on the fire, its not going to help anyone!

Firstly, I would like to say, get off the backs of the semmo's. These guys put in their best efforts week in week out and having been doing so for almost 40 years. Yeh they may make a few mistakes, so do I, so do all the other umpires, its just these guys have been around for so long everyone knows them and teams have the preconceived idea that they are going to be umpired badly everytime they get them. Have an open mind and forget the umpiring.

I am absolutely shocked that so people are condoning what happened on the weekend. I wasn't there and I don't know what happened but nothing allows for a situation to turn into what happened.

As for saying that Matt is only qualified to umpire junior etc and shouldn't be doing senior football. I say where do we start giving junior umpires the chance to umpire senior football. Matt has umpired U/18's and Reserves for the past few years and is now starting out doing senior football. If these sorts of guys aren't given the chance we will never develop any new umpires. They are the future of our association.

As for the others naming who they think are bad umpires, I think this is really poor form.

And someone wrote about Addam Icely, I past player who is umpiring well, in my opinion he is one of the best, and yes he is still umpiring. Maybe a few other people should consider following in his footsteps!

Any the bagging of appointments, you see an umpire once every few weeks. We have an experienced panel of coaches at the RDFL that assess umpires at training and weekly at games. They know alot more about each individual umpire and their capabilities as umpires, and make their appointments accordingly knowing that any given game could flow freely without a hitch or turn into a firey affair!

What does being a failed player have to do with being a good umpire? Good football players do not neccessarily make good umpires. This is a myth that has been tryed at AFL and failed. The skills required are vastly different.

Ted Cassen, pretty good player and not a bad umpire, Paul Ross and sons not bad players and pretty good umpires. Hooper from Wallen last year is a good player and umpired fair, Jordan Andrews seems like a good umpire because he knows how to play the game. Agortis from Sunbury can umpire, he is probably too small to play top level footy but knows his rules. Cusack and Macfarlene without being disrepectful couldn't cut the grade on the playing field so chose umpiring, if that was their choice so be it, but take the criticism.

looks like a fairly obvious dumping of shit to me mate

And as for his qualifications, how the hell would you know how qualified he is? you wouldn't have the first idea of of the developement pathway mat has taken, or probably any other umpire for that matter.

Well he should follow a different path because the one he is following isn't working.

lauriec

If the boy was appointed to the game then the umpiring rated him good enough over other umpires to be there. In relations to qualifications, there is level 1 and 2. Nither of these levels would be required to do a senior game. I do not know the boy concerned but last year I umpired with a 15 y/o in a senior game. He was very good and personailty wise he did not take a backwards step.

The league does have control because they pay the umpires coaches wages. The league should ensure that the best available person is appointed to the job. The league are the employers and the umpires are the employees, once this decision is made it would not be appropriate for the league to interfere with individual appointments or individual coaching concerns.

The umpiring bodies name popping up frequently on this forum is not evidence of incompetance, you will no to provide a better argument than that.

Lauriec, if you would like to have a go yourself, i'd be happy to be your mentor and show you some of the stuff Matt has been though! I guessing like all the others bagging umpires on this site that you will turn me down!

Firstly, I would like to say, get off the backs of the semmo's. These guys put in their best efforts week in week out and having been doing so for almost 40 years. Yeh they may make a few mistakes, so do I, so do all the other umpires, its just these guys have been around for so long everyone knows them and teams have the preconceived idea that they are going to be umpired badly everytime they get them. Have an open mind and forget the umpiring.

So what! This is a shocking comment, if you go onto a footy ground you want to be umpired fairly, that never happens with them, it's all about them, not about the game, a few mistakes is ridiculus, they have made numerous mistakes and they get away with it week after week, they would be relishing this conversation at the moment, they don't umpire for the league they do it for self gratification. I listen to them on the train on Mondays and hear all about their acheivements.

You have to stop sticking your nose in where it doesn't belong

lauriec

The league does have control because they pay the umpires coaches wages. The league should ensure that the best available person is appointed to the job. The league are the employers and the umpires are the employees, once this decision is made it would not be appropriate for the league to interfere with individual appointments or individual coaching concerns.

As said ealier the league are weak and have been for years.

lauriec

Your argument that a you have to be a good player to make a good umpire is a fundamentally failed argument. You go on to name names. Would you like me to name the entire AFL umpiring list to rebut your argument? The cream always rises to the top and the AFL has the best available umpires at there disposal most of who would have never played senior football.

Well I umpired with one of them a few weeks ago and I thought he did an excellent job! And not one thing was said about the game. You are like one of many that have these thoughts in your head about the semmo's and aren't willing to give them a fair go. And you wouldn't know one thing about these blokes and what they take from each game they umpire so maybe its time you got off their backs!

Still plenty from you mate haha, how'd the young bloke go today?

Got done unfortunately. Looked like they were starting to get on top just before half time. Came out after break & then they stopped attacking, started to worry about what opposition were or weren't gunna do. (Negative Footy) Cost em in the end big time.
Personally I'd rather loose attacking than get done, tagging & chasing shaddows.

You did a good job yesterday too pal by the way, how you pull up ?

Got done unfortunately. Looked like they were starting to get on top just before half time. Came out after break & then they stopped attacking, started to worry about what opposition were or weren't gunna do. (Negative Footy) Cost em in the end big time.
Personally I'd rather loose attacking than get done, tagging & chasing shaddows.

You did a good job yesterday too pal by the way, how you pull up ?

yeah pulled up no worries mate, i'm not doing anywhere near as much running during games as I was last year mate as i'm sure you would understand.

Good tuff game as far as the football was concerned yesterday though, broadford clearly play a more congested type of ball than most.

If this is true, its Astonishing ! :mad:

ORNAGE UMP,

Try not to argue the uneducated and unintelligent opinion. When words such as "self gratification" and "league is weak" and "make mistakes week in week out" and (I saved the best one for last) "heard it on a train" are used then you know that like the crowd yelling at a decision there is no point trying to convince them they are wrong.

As soon as you start talking about the umps in your league and that they are putting their best foot forward, immediately any doubt I had about you and your fellow umpires was immediately dispelled. Why? because guess what, it all sounds a little familiar what ever league you umpire for.

As said ealier the league are weak and have been for years.
Your a joke little manhood all your post on here today and in the past are about bagging the same umpire and even worse is that you weren't even there at the romsey ,rockbank game !your a little man with a chip on his shoulder and it's time to move on

yeah pulled up no worries mate, i'm not doing anywhere near as much running during games as I was last year mate as i'm sure you would understand.

Good tuff game as far as the football was concerned yesterday though, broadford clearly play a more congested type of ball than most.

So it would seem.
Flood the opposition attacking zone, choke there scoring, then hope to re-bound & score yourself.
Makes for low scores & shit to watch.