RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

Gday Omni, James, Robo (Kil)Grrrry, Dawson (Rom) Talbot, B.Caton(Lan) Blade, McCabe(Rid) Fleming, Goodwin (Mac) Knox, NG (Wood) Sims, Laurie(Dig) Groth, Jacobs(Wal) take your pick of ant 2 at (Sun) down to the two recruits at the Rams. This would be a great RDFL side and with recruits not finalised for this season it will even be stronger.

Yeah G'day champ. All the best for the season ahead & all. Just hope you are not toooo successful, thats all ;).... runners up will do fine ok ?

I guess we will catch up sometime in the season propper to reminisce over a frothy or two & we can tell each other just how good we each were eh ? :eek: Cheers.

Wallan play HDFL premier Heathcote in a practice match next saturday up at heathcote for anyone whos interested

Would you like this to be a players only forum? End of the day some people can play the game and some know about the game and some both.

You have the playing part but maybe you should join the RDFL Supercoach and show us your knowledge of the game?? If you are limited to RDFL knowledge it is ok if you give it a miss. Nothing wrong with being one of those people who can only play the game.

Code: 212485

love to mate but im already in 3. all i was saying is id like to see more players on here giving their opinion on the players in the league. other than the same select ppl all the time. just looking for some ppl who i know read this thread to get on and have a say on what they think!!! i get over reading the same ppls thoughts week in week out. and just looking to stir you 3 up at the same time. obviously it was easier than fishing with omni:D:D

The two highest paid football commentators in Australia (TV and newspaper) never played senior football at any level. So I guess they should be sacked as well?

But you're right, it would be good to have some footballers on here making comments. Perhaps you could start?

Grubby 3s comments were very tongue in cheek:D
And i know ims and grub are very good mates, so a dig here and there between them is harmless fun.
But matt you are a journalist and you used reference to top line journalists, How about you get rid of your imaginary border line that stops at riddell and macedon? As a part of the job you love it might be nice if you realised that centrals,kangas,burras and the rams play rdfl too. Also your previous comments that the kangas are on the verge of taking ownership of sunbury, but they wont do anything for the next 5 years is a strange statement for an experienced journo. A top line journo would actually go and see whats happening at all the clubs and then report. But you make your statements from zero information and zero homework whilst living in another state and not watching a single game or training session.

Id say grubby 3 had plenty of merit in his comments

love to mate but im already in 3. all i was saying is id like to see more players on here giving their opinion on the players in the league. other than the same select ppl all the time. just looking for some ppl who i know read this thread to get on and have a say on what they think!!! i get over reading the same ppls thoughts week in week out. and just looking to stir you 3 up at the same time. obviously it was easier than fishing with omni:D:D

It is a good point - I am sick of players and coaches calling me and asking me to put something on big footy for them. End of the day some players and coaches would prefer to just read - things can come back to bite you. Also I think most players and coaches would struggle to set up a user name and password. Not everyone was lucky enough to go to St. Brigids.

You know you can play in more than 3?

And i know ims and grub are very good mates, so a dig here and there between them is harmless fun.
But matt you are a journalist and you used reference to top line journalists, How about you get rid of your imaginary border line that stops at riddell and macedon? As a part of the job you love it might be nice if you realised that centrals,kangas,burras and the rams play rdfl too. Also your previous comments that the kangas are on the verge of taking ownership of sunbury, but they wont do anything for the next 5 years is a strange statement for an experienced journo. A top line journo would actually go and see whats happening at all the clubs and then report. But you make your statements from zero information and zero homework whilst living in another state and not watching a single game or training session.

What a great post - if I was a betting man I would have my money on that you went to St. Brigids.

Pfft. The imaginary line between Riddell and Macedon is called a newspaper circulation area and unfortunately I didn't work across that line for those high flyer newspapers called the Leader and Telegraph respectively. So the reason why most of my information and posts are about the 'East' is because that's where I'm from. Even the top line journos at Melbourne's two metropolitan newspapers make even the most basic mistakes about the 'interstate' clubs in what is supposed to a national competition. Also, its no coincidence the Herald Sun write 90% more stories on Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton, Melbourne, Richmond, North Melbourne, Hawthorn, Western Bulldogs, Geelong and St Kilda than they do on West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Sydney and Brisbane. Why? Because of their readership!

As for the comments on Sunbury, they were actually complementary towards your club, noting the fact the Kangaroos, being the 'working class' club in the town, could easily become the most popular because they are the only team to play in a local competition and were in a good position to attract sponsorship because of that fact. The five year comment was about your potential strength. I said you wouldn't be 'too strong' for the RDFL within the next five years. After that, you could become like the Meltons, Sunburys and Gisbornes and actually outgrow the RDFL if things were to really progress.

Probably shouldn't have bitten so hard to what was obvious bait, but there's one thing I can claim - before I started working for the Midland Express (and later the Free Press in Kilmore) there was very very very little written about the RDFL. The last decent reporting on the league in terms of quantity was before the powerhouse clubs moved elsewhere. Eugene Benson did a pretty good job at the Tele while he was there, but only used to get one article in a week basically. So while the RDFL is getting stronger on the field, remember this - the hype has to come from somewhere. Whether it is the official RDFL website or the newspapers or even BigFooty, all footy talk on all platforms only does wonders for boosting interest in our local competition.

My suggestion for you western clubs is to write a letter to your local paper and offer to send them a match report each Sunday from your games. Journalists are notoriously lazy people and if they have information in their hands, are most likely to just re-hash it and print it. If they have to do 'hard' things like making phone calls or (god help me) attend games, then you might go without completely.

Pfft. The imaginary line between Riddell and Macedon is called a newspaper circulation area and unfortunately I didn't work across that line for those high flyer newspapers called the Leader and Telegraph respectively. So the reason why most of my information and posts are about the 'East' is because that's where I'm from. Even the top line journos at Melbourne's two metropolitan newspapers make even the most basic mistakes about the 'interstate' clubs in what is supposed to a national competition. Also, its no coincidence the Herald Sun write 90% more stories on Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton, Melbourne, Richmond, North Melbourne, Hawthorn, Western Bulldogs, Geelong and St Kilda than they do on West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Sydney and Brisbane. Why? Because of their readership!

As for the comments on Sunbury, they were actually complementary towards your club, noting the fact the Kangaroos, being the 'working class' club in the town, could easily become the most popular because they are the only team to play in a local competition and were in a good position to attract sponsorship because of that fact. The five year comment was about your potential strength. I said you wouldn't be 'too strong' for the RDFL within the next five years. After that, you could become like the Meltons, Sunburys and Gisbornes and actually outgrow the RDFL if things were to really progress.

Probably shouldn't have bitten so hard to what was obvious bait, but there's one thing I can claim - before I started working for the Midland Express (and later the Free Press in Kilmore) there was very very very little written about the RDFL. The last decent reporting on the league in terms of quantity was before the powerhouse clubs moved elsewhere. Eugene Benson did a pretty good job at the Tele while he was there, but only used to get one article in a week basically. So while the RDFL is getting stronger on the field, remember this - the hype has to come from somewhere. Whether it is the official RDFL website or the newspapers or even BigFooty, all footy talk on all platforms only does wonders for boosting interest in our local competition.

My suggestion for you western clubs is to write a letter to your local paper and offer to send them a match report each Sunday from your games. Journalists are notoriously lazy people and if they have information in their hands, are most likely to just re-hash it and print it. If they have to do 'hard' things like making phone calls or (god help me) attend games, then you might go without completely.

that was well written pal. I accept your explanation too. I do want to ask you tho, where you stated again the 5 year thing with the kangas, Does that mean they wont get near the cup in that period? im confused. should i wait 5 years and then recruit a gun side? my comments now are very light hearted:D

just love the way you pump up yor own tyres there matty. well done you have saved the rdfl just cause you write in the paper. im sure ppl were lining up just to see what you wrote:confused::confused::confused: can't believe your not being paid millions:D

Yeah G'day champ. All the best for the season ahead & all. Just hope you are not toooo successful, thats all ;).... runners up will do fine ok ?

I guess we will catch up sometime in the season propper to reminisce over a frothy or two & we can tell each other just how good we each were eh ? :eek: Cheers.
I forgot to ask you, how did you end up in the EDFL?

Oh.... Had a couple of mates that were playing at West, was living down town at the time. They tried to get me to have a kick there the year before we crossed swords champ, they lost that Grannie. Then I came over & played a few games the following year & was lucky enough to get a gig in the big one.... & the rest ...... well I guess you know how it all turned out pal.

Only regret is mate, I finished up doing a "Kekovich" in the team photo ! :eek:

What a Dick Head eh ??? :(

Oh.... Had a couple of mates that were playing at West, was living down town at the time. They tried to get me to have a kick there the year before we crossed swords champ, they lost that Grannie. Then I came over & played a few games the following year & was lucky enough to get a gig in the big one.... & the rest ...... well I guess you know how it all turned out pal.

Only regret is mate, I finished up doing a "Kekovich" in the team photo ! :eek:

What a Dick Head eh ??? :(
All depends, were you doing what Keka was doing?

Well you are only young once champ..... Routine usually went something like - Clubbing, work & footy. Pretty much in that order. :eek:

Do you remember a bloke called Freddy Suban playing then mate ? He may well have even played on you ! His young fella is playing over with Freo'... & going very well by all accounts too.

Well you are only young once champ..... Routine usually went something like - Clubbing, work & footy. Pretty much in that order. :eek:

Do you remember a bloke called Freddy Suban playing then mate ? He may well have even played on you ! His young fella is playing over with Freo'... & going very well by all accounts too.
Yeh his old man was a tough buggar, Nick looks like he will make the grade. I still catch up with your team mates from time to time, and they have fond memories of their Premiership full forward.

Get a room you 2 old 'has beens' or more to the point 'never was beens'. omni stop talking it up like you could play cause you were as soft as butter and sly worry about coaching your rabble instead of posting crap on here every day.

Yeah, layin' on the ground unconscious perhaps ! :eek:

Na I will definitely like to catch up with you sly. Round 4, our patch, my shout. :thumbsu:

Dont sweat it sly. There's always "ONE" in every crowd mate. Negative arse holes that think they are very very smart knowing who you are, whilst they take their gutless shots with complete anonymity - Very courageous ! They add nothing to the thread & are a pitiful consequence of our freedoms of speach..........Unfortunately ! :thumbsdown:

Yeh, cannot remember last time Roy had anything constructive to say, anyway in that GF, Kevin Currie played for us and his kid is now playing for the Swanns, kicked the first major against the Saints and looks like he might make the grade.

Let me be more constructive how about you 2 floggers keep all your backslapping and reliving glory days between yourselves by private messaging each other. the rest of dont really care which champion you used to play with now has a son playing afl. i bet it must hurt omni (damir dokic of football) to see his son only play rdfl.

Your making this a bit too personal arent you Roy? I realise that any time spent at the sunbury lions must reek havok with ones brain capacity. But potting blokes and their sons behind an alias is quite gutless.:thumbsdown:

Oh, ok sly I'll have to have a look out for the young bloke because I do remember Kevins name.......... you do know pal I have a copy of that game on video somewhere abouts the place. :eek: