Kilmore by 38 pts over Melton.
Romsey by 38 pts over Lancefield.
Riddell by 38 pts over Macedon.

Carpe Diem, to all. :footy:

Results in for round 3:

Lancefield by 19 points over Romsey

Diggers by around 11 goals over Broadford

Sunbury by around 14 goals over Rockbank

I believe Riddell got up over Macedon, but they were only 3 points up at 1/2 time.

Results in for round 3:

Lancefield by 19 points over Romsey

Diggers by around 11 goals over Broadford

Sunbury by around 14 goals over Rockbank

I believe Riddell got up over Macedon, but they were only 3 points up at 1/2 time.

Wallan by 52 points against woodend.

Interested to hear from those who were at MacPherson Park today, Kilmore out to a big lead early, 8 goals up at 3/4 time, then held scoreless in the last to fall in by 6 pts.

Interested to hear from those who were at MacPherson Park today, Kilmore out to a big lead early, 8 goals up at 3/4 time, then held scoreless in the last to fall in by 6 pts.[/quote

Didnt it rain in Melton during the arvo?.. Maybe they dont like the wet weather lol

An interesting day all round yesterday as the interesting results continued to roll within the competition.. Boardman Reserve played host to Rockbank and a swirling wind as I got my first look at the new look Rams for 2010.. Before I comment on the game though I would like to give a big cheer to the Rams and thier coach Lee Spry. There is real effort taking place at the Rams in cleaning up thier act, it seems that no longer will pointing the blame anywhere else but thier own backyard, regardless on how bad the decision might have been. While one of the players that was sent off last week has retired (Dave Innella) the other was dropped to the reserves as part of what seems an edict from the club, if you are undisciplined, you will be required to miss the game the following week, to the players credit, he went back to the two's and was the Rams best.. A fantastic initiative by the club and exactly the stand that was needed to be taken... :thumbsu:
Now, onto the game.. The first quarter was a real arm wrestle as the Rams took it up to the Kangaroos. Recruit Michael Kennedy looked the goods in the ruck and was well supported by Matt Krul as they battle big Leigh Fischendon. The Rams were good enough to generate opportunity, but the Kangaroos controlled the half back line, Jamie Cuffe and Adam Walsh repelling most attacks. The Kangas had a goal on the board within the first minute through Meacham, and it looked like a long day ahead for the Rams, but they battled back and an even first term resulted. The second quarter though told a different tale. While the Rams battled hard they just couldn't find a way forward with the wind in the second, while the Kangaroos took complete control through the middle of the ground. Darragh McGovern continued his outstanding start to the year with a dominating performance, while on the opposite side of the coin, Jaime Zerafa was completely negated by Leigh McInerney, after all of the talk from the first two weeks, I will really looking forward to seeing Zerafa in action, but he had a bad day, a real bad day, he had no influence on the game at all and really didn't seem to be making an effort to put himself in a position to do so. Mitch Strieff had a purple patch through the middle of the 2nd where he could do little wrong and the Roos booted 6 goals to 2 and on the display so far, put the game out of reach. The third term saw a much more spirited display from the Rams, they kicked 4 for the term, including 2 to Brent Henry up forward who at times looked very good. Brendan Newitt, easily far and away the Rams best player on the ground was working really hard both ways and finding plenty of the ball, he was well supported by coach Lee Spry, who ladies and gentlemen, may indeed be the biggest kick of the football in the RDFL, that is worth watching in itself.. But the Rams just couldn't break the domination of the Kangaroos, 7 goals for the term, with a fantastic spread of goal kickers, and the game was done and dusted. The last term saw much of the same, one way traffic as the Roos piled on another 7, including 3 to Meacham who at times had been well held by Jason Maumill. An 87 point thumping, a result that the Rams certainly would not have wanted to take away from Boardman Reserve, but on the positive side, they have Clayton to come back into the side as well as Nathan Jackal who missed yesterday's game and is the man who will take some pressure off Zerafa..
Game Votes
3 - D.McGovern (SK) - Clearly the best player on the ground, absolutely dominated. The Rams had no answer at all, racked up possession and also impacted the scoreboard, attempts to ruffle his feathers just ended up with a typical tough midfielder smile and a wink and another clearance, the Roos certainly have found one here...
2 - J.Cuffe (SK) - Dominated across half back, then went to Full Forward and kicked 2 in 5 minutes, then went into the ruck and took 5 marks in 5 minutes, then went to full back and had 5 out of defensive 50 clearances. Its annoying, someone said he should take up golf like all the other old men, but how can you debate the facts, at 38, he is still one of the best in the competition.
1 - B.Newitt (RB) - Was the Rams best, I don't like giving votes to a side that is thumped, as happens alot, just to get them in, but this guy to me, was actually the 3rd best player on the ground.

Apologies to L.McInerney who completely negated the influence of Zerafa, but in the end it really wasn't hard as he at times seemed to refuse to move.

What I learned from Round 3
  • Screw the tipping, I hope there are some easy rounds coming up.
  • The Redbacks are 0-3 with the Kangaroos and Riddell the next two weeks, could they really start 0-5 and if so, can they make finals??
  • Kilmore are teetering, a one goal win after being 8 goals up, they have a lot of work to do to play finals in 2010
  • Wallan continue to impress, a fantastic win against the Hawks and a big match up with the Bombers ahead.
  • Leigh Spry is the biggest kick in the competition, good clean fun watching those 65m drop punts and 70m torps :D
Performance ladder - Round 3

Wallan
Sunbury Kangaroos
Lancefield
Riddell
Macedon
Diggers Rest

Romsey
Kilmore
Melton Centrals
Broadford
Woodend/Hesket
Rockbank

How brilliant has 2010 been so far :thumbsu:

It wouldnt surprise. The last game he played in this league before this season he clipped a 14 year old spectator but did not get done for it because the kid was to scared to front up.

You wanna be very careful what you say,i would never show any anger towards any kids,just fully grown morons in the crowd that talk sh@t like you.The person you are talking about was a 40 year old loud mouth,not a 14 year old kid,get your facts right before you get on here and mouth off. If you live in Kilmore like you say you do,come and see me for a chat about it sometime rather than hiding behind an alias and potting me from behind a computer screen!

is there any truth dat aron james self destructed tooday
spat on kids in da crowd:confused:

If he didn't at Melton, he will next week at Woodend, when the hillbillies come down from the hills. They can suck anybody in.

Come on Jamesy put a barrier up and ignore it, your too good of a footballer to finish your career now!

is there any truth dat aron james self destructed tooday
spat on kids in da crowd:confused:

Would be interesting to see if anyone else could put up with the level of abuse that jamesy cops week in week out, there wouldnt be a single player in the league who cops as much shit as he does.
Would be good to see people actually go to the footy and watch him do what he does best kick bags of goals, instead of deliberately making a point of standing behind the goals slagging the bloke off.
Its a well known fact that jamesy has a slightly short fuse and a small majority of idiots decide week in week out to take advantage of it.

The bloke has done something that many others out their havnt played at the top level, and im sure he will be able to keep control of things for the rest of the year.
Be under no illusions if any bloke who plays in the rdfl copped the sprays he does some time or other they would definately snap and have a go back.
Yes he does have to expect to cop some heckling as that is always going to come with being a high profile recruit but ffs get off his back and let him enjoy his time in the rdfl.
With him and meacham both on fire early on in the season its going to be a great shoot out to see who takes home the goal kicking award at seasons end.

As a supporter of the league in general i hope aj can keep his mind on the job and kick a ton.
When was the last time in the rdfl that two players kicked 100+ goals in a year ?

If he didn't at Melton, he will next week at Woodend, when the hillbillies come down from the hills. They can suck anybody in.

Come on Jamesy put a barrier up and ignore it, your too good of a footballer to finish your career now!
Woodend play lancefield next week champ, Kilmore are playing Diggers, jamesy will be welcomed by us hillbilly's when he plays us in round 6.

Interested in finding out if any game respected Anzac Day yesterday with a minutes silence or black armbands?? It is something the league has done really well in the past, disappointing to see that nothing was done yesterday at the Kangaroos game yesterday...

You wanna be very careful what you say,i would never show any anger towards any kids,just fully grown morons in the crowd that talk sh@t like you.The person you are talking about was a 40 year old loud mouth,not a 14 year old kid,get your facts right before you get on here and mouth off. If you live in Kilmore like you say you do,come and see me for a chat about it sometime rather than hiding behind an alias and potting me from behind a computer screen!

Well said big fella,all ways welcome to come back to the HDFL, were u got numbers coming through the gates because you could kick bags of goals each week:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Conflicting stories getting around about Melton/Kilmore yesty. From what I was told yes there were a contingent of "big mouths" who tried valiantly to fire up the big fella - but is it true the Centrals awarded him the 6 stubbies during their awards and commended him in not being sucked into what wa going on???

There was a comment thrown out at a league meeting when clubs sulked about his re-registration "there are other ways to get rid of him" - why dont you all just let him play footy, draw a few extra's thru ya's gate and help build on this RDFL image ya's continue to go on about????

Take the D**khead element out of the picture (the loud mouths behind the goals) and surely things would run smoothly.

Well said big fella,all ways welcome to come back to the HDFL, were u got numbers coming through the gates because you could kick bags of goals each week:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Who's go ya password Ump?? Im not used to seeing common sense posts from this log in :D

Semmo, retire.

If he's the old bloke that swore "you know the f**king rules" to my team manager at Woodend last year only to have his partner come and apologise afterwards then I agree. Bring back the ump's from the Ballarat League and get your own standards sorted before trying to solve other mobs problems :mad:

Semmo, retire.

If he's the old bloke that swore "you know the f**king rules" to my team manager at Woodend last year only to have his partner come and apologise afterwards then I agree. Bring back the ump's from the Ballarat League and get your own standards sorted before trying to solve other mobs problems :mad:

I say send him down to do BalFL games. They wont notice HIS level of "expertise" down there one little bit, they are used to it !!!
He would end up being the second best umpire they'd have down there. :eek:

Really you know, as hard as it is, there is only one way to deal with his attention seeking antics. And that is you just have to keep your trap shut & ignor him...... He loves the notoriety & feeds off it !

Wallan by 52 points over woodend.

Caught a look at the Wallan lads going thru their paces on Thursday night and things appear to be going well both on and off the park. Quite a few faces around, good numbers on the track - perfect ingredient for success which is being proved with a 3-0 start :thumbsu:

Semmo, retire.

I say send him down to do BalFL games. They wont notice HIS level of "expertise" down there one little bit, they are used to it !!!
He would end up being the second best umpire they'd have down there. :eek:

Really you know, as hard as it is, there is only one way to deal with his attention seeking antics. And that is you just have to keep your trap shut & ignor him...... He loves the notoriety & feeds off it !

no chance of that happening , think he enjoys all the pot stirring way to much

Never ceases to amaze me that the same quotes show up every year yet people still get sucked up in it all..

You have a couple of dodgy frees paid against you, the crowd gets involved, the players start to whine, the umpire in question starts to feel pressured, one player gets sent off, the players whine a little more, then number 2,3 and 4 get sent off too..

Just a quiet tip, SHUT UP AND PLAY THE GAME.. No matter what level of football you are involved in, you will argue an umpiring decision due to the bias you show to a particular side, the umpires are there to enforce the rules, when you put them under the pump, of course they are all going to react differently, when you know a particular umpire reacts in this way, why would you seriously react??? Get on with the job and let them get on with the job, the umpires in the RDFL are not professionals, they never will be, they do thier darndest to act professional and do the job, I can guarantee that if players don't turn around and react, then they wont be sent off, its the easiest fix to the problem in the world, don't react, don't carry on, don't whine, leave it to the supporters on the bench.. You will find, that amazingly, you can't get sent off then.... :rolleyes:

The only fact is.. The Hawks were comprehensively flogged.. The players got frustrated, they mouthed off, they got sent off.. End of story...

Think you will find ims that no one is knocking the umpires from the rdfl everyone would probably say that they do a great job,and everyone knows they arent professionals and of course they will make mistakes , mistakes that are at times fustrating but dveryone quickly gets over it.
The umpire in question here has been a constant talking point in the rdfl for nearly 15 yrs.
The bloke thrives on the power he has over a contest and gets carried away and goes well and truely over the top far to many times.
Agree with sprechen its time for him to give it away, at least at senior level anyway.
Besides the walking headline i think the rdfl has a pretty good bunch of umpires, none of whom bring attention to themselves or the umpiring fraternity like the short little robust man

Umpired Macedon V’s Riddell yesterday. It was a good tough game. Although Macedon was beaten they played some good footy and it felt like they were always in the game. From an umpires point of view we were expecting some anger towards Bladey, but to Macedon’s credit they let him play and did a good job at limiting his influence on the game. I thought Mick Allen was very good up forward and set up a lot of goals, No. 18 I think he was called Gerrard in the middle was good in and under and getting the ball forward, while Braden Allen was handy getting the ball out of the backline. For Macedon Dylan Wright was good, kicking goals at times when they were needed to try and lift his side, No. 1 nippa I think his name is was held well but when he got the ball he was always dangerous and it was the best game I have seen Ash Fleming play for Macedon in the past couple of year, when he went into the ruck. The first time I have seen both teams this year and I would expect both to be up there this year. Riddell were good, but I don’t think they are the dominate side of a few years ago and can be beaten by a few sides.

Interesting that both teams throughout the game had team mates arguing and cracking it with another, something I haven’t seen a lot of before.

The MVP page is interesting to read and to see if you guys see the same players as us. Without giving our votes away we have not voted the same as you guys in any of the games I have umpired, which just shows we all see the game differently, well in your eyes I suppose we get it wrong :p.