RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

I wouldn't say there is an issue. The RDFL is financial, however after investigating the way left things, several unpresented cheques, contracts with preferred suppliers that were lost...the league is just ensuring that his mis-management over the previous few years is all reviewed. Thus have been getting the books audited/reviewed for every year he held the post.

From what I understand the RDFL has been working none stop to square everything away, and have been working every Monday night.

A positive I guess, it gives us more time to bitch about the fixture!

Doona: I need a local plasterer who'll work for a pie and soft drink...know anyone?

Sorry mate can't think of one off the top of my head

I wouldn't say there is an issue. The RDFL is financial, however after investigating the way left things, several unpresented cheques, contracts with preferred suppliers that were lost...the league is just ensuring that his mis-management over the previous few years is all reviewed. Thus have been getting the books audited/reviewed for every year he held the post.

From what I understand the RDFL has been working none stop to square everything away, and have been working every Monday night.

A positive I guess, it gives us more time to bitch about the fixture!

Doona: I need a local plasterer who'll work for a pie and soft drink...know anyone?

long time reader, first time i have felt the need to post.
interesting take on things, why does one man control all of the finances of the entire league? doesnt the board have control of the finances.
arent unpresented cheques just cheques that havent been banked. not sure why that is an issue either. sounds like someone is a bit upset and could be just making slightly slanderus comments. just a thought

interesting take on things, why does one man control all of the finances of the entire league? doesnt the board have control of the finances.
arent unpresented cheques just cheques that havent been banked. not sure why that is an issue either. sounds like someone is a bit upset and could be just making slightly slanderus comments. just a thought

These are facts as delivered by the Board at the RDFL Pre-AGM which I was present.

Welcome wttt..... Interesting question you pose there. But I'de go one step further and ask, If things were left in such a mess, how was this able to go on for what presumably must have been his entire tenure of the 2 years ? And moreover, what checks & ballances (if any) are in place so it cant or wont happen again ???

And lets hope those "alleged" unpresented cheques, arent..... "BLANK" unpresented cheques !!! :eek:

Lets hope that no blank cheques went unchecked to any cheeky Czechs !!!!

Welcome wttt..... Interesting question you pose there. But I'de go one step further and ask, If things were left in such a mess, how was this able to go on for what presumably must have been his entire tenure of the 2 years ? And moreover, what checks & ballances (if any) are in place so it cant or wont happen again ???

And lets hope those "alleged" unpresented cheques, arent..... "BLANK" unpresented cheques !!! :eek:

Lets hope that no blank cheques went unchecked to any cheeky Czechs !!!!

Dunno about anything slanderous in what has been posted thus far wttt, I agree totally with you & OMNI. Surely the one person in control has to be accountable to the board & whether it be weekly, monthly or quarterly surely the financials must be crossed examined by the board's executive at the very least . . . after all they (the board) are the employers of the employee (GM) on behalf of all the clubs paying annual league fee's & I reckon those clubs deserve to know everything is being controlled professionally.

The only reason I began asking is that our club paid close to $12k more in 2009 than we did in 2008 to compete in the HDFL & it's got me f**cked why??? Now Im hearing that not every club paid the same amount in league fee's in '09 . . . . . I just hope someone can either confirm or (please strongly) deny this :confused:

Dunno about anything slanderous in what has been posted thus far wttt, I agree totally with you & OMNI. Surely the one person in control has to be accountable to the board & whether it be weekly, monthly or quarterly surely the financials must be crossed examined by the board's executive at the very least . . . after all they (the board) are the employers of the employee (GM) on behalf of all the clubs paying annual league fee's & I reckon those clubs deserve to know everything is being controlled professionally.

The only reason I began asking is that our club paid close to $12k more in 2009 than we did in 2008 to compete in the HDFL & it's got me f**cked why??? Now Im hearing that not every club paid the same amount in league fee's in '09 . . . . . I just hope someone can either confirm or (please strongly) deny this :confused:
All of this also makes one wonder about the due diligence of the former GM's new employer.

I reckon you blokes were conned into making the switch unfortunately mate. Should have stayed where you were

All of this also makes one wonder about the due diligence of the former GM's new employer.

Former GM's new employer? I am sure the RDFL Board are keen to find out where they can find him (legal action is pending). When he left, he certaintly went into hiding...deleting everyone off facebook etc.

Do you know if he's stayed in the Sports Industry?

Former GM's new employer? I am sure the RDFL Board are keen to find out where they can find him (legal action is pending). When he left, he certaintly went into hiding...deleting everyone off facebook etc.

Eagle One
BigFooty Apprentice

Cricket

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long time EDFL General Manager Stan Pettett has departed from the position as from 9pm last Tuesday night. Stan may have rubbed a few people at club level up the wrong way but he was very committed to his job and called a spade a spade. Let us hope that people do not start making false statements at club or board level and let his departure be a smooth one. Good luck for the future and thanks for your contribution to a great competition.

I doubt that he has gone into hiding, still talks to people that are involved in the league to the best of my knowledge.

There are some things that have me confused after reading the recent posts.

There seems to be a few things that people have heard during the chinese whispers that the RDFL is famous for.

No one did a runner - if all remeber there was a presentation made a half time of the grandfinal made to the previoius GM for his 3 years service made by the president of the RDFL, his intention to no seek a contract extension (which was offered to the former GM by the board mid year but declined - one Matt Nicholls still needs to learn to only report on facts and not runour any wonder he is working for the bush telegraph)

The RDFL does have a board and the under the governance model of the RDFL like most boards the treasurer is responsiable for housekeeping of financial statements, the General Manager does not have financial authority and any transactions that would have been required would have had to have 2 signatures on any withdrawls one being from the treasurer, so why in all these allegations has no one cared to bring up the lack of management from the executives of the RDFL?

It is also funny that people forget about the good things that the former GM was able to achieve in such a small time in the job, The football development academy, the RDFL all star game, the recreation of a interleague program and the marketing and sponsorship $$ that was raised over his time

And on a final note people should be wary of making SLANDEROUS remarks about a person on this forum or verbally.

As the definition of slander reads
slander–noun 1.defamation; calumny: rumors full of slander. 2.a malicious, false, and defamatory statement or report: a slander against his good name.
3.Law. defamation by oral utterance rather than by writing, pictures, etc.

These alleged indiscretions by the former GM are all ALLEGED meaning that they have not been proven, sure the league may take legal action but it still has to be proven in a court of law of any wrong doing.

So I would strongy urge all people to not enagage in this behaviour as they may find themselves also the subject to legal action.

I doubt that he has gone into hiding, still talks to people that are involved in the league to the best of my knowledge.

There are some things that have me confused after reading the recent posts.

There seems to be a few things that people have heard during the chinese whispers that the RDFL is famous for.

No one did a runner - if all remeber there was a presentation made a half time of the grandfinal made to the previoius GM for his 3 years service made by the president of the RDFL, his intention to no seek a contract extension (which was offered to the former GM by the board mid year but declined - one Matt Nicholls still needs to learn to only report on facts and not runour any wonder he is working for the bush telegraph)

The RDFL does have a board and the under the governance model of the RDFL like most boards the treasurer is responsiable for housekeeping of financial statements, the General Manager does not have financial authority and any transactions that would have been required would have had to have 2 signatures on any withdrawls one being from the treasurer, so why in all these allegations has no one cared to bring up the lack of management from the executives of the RDFL?

It is also funny that people forget about the good things that the former GM was able to achieve in such a small time in the job, The football development academy, the RDFL all star game, the recreation of a interleague program and the marketing and sponsorship $$ that was raised over his time

And on a final note people should be wary of making SLANDEROUS remarks about a person on this forum or verbally.

As the definition of slander reads
slander–noun 1.defamation; calumny: rumors full of slander. 2.a malicious, false, and defamatory statement or report: a slander against his good name.
3.Law. defamation by oral utterance rather than by writing, pictures, etc.

These alleged indiscretions by the former GM are all ALLEGED meaning that they have not been proven, sure the league may take legal action but it still has to be proven in a court of law of any wrong doing.

So I would strongy urge all people to not enagage in this behaviour as they may find themselves also the subject to legal action.

I'm not sure why my name was dragged into this. I certainly haven't made any allegations. The only thing I have said was questions need to be asked of the board because of some of the "rumours" I have heard.

Former GM discussion: Who cares now anyway. RDFL is moving forward, lesson learnt. Overall, Care Factor Zero!

Amazing all of this stuff that I am reading..

It's such a shame that the former GM's good work over the past couple of years is being sullied by some of the comments being made on here, I would love to know where you get your info from RGS, straight from your local friendly board member, talk about a conflict of interest!!!!!!!

Ok, so there might have been some i's that required dotting and t's that needed crossing when the former GM departed the scene, but surely it was to be expected, he was more than likely spending all of his valuable time avoiding or removing knives that were being thrown at his back from certain board members. The rubbish that he would have been dealing with, no wonder he left when he did, there are certain members of the board that need to have a good hard look at themselves, prancing about with their chests puffed out, claiming success of the hard work that is completed by others, get serious and accept some responsibility yourselves, god help us if some of the board members (the good ones) who are considering not putting themselves up for re-election have a change of heart and stand again, otherwise things could turn very ugly very quickly. There is only one area that needs to be reviewed in the RDFL, its the "affiliated" board members that currently hold office, that also hold official roles at thier local clubs (which is against the rules of the competition) and are happy to beat the jungle drums and tell everyone exactly where they come from and make no secret of insider assistance.

I for one hope that the GM is successful in all future endevours, he was certainly successful in the last of them, he just had a failed backing crew.

I certainly haven't made any allegations. The only thing I have said was questions need to be asked of the board because of some of the "rumours" I have heard.

I think most the question asking is of the employer (board) not the employee, coz if things like the books were in need of an extraordinary audit then perhaps they weren't meeting with the GM as often as they should in their elected league executive positions . . . . a lot of work for one fella without support in the correct area's - hang on a minute that also sounds like my 3 year coaching stint back at home :D

These are facts as delivered by the Board at the RDFL Pre-AGM which I was present.

I think most the question asking is of the employer (board) not the employee, coz if things like the books were in need of an extraordinary audit then perhaps they weren't meeting with the GM as often as they should in their elected league executive positions . . . . a lot of work for one fella without support in the correct area's - hang on a minute that also sounds like my 3 year coaching stint back at home :D

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Agree completely Doona.. There seems to be only one area that should be held accountable for any questions raised from an extraordinary audit and that is the board and the treasurer... And reading from the input of RGS, this is not the case, there seems to be quite the passing of the buck.. Pardon the pun..

Amazing all of this stuff that I am reading..

It's such a shame that the former GM's good work over the past couple of years is being sullied by some of the comments being made on here, I would love to know where you get your info from RGS, straight from your local friendly board member, talk about a conflict of interest!!!!!!!

Ok, so there might have been some i's that required dotting and t's that needed crossing when the former GM departed the scene, but surely it was to be expected, he was more than likely spending all of his valuable time avoiding or removing knives that were being thrown at his back from certain board members. The rubbish that he would have been dealing with, no wonder he left when he did, there are certain members of the board that need to have a good hard look at themselves, prancing about with their chests puffed out, claiming success of the hard work that is completed by others, get serious and accept some responsibility yourselves, god help us if some of the board members (the good ones) who are considering not putting themselves up for re-election have a change of heart and stand again, otherwise things could turn very ugly very quickly. There is only one area that needs to be reviewed in the RDFL, its the "affiliated" board members that currently hold office, that also hold official roles at thier local clubs (which is against the rules of the competition) and are happy to beat the jungle drums and tell everyone exactly where they come from and make no secret of insider assistance.

I for one hope that the GM is successful in all future endevours, he was certainly successful in the last of them, he just had a failed backing crew.

Very well said DP. :thumbsu:

This is the one that Rankles my Ire - People that have gotten on the Board for "ONE" reason alone, & that is to self servingly push their own bias "CLUB" agendas, without seeing the bigger picture or without serving the greater RDFL footballing community....... Shame on "YOOS" ! :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
....................& You know who you are ! :mad:

can anyone confirm or deny that a bidding war has just begun for the srvices of damian houlihan between macedon and riddell? my sources claim that macedon are leading the race with an offer of 600 per game, 100 dollars more than the offer of riddell. gotta love this time of year, as apparently neither offer has impressed damian

I think you might find keilor park are also after his services judging by the EDFL thread

He will be playing at riddell next year.

IT appears there may have been a change of heart from riddells coach. i was reading an article in the local paper a couple of weeks ago in which power claimed that he was not interested in chasing players. he was happy with his current group of players and wanted to promote the young star players and develop them rather than chase others. three weeks later blade,bairdx2,houlihan,climas,allen and others are rumoured to be signed for well above market price??????????????

heard an intersting little rumour on radio this morning that the romsey hotel has been sold and will be demolished making way for a supermarket with only take away alcohol as a direct result of not getting pokies....what effect will this have on the romsey football/netball club if true

i would say a good effect, the club could then modify their opening hours to suit the town. but i doubt there would be any truth to it.

Agree with blues12, if this was the case then the footy club could fully capitalise on it's license and cater for locals thirst quenching. A cricket club up this way was often referred to as the "pub" on the way home and even at times churned out 40-50 meals on a Friday night.

Revenue making could be endless IMO.

Agree with blues12, if this was the case then the footy club could fully capitalise on it's license and cater for locals thirst quenching. A cricket club up this way was often referred to as the "pub" on the way home and even at times churned out 40-50 meals on a Friday night.

Revenue making could be endless IMO.
they'd have a big job on their hands doing up the rooms to that kind of standard, not that there is anything wrong with what they've got, it just aint big enough. They would need a kitchen too.