RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Umpired Macedon V’s Riddell yesterday. It was a good tough game. Although Macedon was beaten they played some good footy and it felt like they were always in the game. From an umpires point of view we were expecting some anger towards Bladey, but to Macedon’s credit they let him play and did a good job at limiting his influence on the game. I thought Mick Allen was very good up forward and set up a lot of goals, No. 18 I think he was called Gerrard in the middle was good in and under and getting the ball forward, while Braden Allen was handy getting the ball out of the backline. For Macedon Dylan Wright was good, kicking goals at times when they were needed to try and lift his side, No. 1 nippa I think his name is was held well but when he got the ball he was always dangerous and it was the best game I have seen Ash Fleming play for Macedon in the past couple of year, when he went into the ruck. The first time I have seen both teams this year and I would expect both to be up there this year. Riddell were good, but I don’t think they are the dominate side of a few years ago and can be beaten by a few sides.

Interesting that both teams throughout the game had team mates arguing and cracking it with another, something I haven’t seen a lot of before.

The MVP page is interesting to read and to see if you guys see the same players as us. Without giving our votes away we have not voted the same as you guys in any of the games I have umpired, which just shows we all see the game differently, well in your eyes I suppose we get it wrong :p.

Interested in weighing into the Semmo debate RDFL Ump?:D:eek::D:eek:

on the umpire debate, ive seen this bloke umpire a few matches and had teddy casson for our match on saturday, I actually like the way teddy goes about his umpiring, defiantley someone with playing experience who doesnt involve himself as an extra player and tells it how he sees it. nice work ted,

I jump on here for a bit of fun, to find out how teams that I haven't umpired for a while are going and I know you can only believe so much, learn something new about teams, but there is always someone complaining about umpires! I have this to say about the semmens brothers.

Why should the Semmo's give it away, I finished with a grand final last year, like Robert Semmens. The bloke is 30 years older than me and is definitely fitter than me so you can't judge his ability to run out a game. He bounces with accuracy greater than 90% which puts him in the top few RDFL umpires. He umpired the RDFL reserves grand final last year as chosen by a panel of qualified coaches so it is hard to argue with that!

What I say is that in the scheme of the Semmo's to the RDFLUA, and relating it back to each team, if the semmo's shouldn't be umpiring seniors, then 6-12 players depending on team shouldn't be playing senior level.

I have umpired games with both semmens when they have made mistakes like we all do but I have also witnessed games where they in my eyes performed a flawless effort, yet someone was still complaining.

Time to let the reputations go and give them a break. As someone else said, if you don't say anything to them then they won't get involved!

I jump on here for a bit of fun, to find out how teams that I haven't umpired for a while are going and I know you can only believe so much, learn something new about teams, but there is always someone complaining about umpires! I have this to say about the semmens brothers.

Why should the Semmo's give it away, I finished with a grand final last year, like Robert Semmens. The bloke is 30 years older than me and is definitely fitter than me so you can't judge his ability to run out a game. He bounces with accuracy greater than 90% which puts him in the top few RDFL umpires. He umpired the RDFL reserves grand final last year as chosen by a panel of qualified coaches so it is hard to argue with that!

What I say is that in the scheme of the Semmo's to the RDFLUA, and relating it back to each team, if the semmo's shouldn't be umpiring seniors, then 6-12 players depending on team shouldn't be playing senior level.

I have umpired games with both semmens when they have made mistakes like we all do but I have also witnessed games where they in my eyes performed a flawless effort, yet someone was still complaining.

Time to let the reputations go and give them a break. As someone else said, if you don't say anything to them then they won't get involved!
Wallan V Kilmore round 1 was a record gate taking, for the WFC, i'm sure we got more through the gate to see the big fella play, and play he did, Romsey has had big crowds due to Garrrry's induction into the RDFL, the league needs this sought of recruiting to compete against other leagues, and due to the recruiting of players like A.J & Garrrry, the standard has lifted again this year. If your players mouth off to umpires and get sent off, then i would suggest you pot the player, not the umpire, when was the last time an undicaplined side won a flag? Semmo umpired well on the w/end, it's about time players worked it out!! After what happened at Romsey last year, no won would have blamed Lee Spry for walking away from the Rams, would have been an easy way out after what took place. The man has passion, he went out and recruited players and has put steps in place to improve the club, on & off the field, when your desperate for a win and you drop a couple of your best players for discipline reasons, well that shows guts and it also shows that your fairdinkum! the message will get through to the rest of the group. If the league is to move forward then the ********s on the other side of the fence need to be eradicated from the grounds, this needs to be done by the club that attracts them to the game, you cant attract good players to your club if the place is full of IMBECILES.

Umpired Macedon V’s Riddell yesterday. It was a good tough game. Although Macedon was beaten they played some good footy and it felt like they were always in the game. From an umpires point of view we were expecting some anger towards Bladey, but to Macedon’s credit they let him play and did a good job at limiting his influence on the game. I thought Mick Allen was very good up forward and set up a lot of goals, No. 18 I think he was called Gerrard in the middle was good in and under and getting the ball forward, while Braden Allen was handy getting the ball out of the backline. For Macedon Dylan Wright was good, kicking goals at times when they were needed to try and lift his side, No. 1 nippa I think his name is was held well but when he got the ball he was always dangerous and it was the best game I have seen Ash Fleming play for Macedon in the past couple of year, when he went into the ruck. The first time I have seen both teams this year and I would expect both to be up there this year. Riddell were good, but I don’t think they are the dominate side of a few years ago and can be beaten by a few sides.

Interesting that both teams throughout the game had team mates arguing and cracking it with another, something I haven’t seen a lot of before.

The MVP page is interesting to read and to see if you guys see the same players as us. Without giving our votes away we have not voted the same as you guys in any of the games I have umpired, which just shows we all see the game differently, well in your eyes I suppose we get it wrong :p.

Ive seen this semmo bloke umpire on a few occassions now and I don't think anyone should be given the flick but he definately should be made to umpire 2s. But from what Ive heard the rdfl umps can be a bit of a boys club in the 1s. I have no doubt there would be other blokes umpiring 2s who cannot get a senior game who would be better than this bloke. I'm not bagging the umps because Ive tried it and I reckon unless you have a crack you would have no idea how hard it is but I also have no doubt that a persons personality has a direct impact on how good they are as an umpire. If they are sensible calmed and measured(non attention seeking) they normally make pretty good umps so long as they have a reasonable understanding of the game.

I meet this seemo bloke after a game last year and I could not beleive some of the crap he was saying. He practically told me who he gave votes to and 1 of the players he thought was close to bog had 3 kicks and spent the 2nd half of the bench. And he admitted he did not even notice the player who was rated by just about everyone else as BOG. I give credit to him for having a crack at the hardest job in footy but surely being a senior ump for 15 years in the 1 comp does not entitle you to be garaunteed a game in the 1s each week, does it?

No one should ever stop umps from umpiring if they want to, its too hard to find them and they do a thankless job but at the same time good umpiring needs to be rewarded and those who do a poor job need to be droped to the twos.

I went to Sunbury vs Rockbank thought umpiring was pretty good, younger umpire made a few errors during the 3rd quarter but didn't influence the game, I also thought that the older umpire was great!!!! Hopefully Rams can get back the five players that were out on the park as soon as possible, so they can be competitive again. GO RAMS

Thought there would have been more support for Sunbury considering the players that they have picked up and people telling me that there was a buzz around the club. Can someone from the Sunbury club tell me whats happening with Luke Walker???

Luke walker will be playing in the next couple of weeks cyril. As for the amount of support sunbury had, im not sure your totally right there??
The club has started ordering double the food and grog and has sold out both games already and taken enormous gate takings. perhaps its the fact that the crowd has been well behaved so far? or could it be the same as when collingwood play fremantle??? It wasnt exactly a blockbuster game for the crowd not to miss:eek:

Luke walker will be playing in the next couple of weeks cyril. As for the amount of support sunbury had, im not sure your totally right there??
The club has started ordering double the food and grog and has sold out both games already and taken enormous gate takings. perhaps its the fact that the crowd has been well behaved so far? or could it be the same as when collingwood play fremantle??? It wasnt exactly a blockbuster game for the crowd not to miss:eek:

Leave Fremantle out of it! :rolleyes:

been reading posts for a while and thought id finally join in..... although i dont play anymore myself i would luv to see everyones early predictions,who they think should be up for interleague selections??? say a few picks from each team........

From up this way Id throw up Grant Wearne, Marcus Webb & Mickie Edwards from Broadford, Booker, James & Robertson (Kilmore), Jacobs, Hollingsworth & Groth (Wallan) and surely Gez Liddell from Riddell would be in the mix :thumbsu:

now boys i dont want to hear anyone ever again complain about the food and bevererage service at any rdfl grounds.i had the misfortune last night to travel to sunbury to watch some footy with a digger mate..arrived at start of senior game went to canteen ...no food left canteen closes at quater time..no light beer at all..cant buy a beer and take it outside unless you are a member.excuse given "didnt get license in time" how long has the bloody draw been out...this didnt stop 14yr old girl getting cans though...pretty poor showing by the sunbury footy club...wouldnt happen in rdfl

We just went to the bottle shop, half the price too

Is it true Lukey got picked to play two's but deciled to play. Just tried to compare crowd with round 1 Ram's V's Centrals, and nowhere near the crowd that showed up that day. It is true that the crowd was well behaved, I would have thought that no matter who the boy's played that you would still have supported them. I wish the Ram's were travelling as well as Fremantle. :rolleyes:

Think you will find ims that no one is knocking the umpires from the rdfl everyone would probably say that they do a great job,and everyone knows they arent professionals and of course they will make mistakes , mistakes that are at times fustrating but dveryone quickly gets over it.
The umpire in question here has been a constant talking point in the rdfl for nearly 15 yrs.
The bloke thrives on the power he has over a contest and gets carried away and goes well and truely over the top far to many times.
Agree with sprechen its time for him to give it away, at least at senior level anyway.
Besides the walking headline i think the rdfl has a pretty good bunch of umpires, none of whom bring attention to themselves or the umpiring fraternity like the short little robust man

agree totally DD69, when you have winning teams complaining about one umpire then something is amiss. As you say nothing has been done for the past 15years, If the numbers are true, then maybe it is time to send him off, maybe to the u10 os 12's, but please don't let him mentor any of the good young umps coming thru, just give them tapes of his games and show them what not to do! In saying that the games I have seen so far in 2010 have been adjudicated quite well. :thumbsu:

I know what you are saying mate.. But my point is, the guy is a talking point because we make him a talking point.. What I am saying is, that I really think that we overreact based on reputation more than actual performance, I actually think both of the brothers have mellowed and are umpiring quite well, the performance in the finals last year was excellent, I thought that he was close to the premier umpire of the finals series.. At times I became a little critical of some of the younger umpires who really did get caught up in the game.

All I am saying is that the easiest fix is for everyone just to shut up and get on with the game, it is obvious that he is going to umpire senior football, and watching his performances of recent times there is no reason that he shouldn't be.. We, as supporters, should take reputation out of it, we just need to concentrate on what our players are doing rather than putting so much focus on the umpiring performance, like slyone quoted perfectly, you just dont see undisciplined sides winning grand finals.

Try getting a Liquer licence extended with all the trouble with alcohol fuelled violence - they have been working on it for a very long time. The cause not helped by the idiots from Diggers and Riddell brawling last week at the Darley game. Can you explain how an RDFL club would get the licence exteneded faster? The application has been in for 6 months.

Takes 2 days

They are in constant contact and it looks like it won't ever get exteneded. 2 days maybe a while ago but not now. You honestly think the Sunbury Lions Social club are not doing all they can to get this done? They would be losing a lot of money with restricted beer sales.

I have no doubt that they certainly have looked into it, to be honest, I just don't care... I had a much cheaper night by the bar not being open.. :p

Good luck to Sunbury, but the fact is, the local police would probably rather Sunbury didn't have an extended booth license for night games for the first game, and probably Sunday night's game.. But the locals have worked out that they can buy thier own and take it in now, the license extension would be the smartest move now - at least it is controlled then.

PS.. I am not saying that Sunbury is in control of this situation...

Nobody from Diggers involved in the brawl last week.

Nobody from Riddell involved either !

I was a few cars around from the " Brawl " if you could call it that !

One of the young dick heads had a blue Lions Hoody on.... until it was pulled off him over his head in the scuffle !!!

I would start looking for the two protagonists........ if it is in fact a priority, amongst the Lions junior ranks ??? :eek: