RDFL Thread 2009

So it would seem.
Flood the opposition attacking zone, choke there scoring, then hope to re-bound & score yourself.
Makes for low scores & shit to watch.

makes for some good body on body which is nice to see occasionally, and despite the hard hitting the game was overall played in good spirits.

yeah pulled up no worries mate, i'm not doing anywhere near as much running during games as I was last year mate as i'm sure you would understand.

Good tuff game as far as the football was concerned yesterday though, broadford clearly play a more congested type of ball than most.

So it would seem.
Flood the opposition attacking zone, choke there scoring, then hope to re-bound & score yourself.
Makes for low scores & shit to watch.

makes for some good body on body which is nice to see occasionally, and despite the hard hitting the game was overall played in good spirits.

Cant believe what I've just read, pages and pages of naming and shaming umpires. Personally I have seen a few good umps so far, solid red headed bloke goes well, a chap called Dwayne we had vs Kilmore and the two fella's at Macedon on Saturday weren't noticed at all which is always the way to judge IMO, overlook proceedings and communicate interpretations/decisions well.

Sorry bout Saturday Omni, I have probably gone overboard and too much the other way in this trying to "shut down" negative stuff in recent weeks. As you've now seen our ability to hit up blokes forward of the centre was again a major headache for me on Saturday so we had to get back in numbers.

Why didn't you come say g'day? I thought after a bit of banter last week you woulda come and introduced yourself - half full did which I was grateful of, and to meet yet another BF follower :thumbsu:

Macedon are a bloody good side, Brendan has em well drilled and they run from every point of the ground when the opportunity arises. They jumped outa the blocks and had 3.1 on the board before we blinked then kicked two goals in the final ten minutes as we went goal less in the last. Would like to think our youngsters showed some good signs against a very good side OMNI?

Great back drop for football out there, good surface and that new social club is a ripper too :thumbsu:

Yawn. I'm sick of this umpiring crap.

For 15 years the Semmo's have been ordinary umpires. They continue to umpire senior matches because no other barstard has the guts to go down to Maccy Park on a Wednesday night and don a whistle and a bright orange shirt.

The alleged incident on the weekend was horrific, but it was a once off. The last time I've heard of an umpire being bashed in the RDFL was back in the eighties when one of Joe Korp's mates whacked an umpire in the showers at Lancefield. (It may have been Korp, think he was the coach that year).

We should treat this as an isolated incident. Ban the alleged player for life, warn Rockbank to pull their heads in both on and off the field at all levls and move on.

I'm spewing I can't be at the Cattery this weekend for what should be a ripping game of footy.

Haven't seen a footy kicked in the RDFL this year but this would be my interleague team.

B: Kane Bullen, Brayden Allen, Ben Talbot.
HB: Stephen Ruane, Jason Allen, Aaron Blade.
C: Luke Carroll, Shaun Sims, Brian Wheelahan.
HF: Ash Fleming, Matt Knox, Cameron McCabe.
F: James McArthur, Gary Moorcroft, Brian Ruffell.
R: Jamie Cuffe, Andrew McArthur, Guy Donovan.

Interchange: You could seriously throw up 15 names for to sit on the pine and rotate through. I'd have Waters as my backup ruckman and Meacham in there as well. I like the fact we can have some serious grunt in the midfield too. Our KPP are exemplery.

can we get back to football talk now and stop bagging umpires? There been a couple red cards given on big footy last couple days. Lets put Rockbank incident behind us all and let tribunal and law courts (unfortunatly) deal with it. Heard it could snow at Macedon through the week. Could make footy interesting.

I saw the crowd behind the coaches box cheer when it took place. I even saw and heard the runner continue to threaten the umpire after he had been struck. The rockbank coach had no control of the people on the bench or the players on the field . Some rockbank players wanted to fight even after the young bloke was so cowardly attacked .
I don't have any problem with you standing by your ex team mate . What took place is only his fault and no one else's . Give him life from football , and let the criminal courts do what they do . I'm sure they will be keen to make an example of him. If Rockbank as a club have any real commitment to the league they will ask you to hook up to your caravan and move on down the road .

FYI - If you wanna take pot shots mate go ahead but get your facts right. Not one person if from the caravan park and hardly any are actually from Rockbank.

How about focussing on the actual issues instead of making snide remarks

3 losses in a row for the Kangaroos now after a narrow victory against macedon which put them on top of the ladder 4 weeks ago. tough 2 games ahead as well with matches against woodend and then gary moorcroft. is it injuries or poor form or time for a new coach?
Nothing wrong with the coach buddy!

Mr Mat Nichols

If your are bored of talking about umpires, then stop talking about them!!!! And stop naming their names. You are not in a poistion to have an educated opinion on umpires.

I am reading this thread and cannot believe your personal comments about umpires. I would like to state that I am not from your area and have no idea of the teams and individuals concerned.

For those who are commenting on umpires, your opinions are biased and more importantly uneducated. If any of you have had the courage to take the field as an umpire you would have a much different perspective of what umpires do.

You actually believe that you know the rules of game, as an x afl umpire I am here to tell you that you knowledge of the rules and more improtantly how the umpires are coached to interupt the rules is poor to say the least. Did you know for example that the interuptation of holding the ball at AFL games is vastly different to local leagues??

The only people that can judge an umpire's performance that warrants any merrit is the umpiring body, not the players officials or spectators.

In my many years of umpiring I have never experienced any umpire who has not had the best intentions of game and who was not was trying their best to do a good job.

For those of you who critise umpires and use their names on such forums, you are weak(be careful what you say these forums do not protect your identity in legal proceedings).

Umpiring is an amazing skill that teaches people who take it on invaluable life skills. You need to make instant decisions, you need to accept that regardless of what you decision you make 50% will disagree. You have to accept that you cannot please people and therefore you must assess your self and make your own judgements on your performance (unless coaches are available for feedback). You learn confidence, self control, courage under fire, to be assertive, to discuss and explain, leadership skills, communication, organisation, dedication and fitness.

It may surprise some of you that I have found the majority of umpires to be highly intelligent, dedicated and successful individuals.

The best way to improve umpiring standards is to have good coaching and increase the number of umpires. Like any club that wins premierships these days your spend money to get good players. Spend some money on the coaching department, pay more money for umpires to officate games, an extra $30 a game would be very little for a club compared to what Gary Moorcroft is paid. Recruit more kids, $60 for 2 hours work is great pay for a 14 y/o. Set up academies and recruit from the local junior football clubs, they can do both umpiring and still play.

For those of you openly critical of umpires on this forum, your attitude, antics and abuse at matches possible contributed to what occurred on the weekend.

To the 16y/o umpire, I would love to see you umpiring in 2 weeks time.

Mr Mat Nichols

If your are bored of talking about umpires, then stop talking about them!!!! And stop naming their names. You are not in a poistion to have an educated opinion on umpires.

Actually I am in a position to have an educated opinion. In 2007-08 I umpired several RDFL junior matches and about a dozen senior Assumption school boy games. I understand it isn't an easy job, but it is a whole lot harder when you try and umpire with your ego, ala the Semmos.

There you go talking about umpires again.

In relation to the specific umpires, that is your opinion. If you have a specific complaint that you can back up with evidence then write a letter or discuss it with the umpiring body. If there is a legitimate complaint it will be discussed. If you do not get satisfaction then you have to accept the "umpires decision" and get on with it.

Good players and teams will look at umpiring decisions in the 1st 10mins of the game and adapt quickly to the umpires. Umpiring decisions set a precedent for the game.

I have seen players disputing decisions with umpires while the game is still in motion nearby. What a waste of energy and what a liability that player becomes if he cannot get on with the game instantly. This is why you rarely see AFL players disputing decisions, coaches would not tolerate such behaviour as this behaviour severely disadvantages the team.

So if you have a LEGITIMATE complaint in relation to the Simmos then make it. If not or if you are dismissed then it is time to "get on with it". Stop wasting energy on such umpiring hating rants, observe the umpires understand there individaul differences and adapt accordingly.

Final training squad for Interleague, training is on Thursday night at Macedon 6.30pm.

The squad is strong, really looking forward to what should be a fantastic day of football.. The 16's rep game, the Under 18's and the Seniors.

Hope to see everyone from BF at the game so that we have everyone's educated opinions come the weekend... Make sure you come and say hi :thumbsu:

Blade, Aaron - Macedon
Bullen, Kane - Melton Centrals
Carroll, Luke - Romsey
Christianson, Aaron - Macedon
Clarke, Stuart - Diggers Rest
Connellan, Ryan - Romsey
Cuffe, Jamie - Sunbury Kangaroos
Dawson, Cameron - Romsey
Dettman, Tim - Macedon
Dorman, Myles - Lancefield
Edwards, Michael - Broadford
Fenton, Adam - Melton Centrals
Fleming, Ash - Macedon
Goodwin, Darren - Macedon
Johnson, Robert - Sunbury Kangaroos
Knox, Matthew - Woodend/Hesket
McCabe, Cameron - Riddell
McCarthur, James - Macedon
McInerney, Leigh - Sunbury Kangaroos
Meacham, Chris - Riddell
Moorcroft, Gary - Romsey
Niki, Damien - Sunbury Kangaroos
O'Brien, Jonothan - Melton Centrals
Ruane, Steven - Diggers Rest
Ruffell, Brian - Lancefield
Ryan, John - Diggers Rest
Sims, Shaun - Diggers Rest
Smith, Travis - Lancefield
Walker, Luke - Rockbank
Waters, Tom - Lancefield
Wearne, Grant - Broadford
Wheelahan, Brian - Melton Centrals
Wilson, Leigh - Melton Centrals
Wilton, Jai - Macedon

So for all those guessing their sides, the final squad will be selected from this list.

FYI - If you wanna take pot shots mate go ahead but get your facts right. Not one person if from the caravan park and hardly any are actually from Rockbank.

How about focussing on the actual issues instead of making snide remarks
part of the issue was the mob mentality of the Rockbank bench . If you were at the game you would have seen it . I'm sure the RDFL want Rockbank to remain in the comp and so do I . I hope this is a real wake up call for all involved at your club. They might not have been from the caravan park , but the attitude of the runner and others was sickening.
Maybe they don't live in caravans. Is it a cave then?

The RDFL are going to be very busy dragging in anyone on this forum for publicly naming and bagging an umpire, as they set the precedent for that not to long ago. People who post on here must be aware that there private information is not private and you cannot hide behind an Alias. As for Saturdays incident the umpiring was OK, it was only when the Rockbank players,runner and spectators started the abuse that some decisions started going against them. As most clubs would certainly know, the more abuse you give the umpire in question the more the 50-50 decisions will go against you. As a previous post states the Rockbank players and spectators were becoming frustrated as they were unable to stop Gary Moorcroft . What the, is this the reason for the abuse and umpire bashing, we all throw the odd bit of abuse at the umpires out of frustration but Saturday was a disgrace.

part of the issue was the mob mentality of the Rockbank bench . If you were at the game you would have seen it . I'm sure the RDFL want Rockbank to remain in the comp and so do I . I hope this is a real wake up call for all involved at your club. They might not have been from the caravan park , but the attitude of the runner and others was sickening.
Maybe they don't live in caravans. Is it a cave then?[/quote]

There's another cheap shot! Honestly, try and be mature about it. I was at the game and I did see it and it is a wake up call. I've already stated my opinion in my earlier post where I said it's time the Rams took a stand and decided to "take out the trash".

Yes there were others who were sent off, including the captain who simply said to Simmo, "are you even watching the game". But that's all they were sent off for, a bit of back chat. I'm not saying it was the sole cause but this probably contributed to the "mob mentality" that you speak of.

Unfortunately it was the actions of one player, now banned from the club, that has reflected badly on the club and now everyone is condemning them as a whole. Pretty sure out of all the posts about the incident I've read only 1 that actually mentions the Rams players who went over and shook the hands of the Romsey boys and apologised, even stayed back for a few beers. No one wants to discuss the good just the bad.

The Rams and the player in question will be dealt with so how about we wait and see the outcome before we all go around sprouting our story, fact of the matter is that everyone that was there will have a different one. Yeah we're all disgusted and shocked by the incident but the club bashing and school yard comments are unnecessary.

Move on and focus on the cracking interleague games this weekend. Looking forward to seeing the best the RDFL has to offer kick some ass on Saturday.

The SFL will win by 12 goals and it wont be their best team on the field either.
St.Kilda city had 10 invited to training and im told not 1 has attended, but the depth will still prove to much for the RDFL.
SFL by 80 points

Maybe they don't live in caravans. Is it a cave then?[/quote]

There's another cheap shot! Honestly, try and be mature about it. I was at the game and I did see it and it is a wake up call. I've already stated my opinion in my earlier post where I said it's time the Rams took a stand and decided to "take out the trash".

Yes there were others who were sent off, including the captain who simply said to Simmo, "are you even watching the game". But that's all they were sent off for, a bit of back chat. I'm not saying it was the sole cause but this probably contributed to the "mob mentality" that you speak of.

Unfortunately it was the actions of one player, now banned from the club, that has reflected badly on the club and now everyone is condemning them as a whole. Pretty sure out of all the posts about the incident I've read only 1 that actually mentions the Rams players who went over and shook the hands of the Romsey boys and apologised, even stayed back for a few beers. No one wants to discuss the good just the bad.

The Rams and the player in question will be dealt with so how about we wait and see the outcome before we all go around sprouting our story, fact of the matter is that everyone that was there will have a different one. Yeah we're all disgusted and shocked by the incident but the club bashing and school yard comments are unnecessary.

Move on and focus on the cracking interleague games this weekend. Looking forward to seeing the best the RDFL has to offer kick some ass on Saturday.
Fair point.
Why only two players from Riddell ?

The SFL will win by 12 goals and it wont be their best team on the field either.
St.Kilda city had 10 invited to training and im told not 1 has attended, but the depth will still prove to much for the RDFL.
SFL by 80 points

Every time interleague comes around people will talk about not having thier best team on the park, the fact of the matter is, every league will have players that would be in the best team not available for one reason or another, but underrate the RDFL side at your peril, this team wants to represent the league, want to play for the competition, and they are quality players. I think that we as a league have the most passionate and dedicated players to the competition as I have witnessed, I cannot wait for the RDFL to be represented by these players once again, it has been too long a wait. Every single one of them will do the RDFL proud... :thumbsu:

There you go talking about umpires again.

In relation to the specific umpires, that is your opinion. If you have a specific complaint that you can back up with evidence then write a letter or discuss it with the umpiring body. If there is a legitimate complaint it will be discussed. If you do not get satisfaction then you have to accept the "umpires decision" and get on with it.

Good players and teams will look at umpiring decisions in the 1st 10mins of the game and adapt quickly to the umpires. Umpiring decisions set a precedent for the game.

I have seen players disputing decisions with umpires while the game is still in motion nearby. What a waste of energy and what a liability that player becomes if he cannot get on with the game instantly. This is why you rarely see AFL players disputing decisions, coaches would not tolerate such behaviour as this behaviour severely disadvantages the team.

So if you have a LEGITIMATE complaint in relation to the Simmos then make it. If not or if you are dismissed then it is time to "get on with it". Stop wasting energy on such umpiring hating rants, observe the umpires understand there individaul differences and adapt accordingly.

Agree wholeheartedly... :thumbsu:

What's the closing date on clearances? If the Rams senior squad gets the boots will players be given the opportunity to get clearances?

Clearances close on June 30th
Clearances within the league closed yesterday
I would think if as you say "the squad gets the boot", the league would allow players open clearances, even within the league.
Personally i can't see it happening.

Regardless I have already heard a rumour that 4 senior players lodged clearances yesterday.

Totally agree that all interleague sides will not have their best side in if everyone was available and i was not underestimating the will of the players etc, just stating that they may get brought back down to earth in regards to where some people may think the league sits. Big difference between rdfl and SFL Div 1 sides. Div 2 however may be similar. Looking forward to the contest nontheless.

It is quite obvious they have a lot more depth, SFL have 3 divisions with 28 or 29 teams to choose from, we have 12. If we can beat them, it will be a long drive home for some that are predicting a slaughtering.

Reading the papers I thought I would have a look at this the RDFL thread. 2 things have jumped out at me.

1. Bad umpiring is part of every league. It is part of the game and something that has to be accepted. They will make mistakes but it is a hard job so it really is not that big of a deal. No matter how bad the umpiring is you cannot lay a finger on an ump let alone punch one. No excuse.

2. The use of the term "out of character". Each time I hear this it reminds me of those people that have children and own dogs like a pit bull. You see them on TV after one of their kids has had its face ripped off saying things like "the dog is really good with kids" and "this is out of charater for this dog".

Charater is defined by what you do. You punch an umpire then it is part of your charater to do something like that. Your actions define your charater not the other way around.